UK iPhone 4 Discussion Thread, -Source: the UK- Official Unlock iPhones

harmeet15
post Jun 27 2010, 06:04 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

QUOTE(beavis68 @ Jun 27 2010, 05:00 PM)
As i promise to post some picture about the reception....

okie.....i was holding with one hand and my palm cover the antenna area... still reception is full bar (after holding for 5minute)

Now i use both hand and finger to cover the whole metal area for full 5minute - no reception fluctuation accept full bar all the time.

here r some iphone4 picture that i took to share with all of u.

enjoy..........
glad to hear tat bro..smile.gif
maybe its an issue affecting only the US...
n by the way, i ordered few units of zagg full body protection for the phone...let me know if u need one..smile.gif
n to every1 here...i'll be ordering more of zagg, bodyguardz, reveal for iphone4...let me know if u'll like to join in..smile.gif

Added on June 27, 2010, 6:56 pmso far i've ordered the zagg & reveal...
BG i din order as thr is a new dry version soon to be released..
also might be getting powerSupport if thr r ppl interested

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jun 27 2010, 06:56 PM
TakanoKyohei
post Jun 27 2010, 07:44 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(beavis68 @ Jun 27 2010, 05:00 PM)
As i promise to post some picture about the reception....

okie.....i was holding with one hand and my palm cover the antenna area... still reception is full bar (after holding for 5minute)

Now i use both hand and finger to cover the whole metal area for full 5minute - no reception fluctuation accept full bar all the time.

here r some iphone4 picture that i took to share with all of u.

enjoy..........
I believe it got problem with AT&T only because all i see in gizmodo and engadget only AT&T network were shown for the network lost ( or i do miss some picture for other network?).. now we can relax at ease since we got proof where maxis dont encountered problem with signal ( or we neet more user to try with thier iphone because we can make conclusion on it?)
kira-kun
post Jun 27 2010, 08:13 PM

161 posts

not sure whether you create a bridge or not
then again if buy bumper can also easily~

after much review, i plan to trade in and get a 32 GB iPhone 4 biggrin.gif
retina display go go go~
djlau07
post Jun 27 2010, 08:20 PM

34 posts

Heyz..how do you claim back the VAT? Cause I thought it was not allowed.. >.<
K3nn3th
post Jun 27 2010, 08:39 PM

21 posts

omg... how do u claim ? i got relative staying in UK...how if i ask them to help me buy & ask them help me claim there as well & then ship back to malaysia?
Masamune
post Jun 27 2010, 08:39 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

QUOTE(djlau07 @ Jun 27 2010, 08:20 PM)
Heyz..how do you claim back the VAT? Cause I thought it was not allowed.. >.<
Anything u buy in UK is allowed as long as ur eligible to claim it.
youngkies
post Jun 27 2010, 08:50 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Jun 27 2010, 08:39 PM)
Anything u buy in UK is allowed as long as ur eligible to claim it.
not everything, some are zero VAT.
stringfellow
post Jun 27 2010, 09:06 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Just did a FaceTime session with Beavis just now from Tokyo. The image quality took a hit initially but stabilizes after a while, akin to the ABC player on VPN. Talked for more than 10 minutes and showed him around the hotel, particularly the electronic Japanese toilet in the room! laugh.gif

The key is good solid Internet connection, and its 10 Mbits/s here. Beavis seems to be able to see me clearly on his FaceTime window, but I get pixelated view of his FaceTime window.

This is good news already. The next trip next month to Tokyo(again) and LAi, I can practically how FaceTimers whose calling me how Apple Stores there looks like! rclxms.gif

This is another way Apple is working on expanding the user's circle of friends since adding them with your contact is required to initiate FaceTime video session.
beavis68
post Jun 27 2010, 09:10 PM

I want my chicken Picata!! r u threatening me?
1,020 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 27 2010, 09:06 PM)
Just did a FaceTime session with Beavis just now from Tokyo. The image quality took a hit initially but stabilizes after a while, akin to the ABC player on VPN. Talked for more than 10 minutes and showed him around the hotel, particularly the electronic Japanese toilet in the room! laugh.gif

The key is good solid Internet connection, and its 10 Mbits/s here. Beavis seems to be able to see me clearly on his FaceTime window, but I get pixelated view of his FaceTime window. 

