Unifi Latest UNIFI Coverage, Latest UNIFI Coverage

Ahn3hn3h
post Mar 28 2013, 11:51 AM

82 posts

It took only RM50million to wire up the entire Penang Island for a fibre ring network and somewhere close to RM100million to cover the ENTIRE Penang state.

If the RM2.4billion was put to good use, it would have covered close to 20 major cities throughout the country with the same amount of money instead of only a majority of Klang Valley as claimed by HSBB.

With some extra private funding or bonds issued, Rm5 billion would have covered the ENTIRE Malaysia by now.

As Dr Awang Lah had said, we are NOT Singapore which have a solid 80% REAL broadband take up rate. Getting a solid backbone is first priority before touching the last mile.If you can get a extensive backbone up and running, touching the last mile solutions is never an issue with plenty to play with - FTTH, VDSL2 copper, LTE, WIMAX, digital IPTV, CATV, etc.
Ahn3hn3h
post May 16 2013, 03:38 AM

82 posts

TMnut HSBB expansion I believe has already ran out of steam.

The last time they've depleted all the government RM2billion subsidy claiming they have the world's fastest rollout and now probably awaiting the next round of money handouts.

On top of that the company is expected to payoff with high dividends and maturing bonds, how are you going to expect them to have enough for expansion?

Ahn3hn3h
post Jun 30 2013, 12:19 AM

82 posts

Unifi doesn't seem to look like it's expanding anymore. How come there no more announcements made by TM about their 2nd phase expansion plans in the press?

They totally like went silent about their ambitious plans after the end of 2012 for their 1st phase completion.

It is starting to look like the HSBB project has failed. Malaysians internet speeds for the masses have not been increasing with the same prices being stagnant for more than 5 years already.
Ahn3hn3h
post Jul 3 2013, 11:30 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ Jun 30 2013, 12:40 PM)
Citation needed. How did you know there is no area expansion for HSBB?
Well where is it then?

The last time when Phase 1 was launched, we had a map shown in the newpapers outlining the areas in various states to be rolled out.

Where is the map for 2nd Phase?

I don't blame Unifail has failed to expand FTTH due to TM running low on funds.

Just look at Australia:

Australia has already given up on an all-fibre NBN

http://www.zdnet.com/australia-has-already...nbn-7000016989/

They have lost hope in theirs and will eventually end up going the same path as mother England serving VDSL2 through FTTN networks to the mass.
Ahn3hn3h
post Jul 13 2013, 02:44 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ Jul 4 2013, 12:00 AM)
There are not published in the newspapers. I have the coverage for the 2nd phase at least in Sabah, but not sure if I want to risk my neck to publish it here, plus TM doesn't seem to follow it anyway. And there is the third phase too, starting 2015.
My sources are coming from TM insider veteran "staffs" who worked in the company for almost their entire career life.

The expansion of Unifi in West Malaysia is almost to a halt now except that they're now trying to extend areas uncovered by already Unifi served exchanges as well as Sarawak/Sabah where the government stronghold is.

In fact if you people have noticed outside the Klang Valley, Sarawak is the only state in Malaysia with the most cities/towns covered with Unifi besides its state capital Kuching.

You have Miri, Bintulu and Sibu..

www.nst.com.my/ nation/ general/ unifi-in-major-towns-by-september-1.79040

Why? Sarawakians should thank their white king for pressuring BN to return their favour back to him for his contribution to the latest elections.

The other states expected to see further movements for Unifi expansion would be Kedah and Sabah.
Ahn3hn3h
post Jul 13 2013, 02:52 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(PoorVenderz @ Jul 6 2013, 01:08 AM)
Guys, may i know is there any unifi service at taiping @ kamunting areas at perak, i try to google it without any results. i hope there is someone who can help me and i'm really appreciate. thanks smile.gif
No coverage even in Penang Georgetown and Ipoh CBD you are asking to have it in Kamunting, Taiping?

Your own state capital also got no Unifi in its city centre, secondary towns have lesser priority.

In the political scene,
Taiping has to compete with Manjung, Lumut, Pangkor Island, Gerik, even Parit Buntar

Ahn3hn3h
post Aug 4 2013, 02:14 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 3 2013, 07:24 PM)
No wonder Greenlane area, Penang no signs of pulling the cable after laying the pipes since last year June!

They spent all the money on unpopulated area till now no more money! sweat.gif
Furthermore the TM veteran who told me this also informed me not to put much hope in waiting for Unifi to come to other exchanges presently not already covered.

It was actually more of a political more than anything.

Before the credit limit was implemented just a few months back, Streamyx and Unifi had 2 different suspension policies as told by the TM veteran.

Unifi users could go upto 5 months or more without paying bills while they still can surf the internet.Try that with your Streamyx account with 1 month unpaid bill and you'll see they'll suspend your account already.

But that was before the elections, maybe it served as a gift for supporters and fans. It has already been running for more than 2 years now and some early adopters have their contracts ended!

They really did practiced 'favoritism' in picking the deployment areas based on demographics accumulated through population census more than hearing into real demands.

Does state capital cities such as Georgetown, Ipoh and Malacca look like poor demand areas to you?

Instead they should be taking a deep look at the overstaffing and productivity issues which still bugs the company as what Maxis have started restructuring to adjust service pricing and quality.

Anyway it doesn't look good forward for them. Just last week the company share rating just got downgraded to negative by market analysts.
http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/in-the-edge...grades-tm-.html

So good luck to those living in cities still waiting for Unifi to come. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Ahn3hn3h: Aug 4 2013, 02:37 AM

0.0494sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:26 AM