31 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

UK iPhone 4 Discussion Thread, -Source: the UK- Official Unlock iPhones

ksc_3688
post Jul 1 2010, 03:21 PM

1,138 posts

Just got a replacement sim card for my postpaid. Can use with voice and data both.
whatsayyou
post Jul 1 2010, 03:22 PM

525 posts

UK ip4 for RM3k. price reasonable?
chizzu
post Jul 1 2010, 04:50 PM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

"reasonable" for early adopters tongue.gif
xaw5126
post Jul 1 2010, 04:52 PM

3,488 posts

nope. warranty = none. UK Selling price = £499 = RM2417. So you're providing RM600 for someone to bring it back.

to make it worse, by end of July, Singapore is gonna start selling. So you will b paying RM600 to be special for exactly 1 month.
CooLeRthings
post Jul 1 2010, 05:21 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

not sure should i get it on next week or not =..=
They dun have stock so far sad.gif
thought wanna walk in one of the store and get it out...
i want a white one though...
wonder how long i have to wait...
of may b i just skip this or get the next gen...

the 3G version still working fine despite of the slower speed =/
minde
post Jul 1 2010, 05:34 PM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

hey anyone know where ip4 can be unofficially unlocked now?
azrinarizz
post Jul 2 2010, 09:56 AM

Made in Malaysia!
2,448 posts

Guys, I want to ask..So the iPhone in UK is fully unlock right. Just buy the phone from the store and make sure there isn't At&t logo on the box. So that means when I get the phone, I have to activate on iTunes right. When I activate, can I put my malaysian sim and the use the phone right away? 1 more is that I can still register via my us address or I need my uk address(iTunes account).

If everything goes smoothly, I hope the stock is available when I go down to uk next couple of months laugh.gif

This post has been edited by azrinarizz: Jul 2 2010, 10:03 AM
yuvanesh
post Jul 2 2010, 10:04 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Jul 1 2010, 03:22 PM)
UK ip4 for RM3k. price reasonable?
well the phone price is rm2500....then your shipping over here...sirim charges....if you have someone coming then its oklah...
xaw5126
post Jul 2 2010, 11:07 AM

3,488 posts

@azrinarizz
you'd need to reserve one... or purchase from UK online store. looks like its really hot-selling smile.gif
but UK sets sold thru Apple Store are unlocked, starting at £499 smile.gif
if its less than that, its probably locked ... as always, don't buy from third parties...
azrinarizz
post Jul 2 2010, 11:32 AM

Made in Malaysia!
2,448 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 2 2010, 11:07 AM)
@azrinarizz
you'd need to reserve one... or purchase from UK online store. looks like its really hot-selling smile.gif
if its less than that, its probably locked ... as always, don't buy from third parties...
I have already take note about the reserve and online store. Well, I will not get it at this time since it is selling like hot cakes and everyone wants one. Will go down to UK end of this year and I will see how it goes. I guess you can get it from the apple store by then. If it is not available, then the apple online store it is. Hopefully tongue.gif

About the activation, I can put my malaysian sim when I get it in the UK and use it right away after activating right? rclxms.gif
Thanks for your reply tongue.gif
xaw5126
post Jul 2 2010, 11:36 AM

3,488 posts

nope, 2 reasons it will not work.
1. the size. iPhone4 uses MicroSIM, till now no Malaysian telco is offering MicroSIM for voice / SMS service. Maxis is offering for data only.
2. the service. your Malaysian SIM probably will not have service here.
beavis68
post Jul 2 2010, 12:08 PM

I want my chicken Picata!! r u threatening me?
1,020 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 2 2010, 11:07 AM)
@azrinarizz
unit sold thru apple store could be lock to telco as well. so better be careful when make purchase.
one of forumner did encounter this problem.
azrinarizz
post Jul 2 2010, 01:01 PM

Made in Malaysia!
2,448 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 2 2010, 11:36 AM)
nope, 2 reasons it will not work.
1. the size. iPhone4 uses MicroSIM, till now no Malaysian telco is offering MicroSIM for voice / SMS service. Maxis is offering for data only.
2. the service. your Malaysian SIM probably will not have service here.
What do you mean by service? Lets say if I cut my celcom card in the UK, I can use it there
But when I come back to malaysia, it won't work? smile.gif

