6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

HTC HD2 Official Discussion Thread V3 !, Tips, Tricks and Links on First Page !

benny888
post Jul 11 2010, 04:03 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(daytona @ Jul 5 2010, 05:06 PM)
how about sony xperia x2 and samsung omnia2 compare to this HD2?

still HD2 the most stable?
Just my 2 sens : Both Xperia and Omnia 2 interfaces are very laggy compare to HD2 , the difference is very obvious. I'd say only these 2 interfaces look nicer.
You should go to the shop and compare it yourself. I have been using Windows Mobile smartphones already 12 years and I'd say that these are the best Windows Mobile smartphone you can get now : Resistive screen - HTC HD while capacitative screen : HTC HD2

Added on July 11, 2010, 4:07 pm
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jul 8 2010, 07:44 PM)
BTW, Im intrested to get this phone.. is it worth it to buy now since the HTC HD3 rumours are already spreading?
The next Windows phone from HTC will be based on Windows Phone 7. This is a completely different O/S. Infact all the previous programs which you can use on WM6, 6.1, and 6.5 can no longer be used. Win Phone 7 use a completely different organization structure and the way to install program is different. I'd say the approach of Win Phone 7 is now tend towards Android and iPhone way of programs management

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 11 2010, 04:07 PM
benny888
post Jul 20 2010, 03:41 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Ven25 @ Jul 18 2010, 06:03 PM)
Hi all sifu... HD2 newbie here... wanna ask u guys something...  I downloaded the hotfix/updates from the HTC website and when I installed it... I cant select to install to my SD card??? hmm.gif and my phone memory is running low + my phone is starts to lag...  cry.gif  how do i fix it ar???  icon_question.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  is all the update from the website necessary 1 ar???
All hotfixes are system files and MUST be install to internal memory.

What did you install ?? Other programs you can install on card - it is strange you say your phone memory is running low.

What rom version you are on ? There is no harm installing the hotfix as it'll not overwrite your files if it is newer. If the hotfix files are incompatible, you will not be able to install it esp if you are using a cook rom

Your phone lagging - cannot help you unless you provide more info on : original rom or cooked rom ; if is latter which and ver number ?

Added on July 20, 2010, 3:43 pm
QUOTE(DrWho @ Jul 20 2010, 12:01 PM)
Task29 is highly recommended. I have had no problem at all with the phone since using it a few months ago. Without it, bugs will appear about a month or so after flashing.
Task29 I agree is 101 % recommended to be done. It is only one extra step but it solves alot of buggy and laggy issues if you often change rom. Now I make it a compulsory step even if I change rom from the same cook

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 20 2010, 03:43 PM
benny888
post Jul 21 2010, 04:10 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Ven25 @ Jul 20 2010, 10:15 PM)
Hi Benny,

I install the hotfix from the htc official website lor... not all i installed... some only..

os version is 5.2.21869
manila version 2.5.19211619.0
rom version 1.66.707.1
radio 2.07.51.22_2

tht is the details... erm... wht should i do ar?? icon_question.gif
Yours still on original rom. Just go ahead and install, nothing to lose
benny888
post Jul 22 2010, 08:04 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Ven25 @ Jul 21 2010, 06:49 PM)
But the internal memory is so little and after i installed the hotfix... the memory is so low already sad.gif
Install all your programs to sd card except system files. I suggest you uninstall some of your programs example utilities, games, productivity, readers etc and reinstall to card. Probably when you install you did not notice there is an option for you to choose. Actually it is "impossible" to run out of space on internal memory- use the SD card

Added on July 22, 2010, 8:07 am
QUOTE(xander @ Jul 21 2010, 11:28 PM)
Hi all,

i jus bought a htc hd 2 last week. so far din do anything wif it.

i just checked my software details and is like this as well

os version is 5.2.21869
manila version 2.5.19211619.0
rom version 1.66.707.1
radio 2.07.51.22_2

is there anything i can do to improve the battery life? do i have to flash the rom or upgrade it? sorry kinda noob here
If you are new, go to post # 3 : Rishy had summarized very well all the info you might need. I'd say is compulsory reading. Refer back here any questions on any issues

