.:|UTM thread v3|:., -have u start looking for job/intern?-
LegendSam
May 7 2012, 08:19 PM

QUOTE(Ben91 @ May 7 2012, 08:15 PM) Yes you may,as for your chances of getting in I have no idea,Mr Azarimy might be able to help you there. No problem,Feel free to ask anything,Just graduated from diploma so I give whatever info i can,As for the ptptn i din apply for it but if from what i know,during the orientation week,they will be slots for ptptn application so no worries there. oic. thanks
azarimy
May 7 2012, 09:25 PM
mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
QUOTE(clon12 @ May 7 2012, 12:08 PM) Just a quickie, can I apply degree at UTM even though I did my diploma at other local uni? ok there has been a number of changes in the past few months due to the autonomy thing, so some of the things im gonna say here will/might differ from the actual facts. in the past, YES, u can apply UTM degree with diplomas from other universities as long as it complies with MQA. but which semester or year u join in depends on successful credit transfers. now, most courses have started using different standard than MQA. so universities/colleges that used to feed their diploma students to UTM could not do so anymore. so it would be best for u to actually call up and check whether ur diploma will be accepted or not. sorry, i cant keep track with all the changes  .
clon12
May 7 2012, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ May 7 2012, 09:25 PM) ok there has been a number of changes in the past few months due to the autonomy thing, so some of the things im gonna say here will/might differ from the actual facts. in the past, YES, u can apply UTM degree with diplomas from other universities as long as it complies with MQA. but which semester or year u join in depends on successful credit transfers. now, most courses have started using different standard than MQA. so universities/colleges that used to feed their diploma students to UTM could not do so anymore. so it would be best for u to actually call up and check whether ur diploma will be accepted or not. sorry, i cant keep track with all the changes  . Alright. I will try to call up and ask. Btw, I'm offered diploma in mechanical engineering at UMP, that's why I'm asking whether can transfer to UTM for degree or not.
MaGNiFiCo
May 8 2012, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(NaShRiCk @ May 7 2012, 08:16 PM) Syiok apa bro?? nmpk kdse ke? LOL HAHA KDSE nmpk ape. jauh kot.. as usual. when UPU season UTM thread is alive with freshie questions. welcome to UTM if u do get enrolled
NaShRiCk
May 8 2012, 12:53 AM

QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ May 8 2012, 12:28 AM) HAHA KDSE nmpk ape. jauh kot.. as usual. when UPU season UTM thread is alive with freshie questions. welcome to UTM if u do get enrolled  Pastue senyap balk.. hahaa
LegendSam
May 8 2012, 02:30 PM

can anyone tell the ratio of student in UTM according races?
TSMyKy44
May 8 2012, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(LegendSam @ May 8 2012, 02:30 PM) can anyone tell the ratio of student in UTM according races? unsure of exact numbers. but surely malays > chinese > indian. in total that is.
MaGNiFiCo
May 8 2012, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(LegendSam @ May 8 2012, 02:30 PM) can anyone tell the ratio of student in UTM according races? by class or by course? it depends..in some courses they do had a balanced amount of student.. but why does it matter anyway????
azarimy
May 8 2012, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(LegendSam @ May 8 2012, 06:30 AM) can anyone tell the ratio of student in UTM according races? i can tell u for sure that it's NOT like what u think it is.
LegendSam
May 8 2012, 07:29 PM

QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ May 8 2012, 03:31 PM) by class or by course? it depends..in some courses they do had a balanced amount of student.. but why does it matter anyway????  just asking Added on May 8, 2012, 7:37 pmQUOTE(azarimy @ May 8 2012, 04:32 PM) i can tell u for sure that it's NOT like what u think it is. then how is it? This post has been edited by LegendSam: May 8 2012, 07:37 PM
azarimy
May 8 2012, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(LegendSam @ May 8 2012, 11:29 AM) just asking Added on May 8, 2012, 7:37 pmthen how is it? what do u think?
Ben91
May 8 2012, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ May 8 2012, 07:49 PM) In Kl its about 70% malays,maybe 5% - 10 % indians, 1-5% orang asli,15-20% chinese and rest are foreign students.. This will change indifinitely next semester i reckon if the degree courses get shipped to skudai,since the majority of the chinese students are degree students.. What is it like in skudai??
MaGNiFiCo
May 8 2012, 10:01 PM
in skudai the syiah is invadin the utm!! haha jus kiddin.. but seriously there is a lot of iranians..especially in my fac..FSKSM..postgrad student once u are in utm the races shudn't be ur main concern..
LegendSam
May 10 2012, 04:57 PM

