if not use kitchen paper roll, that one usually is taller and thicker. i tried with my R501 before, but takes up too much space.
PC Audio Edifier Speaker/Headphone Fan Club V5, The Passion of Sound
Apr 27 2011, 12:08 AM
2,193 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
if not use kitchen paper roll, that one usually is taller and thicker. i tried with my R501 before, but takes up too much space.
Apr 27 2011, 12:38 AM
how i test is play same music with exactly the same volume on both speaker and PC. with those thing my ceiling light did not rattle. without it will rattle.
simply put, example with legs 50% volume it will rattle, without it 44% volume already rattle playing same song. it may not be significant for everybody, but it is better than nothing for me... Added on April 27, 2011, 12:41 am QUOTE(Langiler @ Apr 27 2011, 12:36 AM) erm, im lost here, yeah correct that one. it might not works for all PC speakers' subwoofer. but for my case it works in helping remove little vibration from the subwoofer.What are u guys talking about? from what i read, use bollte cap to rise the sub from the floor.... This post has been edited by nismo91: Apr 27 2011, 12:41 AM |
Apr 27 2011, 12:55 AM
yeah correct. also for lifting and sliding subwoofer easier.
actually, it works just like the metal or rubber spike. it's just not as effective since it has larger area of contact. but if you flip the bottle cap (unlike my picture) it will be much better i guess. im gonna try it again since i can get alot of bottle cap for free (drinking daily). This post has been edited by nismo91: Apr 27 2011, 01:05 AM |
Apr 27 2011, 04:33 PM
you can just try it. no harm done, very easy and cheap also
Apr 27 2011, 06:16 PM
Apr 27 2011, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(plunderer1 @ Apr 27 2011, 06:20 PM) im not sure if that works. but my purpose is so i can lift the sub easily, and minimize the contact of subwoofer to the floor. as you can see in one of the pic i used one hemisphere rubber feet which works pretty good reducing little vibrations. can't get anymore of that i decided to use chair leg guard and water bottle cap |
Apr 27 2011, 09:01 PM
bgm2000 > change wire to thicker one for subwoofer? i may want to replace to thicker one but don't know how thick i need to put it. too thick also i think no use since this is only PC speakers.
Apr 30 2011, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Apr 30 2011, 11:13 AM) Oh, cause some songs where it have many bass in a fast motion make the bass not so nice(to me)~ the subwoofer is still on the floor. just a few cm higher. mainly to reduce little vibrations, when you're listening in medium volume. of course if the subwoofer is too small then don't bother.= = Wow, never realized foobar have this function~ Will try it later, thx! Btw, I heard ppl said that subwoofer put at floor is better than any other surface wor~ QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 30 2011, 05:56 PM) yeah most PC speakers have feet installed. some even have them screwed. |
Apr 30 2011, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Apr 30 2011, 07:44 PM) I give you a suggestion. Take your subwoofer as your chair if it's high enough. It will be well stabilised xD. I believe S730 and S5XX series sub is nice and able to become a comfortable chair with massaging function! Win-Win situation. Haha lol sit at the subwoofer? i sit on mine couple of times, just scared i will break it. i guess thin MDF are not meant to withstand my body weight and subwoofer force i actually once put my subwoofer on top of my one-seat sofa. the sofa only has 4 small steel leg. diameter probably 3cm. the sofa has been pulled away so it is not in contact with any walls. i thought it should have helped reduce some vibration. nope, it still vibrates alot. people above keep complaining.. tired of it, downgrade speakers after that. how is your M1335? enjoying it? i actually never heard it but i guess it would be similar to its predecessor, M1310. i bought one for my friend long time ago... very good for budget speakers. |
