9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Rock Band 3, Rock on!!!!

loldog
post Dec 8 2010, 01:25 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Dec 8 2010, 12:02 AM)
I'm not sure about RB guitars but I'm pretty sure they've got Guitar Hero ones(which are much superior, go for the GH5/WoR design)
Hmm im not really keen on the gh guitar since it makes that plastic-ish sound when you fret it but the WOR design has gotten my attention smile.gif.
Any idea as to how much the wor standalone guitar retails for?
TSKidicarus
post Dec 8 2010, 02:04 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(loldog @ Dec 8 2010, 01:25 AM)
Hmm im not really keen on the gh guitar since it makes that plastic-ish sound when you fret it but the WOR design has gotten my attention smile.gif.
Any idea as to how much the wor standalone guitar retails for?
Hi, they posted on 2nd december on their facebook page that they do have the RB3 telecasters on sale. You should check with them. They also have keyboards in stock and cymbal kits in stock.

While i started with GH guitars, i prefer the RB3 guitars now but i suppose that this comes down to personal preference.
trogdor1oh1
post Dec 8 2010, 09:14 AM

101 posts

Yeah, but generally the majority of GH/RB players play on GH guitars mainly because I'd personally say they're much more responsive, RB guitars never pick up fast streams and solos are pretty much impossible on them.
But I guess if you're playing on easy/medium it wouldn't really matter, they all essentially play out the same. But basically I wouldn't get it if I were out to maintain a steady combo.

Also loldog, RB frets are way way worse than GH frets. RB frets are incredibly noise and they're uncomfortably big, basically meaning half the time you might not even be able to hold down a note.

Added on December 8, 2010, 9:23 am

I'll say it looks much much better than the first few RB guitars, but it looks pretty expensive and unless you have the funds I'll still highly suggest against it.
RB guitars are generally good for casual players, but imo you will get better after playing for a while and once you start playing on expert it's gonna really test your patience.

I know the GH5 and WoR guitars may look and feel like kids' toys, but believe me when I say they are definitely the better controller in the long run. I've got both the GH5 and RB1 guitars, the RB1 guitar is really only there for when I have friends or family that come over to play on easy/medium, even then they eventually start to want to play on my GH5 guitar.

But again as Kidicarus said it does come down to personal preference at the end of the day. While the GHtars feel more sturdy and responsive, if you grow into Rock Band and Guitar Hero with the RBtars you might eventually not ever be able to FC anything on GHtars.

This post has been edited by trogdor1oh1: Dec 8 2010, 09:23 AM
loldog
post Dec 8 2010, 10:37 AM

61 posts

I see alright then,cause my last guitar(or more specifically my only guitar controller)was the world tour guitar and i didnt really like that one, so i was thinking of making the switch from gh guitars to rb ones.

This post has been edited by loldog: Dec 8 2010, 10:40 AM
trogdor1oh1
post Dec 8 2010, 11:20 AM

101 posts

World Tour guitar naturally sucks tongue.gif
Especially since the strum bar on that one is really really bad, and it also dies out after a while(mine couldn't strum up anymore).

GH5 guitar the frets and slider are pretty much the same, except the strum bar feels and performs much much better. To me, that's the perfect controller, so I'd say give that a shot.
loldog
post Dec 8 2010, 11:59 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Dec 8 2010, 11:20 AM)
World Tour guitar naturally sucks tongue.gif
Especially since the strum bar on that one is really really bad, and it also dies out after a while(mine couldn't strum up anymore).

GH5 guitar the frets and slider are pretty much the same, except the strum bar feels and performs much much better. To me, that's the perfect controller, so I'd say give that a shot.
haha alright,but between the gh5 and WOR controller are they the same performance-wise?
TSKidicarus
post Dec 8 2010, 12:31 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Dec 8 2010, 09:14 AM)
Yeah, but generally the majority of GH/RB players play on GH guitars mainly because I'd personally say they're much more responsive, RB guitars never pick up fast streams and solos are pretty much impossible on them.
But I guess if you're playing on easy/medium it wouldn't really matter, they all essentially play out the same. But basically I wouldn't get it if I were out to maintain a steady combo.

Also loldog, RB frets are way way worse than GH frets. RB frets are incredibly noise and they're uncomfortably big, basically meaning half the time you might not even be able to hold down a note.

Added on December 8, 2010, 9:23 am

I'll say it looks much much better than the first few RB guitars, but it looks pretty expensive and unless you have the funds I'll still highly suggest against it.
RB guitars are generally good for casual players, but imo you will get better after playing for a while and once you start playing on expert it's gonna really test your patience.