This is good news already. The next trip next month to Tokyo(again) and LAi, I can practically how FaceTimers whose calling me how Apple Stores there looks like! rclxms.gif

This is another way Apple is working on expanding the user's circle of friends since adding them with your contact is required to initiate FaceTime video session.
i waz like WOW coz the picture quality in face time is damn good....maybe becoz of your fast internet connection. and thank for the electronic toilet tour tongue.gif
TakanoKyohei
post Jun 27 2010, 09:19 PM

959 posts

Hoah i evny Both of you bro string and Bro beavis, as for the internet yeah i think so too.. since beavis you are here in malaysia you internet connection is streamyx right? with crappy upload speed i can assume how the picture quality transfered into string iphone.

anyway if beavis use Unifi maybe it will be different story.. me and my eldest brother seriously want to get iphone 4 since he travel a lot if my mother want to talk to him me and him can just use Facetime calling Free from malaysia to oversea.

OT a bit, bro string do you work as Cabin crew or Pilot? my eldest brother is cabin btw.

Taka.
stringfellow
post Jun 27 2010, 09:24 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Jun 27 2010, 06:04 PM)
glad to hear tat bro..smile.gif
maybe its an issue affecting only the US...
n by the way, i ordered few units of zagg full body protection for the phone...let me know if u need one..smile.gif
n to every1 here...i'll be ordering more of zagg, bodyguardz, reveal for iphone4...let me know if u'll like to join in..smile.gif

Added on June 27, 2010, 6:56 pmso far i've ordered the zagg & reveal...
BG i din order as thr is a new dry version soon to be released..
also might be getting powerSupport if thr r ppl interested
Those are good options for iPhone 4 protection. If PowerSupport makes those films available before my LA trip, you can save up on shipping by shippng it to my hotel in LA. I'm planning to do so, looking through other options for the iPhone 4 protection. I'm more inclined to use a crystal clear screen protection this time, since covering the front camera with a matte film will blur the image quality. I've changed mine to crystal clear SC already.

The bigger question here is, what about the back? Even with the Bumper case, the back is still exposed. I keep mine in the Moshi pouch I have but I dont intend to keep it naked. Want at least some sort of protection for it.

Added on June 27, 2010, 9:27 pm
QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 27 2010, 09:19 PM)
Hoah i evny Both of you bro string and Bro beavis, as for the internet yeah i think so too.. since beavis you are here in malaysia you internet connection is streamyx right? with crappy upload speed i can assume how the picture quality transfered into string iphone.

anyway if beavis use Unifi maybe it will be different story.. me and my eldest brother seriously want to get iphone 4 since he travel a lot if my mother want to talk to him me and him can just use Facetime calling Free from malaysia to oversea.

OT a bit, bro string do you work as Cabin crew or Pilot? my eldest brother is cabin btw.

Taka.
Yup, I can finally show you how the many different Apple Stores I've been looks like and why they are works of art. Shiny! biggrin.gif

OT:

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 27 2010, 09:27 PM
harmeet15
post Jun 27 2010, 09:29 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 27 2010, 09:24 PM)
Those are good options for iPhone 4 protection. If PowerSupport makes those films available before my LA trip, you can save up on shipping by shippng it to my hotel in LA. I'm planning to do so, looking through other options for the iPhone 4 protection. I'm more inclined to use a crystal clear screen protection this time, since covering the front camera with a matte film will blur the image quality. I've changed mine to crystal clear SC already.

The bigger question here is, what about the back? Even with the Bumper case, the back is still exposed. I keep mine in the Moshi pouch I have but I dont intend to keep it naked. Want at least some sort of protection for it.
i'm planning to use the zagg or BG on the front n back only, none on the metal parts..
tat way, i think the bumper will nt have any trouble fitting although i hv sm doubts abt the reveal as it has a built on cover for the back...
either way, the frnt part can be covered using any 1 of those...

Added on June 27, 2010, 9:29 pmthe powersupport due for jul 26 release...
no worries la bro..i'll get them here, u'll be back by then...