If i complete both diploma and degree in computer science in UTM, it needs 7 years or the fastest is 6 years, is it true?
azarimy
May 10 2012, 10:13 PM
more or less, yeah.
MaGNiFiCo
May 11 2012, 01:11 AM
QUOTE(LegendSam @ May 10 2012, 04:57 PM) If i complete both diploma and degree in computer science in UTM, it needs 7 years or the fastest is 6 years, is it true? if you are diploma holder from utm then it shud be 6 years (that if u manage to transfer the credit to the max) i manage to make it 5 yrs and a half. but in my case it still using the old syllabus. the new one xtra one sem..so 6 years it is
LegendSam
May 11 2012, 06:50 PM

QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ May 11 2012, 01:11 AM) if you are diploma holder from utm then it shud be 6 years (that if u manage to transfer the credit to the max) i manage to make it 5 yrs and a half. but in my case it still using the old syllabus. the new one xtra one sem..so 6 years it is  zzz...need so much time to complete it== Added on May 11, 2012, 6:56 pmQUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ May 11 2012, 01:11 AM) if you are diploma holder from utm then it shud be 6 years (that if u manage to transfer the credit to the max) i manage to make it 5 yrs and a half. but in my case it still using the old syllabus. the new one xtra one sem..so 6 years it is  may i ask u why bachelor of computer science in UTM need one more year than other university to complete it? This post has been edited by LegendSam: May 11 2012, 06:56 PM
MaGNiFiCo
May 12 2012, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(LegendSam @ May 11 2012, 06:50 PM) zzz...need so much time to complete it== Added on May 11, 2012, 6:56 pmmay i ask u why bachelor of computer science in UTM need one more year than other university to complete it? bcos UTM are so powwah! they loved their student very much! that is why they didn't let the stud grad too early.. sorry bro dunno how to answer this. if im not mistaken u wont find a 3 years course anymore in ipta..all science course b4 dis 3yrs one has been extended to a 3 yrs and half or 4 yrs
azarimy
May 12 2012, 03:01 PM
UTM have integrated all the degree++ courses into the curriculum. it basically enhances employability rates, imbues the students with skills not obtained naturally in other universities. of course, u could acquire these skills outside, but even UTM offers RM11k per course, which u're getting for free  . in addition to that, students scoring these new degrees can opt to go straight to PhD (skipping masters) in UTM. if time is such a big factor, we recommend IPTS. some dont even have holidays, u can finish a degree in 2 years.
LegendSam
May 12 2012, 10:50 PM

QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ May 12 2012, 08:08 AM) bcos UTM are so powwah! they loved their student very much! that is why they didn't let the stud grad too early.. sorry bro dunno how to answer this. if im not mistaken u wont find a 3 years course anymore in ipta..all science course b4 dis 3yrs one has been extended to a 3 yrs and half or 4 yrs nvm, thank anyway Added on May 12, 2012, 10:52 pmQUOTE(azarimy @ May 12 2012, 03:01 PM) UTM have integrated all the degree++ courses into the curriculum. it basically enhances employability rates, imbues the students with skills not obtained naturally in other universities. of course, u could acquire these skills outside, but even UTM offers RM11k per course, which u're getting for free  . in addition to that, students scoring these new degrees can opt to go straight to PhD (skipping masters) in UTM. if time is such a big factor, we recommend IPTS. some dont even have holidays, u can finish a degree in 2 years. i oso wan to go IPTS but financial condition doesn't allow me to go. Thanks anyway This post has been edited by LegendSam: May 12 2012, 10:52 PM