I know the GH5 and WoR guitars may look and feel like kids' toys, but believe me when I say they are definitely the better controller in the long run. I've got both the GH5 and RB1 guitars, the RB1 guitar is really only there for when I have friends or family that come over to play on easy/medium, even then they eventually start to want to play on my GH5 guitar.

But again as Kidicarus said it does come down to personal preference at the end of the day. While the GHtars feel more sturdy and responsive, if you grow into Rock Band and Guitar Hero with the RBtars you might eventually not ever be able to FC anything on GHtars.
Generally, RB1 guitars suck. Anything after that is miles ahead in terms of build quality and playability.

Been playing on the gretsch guitar for a year and I love it. The strum bar is generally quieter so you can actually hear the music and the neck is not as fat which for me is far more comfortable to hold over an extended period of time. Also, the flat fret buttons makes it easier for my fingers to slide from button to button. I can't agree with you on the noise levels as well. While the RB1 guitars were quite noisy, the frets on the newer guitars are a lot quieter. Also, if you are achievement whoring, you will not be able to use the digital touchpad on the GH guitars for the solos on RB3 which is the game that you'll keep playing more in the long term.

I play on expert so and while my skill level is not what you would consider a pro player, any mistakes made usually come from not being able to keep up with the charts and not from hardware. While they are both toy controllers, i feel the RB guitars feel less toylike than the GH ones.

But seriously, not being able to hold down a note? Are your fingers really that weak?

The only reason why most players play GH guitars is because they were the only ones available for the longest time.
trogdor1oh1
post Dec 8 2010, 12:33 PM

101 posts

As far as I remember the WT and GH5 guitar are all the same except the strum bar.
The WT strummer was lolbad, it was plastic so your hand could slip off and you would accidentally strum twice. Although I have a slight soft spot for it since I FCed Welcome to the Jungle on GH3 with it.
The mechanism itself is horrible though, it's weak and after a while it could just outright die.
When it works, it works, but meh.

Imo GH5's strummer really makes it worthwhile though, like I said it's my dream controller.
TSKidicarus
post Dec 8 2010, 12:37 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Dec 8 2010, 12:33 PM)
As far as I remember the WT and GH5 guitar are all the same except the strum bar.
The WT strummer was lolbad, it was plastic so your hand could slip off and you would accidentally strum twice. Although I have a slight soft spot for it since I FCed Welcome to the Jungle on GH3 with it.
The mechanism itself is horrible though, it's weak and after a while it could just outright die.
When it works, it works, but meh.

Imo GH5's strummer really makes it worthwhile though, like I said it's my dream controller.
Haven't touched my GH5 controller since i got my Gretsch but i find the finishing on the GH5 guitar really bad. After 3 months all the paint on the pick guard area was gone leaving a black patch. It's collecting dust at home now.

Seriously loldog, why don't you just give GH a call and they will tell you on the spot rather than asking on the forums whether the guitar is available? their number is 03-77252775

edit: WT guitar is bad. Though better than RB1 guitar but worse than the later edition RB guitars.

This post has been edited by Kidicarus: Dec 8 2010, 12:38 PM
trogdor1oh1
post Dec 8 2010, 12:42 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Dec 8 2010, 01:31 PM)
Generally, RB1 guitars suck.  Anything after that is miles ahead in terms of build quality and playability.

Been playing on the gretsch guitar for a year and I love it.  The strum bar is generally quieter so you can actually hear the music and the neck is not as fat which for me is far more comfortable to hold over an extended period of time.  Also, the flat fret buttons makes it easier for my fingers to slide from button to button.  I can't agree with you on the noise levels as well.  While the RB1 guitars were quite noisy, the frets on the newer guitars are a lot quieter.  Also, if you are achievement whoring, you will not be able to use the digital touchpad on the GH guitars for the solos on RB3 which is the game that you'll keep playing more in the long term. 

I play on expert so and while my skill level is not what you would consider a pro player, any mistakes made usually come from not being able to keep up with the charts and not from hardware.  While they are both toy controllers, i feel the RB guitars feel less toylike than the GH ones.

But seriously, not being able to hold down a note? Are your fingers really that weak?

The only reason why most players play GH guitars is because they were the only ones available for the longest time.
It's the strumbar, I've played on the RB2 one once. Being quiet is good and all, but if it feels like peanut butter then it can go eat a couch for all I care.
It's not that it's been available for the longest time, hardcore GH gaming only really took off with GH3 which is when RB1 came out.
Also I honestly cbf with achievements, my RB3 goals would really be just getting gold stars and FCs, climbing up the leaderboards and stuff.
And I hate the solo buttons and slider bar on each RB and GH guitar, they're pointless tbqh. Purple notes can go make me a sammich.

