Dell Streak

arbelnox
post Sep 21 2010, 09:15 AM

446 posts

@bro Irenic

since you have both Streak and SGS, may I know how's the performance between the two? Let aside the OS version, I would like to know the difference of their performance due to they are adapting different processor, which I was told that SGS processor is much better in general wise esp the graphic performance. What's your experience based on the 2? thanks!

This post has been edited by arbelnox: Sep 21 2010, 09:15 AM
irenic
post Sep 21 2010, 10:06 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Sep 21 2010, 07:14 AM)
Ordering my epik SP now from lhongwuh lor.. No case or anything yet... waiting lor.. wanna fix those issues 1st then put in a case..
He has ready stock for it? What type of SP did u order?

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Sep 21 2010, 09:15 AM)
@bro Irenic

since you have both Streak and SGS, may I know how's the performance between the two? Let aside the OS version, I would like to know the difference of their performance due to they are adapting different processor, which I was told that SGS processor is much better in general wise esp the graphic performance. What's your experience based on the 2? thanks!
SGS with hummingbird' processor which includes PowerVR GPU is the best mobile phone for gaming right now.. it has superb screen and also nice audio quality.. if this is the main criteria, I strongly suggest u to get the SGS because there's no way Dell Streak can beat SGS.

Technical spec, and i believe to those who really care about what is written on paper, will questioning what's so good about Dell Streak? yes it has bigger screen, but they will tend to focus on the negative side of having 5" screen (not pocket friendly, neither a phone nor a tablet, bla bla..)

the same goes to me..at first.

but when i decided to buy it, because i felt so bored with iPhone 4 (which in my experience it doesn't offer much difference compared to my last year 3GS), the Dell Streak manages to wow me the first time i had my hand on it. the build quality is way better than the SGS, the way Dell combines the screen to the body and it's screen albeit it's a normal LCD are few positive things worth to mention.

Dell Streak UI, on top of vanilla android 1.6 is way better than what Samsung does with its TouchWiz on top of Android 2.1.. Dell Streak is not really a slow performer. as u might read in some review. However if stimes u find it become slow when moving from screen to screen, I can say it's not because of it's hardware, or Dell UI.. but I can say because of Android 1.6 which is noticeably slower than Eclairs or Froyo. However if u compare Streak to other android 1.6 device, such as the one i've used before, the Xperia X10, i can say the Streak is 10x faster than the super laggy x10. So far in daily use I dont really feel backward in using 1.6, except when i want to install certain apps like WhatsApp, YM where they only work on eclairs at least sad.gif

the Dell Streak might not be as pocket friendly as other phone, but it's still pocketable. well that's the price we have to pay to enjoy the best internet browsing experience offers by a device that can fit in the pocket. Galaxy Tab? time will tell..

arbelnox
post Sep 21 2010, 10:33 AM

446 posts

@ Irenic,

Thanks for your reply. I really appreciate your review on it. Well, my main focus for this device will most likely to be surfing the net, email and reading some electronic docs. I seldom watch movie on such device and I don't really care much about the audio quality as long as the sound are not broken then will be fine with me. As for gaming, I would go for PSP or PS3 instead of Android as they don't really have nice collection of games right now isn"t it? So, I guess my best bet will be Streak right? Haha...
Size do create some problems from time to time but I think I'm fine with it cos I'm really fond of the big device!! smile.gif

Also, over the years I don't really like LG or Samsung mobile device cos they seems to be died out pretty fast on me....

hmm... guess I will just go for Streak then once I have save up enough money. Really looking forward to Streak with Froyo 2.2 smile.gif

This post has been edited by arbelnox: Sep 21 2010, 10:36 AM
irenic
post Sep 21 2010, 11:09 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

no prob mate. besides surfing, i also enjoy reading e-magazine on my streak. i always download lots of reading content in pdf format and upload it to phone from my symbian days few years back (nokia tongue.gif) and 5" screen is really easy to my eyes and finger!

Well one good thing about Samsung is FMG malaysia warranty is damn superb. u can exchange the screen in one day (if they've stock) and there's this one time they even changed new housing for me for free!

Dell Streak with Froyo 2.2? definitely gonna be awesome!

This post has been edited by irenic: Sep 21 2010, 11:10 AM
StratOS
post Sep 21 2010, 11:17 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

He have Matte and Clear la.. I buy the clear 1.. coz the matte style will make the screen colour slightly faded but the good thing is its not fingerprint magnet.
arbelnox
post Sep 21 2010, 11:19 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 21 2010, 11:09 AM)
no prob mate. besides surfing, i also enjoy reading e-magazine on my streak. i always download lots of reading content in pdf format and upload it to phone from my symbian days few years back (nokia tongue.gif) and 5" screen is really easy to my eyes and finger!

