16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V8, All About Tennis (gears, courts, etc)

praetorian
post Jun 28 2010, 06:58 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(k3vin82 @ Jun 28 2010, 05:20 PM)
ya sure man.. will inform u.. my tennis kaki in sg also wanna go so maybe can go in a big group.. air ticket will be around 1600++ for return.. accomodation maybe 100 per day so maybe 600-700 for a week trip..
The price's you are quoting are they in RM/USD/AUS?
If I can ambil cuti, I may be game for a trip, we make a banner LOWYAT TENNIS KAKI, who know's kena on Astro!
Hehehehe drool.gif
praetorian
post Jun 30 2010, 09:10 PM

866 posts

.........(speechless)
...............................DAMN JOOO KEV!!!!!!!!
..............................did I say DAMN JOOOOOOO!!!!
..............................................<3
praetorian
post Jul 1 2010, 07:13 AM

866 posts

You guys are too much lol, you expect Fed to win everything.......you do know even machines have bad days.....

Fed has had a wonderful year, he has won 1 major, Australian Open this year, any time you win a major, its a great year!

Rafa has won a major at the French he already has a great year....

Wimbledon....hmmmm Semi final line up..

Djokovic Vs Berdych

Nadal Vs Murray

Djokovic Vs Berdych , I will put Djokovic's consistency over Berdych , fitness, I give Berdych the edge, who will win this match, I put this is 55-45 in Djoker's favor on paper, but my money is on Berdych.If this goes to 5 sets.The Wimbledon champion will be either Nadal or Murray.

AHHH The potential match of the tournament Nadal Vs Murray!!!
Will Nadal's knee's hold up???
Will Murray put too much pressure on himself and crack!?!!

I'd expect a tight four setter, in favor of Nadal, to me in my mind, he thinks he is defending champion as he did not get a chance to defend his 2008 title in 2009.
The longer the match goes, the better it is for Murray, if Nadal doesn't close out the match asap, Murray will take it.But I see Rafa in 4 though.
praetorian
post Jul 1 2010, 08:57 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(vobs @ Jul 1 2010, 07:53 AM)
yeah bro prae, u can say it twice, we have the same thinking on fed as per my last post, what so bad being number 3?

if ever fed wanted to hang up his racquet, it will be sometime someone with the likes of roger/sampras will emerge

but im glad that roger came and save tennis as a whole, without him most of us will never come back to tennis or even starting tennis or even wanting to watch tennis on TV.

Maybe he wont bounce back, maybe he chose to relax, but he still have some majors in him for the next few years thats for sure
Oops what I wrote may of been misconstrued :-x
There is nothing wrong with being world no:3.......he is still the man to beat for sure, as you all probably know, Fed has had a right leg issue together with a bad back for the past 2-3 weeks, his movement has been hampered, according to his interview he is not moving at 100%.

Irregardless even if he drops out of the top 5 or top 10, he is still a force to be reckoned with especially on a good day.
All I was stating, everyone expects too much of him, at his age and at this point of his career.He is now a father, a husband so I suspect his priorities have slightly changed :-D
praetorian
post Jul 1 2010, 09:12 AM

866 posts

OH MY!!!
The Barricade team looks kinda sweet too!
damn too many nice $hit to get!!!

WOOOI if anyone got lobang for Barricade Team I wanna try this shoe!!!

praetorian
post Jul 1 2010, 11:12 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(sophisticatedren @ Jul 1 2010, 09:47 AM)
hey prae... need some advise from u...

recently i switched to a lighter racquet in comparison to my previous one (>335g). i think this lighter racquet is around 315g after strung and with one piece of tourna grip added..

im worried if i swipe this racquet too fast.. on the long run it will strain my arm n elbow.. any advise on this??

coz with lighter racquet... so much easier to generate faster racquet head acceleration.. been checking in tennis warehouse forum but hard to find any justification there
Ok here is where I suspect alot of people can be confused with racket head acceleration, and the confusion between what type of a racket you should get.

I am not letting the cat out of the bag regarding Sophi's new racket, its his racket, so he should do the honors brows.gif

May I ask is there any particular reason why you switched to a lighter frame?

Ok regarding racket speed acceleration, as you all know, you need to have very good sound technique and naturally good racket head speed acceleration to pull off some heavy hitting and mega-uber spin.
People will normally assume that the lighter the racket the more head speed you are able to generate, this is of course true, in some sense. Anyone who studies economics , should of heard the term, law of diminishing returns, in this case, you can only generate say xx amount of racket head speed with xx racket, with your current stroke.

Let me ask you this, this is a general question , it is NOT directed at Sophi, I am pretty sure alot of people should know this, k, here is the question, Do pro's on the ATP use the same exact model racket that can be easily purchased from retail?Are their rackets the same weights as those bought from retail?

If you think you know the answer to these 2 questions feel free to post em.

Sophi, my advice to you is this, experiment if you have some lead tape on you.This is no guarantee, that it will magically transform your game, but I suggest when you have time do the following.

You are using your new *ahem* racket use it for 1 whole week, or even a month, post here what you like and don't like.

After that do this, add some lead tape to 3 and 9 add about 6cm worth of lead tape I have attached a pic, please add the lead tape exactly like I have.

Test kau kau, you will SHOULD notice you need slightly more time to prepare for your strokes, but on impact you may notice it takes less effort to produce a nice/heavy ball.Please post your mini/detailed review when you are happy with your experiment, if you have any ??? to ask, just post em.
QUOTE(sophisticatedren @ Jul 1 2010, 10:21 AM)
alaa... prae ald knows the model..

prae.. if u may... tell me my possible options to stick the lead tape hehehe... ur expertise is needed here
Hhehheheehe have fun Sophi thumbup.gif

praetorian
post Jul 1 2010, 11:29 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(k3vin82 @ Jul 1 2010, 11:20 AM)
yup , got also... but the black and white one for me looks nicer.. at first i tot onli the black one is selling 149... 

true, the barricade 6.0 looks very good in real life compared to on pic..
Wait kev, that means they are selling the ALL BLACK one as well!?!!
:-O AIGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
praetorian
post Jul 1 2010, 12:45 PM

866 posts

!!!!! wah sophi ask for advice and then kipas me!!!! Mana boleh!!!
Barricade 6 I already pick my color!!!
Just need to decide when to get whistling.gif
I will not use Pure Storm, I know this is a very good racket, but I was thinking about getting a APD-GT if I don't like, it has better re-sale value, ALOT of Nadal fans here,so I can off load it easier, Pure Storm series, I have only met one person who use's that series and he is from KK....
praetorian
post Jul 1 2010, 01:04 PM

866 posts

OMG.....so many nice things....new Fed cap, nice Pink polo....Nike new Bull Cap, nice classic look from Nike Polo.....WTF!?!!

.Anyone need coaching!?!! heheheh x-p
praetorian
post Jul 1 2010, 02:20 PM

866 posts

Hahah klboy, thanks for the offer!
Here where people use APD-GT, I think 1 cikgu has a APDC, but he is in KK x-p
praetorian
post Jul 1 2010, 03:00 PM

866 posts

Yhaa mr pinky, it will slightly alter overall weight and make the racket slightly head heavy, but you will have more torsional stability, so your racket doesn't 'twist'.
praetorian
post Jul 1 2010, 03:22 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(PINK_MING @ Jul 1 2010, 03:17 PM)
no kaki how to practise everyday?if got kaki can larr....no kaki here...wa..bro ck..u nvr reply my post?? sad.gif ur bro thrust...can i play tennis wif him?i too noob u dowan to reply har? sad.gif

btw,bro prae...which pink polo r u toking abt??? brows.gif
heheheh on my want list....see pics!

Wah pinky play everyday kah, must of improved ALOT!!!
dun bully me k!

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
praetorian
post Jul 1 2010, 06:43 PM

866 posts

@vobs i think these type of merchandise can only buy from US. (Tennis-warehouse)
praetorian
post Jul 2 2010, 06:46 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(vobs @ Jul 2 2010, 03:38 PM)
Just another topic to debate about:)

ive been into many sports, from badminton, to aggressive inline skating, to downhill mountain biking and back to tennis. I realise that in all the sports that i tried or not tried, there are bound to have players that play with supernatural style and beauty while others will have super skill when they play that win them matches (only fed have both).

eventhough players with style never win any tournament, or skillful player do not have any style, both of them are still making names for themselves. their endorsement sell like hotcakes.....

So as for you guys, which will you opt for? super beautiful style vs skill that wins?

smile.gif hope this create more fun for this page:)

Added on July 2, 2010, 3:40 pm

no need delete bro, anyone can join, let those super player teach us a lesson so we can be better for future tournaments:) in other words, play for experience:)
!!!!!! HEY VOBS!!!!
Wah I just read your post!!!
I wanna ask you inline skating can lose weight or not?!!!
I tried reading up on this online, you have experience in their equipment?
Can help share/help information?

Regarding style vs skill....trust me when you run into a pusher ...style is nothing if you cannot back it up, but to each his own, you play the sport accordingly to what makes you happy on the court :-D
praetorian
post Jul 4 2010, 02:57 PM

866 posts

Lucky I don't have to play against him or people like that sure die wan, instead I challenge vobs at beer drinking or makan buffet!!!
heheheh good to see got people on forums dedicated to some form of tennis competition, you have my respect! <3

Keep up the Good Work!

praetorian
post Jul 5 2010, 01:16 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Jul 5 2010, 12:22 AM)
let's get prae & vobs to explain further.hehe... the technical guys in the forum .. haha...
QUOTE(vobs @ Jul 5 2010, 12:40 PM)
Bro Kev, singapore have microgel radical mp grommets and head guard or not?