Apr 30 2011, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(Cosef @ Apr 30 2011, 08:13 PM) i have probably posted earlier, the daughter of the ppl above complained that the bass goes into her unit and the floor is vibrating. at first i couldn't believe it since it was just a 8" subwoofer. but after i went out from my room i can feel that the vibration is great, so well, decided to downgrade. to make up for the not-so-great bass in my small bedroom i opt for 4.1 or 5.1 surround speakers. Edifier R501 was purchased then.as for the sounds, it's difficult to get a good sound in a very small bedroom. i have to use it in not-so-big living room (where i put it on the sofa) and the sound is much better. so when i just moved house, i spent some time to try the subwoofer in some rooms and some corners. relocating the subwoofer to a 'sweetspot' really enhanced the sound. the problem is not all the sweetspot is a feasible place to put the subwoofer (i.e. behind the door). it is what stopped me from making any mod to any of my PC subwoofer, due to the fact i understand it is not in a sweetspot position to begin with. that's how it begins i start to use small hemisphere rubber feet with the thought of reducing vibration. it certainly reduce but very little amount of vibration. well, better than nothing, at least when i use in my hometown the difference is noticeable. QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Apr 30 2011, 08:16 PM) Just nice for personal listening and sometimes for the whole room. Can't rock the world and rock your neighbours/next door but when you're right in front of it. It's just nice. Nice trebles I would say. Bass is not pumping but enough for normal listening. Can give you the movie and gaming feeling too though it's not going to make your heart to be hit by the subwoofer like the S730/550/330 do. I do have a M3400 but now being used as my hometown tv speakers. When using that for personal listening, a bit overkill for me. The subwoofer with 6.5" is way too big and pumping at its price of RM160. That can fill in a bit more space and give some beat on ur skin too though not so strong. Loved both but M3400 more. Sad i can't use it. That m3400 is having problem with its RCA cable. Old cable i got from those decoders... Bought one here and bringing back to change them as my hometown there hor... All shop small small one. Sell those cable at cut throat price. Don't dare to buy... wow. i heard M3400 but for a while. it was very long time ago, but i decided to get M3300 because of the looks honestly. i hate cube-ish subwoofer but now end up almost all my speakers subwoofer shaped like cube... but after all it's sounds that matters, so now i don't care how my speakers looks as long as it sounds acceptable to me. M1335 bass not enough? can always try foobar or use toilet paper roll |
Apr 30 2011, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(Cosef @ Apr 30 2011, 09:05 PM) Great experience you had there. You're indeed a bass head haha yeah im a basshead. but i guess im not hardcore enough, i got a friend whom i sell him a VS4121. when i sold him VS4121 i told him, why u like this bass a, its obviously too boomy, i showed him my ADA885 as well. he say nvm la i like boom2 bass. What i know is that 8" woofer is real powerful, just like my friend Z2300, he boom boom i shake shake My M3300 running max on subwoofer actually can shakes my ceilling and window grill, that is enough powerful to me. I had my M3300 on testing then i found that best position is put in center between your two satellites speakers, having subwoofer near wall creates boomy effect because the bass reflects back after wall, research around found that a deflector helps to reduce that effect, making the bass much accurate instead of reflecting around like your room is empty can, but some people might find that the bass too transparent, like cannot hear any bass, but room shaking. for the feet, i use the board which has empty holes can find at popular there then sandwich it up, results is quite promising. actually not all 8" sub is powerful. Z2300 probably yes, i guess it's a bit more powerful than Z Cinema that i own (it uses similar enclosure size, port and driver), but for Edifier i think they are not so obsessed with bass so things like my old Edifier R501 or Edifier C3 is not anywhere that powerful. probably watt play important role too, but not so much. im more interested in how deep the subwoofer goes in various PC speakers' brand. if you can try to listen to a klipsch GMX 2.1 or Creative T3, they only use 6.5inch sub but you wouldn't believe it. i am still yet to listen to Z2300. so i don't know exactly how good it performs. M3300 satellites is really good, they should have paired it with M3400 or E3100 subwoofer instead. |