I guess you could call me "pro" seeing as I go for FCs and try to combo every hard solo(though my best achievement was FCing Beast and the Harlot on Smash Hits >_>b), which I guess is why I prefer GHtars more.
My definition of a good controller is something that is ultra-responsive and reads everything I do up to 10000 miles per hour, but if I were playing the game just for fun and stuff I wouldn't have too much of a problem with RB guitars.

Loldog I'd suggest that you try both imo, I come from the more competitive side and who knows, you might find fun with the RB guitars.

Added on December 8, 2010, 12:43 pm
QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Dec 8 2010, 01:37 PM)
Haven't touched my GH5 controller since i got my Gretsch but i find the finishing on the GH5 guitar really bad. After 3 months all the paint on the pick guard area was gone leaving a black patch.  It's collecting dust at home now.

Seriously loldog, why don't you just give GH a call and they will tell you on the spot rather than asking on the forums whether the guitar is available?  their number is 03-77252775

edit: WT guitar is bad.  Though better than RB1 guitar but worse than the later edition RB guitars.
TELL ME ABOUT IT.
My GH5tar looks uglier than Paris Hilton.

This post has been edited by trogdor1oh1: Dec 8 2010, 12:43 PM
loldog
post Dec 8 2010, 09:16 PM

61 posts

Yeah, i gave gh a call an they said they were all outta stock for the standalone guitars at their e curve outlet. Not so sure bout the tropicana mall branch though.
MK84
post Dec 12 2010, 04:29 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Fooooh.... Pro Guitar is hard..... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by MK84: Dec 12 2010, 02:43 PM
MK84
post Dec 12 2010, 02:44 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

First impression of the Mad Catz Mustang

Size comparison with the Mad Catz Fender Telecaster and 360 controller.

1. It's light, not much heavier than the Telecaster but more so compared to the Hofner Bass from Beatles:RB.

2. The fretboard buttons are all the same size, no problems if you're moving from the 5-button RB/GH guitars to it. Those familiar with a guitar will take some time getting used to it.

3. Strumming strings are nylon I believe, very sensitive. They give 2 Medium Fender picks.

4. The Fretboard module is modular and removable, hopefully anyone would be able to buy a replacement fretboard in the future if its busted.

IMHO, the Mustang is great for anyone who has no real guitar experience and wanting to move up from Standard to Pro Guitar mode. Those who have guitar playing experience might want to wait for the Fender RB3 Squier Strat instead. Because the strings and buttons are all the same size, finger placement takes a bit of training to get used to since you can't differentiate between strings based on feel alone.
terranova
post Dec 15 2010, 01:01 PM

1,161 posts

Billy Joel pack is out now.

Billy Joel - The Hits:
Big Shot
Captain Jack
It's Still Rock and Roll to Me
Movin' Out (Anthony's Song)
Only the Good Die Young
Piano Man
Pressure
Say Goodbye to Hollywood
The Entertainer
The Stranger
We Didn't Start the Fire
You May Be Right

http://marketplace.xbox.com/en-US/Product/...83-99394493d9b3

@ MK - nice. thanks for sharing.

MK84
post Dec 15 2010, 08:52 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Fender Squier now available for Pre-orders if you happen to be in US.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Squier%26%2317...tract_desc=null

This post has been edited by MK84: Dec 16 2010, 02:49 AM
terranova
post Dec 16 2010, 12:28 PM

1,161 posts

Woot!! 2 weeks ahead of the embargo deadline. But I guess delivery date still the same ... ie. after 31 March. just my guess ....

mahal beb .... i will buy later when price drop ... tongue.gif
Kyoyagami
post Dec 16 2010, 12:34 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Dec 16 2010, 12:28 PM)
Woot!! 2 weeks ahead of the embargo deadline. But I guess delivery date still the same ... ie. after 31 March. just my guess ....

mahal beb .... i will buy later when price drop ... tongue.gif
If it drops lah brader. I still can't find proper channels for this. Hoping that local guitar stores don't mind bringing this (some do bring Fender guitars in).
MK84
post Dec 22 2010, 11:22 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Interesting.....

Pro-Guitar Charts Coming to Existing Songs?
Kyoyagami
post Dec 22 2010, 11:31 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

An XBL glitch? If its not, PLEASE BE THERE FOR PS3 too...

If they could do the Drums parts, they could do for this too right?
terranova
post Dec 23 2010, 12:23 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Dec 22 2010, 11:22 AM)
I thought this is something Harmonix had planned all along when they introduced Pro mode. You can already see it happening in the re-release of the recent Queen pack. 80MSP for the Pro Guitar option.

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:19 AM