16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V8, All About Tennis (gears, courts, etc)

praetorian
post Jul 10 2010, 09:15 AM

866 posts

wah this pinky kipas till like this....lasso forehand is Nadal forehand lol, I am not saying you can't do it, but even a pro like Nadal usually hits his forehand a bit too short for my liking, his forehand though has the highest RPM so it can 'kick' up and outwards to compensate for the 'shortness' of the ball.

However we cannot get the same kick as Nadal and if our balls land short in the court be prepared to run, as your opponent has the time to set up and 'kill' the ball or set up the point by attacking the net, so in the end we MAY lose 60-70% of the points if we are hitting the ball too short.

Also if you don't have string fore arm, you are putting your hand at risk, why do this for the sake of lasso forehand......

If really wanna see lasso forehand, if I can get a HD camera, and the weather good, hopefully tomorrow I can do a few for demo......but don't expect NADAL type goodness lol I can consistently do it but of course no way close to the real deal k......
praetorian
post Jul 10 2010, 09:28 AM

866 posts

*gulp* lol thanks for stressing me out!!!!
hehehe like I said I need to see if I can get a HD camera first.....
Hope for the best lol
praetorian
post Jul 10 2010, 09:52 AM

866 posts

Pinky I,myself not 100% sure how to answer this question as I did not see your actual hitting, I dunno if you were hitting forehand only or forehand and backhand, if forehand only its very hard to say why BOTH your arms are tired, of course if you did forehand,backhands,(double backhand) serve,volleys, then naturally your non hitting arm also is being utilized to some extent....

Pls don't be frustrated pinky, I cannot give you a more detailed explanation if I did not see your strokes paiseh yhaaaa, but if you have access to a local coach in Miri, I strongly suggest you utilize his services, hopefully you can gain some knowledge and improvement over time.

praetorian
post Jul 10 2010, 01:06 PM

866 posts

@vobs hahahahah i know that feeling.....I have had MANY students asking me, how come their game have not improve like Edberg,Becker,Lendl after 1-2 lessons.....as a coach even though you are paying for a service, don't expect super miracle and expect to win Wimbledon after 2-5 coaching lesson.......I kena before, straight faced a group of teens ask me, can win Wimbledon if take coaching lesson.....I speechless that day!

I told them if wanna win Wimbledon my rate is not RM XX.00 anymore, but 250,000.00US plus extra incentive if they perform well in Grand Slam, want or not....heheheh then that time they speechless!

@gccoi90 I suspect you have a good backhand that just may need some tweaking, if you can hit easily with depth and the ball is landing near the baseline, it will be quite difficult to attack you.If you are encountering people who give 'bad call' you have to just accept this kinda of thing, even on ATP can get some bad calls right....but they have Hawkeye heheheheh.

Practice aiming higher over the net but with more spin, take it slow and see how.
:-D
praetorian
post Jul 10 2010, 04:27 PM

866 posts

what...... other people can give better than RM250.00?!!! I find the extraordinary hard to believe.....if I didn't just blow my wad of cash on something, I would so like to try the Aerogel 300 as its easily customizable, according to tt-warehouse.

Bump for excellent seller, I highly recommend him, bought lots of stuff in the pass, all problem free <3
praetorian
post Jul 10 2010, 07:28 PM

866 posts

@gcooi90 bro your poly is 'dead' and is unresponsive, its no wonder your balls are landing too deep, I strongly urge you to restring your racket, report back and see got difference or not.

@k3vin82 pls let me know amount I owe you will bank in asap as well,again you have my thanks!!! <3 if you decide to get from Ryan pls let me know, I can give you a deposit or pay upfront for my stuff next time,I always feel awkward when you pay first x-p...
THANKS bro <3
praetorian
post Jul 10 2010, 10:05 PM

866 posts

If you are happy with Blackcode, then reorder Blackcode loh, once poly starts to move, or you notice your ball doesn't dip as much as it when freshly strung, it may be time to restring.