Well one good thing about Samsung is FMG malaysia warranty is damn superb. u can exchange the screen in one day (if they've stock) and there's this one time they even changed new housing for me for free!

Dell Streak with Froyo 2.2? definitely gonna be awesome!
Really? FMG Malaysia? Well, I guess it is not much use for me since I'm living in Miri and there's no way that I can get my warranty is easy way unless through the phone dealer that is.

By the way, I've asked this question in Irwan's Dell Streak sales thread but guess I will just ask my question here as well.

How did you get your Streak unlock? Cos I thought Bro Irwan only sells AT&T locked set with RebelSIM? Does he provide unlock service as well?

This post has been edited by arbelnox: Sep 21 2010, 11:20 AM
StratOS
post Sep 21 2010, 11:43 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

For now have to use RebelSim to unlock.. Some in UK bought unlocked unit from Dell/O2.. but price slightly more expensive la..
arbelnox
post Sep 21 2010, 11:47 AM

446 posts

@ Stratos

okay... so there is no signal degrade by using RebelSIM for you?
What telco are you using?

By the way, haven't got time to pay you a visit. haha... Anyway, who should I look for if I'm going to your shop there? hehe...
irenic
post Sep 21 2010, 11:47 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Sep 21 2010, 11:17 AM)
He have Matte and Clear la.. I buy the clear 1.. coz the matte style will make the screen colour slightly faded but the good thing is its not fingerprint magnet.
owh okey..

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Sep 21 2010, 11:19 AM)
Really? FMG Malaysia? Well, I guess it is not much use for me since I'm living in Miri and there's no way that I can get my warranty is easy way unless through the phone dealer that is.

By the way, I've asked this question in Irwan's Dell Streak sales thread but guess I will just ask my question here as well.

How did you get your Streak unlock? Cos I thought Bro Irwan only sells AT&T locked set with RebelSIM? Does he provide unlock service as well?
no.. he doesnt provide unlock service tongue.gif

actually the phone he sells, all are bought at full retail price from Dell. it is to be used with AT&T but the price is without activation.. so since the phone is paid at full price, and not subsidized price ($299), we can ask AT&T to unlock the Streak. but it's not a straight forward process. For my case, I called AT&T 4 times to get it done, and each call the shortest minutes were 30mins and the longest are 1 hour sweat.gif .. i dunno how much it gonna cost my bill.. if u care, maybe u can use Skype coz it will be cheaper and might be free coz the number is US free toll.. i dunno, coz i'm afraid of call drops with Skype and I have to repeat explaining to them all over again if it happens. before i started, credit to those in XDA forums to discover this.

okey when u call AT&T, just pretend u do live in US. not i mean u must be an american, but u can be students or worker who lives in US but ur hometown still in Malaysia.. just tell them u bought the phone at full price from AT&T and now u going back to malaysia for holiday and u need to use the Streak with ur local sim card.

next that person will ask for ur wireless AT&T number. tell them u dont have / u're not using any,

then he/she will ask some details, like address, phone number, email address. just give ur current phone number and email. for home address it doesnt really matter.

okey next give ur IMEI number and make sure it is correct. ask he or she to repeat it again twice. for my case, i waited more around 4 days to get the unlock code because after 1 day i got email stated that the IMEI is incomplete..

once u give the IMEI, here is depends on ur luck. based on AT&T some device is unlockable, but some is not. this it not a problem to them because the device is sold to be used with AT&T. so once that person checks in their system, u'll know whether ur device is unlockable or not.

if it's unlockable, there are 2 ways for u to get the unlock code.

1) the unlock code is in the AT&T system - u'll get it straight away in that phone call

2) the unlock code is not in the system - u'll get it thru email in 24-48hours.

that's it... simple process, but heavily depends on luck of ur streak (unlockable or not), and whether the AT&T person has experience on this matter (my first call,she said my streak is unlockable, but she couldnt find the unlock code in the system, so i got straight NO. lolz) if ur streak is unlockable, but the AT&T person is kinda dumb, i recommend u to hang up ur phone and call again. pray hard u'll get better person the next time u call. haha
arbelnox
post Sep 21 2010, 11:52 AM

446 posts

@ Irenic

walao eh, that's quite a hassle just by reading your way of unlocking it. Haha... but still thanks for sharing this piece of information. Very informative. I would never imagine that we can unlock through this way at all.
irenic
post Sep 21 2010, 11:53 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Sep 21 2010, 11:43 AM)
For now have to use RebelSim to unlock.. Some in UK bought unlocked unit from Dell/O2.. but price slightly more expensive la..
read my post before this one.

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Sep 21 2010, 11:47 AM)
@ Stratos

okay... so there is no signal degrade by using RebelSIM for you?
What telco are you using?

