QUOTE(5564321 @ Jul 30 2010, 02:49 AM)
Maybe you can consider a HDD Dock like Xigmatek Secure All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk
All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk
Jul 31 2010, 01:37 AM
1,256 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Ampang TO Sibu |
Nov 28 2011, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(am3rr @ Nov 28 2011, 09:57 AM) if u are willing to wait, u better wait. all kind of size are extremely expensive during this period. QUOTE(am3rr @ Nov 28 2011, 10:31 AM) yes, but if u have the budget to buy now and u need it urgently, u can go buy. just my 2 cents. for me, its not worthy to buy 500gb at the price that can get 2 500gb last time QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Nov 28 2011, 10:33 AM) Obviously yes, even though some companies are not directly affected and sellers are jacking up prices because demand exceeds supply right now. Waiting game will be until at LEAST middle 2012 for HDD price to fully recover back. Pray hard 2nd wave of flood won't hit Thai in the mean time Our best move as consumers as a whole = hold off all hdd purchases. That way we can force the prices to come back down as soon as possible. (which in the end, probably next year) |
Dec 18 2011, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(jinaun @ Dec 18 2011, 02:54 PM) The details of the new warranty periods are:- HDD Drive industry is having a hiccup this quarter Constellation 2 and ES.2 drives: 3 years Barracuda and Barracuda Green 3.5-inch drives: 1 year Barracuda XT: 3 years Momentus 2.5-inch (5400 and 7200rpm): 1 year Momentus XT: 3 years SV35 Series - Video Surveillance: 2 years Pipeline HD Mini, Pipeline HD: 2 years http://www.theregister.co.uk/2011/12/16/se...ing_warranties/ dah lah mahal... warranty pulak kena potong QUOTE(scyap @ Dec 18 2011, 03:27 PM) Why mechanical-HDDs that are advertised as SATA2 3Gbps devices don't actually perform at that rate? I tried duplicating a file in the same drive and it was copying at 40MBps; Well those are MAX speed you can get based on manufacturer specification / under their most optimal/best3Gbps is 375 MBps ! Its connected to my sata3 6Gbps ports - don't think this matters anyway Other factor varies thus effect the overall performance which we can expect is slower then rated spec when it come to end-user |
Dec 30 2011, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Dec 30 2011, 11:22 AM) Damn. No idea if it's going to be more reliable or not. For me, I see it as one more less competitor. From my experience RMA with WD, any HDD send to them will return back refurbish one. No matter 1st week or what-so-everYup. Many times mine came refurbished from Singapore. I believe they will only replace your drive with a brand new one if your drive is like less than a month old? Somebody correct me if I'm wrong. Unless the retailer/dealer/seller good-will to swap new one for you if got issue within 1st week |
| Change to: | 0.0407sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:10 PM |