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 22 2010, 08:07 AM
benny888
post Jul 24 2010, 09:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

htc HD2 owners who are interested in the development of Android for their devices should bookmark the link listed below. It is up officially today. There now now eleven sub-sections on all aspects of this android development. It is now easier to followup the progress and any issues you might have can now be easily traced and resolved at the appropriate section.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=735
benny888
post Aug 6 2010, 07:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Aug 2 2010, 11:45 PM)
You mean to say that this phone original running winmo but can be customarily flash to android platform.
Wow....never knew that's possible before.
It is possible. I have ported over Android Froyo ( htc Sense UI ) ver 2.2 to my HTC HD2. I will be testing further the features comparing it with my Nexus ( which is on Froyo ver 2.2 )

Read my initial impressions and photos at my blog : http://leemn.wordpress.com/2010/08/06/htc-...ly-ported-over/

Added on August 6, 2010, 7:10 pm
QUOTE(faizpsp89 @ Aug 5 2010, 10:37 PM)
Guys what's the best video converter for our HD2?

*Pls PM me if its illegal here tongue.gif

*Link would be appreciated smile.gif
I use Handbrake ( is FREE and many features) and I had been using it to convert DVD, avi, mov to my previous HTC HD, HTC TP2, and present HTC HD2 and Google Nexus.

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 6 2010, 07:10 PM
benny888
post Aug 6 2010, 08:56 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(twtang @ Aug 6 2010, 07:23 PM)
Hi Benny888,

I realize there is no new ROM available from HTC Malaysia site, meaning we have upgrade our radio ROM by ourselves to at least 2.08 as mentioned by XDA right?
You can easily find the new radios from forum XDA.
benny888
post Aug 9 2010, 01:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Android Froyo ver 2.2 on htc HD2 : I have updated my blog where I summarized the latest tests I have done is 99.99 % successful . I have now a working useable Android rom on my HD2. I will be using it the next few days instead of my Nexus to evaluatte more. So far the results are very good and I'd say is quite unbelievable that the HD2 is running the Android Froyo version so well.

http://leemn.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/htc-...o-sense-part-2/

Added on August 9, 2010, 11:35 am
I have also done up a simple side by side comparison between the Google Nexus ( Froyo ) and the HTC HD2 ( Android Froyo Sense ) :

http://leemn.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/nexu...roid-froyo-2-2/

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 9 2010, 11:36 AM
benny888
post Aug 9 2010, 06:33 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ramen241 @ Aug 9 2010, 03:36 PM)
benny..what radio version u using? can u share?tq
Radio on WM : 2.10.50.19_2 - as long as is above 2.08 should be OK. Was using this radio all these while - lazy to change it to higher one. Serves me well

benny888
post Aug 9 2010, 09:16 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(xander @ Aug 9 2010, 06:31 PM)
Hi benny,

r u using dual boot or just android huh?

is it possible to have only android on the phone?
It is dual boot. You need to launch the Android boot from Windows. You can just keep a clean lean Window rom if you do not want to use it

Added on August 9, 2010, 9:16 pm
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2010, 08:41 PM)
at the PC Fair, the official from HTC SiS is RM2099, the RM1999 is the price that u get when you subscribe to DG Smart Plan and that phone
Imagine I paid RM2899 for it when it was launch in Dec 09 !!!

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 9 2010, 09:16 PM
benny888
post Aug 9 2010, 11:47 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(frankgan @ Aug 9 2010, 10:25 PM)
One very noob question, if we run android from the memory card, will it save all the settings? i mean do we need to re-configure everything after restart?

What about apps that are installed from market? will it retain after shutting down the phone?

