QUOTE(lungchum @ Jul 15 2010, 12:14 AM)
thank for your sympathy.. actually i just put them outdoor once a week.. during weekend.. they are really love to play around on the rumput kapet.. at my garden i also put a bridge to join between the hut and the cage.. they really like it.. moving fast like in the hiway (if got speed trap sure kena saman)
princess, i really want to make new cage by using c&c aar.. dont know whre to find here...
Hi Lung Chum,
1) The best option is to use C&C for cages, but they are very hard to find.
2) So the next best option is BBQ grills, they come in assorted sizes and you only need to buy cable ties to tie it together. (You can buy cable ties from any hardware store) Otherwise if you still can't get BBQ grills...
3) Then some people have decided to use the plastic white fences used for gardening...
4) And if you still can't find those, go to a hard ware store and buy chicken wire and reinforce the sides to make it stand straight. You can customise the chicken wire to any size you like, but to strengthen the sides you can either use plumber's pipe (small ones), wood or use thick wires about 0.3mm thick.
5) And if still can't get chicken wire. Go to some pet stores and ask for fencing and cable tie the fencing together.
6) and if that doesn't work.... Buy a few rabbit cages, Take the fencing out and tie together. (Ignore the base)
Ok.. those are just some ideas to help you out if you really are stuck on where to get C&C cages.... Basically you'll just need an area that will contain your GPs that will keep them warm, dry and safe. So be creative and have fun with your cage.
Added on July 15, 2010, 12:55 pmHi All....
Well I've been working hard trying to teach my 'Bacon' how to use the toilet.... It's not been very successful and he still pees and poops (He poops every 5 mins at least.. sigh..) all over the place. So I've decided to give up and instead focus on how I can make sure the cage as clean and smell free as much as possible.
Since my cage is lined with fleece, it will be very difficult to wash the fleece every single day as it is quite big. So I decided to use 2 smaller cage liner instead. I've been looking for some good cage liners. I tried using the ECOFREN washable pee pad. (http://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?t=3990) I used it for a few days and it seems to work as it should. Makes the poop easy to brush up. And the pee doesn't go to the fleece, making the fleece cleaner. Now my problem is... the pad doesn't eliminate smell and 'Bacon' can cover the whole place with his pee in one day. (I still don't understand how such a small thing can poo and pee so much) So after 1-2 days the smell is quite horrible.
Now I'm thinking of making my own cage liners, that are small, absorbent and hopefully odor eliminating. I'm thinking of sewing a few pieces of material together to make this work. 1st layer fleece, 2nd layer quilt batting, 3rd layer towel, 4th layer quilt batting and last layer fleece again. Do you all think that with a cage liner like this it will help eliminate the odour? Does anyone have any ideas on what stuffing I should use to kill the odour and is washable?
This post has been edited by lionelalexander: Jul 15 2010, 12:55 PM