I will be going for B6 MI custom, hopefully digi give another 50% this year end just like last year hehehehhe
Wah pls dun forget to sound the forum, if got this deal if jadi!!! <3
50% off thats a awesome deal!!! drool.gif
praetorian
post Jul 5 2010, 03:08 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(romeolee @ Jul 5 2010, 02:18 PM)
@vobs

oh will pm those guys if i wanna come.. ur racquet looks good.. but its kinda out of my budget la.. but will consider lar.. haha.. since ure technical pro.. so you should know your stuff..
This one is individual preference, if you think you want to pick up tennis for fun, (but dunno how committed you are) then I suggest you test/demo from friends, if you can meet up with the gang from lowyat, you UNTUNG banyak banyak....these guys are friendly always willing to help, promote tennis, share review, share knowledge on tennis.

IF you know you are committed then for sure I recommend you buy a slightly better stick, long term saves money.Trust me heheheeh, also, though I am abit knowledgeable on some things, I am not a real sifu..... lol.Still can learn, this old dog still wanna learn new trick's x-p

All of us learn by mistake, and by sharing, if you guys don't post small review on racket/string, how I can learn......true or not?

Everyone can contribute leh, I am very embarrassed some time, when you all mention my nick, dunno can live up to expectation x-p, hopefully as a community we can go forward, have fun on the tennis courts!
praetorian
post Jul 5 2010, 03:14 PM

866 posts

KNNNNNN sophi you dun kipas me!!!!
I know you are pig eat tiger type also!!!!
This forum alot!!!
Lucky I know the biggest 'hunter' here so I am safe!!!! :-p
praetorian
post Jul 5 2010, 06:32 PM

866 posts

Sophi , I am also just learning, I also not a pro........you can check ATP rankings, my name dun have, so I am like everyone else, just wanna learn and have fun......

Yalor your good friend almost everyday scold me with his colorful language, I wake up every morning to *expletive deleted* lucky I thick skin one, so anything I can take!!

So how your new weapon, got test kau kau yet or not? Any new thing to report?
KNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN :-p
praetorian
post Jul 6 2010, 11:27 AM

866 posts

Carto lol no need to use the " notworthy.gif " icon gila man, my face is blushing.......if ada web camera I look like cooked lobster x-p

Ok first thing's first hehehehe I am glad to hear you tried 45 lbs, and appreciate your review!

1. Should I use back 60lbs so that I can do longer swings?
If I am you, I would stick it out at 45 lbs for a while longer, also swing faster, it looks like you grasp some benefits of low tension poly's slice's are easier to perform, they skid/stay lower they don't sit up, easier to handle harder balls with less effort.....surely these will benefit you once you become a better player!!! Don't you think so!?

2. Should I keep using the 45lbs so tht I can slowly get used to it and hopefully, in future I can do longer swings like how i would with 60lbs?
Answered in post 1,hehehehe

3. Can I switch around? ie: this week I use 45lbs, then next week use 60lbs, then following week use back 45lbs…. is it advisable to do this? Because if not, tht will mean my 60lbs strung black code will be of no use and have to wastefully, 'samtong' like mad and cut it cry.gif
Its basically up to you, I personally would not recommend it, as you are still on the learning progression curve, if you switch, it staggers and delays any improvement you should see or notice, however I would keep your 60 lbs racket as a back up racket, when playing conditions change, ie balls are botak, court conditions are heavier ie looks like rain....can use when its hot as well, as balls tend to fly faster, depends on what you need, more power or more control, only you can answer this question

4. Or…… shud I use back my 60lbs and keep on purposely hit the frame until the black code snap, then only start to try get used to 45lbs…?
Up to you again, why waste the price you paid for the blackcode!?! Keep as backup racket loh

5. I have 1 pack of synthetic gut string haven’t use yet….if I use it, wat tension shud I put?
Synthetic gut plays well if strung higher, but why are you going between cheap poly, good poly and synthetic gut......give yourself time to adjust say 2 months of playing with cheap poly at 45 lbs, ask your hitting partners if they feel any difference, make a mental note IF you feel any difference TRY all the shots you wanna try see what type of shots you can pull off, and what shots don't work.....

6. I also have a pack of hybrid string (poly and synthetic gut), so if I wanna use it wat tension shud I put at the main and the cross respectively?

This is subjective as different players prefer different tensions, you have just experimented with a cheap poly at 45lbs, try using that for at least 2 solid months...see what you think works for you. You can opt to string poly as a main and syn as a cross, tension depends on YOU.

7. Is it advisable to string an edged poly string (black code, cyber blue gear) at the low tension at 45lbs?
I use to string Blackcode at 45lbs I liked it however tension maintenance wasn't so good after a full sparring session tension would decrease by at least 10-15% so thats why I don't use Blackcode, I hit either very flat or with alot of spin depending on who I play. If I were sponsored or kena mega toto I would use Blackcode for 2 hours and cut it out and restring.....but sadly mimpi only.....

I am using Signum Pro Tornado as a main string, strung 42 lbs on Wilson k6.1 tour, tension maintenance is excellent...I don't really care if spin is there or not but I MUST have tension maintenance, but this is a textured string, and there is spin :-) win/win lah, if you wanna try this string, I think bro altezza has lobang for this string, can't hurt to ask him, give it a try if you can :-D

Have fun carto! <3

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:11 PM