I bought mine for RM2699  rclxub.gif
It just works like any android phone with same features and functions. The android system is inside the phone, the sd card will store your data and programs ( if you have selected to install on card). At each reset there is no loss of data. Think of using it just as a android phone, forget about the windows. Windows only needed to boot into the android o/s. You can alternate use the windows mobile if you wish.
All apps are downloaded to card and some apps install by default into phone. With ver 2.2 froyo you have option to install or force install onto card depending which rom you used. Official froyo allow install to card depend on developer whether they have upgraded app to install on card. In principle all system apps and widgets install to phone

Added on August 9, 2010, 11:52 pm
QUOTE(xander @ Aug 9 2010, 11:03 PM)
does android have any apps that runs like the WM wireless router?

thinking of converting to Android but this WM wireless router on hd2 is very useful for me..
Froyo ver 2.2 by default gives you USB and wifi hotspot. Those using ver 2.1 can install custom rom with these function. Example I use my nexus 3g data line as a portable wifi hotspot so that my iPad can connect to it. Even though my iPad has built-in 3G card I only put in prepaid card. For long usage I disable the 3G and use the nexus as a portable wifi

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 10 2010, 03:29 PM
benny888
post Aug 10 2010, 03:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Aug 10 2010, 01:51 PM)
btw, running android foryo . im pretty impress that so much improvement compare to earlier version.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
You know I haven't use my Nexus for 3 days already and not even missing it. The android on my HD2 works perfectly so far ; my only problem is the Portable WiFi spot is not working - each time I choose it resets , is not a issue for me but it'd be great if it can work. I believe the developer is working a solution. Some members had PM me asking me about gaming . Sorry I don't play any games so absolutely no idea how it will fare.
I love the HD2 screen size - I love BIG screens though its color vibrancy and brightness loses out to the Nexus

It is so convenient now ; when I need to use some WM function, I just restart it and option to select Windows. My HD2 is now a 2 in 1 smartphone
Will still be keeping my Nexus to follow the rom developments especially Gingerbread

Actually I never expect the development for the HD2 was so fast especially just in the past one week, most developers had eliminated the earlier issues of slow scrolling, freeze at times etc. The Android on my HD2 is performing well just like my Nexus

Added on August 10, 2010, 3:28 pm
QUOTE(frankgan @ Aug 9 2010, 11:59 PM)
What about the version posted in your blog and installed in your hd2?

can it install app to sd by default or do i need special software to do it?

Besides, I am using energy rom now, do i need to hard reset my phone, reformat my card
etc etc to run android smoothly?

Sorry for asking so many question, first time trying to run android on wm. scare anything goes wrong tongue.gif
The version I am using now ( Windows and Android ) is exactly same as my Part 2 blog. Android on HD2 part 2

My Part 1 blog I'd reported my first test and it had several issues.

All the software installation is control by the rom ; I don't think you have choice to select but I noted most my apps are installed on card . I supposed some apps are install on phone especially those system/widget apps. Anyway the HD2 memory is more than sufficient to handle especially most apps go to the card

Reformatting the SD card is a wiser option. I tried several times using the same card and mostly failed at installing. So what I did was reformat the card ( after copied all the data to a backup drive). After the Android successfully installed ; I reinstall back my Windows apps and copied back my data or you can use Spb Backup or Spriteback to restore your apps. You need not remove your Energy rom - the XDA link I posted recommend which Windows rom is suitable as reported by users . Infact Energy has done up a Android version too . IF you still cannot install, most probably your Windows rom is incompatible. You have to try to find out

Don't worry ; nothing will go wrong testing it. You won't brick your phone unlike the risk in flashing spl and rom on Windows. If not successful, just change to another Android rom and try again. Installing each Android rom takes about 2-3 minutes only

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 10 2010, 03:28 PM
benny888
post Aug 10 2010, 06:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Aug 10 2010, 03:58 PM)
true benny, i never expected droid on hd2 developed so fast i was nearly getting the desire for the pass few weeks. with droid on HD2 we can skip EVo  flex.gif
btw, im having difficulties sync with droid i've install HTCSync latest version but still cant sync any solution?
Did you install android sdk package ?
benny888
post Aug 10 2010, 06:23 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(hwchua @ Aug 10 2010, 06:15 PM)
Sorry again.... do i need to install HSPL ? thank
Yes you need to do HSPL if your radio is not 2.08 and above. Radio upgrades will not affect your Windows mobile programs/data
benny888
post Aug 10 2010, 09:27 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Aug 10 2010, 06:45 PM)
benny, where can i obtain these package?? would you mind link me the source?? tq

another issues, the 1st time i run droid its work but once i reset it back to winmo and execute again clrcad + haret the loading take very long time to boot cant even boot into the system. could it be my memorycard? any advise?? tq
Download link : http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

Your issue many people has this problem. This is why is advisable to have a fresh formatted sd card to start with. Use the program here at : http://www.sdcard.org/consumers/formatter/sdfv2000.zip to format the card instead of using windows/or Mac default. This program is very powerful - I used it to save 2 SD cards which was corrupted and cannot be formatted / cannot read files / cannot copy files etc by Windows and the MAC.