Eg, your cars have tyres, you don't wait for them to burst on the road while driving, you change em once you know they are done, same with strings.
praetorian
post Jul 11 2010, 07:36 AM

866 posts

top of the morning fella's!

I am guessing most of you are at Sunway! Hope its nice and sunny,have fun!
praetorian
post Jul 11 2010, 09:46 AM

866 posts

WAH Pinky wha....happen .....you see leng lui is it?!!!
Aiyoo lost your phone, Nokia N82?! .....*gulp*
praetorian
post Jul 11 2010, 08:24 PM

866 posts

WOWEEEE!!!!
I just saw a very sexay beauty!!!!!!
<3!!!!
Ahhhhh........................

Hey I manage to get a HD camera and I filmed some stuff, but alas the battery in the camera didn't last long.....I managed to do a bag check....a bad one coz I am holding the camera as well.....I manage to get a few serves , also managed to get one small segment of me fooling around to loosen up my wrist,then the camera died......

So how to upload!?! Where to upload?!! The file's are pretty huge *gulp* I will try and upload them, pls don't ask me to convert and re-upload, I am a fat lazy tool......

OMG I just checked the files.....the bag check I think is 30 seconds its already 85MB!!?!!The short clip on serves is 65MB....the one of me trying to loosen my wrist is 89MB.........wah....this one is gonna take a while ........

This post has been edited by praetorian: Jul 11 2010, 08:27 PM
praetorian
post Jul 12 2010, 06:30 AM

866 posts

AAAHHHH crap, I tried to upload last night, and went to sleep and hoped that one video would be uploaded....no dice.....I think it hung........will try again later...

@sungami thats not a monster combi is it, the orange/black one....thats a real kick ass bag!
praetorian
post Jul 12 2010, 08:40 AM

866 posts

YAYAYAYAAY finally I manage to get the video's up lol

Please note that I was alone at the time, so I cannot unzip my bag, hold the bulky camera and give commentary at the same time, overall it quite clear, not as clear as raw when watching on the pc, guess its doable lol

Hahah when I was about to serve my phone received sms lol that is not inhouse music, I dunno how to do that.
These are just warm up serves.....

The 3rd video I dunno it comes out garbled, and there is alot of small square running green.....I won't post it here

Enjoy lol x-p

This post has been edited by praetorian: Jul 12 2010, 08:42 AM
praetorian
post Jul 12 2010, 10:49 AM

866 posts

hahaha dont worry kev, I also never use tripod, I just use a modified clothes hangar and 'gantung' on the fence and straight away take.....

Dont worry abt video, we should be here to learn, criticism of any form should be welcomed, I have no qualms if any one wants to give me any pointers....who dowan to improve!? :-p

Ahh I know Sg courts are in much better shape :-p
praetorian
post Jul 12 2010, 11:14 AM

866 posts

!!!! wooooi carto dun spoil my image leh.....when u say fierce u mean whaaaa....scare away girls or ah long come knockin on my door type.....I already old leh so my hair is very short one, last time when in teens my hair is long one, that time got banyak ah moi chase me, now....*gulp* I have to do all the chasing also then I am leaner now ada big stomach already....you guys seen my vid, now see me when young lol, mega jauh beza.....

praetorian
post Jul 12 2010, 11:58 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(lelucky @ Jul 12 2010, 11:37 AM)
footfault laaa hahaha

my serve is similar like yours, most of the time footfault hehe, always kena sound from more exp coaches...wat to do, old habits die hard
this is my practice serve, I think my starting foot already touching baseline lol, he could be right, when I line up against the baseline I didn't think about it, for me my toss more important, in tournaments i have never been called for foot fault though, next Sun if can get camera I take vid of the feet lol :-p

Worse case scenario I do pin point stance next week, I cannot do platform serves period....