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jun 27 2010, 09:30 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 27 2010, 09:34 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Jun 27 2010, 09:29 PM)
i'm planning to use the zagg or BG on the front n back only, none on the metal parts..
tat way, i think the bumper will nt have any trouble fitting although i hv sm doubts abt the reveal as it has a built on cover for the back...
either way, the frnt part can be covered using any 1 of those...

Added on June 27, 2010, 9:29 pmthe powersupport due for jul 26 release...
no worries la bro..i'll get them here, u'll be back by then...
I just need the section that covers the back part, the front part I'll use PowerSupport made specifically for iPhone 4. Now using PowerSupport Crystal Clear made for 3G[S], and the iPhone 4 is slightly taller than 3G[S], I've aligned the ear speaker but the Home button opening is misaligned. sad.gif

I'll be your first customer for those if you can bring them in. tongue.gif Always worry constantly about the iPhone getting scratched. sweat.gif
harmeet15
post Jun 27 2010, 09:34 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Jun 27 2010, 09:34 PM)
although the bodyguardz dry will be shipping on the 9th..
i'll see if i can get those...smile.gif

Added on June 27, 2010, 9:38 pm

exactly my worry...smile.gif
i'm very particular about the protection for my phone...smile.gif
n jgn lah use customer customer...
the reason i'm asking for ppl here to order together is to save shipping per unit cost n avoid paying harga mahal outside...smile.gif
ksc_3688 will be doing the bulk, you guys can contact him.
he will provide the necessary details about the bulk and this is specially for our forum members only. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jun 27 2010, 09:53 PM
chizzu
post Jun 28 2010, 01:11 AM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

I ordered zagg Invisible shied full from amazon and will be getting it next week.
Right now I still have film kid on it as I refuse to leave my screen unprotected.
For those who still do so and is experiencing low call volume, it's coz the film lid is not a very good sound conductor tongue.gif

Btw just got backfrom regent st

No more queue as there are no more iPhone

But you can reserve iPhone for te next wave of long queue. Lol

BrokenOne
post Jun 28 2010, 01:20 AM

178 posts

ok er. one noobie question here. i have 4 friends studying in uk now. if i were to get them to buy me iphones and send it back. any idea what am i gonna face here? and any idea when is the next back of iphone4?
chizzu
post Jun 28 2010, 05:02 AM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

QUOTE(BrokenOne @ Jun 28 2010, 01:20 AM)
ok er. one noobie question here. i have 4 friends studying in uk now. if i were to get them to buy me iphones and send it back. any idea what am i gonna face here? and any idea when is the next back of iphone4?
you can but you might get taxed and probably get some charge for SIRIM approval. Not very sure about this but this was what happened during the original iPhone times.
stringfellow
post Jun 28 2010, 10:11 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Jun 28 2010, 01:11 AM)
I ordered zagg Invisible shied full from amazon and will be getting it next week.
Right now I still have film kid on it as I refuse to leave my screen unprotected.
For those who still do so and is experiencing low call volume, it's coz the film lid is not a very good sound conductor tongue.gif

Btw just got backfrom regent st

No more queue as there are no more iPhone

But you can reserve iPhone for te next wave of long queue. Lol
If you're free and plan to head to the Regent Street area again, and since you can walk-in now tongue.gif, can you check if they have any other accessories for the iPhone 4 other than the Bumper and the Dock? I know Apple scorns screen protectors, but other cases, they may carry. Going the same route as my iPad, ultra clear case or get front and back screen protectors used together with the Bumper.
hussain
post Jun 28 2010, 10:17 AM

2,012 posts

Hi guys i wanna get unlocked from UK.My friend is in York.i dont think there is an apple store there.Can he buy from anywhere else in York besides an apple store.? Please advice guys
Thanks so much and ya i love lowyat forum.smile.gif
chizzu
post Jun 28 2010, 03:40 PM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

QUOTE(hussain @ Jun 28 2010, 10:17 AM)
Hi guys i wanna get unlocked from UK.My friend is in York.i dont think there is an apple store there.Can he buy from anywhere else in York besides an apple store.? Please advice guys
Thanks so much and ya i love lowyat forum.smile.gif
you can order online from apple store. but it will take at least 3 weeks for stock to arrive.

31 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:01 AM