May 1 2011, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(Cosef @ Apr 30 2011, 11:24 PM) Yea, most of the time wattage of the speaker defines loudness, so if you have 100W it can shakes room. Normal listening level just around 10watts max...while sound quality cannot defines from wattage. yeah well M3300 is overbright. the sub is tuned too high that's why cannot shake the heart. i got similar speaker with 30W 5.25" sub and it pawns M3300 subwoofer. i believe if M3300 tuned lower it can be as good. I had heard Creative T3 before, the sub really strong. M3300 are good for the price, just sound too piercing ear and the woofer box has tin kosong feel...I had did certain tunings and mods, it sound slightly warm and rich in details with LME49860 op-amp which i found it sound too cold last time. actually for small one-person bedroom, i think 100W subwoofer is sometimes overkill. unless the room acoustic is good, the room will probably already very boomy at 60hz and above the sub hardly do any job. for big room for example, it would have to do really good job to show the performance. i used to be very satisfied with 60W subwoofer AL ADA885. hardly crank the volume up, and never had any complain using it. for S530 definitely pawned by Z2300 in terms of subwoofer. the thing is, Z2300 focus on THX cert and subwoofer, so all that is left is crappy 2.5" fullrange satellite. S530 have better remote control (digital + infrared remote) and better satellites, so the subwoofer is not as good. |
May 1 2011, 04:37 AM
QUOTE(Cosef @ May 1 2011, 01:39 AM) I think that probably the M3300 woofer box is not dense enough, making all the bass sounded very high. What i can reduce this boxy sound is stuff a lot aquarium filter inside but i didn't took the pics...another way is to seal up the woofer port. I stuff the port with socks and boxy sound is very low, but the low bass is missing out, so stuffing is better. my guess is the amplifier is the culprit. i have not tried connecting other amp into it, but im pretty sure the box and driver is not that bad... im lazy to bother about my modded M3300. now i just order a 12V lithium rechargeable battery for my Creative Inspire 2400. i plan to install it in my bathroom, Wanted to try out putting deflector on the wall behind the speaker, but stucked up with assignments and cannot think out my own good design for yet Corsair SP2500 seems to be good, i read some mixed bad and good reviews about it. I would pick it over S530 anyday. |
May 1 2011, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(monkey8113 @ May 1 2011, 05:28 AM) A batteries?? The speaker wont have enough power then~ Why dont pull the wire from the toilet light? haha not really that good pulling off the electricity from above. just want to be safe. anyway its just small speakers run on 12V DC, the lithium battery should be okay liao...Which mean.. When u on the light, the speaker on too~ Better power supply~ No worry bout charging the batteries~ Too much speaker Got Wat bad review bout Sp2500? I see everywhere also satisfied user only wo~ dont have much bad thing bout it~ it seem like its a awesome set~ And it look cool also~ Btw... i think S530 satellite look nicer~ While its subwoofer.. Looked a bit lame unlike S730.. i see only very few bad reviews about it, mainly about the lacking in midrange. the rest all users are satisfied. if you can get it at good price then just get it... agree the subwoofer looks ugly. if i have it probably put some stickers in it |
May 2 2011, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ May 2 2011, 07:41 PM) lol, c3... its not the amp problem.... its the manufacturer... change the woofer to a 4ohm and problem solved ah very good find. no wonder the sub is too weak...if you listen to people trying to rob you to mod your amp will cost you alot $ and time then....you will ask yourself why did you buy c3? a 4ohm woofer can be purchased for less than 100bucks ![]() 8ohm needs almost double the power to drive. you do the math because alot of people can't =) and yes, usb dac thingy does help, but very little without mods. (explained in your inbox) |
May 3 2011, 02:56 AM
yeah i think so. it's around M3300 in terms of power just is not as bright. look at the amp you'll realize it's very small.
![]() |
May 3 2011, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(amduser @ May 3 2011, 03:49 PM) why when i press the remote control of my HCS2330, my TV power light will react to the remote control also because the remote control infrared uses same wavelength but different code. QUOTE(infernoaswen @ May 3 2011, 04:20 PM) well that's good so if one button spoil still got one backup. |
| Change to: | 0.0829sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:38 AM |