All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk
cannavaro
Sep 15 2010, 03:58 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 15 2010, 01:06 AM) WD have some problem with non raid HDD if use as raid HDD. My NAS forum have report many case about raid problem using WD non raid HDD. I avoid it and get the F3 2TB samsung for raid. I'm running 4x WD Green (500GB) in RAID5, for about 6 months I think. I put them in an external raid enclosure. No problems so far. Added on September 15, 2010, 3:59 amQUOTE(Lurker @ Sep 14 2010, 11:13 PM) anyone using hdd docks now?  just wondering how do you store your 'naked' hdd when not in use? My storage hdd are growing and i dun wanna pile up so many power adaptors with each external hdd set like the MyBook Yup, I put them in antistatic bag/antistatic casing (like the one you get when buying Samsung) and store them in a box. This post has been edited by cannavaro: Sep 15 2010, 03:59 AM
cannavaro
Oct 4 2010, 04:00 PM
Samsung 1TB F3 is now RM174 at viewnet! update: RM175 at czone RM173 at jayacom
This post has been edited by cannavaro: Oct 4 2010, 04:08 PM
cannavaro
Oct 11 2010, 10:19 PM
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB is now RM169 at viewnet. How much lower can it go?  Added on October 11, 2010, 10:23 pmQUOTE(nam3le5s @ Oct 11 2010, 02:53 AM) Yep am aware of that.. thats y worried if a lot of users have had failures using these HDD. I haven't installed them yet, waiting for my GC and just thinking how to set them up.. Anyone here can share experience on RAID 0 for F3 1TB x2? Thanks This post has been edited by cannavaro: Oct 11 2010, 10:23 PM
cannavaro
Oct 16 2010, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(Nam226 @ Oct 15 2010, 07:09 PM) Ugh, that will cost a whopping RM520 for one usb3.0 1TB ext hdd!!! I am gonna need a money printing machine too...lol!  Thanks! Samsung HD103SJ is RM169 at viewnet. Plus there's no surcharge when you use CC.
cannavaro
Oct 29 2010, 02:02 AM
QUOTE(chenhui87 @ Oct 28 2010, 04:27 AM) planing to buy 2x HD103SJ for raid, RM165 each now~~ Which shop?
cannavaro
Oct 30 2010, 11:56 AM
eh, computer parts are now taxable? any official source on this?
cannavaro
Oct 30 2010, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Oct 30 2010, 12:17 PM) I thought Computer stuff are tax free? I believe it still is. Unless you declare wrongly..
cannavaro
Dec 2 2010, 12:16 AM
I haven't tried the new Caviar Black but I can assure you on one thing.
You'll need SSD to even come close to the theoretical speed of SATA 6Gb/s. With this in mind, using the SATAIII interface to promote a HDD is nothing more than a gimmick.
cannavaro
Dec 12 2010, 03:57 AM
QUOTE(wkwong_2006 @ Dec 11 2010, 11:55 AM) hai, can pm me the best price for BUFFALO MINI STATION 500GB??? n oso the package included... Er this is not the trade section, you should ask the sellers in here: http://forum.lowyat.net/Memory&Drivesbtw for low margin items like hdds, you should stop asking for best price unless you're buying in bulk... you may also want to look at Viewnet's pricelist
cannavaro
Dec 14 2010, 01:31 PM
Another one: http://viewnet.com.my/downloads/viewnet_diy_pricelist.pdf Added on December 14, 2010, 1:32 pmQUOTE(j03yN95C @ Dec 14 2010, 12:10 PM) Anyone knows the current market price for Samsung 2Tb HD204UI? Looking for storage space since my current one is running out soon. Thanks. RM285 at czone. The cheapest that I've encountered so far. This post has been edited by cannavaro: Dec 14 2010, 01:32 PM
cannavaro
Jan 2 2011, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(Jazzee @ Jan 1 2011, 09:23 PM) Any recommendations for a reliable external HDD around 1TB that doesn't require power adapter?More concern about reliability/durability and price:capacity than design/size/brand. By the way, if my laptop doesn't have USB 3.0 port, it won't support it right? You can try: My Passport Essential (2.5") 1TB USB3.0 = RM369 or Seagate GO FLEX (2.5") 1TB USB2.0= RM359 It's expensive alright, since you're looking for one that doesn't require power adapter. If you get a 3.5" version you'll get 2TB with that price, albeit with the power adapter.  If your laptop doesn't have USB3 support it will just run at USB2 speed.
cannavaro
Jan 6 2011, 09:35 PM
Price of the popular HD103SJ is now RM174 at Viewnet. I find this surprising because previously it was RM169 for quite a while. Demand is high I guess? At Jayacom it is still RM168 though.
cannavaro
Oct 25 2011, 11:50 PM
Price of HDD has gone up... I'm shocked. Today's pricelist - A Samsung HD103SJ is now RM212 or so at Viewnet.. can't remember exactly because I forgot to bring the pricelist (it was RM168-169 for quite a while) According to the staff the price will increase further in the coming weeks. He attributed the flood in Thailand as a factor to this..
cannavaro
Oct 26 2011, 12:43 PM
External HHD still maintain, at least yesterday. Don't know about today and the coming days though...
cannavaro
Oct 31 2011, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(cannavaro @ Oct 25 2011, 11:50 PM) Price of HDD has gone up... I'm shocked. Today's pricelist - A Samsung HD103SJ is now RM212 or so at Viewnet.. can't remember exactly because I forgot to bring the pricelist (it was RM168-169 for quite a while) According to the staff the price will increase further in the coming weeks. He attributed the flood in Thailand as a factor to this..  Oh boy the staff was FAR from lying. He even told me you wanna buy, better buy now. HD103SJ is now RM259 at viewnet.. the old price RM169 will only get you a 500GB samsung..