Added on August 10, 2010, 9:39 pm
QUOTE(xander @ Aug 10 2010, 09:02 PM)
hi guys, i m stuck wif this part

1) To install this HSPL there must be SPL 1.42.0000 on your device.
Otherwise the installation will fail!
To check your SPL version, hold the Volume Down button and do a reset.
It is possible to downgrade to this SPL, by just flashing to an Official ROM
with this SPL version.

can any1 help me on the HSPL?

thx a lot
Have you done HSPL ? If not read here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=611433

If your phone rom is still original and not HSPL yet, the spl will be 1.42.0000. If your phone is running a cooked rom, then just flash an original rom , plenty you can find : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...t=official+roms

If you are moving from a cooked rom to another om, I highly suggest you do a TASK29 - XDA forum has the procedure , similar to flashing - just one extr step takes 5 mins only. I have simplify and explain the process here : http://leemn.wordpress.com/2010/04/11/htc-...ashing-new-rom/

You might get confused reading all the long posts and questions at the forum there. Just follow my steps - I make it very simple to follow

Added on August 10, 2010, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(xander @ Aug 10 2010, 06:59 PM)
Hi guys,

i m rly new to this so please be patient with me. i try to came up with a really super dummy guide for ppl like me and i will follow the step below to install android 2.2.

My main aim is to get my HTC HD2 on the froyo 2.2 android OS.

Here is my current default setup...
Flash Size: 512mb
OS Version: 5.2.21869 (21869.5.0.82)
Manilla Version 2.5.19211619.0
ROM Version: 1.66.707.1 (76641) WWE
ROM Date: 01/12/10
Radio Version: 2.07.51.22_2
SPL: 1.42.0000 XE

Steps

I use this as I hate htc messaging ; only slow down the phone. Actually any one also can be used - up to you

Sense 2.5 without HTC Messaging
http://htcpedia.com/miri_hd2_wm21908...c-leo-rom.html

Bro Benny do  u mind sharing which one u choosen out of the 3 above?
-----------

4 - Install Radio:

Leo_RADIO_2.12.50.02_2 - Rename the extracted file to "RUU_Signed.nbh" and flash with the CustomRUU.exe from SD card.

I assume any radio above 2.08 should work fine here.

CORRECT : I always flash my phone from my PC because I find flashing from SD card unreliable. Anyway again is up to you

5 - Format SD card. : Use the program from http://www.sdcard.org/consumers/formatter/sdfv2000.zip : 101 % HIGHLY recommended ; don't use default Windows/or Mac disk utility

6 - Place Android folder in root of SD card. Storage Device/Android.

Don't forget to copy the dual boot cab into the card ! Download link is here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=723200

7 - Run CLRCAD and then run HARET.

When you run CLRCAD there will be NO response ; if you want to be doubly sure is activated, tap the file again - this is to ensure you have sound

Hope this steps works and Bro benny please help to add in ur steps and setups if u think anything is missing.

Thanks a lot!
My comments in the box above
GOOD LUCK flashing and getting Android over.

Added on August 10, 2010, 9:54 pm
QUOTE(ramen241 @ Aug 10 2010, 08:12 PM)
benny..used the MIDI Rom n the Android works fine..thanks ya.. one last thing..he to make the phone mountable to pc as It only getting charged..can't mount as external drive..
Thanks for the tip. Will not be switching the rom yet as very happy with it now

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 10 2010, 09:54 PM
benny888
post Aug 11 2010, 07:59 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

On card /media/ audio copy soundfiles to alarms or notifications or ringtones to
Enable sound you wish. If no such folder create it. Newbies to android suggest visit nexus or htc desire thread post 1 learn basics. For pc detect phone you must install android sdk link I given few posts up

