Motorola Milestone official thread V2, Flashing sbf & rooting guides @ 1st post

V12Kompressor
post Jun 18 2010, 10:29 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

Woot.
Hooray for v2 rclxms.gif

and replying to holypredator; yes. There are high chances I might be upgrading to Milestone 2 in the future. smile.gif

Or maybe The Milestone X if I could forgo the physical keyboard.
V12Kompressor
post Jun 19 2010, 12:56 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(kyleee @ Jun 19 2010, 12:23 AM)
can=)

Added on June 19, 2010, 12:24 am
cz the design la..=)
u c be4 the pic d rite?
its different from milestone=))
looks can be deceiving
and never judge a book by its cover.
V12Kompressor
post Jun 19 2010, 06:16 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

I'm using matte screen protector.
V12Kompressor
post Jun 19 2010, 09:05 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

Dont have much confident on the glass no mattter how gorilla it was. Haha
V12Kompressor
post Jun 20 2010, 08:58 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(dun_toi @ Jun 20 2010, 06:35 PM)
any motorola service centre to change the housing ??? i dropped my milestone... damn screwed... =="
shocking.gif sad.gif
By the sound of it, the damage seems quite bad. sad.gif
V12Kompressor
post Jun 21 2010, 08:23 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

See the code down the IMEI

eg:

SM,A853,ES,RETAIL,LICBRZ

Tell us the highlighted part
like mine is ES so it means ESPANOL, so it is an Europe set
V12Kompressor
post Jun 22 2010, 12:04 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(clquek @ Jun 21 2010, 10:57 PM)
99% Buying the MS this weekend!  rclxm9.gif

Just a few questions I have before I actually make the purchase.
1. For MS users who are using the Matte screen protector, I have read in the past replies that the Matte is not really sensitive. How do you guys find it? Worth buying?

2. Does a MS require a data plan? Would it be okay if I only used Wifi? Since my whole college is wifi, it would be pretty convenient. I have a limited budget and if it is possible, I wouldn't want to take up a data plan since the minimum is RM50 for Maxis and any extra usage would be charged a bomb! Wouldn't wanna risk it.

3. This would be my first smart phone and I was wondering is it user-friendly? I tried using the MS over the weekend and I was kinda a noob.  blush.gif
Would it be easy to operate? I am on a semester break right now so I will have a few days to experiment with it. Good enough?

4. Any thing that I should know of before I purchase this phone? Anything that I should be prepared to face?

Please  icon_question.gif! Want a few last opinions to convince me to get the Milestone!
Thanks!  notworthy.gif
1. no issues at all. However, if you're using the epikcase clip on case, then there might be some difficulties. My set is naked now. And it is so much more slimmer now. laugh.gif

2. Depends on you. If you have wi-fi access most of the time in your life, then you can forgo the data plan. Those "smartphone without data plan thing" is plain bullshit. In the end, it depends on the user, where the user will be at most of the time and etc.

3. My first smart phone is the P1i and trust me, a smart phone from 3 years ago is so much nastier.

4. Some random bugs like alarm clock not functioning, sometimes the playlist wont close after you plugged out the headphones (have to lock screen > unlock screen > then press home then only will close) but everything is just pretty minor. Not much major problem. usually just restart the phone solves it all.

V12Kompressor
post Jun 22 2010, 08:25 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Jun 22 2010, 04:24 PM)
My Gmail & company email had been running without any hiccup so far. But I had the phone for only less than 2 weeks. Everything is still rosy. By the way, my screen protector is the free one that came with the phone. Just cut off the tab, and voila! Free screen protector. Talk about me being a cheapskate.... tongue.gif
Mine got peeled off after barely two hours I got my phone.
Perhaps its caused by mt tight jeans. So, those who wear tight jeans/slim fit jeans beware. laugh.gif
V12Kompressor
post Jun 23 2010, 12:05 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Jun 22 2010, 11:36 PM)
can i install apps on my SD card? my internal storage dah full dy
Have to wait till 2.2 arrives. smile.gif
V12Kompressor
post Jun 23 2010, 01:29 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

My worst nightmare:

Charger and USB cable left at office and I am on leave today. Sigh.

Battery bar now still have 70%. Going to have an important function this evening. sad.gif
V12Kompressor
post Jun 23 2010, 01:52 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

External HDD USB cable is not compatible... Zzz sleep.gif

Sigh.

and my set still virgin. Too lazy to discover the wonders of rooting.
V12Kompressor
post Jun 24 2010, 09:58 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

have to purchase as accessory...

BTW, where to get it ah? tongue.gif

Looks so tempting... drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Jun 24 2010, 10:02 PM
V12Kompressor
post Jun 24 2010, 10:36 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

me will try to find it out...

V12Kompressor
post Jun 25 2010, 11:33 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

My friend came back to Malaysia from the states for a month visit...

And he never told me about it. Made me missed the oppurtunity to have this:

vmad.gif
V12Kompressor
post Jun 27 2010, 11:24 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

same with the earphones...

rubbish laugh.gif

Got this instead:

V12Kompressor
post Jun 28 2010, 01:07 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

yup...

can answer calls also... smile.gif
V12Kompressor
post Jul 2 2010, 09:53 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

just put it this way:

it is 90% less laggy than WinMo

enough said. smile.gif
V12Kompressor
post Jul 3 2010, 05:17 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

unable to connect to server... cry.gif cry.gif
V12Kompressor
post Jul 3 2010, 10:52 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

Where can I manually download this update?

Trying the Moto web is futile...
Only found the Android 2.0 > 2.1 update.
V12Kompressor
post Jul 3 2010, 11:38 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(ligter @ Jul 3 2010, 10:56 PM)
Thank You,
appreciated it.
now flashing. rclxm9.gif

0.0211sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled