This post has been edited by lwliam: Jul 5 2010, 10:35 PM
lwliam
post Jul 5 2010, 10:44 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

yes i agree that the bokeh is quite bad, it was the KM 50mm, that was the only midrange lens i had. apart from that, i only had my sigma 24-70 or mini beercan at my disposal... both cant go lower than f/2.8. in fact, all pics were not shot at f/1.7, mostly at f/2.2. i was hoping to go at least 70mm if i was able to drop the aperture more. hoping for somewhere around the range of 90 to 135mm

iamkiet, i totally understand and agree with you..

as a matter of fact, ALL my pics that day were taken with my 50mm... more to come in my Flickr

This post has been edited by lwliam: Jul 5 2010, 10:46 PM
lwliam
post Jul 5 2010, 10:50 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 5 2010, 10:46 PM)
the way the model put her hands are also distracting for me.  rclxub.gif
its her 1st time doing a photo shoot. and one of the photographers there were n00bs at photoshoot

didn't know how to direct the models to be more natural

lwliam
post Jul 5 2010, 10:51 PM

6,075 posts

do give more C&C, shoot me if you must.. the more the better rclxms.gif
lwliam
post Jul 5 2010, 10:54 PM

6,075 posts

why her face quality in the 1st pic and 3rd pic so big difference one??

its because its DIFFERENT ppl

Added on July 5, 2010, 10:55 pm
QUOTE(eddybeh @ Jul 5 2010, 10:52 PM)
lwliam: i face the same problem too... but i think u did quite many wedding 1s, rite? u don't need to direct the couple how to pose?
the couples i normally shoot for weddings are on actual days... they dont need to do much posing..

This post has been edited by lwliam: Jul 5 2010, 10:55 PM
lwliam
post Jul 5 2010, 10:56 PM

6,075 posts

in my defense, at least the pics (especially the last one) are tack sharp!

Added on July 5, 2010, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 5 2010, 10:56 PM)
yea just noticed..

keep looking for details forgot to look at the obvious. my bad.  tongue.gif
btw..2nd pic..shootkk say flash fired from the left? any reason why?
its to balance the natural light, so that it wont feel unnatural. we tried a couple of set ups to see which gave better results. in fact, there were 2 diffused flashes on light stands, each at different power settings.

This post has been edited by lwliam: Jul 5 2010, 10:58 PM
lwliam
post Jul 5 2010, 11:02 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 5 2010, 10:59 PM)
anymore samples of the same shot but different lighting?  laugh.gif   brows.gif
lazy to edit, not nice

This post has been edited by lwliam: Jul 5 2010, 11:12 PM
lwliam
post Jul 5 2010, 11:13 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 5 2010, 11:08 PM)
one more thing about the 3rd pic...can see that loooong strand of hair in front of the models face?

if can better remove it before taking pic la. distracting as well. my noob opinion. laugh.gif
lwliam
post Jul 6 2010, 12:57 AM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Jul 6 2010, 12:08 AM)
My wife asked how much do you have to pay? The model is really..
its for free... they get the photos, we get the experience
lwliam
post Jul 6 2010, 02:22 AM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Jul 6 2010, 01:05 AM)
So for a shoulder to face shoot what f do you recommend? I tried f/2.2 But Just got the nose / eye sharp and the rest is kinda oof.
it all depends on what you're after... which are the parts you want in focus? it sometimes is a give and take in terms of how much DoF u want compared to how soft you want the background to be. i would normally stick to a range of f/2 to f/3.5 with focal lengths shorter than 70mm for portraits, any higher than that, the background will be too "in focus"** to separate the model from background

** : subjective to ratio of distance of photographer to model and background, and photographer's definition of in/out of focus
lwliam
post Jul 6 2010, 06:28 PM

6,075 posts

go shoot, go shoot
lwliam
post Jul 6 2010, 10:59 PM

6,075 posts

sebastian, priming yourself for a new system d it seems? wink.gif
lwliam
post Jul 6 2010, 11:19 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jul 6 2010, 11:13 PM)
I've been dreaming of an APS-C compact for soooooooooooo long oredi. Though of buying the Sigma DP1  but the camera suck big time. Then DP2 came out n also suck big time. Then Leica X1 came out but that 1 can suck my big fat toe at rm7.5k. laugh.gif

Finally NEX come with 24mm f2.8 Pancake n Fisheye..............dream came tru.  wub.gif
rclxms.gif seems like quite a journey huh?

lwliam
post Jul 6 2010, 11:45 PM

6,075 posts

whole night so quite today, a bit of spam for you lot...

lwliam
post Jul 7 2010, 12:07 AM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 7 2010, 12:04 AM)
william~ its really nice~ sorry~ i am too noob to further comment~ i just feel comfy with the pics~ blush.gif
thanks.. then i give u something not so comfy to comment

she's gonna keel me for this tongue.gif but anyway, there's a nice version of it d...

This post has been edited by lwliam: Jul 7 2010, 12:07 AM
lwliam
post Jul 7 2010, 12:16 AM

6,075 posts

mike, yes... that was just a trial.. of coz i wont be using that.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 7 2010, 12:08 AM)
IMNO...the model can really practice how to smile..her lips dun look natural.. notworthy.gif
that's because i asked her to pout and wink at the same time

This post has been edited by lwliam: Jul 7 2010, 12:16 AM
lwliam
post Jul 7 2010, 12:20 AM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 7 2010, 12:18 AM)
nono..refering to this pic:  notworthy.gif

how would you suggest? how would you direct the model?
lwliam
post Jul 7 2010, 12:25 AM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jul 7 2010, 12:23 AM)

awwwwww....

QUOTE(destfull @ Jul 7 2010, 12:24 AM)
@lwliam any more beautiful model? it looks like she didn't eat for months
hahhaa, she also agrees that she's too thin... oh well...
lwliam
post Jul 7 2010, 12:37 AM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 7 2010, 12:33 AM)
the pose is ok. just the smile.

maybe something like that?

stolen from shinchan  tongue.gif

i cant be sure for one, but i think those models dont need any 'crash course' on how to smile.. these are just friends that asked for a shoot for portfolio, modeling smiles dont come as second nature. and i dont know how to direct a model how to smile/pose etc..

so if YOU were there, what would you do if the pose/smile is not up to your par? how would u say it?
lwliam
post Jul 7 2010, 12:42 AM

6,075 posts

you also want my honest honest reply?

try directing a 1st timer non-model on how to smile the way you want. poses are a different story. smiles, another.

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0387sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:00 PM