This post has been edited by praetorian: Jul 12 2010, 12:01 PM
praetorian
post Jul 12 2010, 12:13 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(lelucky @ Jul 12 2010, 12:07 PM)
thats better prae, least we can share our thought, and try different style of serve if in case it is a foot fault..

for me, i just stand 1 feet away from the baseline, confirm no ff and maintain my serve routine.
Hahah thats why I posted video lah get the ball rolling........heheh good idea lelucky LOL!
Anyway hehehehe glad to see battousai post , I have not seen him in the forums for ages!

Bro how are you!?!!
Are you still playing tennis?
Hope all is well, take care bro! thumbup.gif

@carto WOI!!! what I do to you today!?!!!
Today I kena twice from you...first say I look damn ganas.....now say I can ace people 3 feet away....all not true!!!!
Depends on match or my match up, I can seldom serve ace in a match , if lucky the max 2-3 only honest, I don't serve 100%, only around 70-80% max , but try to get high percentage in, my 1st serve percentage is easily 70-75%, but of course this is with kaki here, if Inter Affiliate State matches, then my serve percentage drops to 60-65%
Too bad, I too busy with work locally if not go to Sutera Harbor for tournament there, I think some Dunlop team from Lakeview won the whole thing, congrats to them!

This post has been edited by praetorian: Jul 12 2010, 12:20 PM
praetorian
post Jul 12 2010, 12:26 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Jul 12 2010, 12:19 PM)
haha im good... doing full time coaching now.. no more competitive la after SUKMA..tht one also was forced to play sleep.gif 

i've been reading jz tht didnt post haha

pinpoint stance = roddick's stance ??

overseas coaches are teaching tht nowadays due to it being more easy for bodyweight transfer..starting to push kids towards tht stance too haha
Congrats bro, good to know you are living your dream!!!!
Aiyoo once it a while post mah, all of us,including myself, could use your experience and advice, our time, the generation is a bit different , so may be your approach is more current, do post when you are free, leh!

@lelucky....you don't make me touch wood, I heard the Kompleks here funds are drying up, dunno if true or not, these days I bring my own broom to sweep the court!!!

Yhaa pinpoint is Roddicks stance, easier for weight transfer...but different coaches have different opinion, I say use what works for you.
praetorian
post Jul 12 2010, 03:56 PM

866 posts

CHOOII!!!! I older than Elkin!!! He look like me!!!!! x-p
praetorian
post Jul 12 2010, 08:54 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(k3vin82 @ Jul 12 2010, 08:47 PM)
wahh vobs, nice vid man.. so fast post edi.. i cant wait to post mine also.. haha.. but mine if show backhand sure kena critic .. haha.. i hate my backhand man.. still kenot get a consistent motion for it..

@prae,
test test , belum panas.. haha.. i couldnt hear the sound cos was in the office when i saw the vid.. got background music somemore during serve.. hehe.. cool..

Added on July 12, 2010, 8:48 pmone day we should go down to sabah and play a frenly with prae's group.. smile.gif can find some lower standard ones to play us arr.. 3.5 ish ones.. dont too ganas ones
WOII dont kipas lah, I mentioned in my original post, when I was going to serve, SMS arrive, not music I do intentionally one!!! I am NOT tech savvy k!!!Also its overcast, I set up the camera by myself as I am alone........no one to help me, then I straight away serve, tell you guys the truth mah....test test belum panas x-p

Kev post the video anyway.....if you scared people comment about your backhand, how to improve,must be THICK skin abit mah, good advice can be given by battousai, vobs,myself AND everyone else,even I can learn something if you point it out to me.

See even Ci Long now joins the board, c'mon lah people, if he gives some free tips, I'd listen for sure.
praetorian
post Jul 13 2010, 06:52 AM

866 posts

Ken is it? hehehe if want to improve ,better thick skin abit mah,:-p
Also other members can see and learn abit from the video, hopefully not the bad habits x-p, but I encourage other members to post their vids, looking forward to it.

16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:32 PM