Added on August 11, 2010, 8:01 amChoppy usually due to sdcard. Reformat with tool I given few posts up. If still such means r7om issue

Added on August 11, 2010, 8:21 amOne page guide to android .
http://leemn.wordpress.com/2010/04/14/nexu...s-and-weblinks/

Lowyat discussion nexus. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1393679

Lowyat discussion htc desire. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1508983

Shah excellennt startup guide : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1211308 : I got hook after reading his posts

Added on August 11, 2010, 8:45 am
QUOTE(frankgan @ Aug 11 2010, 01:03 AM)
same here,

the android on my hd2 was so choppy,

screen turns off intermittently,

scrolling was so laggy,

after standby cannot wake up etc etc.

Now I am trying to reformat the memory card and try again.

The funny thing is, I ran the quadrant test and the score was surprisingly
higher than my galaxy S running on android 2.1 though galaxy s is much
smoother tongue.gif
I face lag in my first test too. Gave up using it. Few days later I reformat card n try new roms. It is OK now that's why i said is now a working useable rom. There is no lag. Superb and very fluid and is equally match my nexus.

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 11 2010, 10:08 AM
benny888
post Aug 11 2010, 11:23 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I can transfer files with my iMac with Bluetooth. Headset no idea as i don't use. Facebook is never an issue works first time and every time in all the few rooms I tried. You must setup a gmail account to enable sync with facebook. If you are using the 3G unlike windows you need set the apn setting manually. Setting/wireless networks/tick mobile network and do settings at mobile networks
benny888
post Aug 11 2010, 03:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Xander : if you can install radio successfully means you are doing it right. If radio install fail the flash will not complete. I don't think radio affects the Bluetooth pairing. Did you try to reconnect and pair from PC. I am using Mac so can't say about windows

Frank possibly as much of the data on sdcard and system reads from it. I did an analysis of phone n card before and after install android. The android files took up about 260mb on card, phone 110 Mb. It is recommended to use at least class 4 card. Infact google suggests class 6 for latest veer 2.2. I am using a sandisk class 4
The windows rom I believe affect as before that I also use Miri but a heavily customized by elegance. The lag dissapear after I change to the plain Miri rom

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 11 2010, 04:03 PM
benny888
post Aug 11 2010, 05:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(frankgan @ Aug 11 2010, 05:00 PM)
Hey,

remember the sdk u mentioned? how to get it work? I downloaded the sdk and install all the file in the SDK setup thing but still cant detect my phone?

Maybe i will get a class 4 card and try
Did you check your setting /connect to pc ?

Default is charge only. Other choices are - htc sync, disk drive or usb thethe

in the same screen you can also select ASK ME
benny888
post Aug 11 2010, 10:04 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

greatgreedyguts :

I am not quite clear about your issue - you have problem flashing only to stock rom right ? If your phone is still able to boot , the HSPL is still there. If you want to flash again to stock rom , do Task 29 first
When Task 29 is completed, you will see a white screen - the phone will not boot as no rom present at all. Take out battery. Put battery back. Press vol down and off button simultaneously. Phone will go yto bootloader mode ( tricolor screen ). Connect phone back to computer, you will see Serial change to USB. Flash the stock rom using the computer. Make sure you get the correct stock version for your region. Malaysia unit stock rom is different from , say HK. I know is same as Spore set

I read in your link in XDA, you mentioned about the GPS problem - my friend based on what you said your motherboard has to be replace. It will cost you RM800+. I have same problem in one of my TP2 last year - I managed to reflash to stock and claim free warranty

Added on August 11, 2010, 10:13 pm
QUOTE(frankgan @ Aug 11 2010, 07:24 PM)
Do i still need to set up anything besides installing the SDK and the all the available package?

It doesnt work.

sad.gif
NO idea then. It should work without any issues. What O/S are you using. It works on Mac OSX 10.5 , 10.62 and Windows notebook ( Win 7), desktop XP. If Vista - I have read many problematic issues but I dunno about this cos I don't have vista.
You can also try to UNMOUNT the sd card and MOUNT it back : Settings/SD & Phone storage

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 11 2010, 10:18 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0442sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:45 AM