QUOTE(beavis68 @ Jul 2 2010, 12:08 PM)
unit sold thru apple store could be lock to telco as well. so better be careful when make purchase.
one of forumner did encounter this problem.
Oh alright. I get it now smile.gif Thanks for the tip. How do you see if it is locked by the telco or not
Is it the logo like the AT&T? biggrin.gif
yuvanesh
post Jul 2 2010, 01:07 PM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(azrinarizz @ Jul 2 2010, 01:01 PM)
What do you mean by service? Lets say if I cut my celcom card in the UK, I can use it there
But when I come back to malaysia, it won't work?  smile.gif
Oh alright. I get it now  smile.gif Thanks for the tip. How do you see if it is locked by the telco or not
Is it the logo like the AT&T?  biggrin.gif
well you see if you cut the celcom card...it will be use only has micro sim...fi iphone 4...and where ever you go..it will definately work..in regards you should have the roaming...locked set..you can either ask the apple store people or when you try to activate you cant do it with malaysian sim..
xaw5126
post Jul 2 2010, 01:28 PM

3,488 posts

when purchasing, obviously, you should ask first, "I'd like an unlocked set please" ... if they ask why, you can say "I'm wanting to use it when I travel overseas".

AFAIK, USA iPhone is guaranteed to be locked, so not much point.

IINM, the £499 in UK Apple store is the unlocked price, cos the Vodafone UK pricing is less than that, and if you sign £30 per month plan, its £219 for the phone, 19 month contract
feeling lazy to go check the other carriers... but looks like £499 is definitely the unlocked price smile.gif

Updated : O2 page cannot be viewed outside UK. vmad.gif here's a link showing the pricing anywayiPhone 4 on O2 UK, via GadgetVenue

Updated : Three is selling at some future unannounced date, so pricing is not set yet.

Added on July 2, 2010, 1:34 pm@azrinarizz
my advice is that you contact Celcom and get a temporary prepaid SIM card, take it with you and experiment with it. if it doesn't work, then you at least can keep your current line / SIM / whatever.

if it works, then proceed to *carefully* cut your SIM card to fit in iPhone4 smile.gif

This post has been edited by xaw5126: Jul 2 2010, 01:34 PM
azrinarizz
post Jul 2 2010, 02:29 PM

Made in Malaysia!
2,448 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Jul 2 2010, 01:07 PM)
well you see if you cut the celcom card...it will be use only has micro sim...fi iphone 4...and where ever you go..it will definately work..in regards you should have the roaming...locked set..you can either ask the apple store people or when you try to activate you cant do it with malaysian sim..
Oh alright. I won't get in the us mainly because it is locked. Even my brother offered me and I told him not to buy for me even though he can get his hands on extra units. My line will definitely have roaming and in simpler words I can't activate the phone via msian sim but I need a uk sim to start the activation. Then only I can use my msian sim to use it.

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 2 2010, 01:28 PM)
when purchasing, obviously, you should ask first, "I'd like an unlocked set please" ... if they ask why, you can say "I'm wanting to use it when I travel overseas".

my advice is that you contact Celcom and get a temporary prepaid SIM card, take it with you and experiment with it. if it doesn't work, then you at least can keep your current line / SIM / whatever.

if it works, then proceed to *carefully* cut your SIM card to fit in iPhone4 smile.gif
Well, I will keep your words in mind. Guess I will bring my uk friend with me
So he can buy on my behalf and says he wants an unlock set and wants to use it when he goes overseas
It would be easier than me asking. I had some problems in the us regarding the iPad 3G tongue.gif

Guess I will bring my malaysian prepaid sim to test out. If it works, I will cut my main line sim and use
You got a point there. If my sim does not work, I am dead. Can't call when I am in the uk laugh.gif
chizzu
post Jul 2 2010, 03:14 PM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

that is if you are lucky enough to have iphone in stock while you are here. seems like there is not much of stock in apple store sad.gif

I have reserved 2 more on priority list last week but havent heard from them since.

sembilan
post Jul 2 2010, 04:06 PM

644 posts

^ that is not good. I have someone coming back next week and i was hoping she can help me to bring one back. Do you think it will be easier in Scotland?
xaw5126
post Jul 2 2010, 04:17 PM

3,488 posts

http://www.apple.com/uk/retail/buchananstreet/

it says available first come first serve, limit of 2 per person. so go get it now!
chizzu
post Jul 2 2010, 04:35 PM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 2 2010, 04:17 PM)
http://www.apple.com/uk/retail/buchananstreet/

it says available first come first serve, limit of 2 per person. so go get it now!
probably sold out whistling.gif

there is another apple store at Aberdeen

The highest (in terms of latitude) apple store in the world (i think)

31 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:55 AM