By the way, haven't got time to pay you a visit. haha... Anyway, who should I look for if I'm going to your shop there? hehe...
there's no signal degrade with RebelSIM. and for me using it is not a hassle at all.
just i prefer unlock phone because I have 2 sim cards and keep on changing between them. to make it worse, the other one is micro sim from my previous iPhone 4 and it's kinda hard to insert micro sim (with adapter) + rebelsim when i'm on the move.

for normal people with 1 sim card, rebelSIM is gud enuff. u dont have to unlock ur phone if u have rebelSIM.

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Sep 21 2010, 11:52 AM)
@ Irenic

walao eh, that's quite a hassle just by reading your way of unlocking it. Haha... but still thanks for sharing this piece of information. Very informative. I would never imagine that we can unlock through this way at all.
act what makes it difficult is the AT&T guy doesnt know what to do. if ur first call u get a person that knows about this (from experience), i bet u need less than 20mins to get it done. then all u hv to do is to wait for the precious email. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Sep 21 2010, 11:55 AM
ataris
post Sep 21 2010, 11:58 AM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

Irenic is my sifu, you all can ask him anything, he is the best !
arbelnox
post Sep 21 2010, 12:00 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(ataris @ Sep 21 2010, 11:58 AM)
yes, i do believe that. He answered a lot of my questions already. Thank you so much bro Irenic!!
powerplayguy
post Sep 21 2010, 12:03 PM

89 posts

yeah ! irenic is really the best regarding android brader. thumbs up
arbelnox
post Sep 21 2010, 12:04 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 21 2010, 11:53 AM)
read my post before this one.
there's no signal degrade with RebelSIM. and for me using it is not a hassle at all.
just i prefer unlock phone because I have 2 sim cards and keep on changing between them. to make it worse, the other one is micro sim from my previous iPhone 4 and it's kinda hard to insert micro sim (with adapter) + rebelsim when i'm on the move.

for normal people with 1 sim card, rebelSIM is gud enuff. u dont have to unlock ur phone if u have rebelSIM.
act what makes it difficult is the AT&T guy doesnt know what to do. if ur first call u get a person that knows about this (from experience), i bet u need less than 20mins to get it done. then all u hv to do is to wait for the precious email. tongue.gif
I see... so I guess living with just RebelSIM should be A no problem eh? hmm.gif

So, you said you had Iphone 4 didn't you? So do you experience the DeathGrip like most people out there said here in Malaysia?
irenic
post Sep 21 2010, 12:11 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(ataris @ Sep 21 2010, 11:58 AM)
QUOTE(arbelnox @ Sep 21 2010, 12:00 PM)
yes, i do believe that. He answered a lot of my questions already. Thank you so much bro Irenic!!
QUOTE(powerplayguy @ Sep 21 2010, 12:03 PM)
yeah ! irenic is really the best regarding android brader. thumbs up
i just know about the unlock thing that i even read from other forum u guys called me sifu? Zes! so funny. haha! tongue.gif

btw Ataris name sounds like a romantic boy while powerplayguy sounds like a player.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Sep 21 2010, 12:04 PM)
I see... so I guess living with just RebelSIM should be A no problem eh?  hmm.gif

So, you said you had Iphone 4 didn't you? So do you experience the DeathGrip like most people out there said here in Malaysia?
no problem with RebelSIM. tested with Digi, Maxis and Celcom..

nope.. there's no Deathgrip problem. i dont think it's a serious issue here in malaysia.. haha maybe our damn Telcos technology is superior than AT&T.. laugh.gif
arbelnox
post Sep 21 2010, 12:19 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 21 2010, 12:11 PM)
i just know about the unlock thing that i even read from other forum u guys called me sifu? Zes! so funny. haha!  tongue.gif

btw Ataris name sounds like a romantic boy while powerplayguy sounds like a player.. thumbup.gif
no problem with RebelSIM. tested with Digi, Maxis and Celcom..

nope.. there's no Deathgrip problem. i dont think it's a serious issue here in malaysia.. haha maybe our damn Telcos technology is superior than AT&T..  laugh.gif
haha... funny...
seriously, good to know that DeathGrip isn't such a big issue here in Malaysia. and this is my first time hearing that our telcos are better.... shocking.gif
lol...

back to Streak, so did you manage to flash your Streak to UK 2.1 ROM or Modaco 2.1 ROM?

I heard that O2 2,1ROM has created some problems to the UK Streak. Wonder how bad are these problems...
irenic
post Sep 21 2010, 12:27 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

nope.. i didnt flash to 2.1 rom. as much as i missed whatsapp, ym and wireless tethering on newer rom, so far i prefer to stay with 1.6 rom. i still remember when Streak just launched and Paul of modaco bought it.. he wrote that somehow Dell manages to make him stop missing android 2.1. heh..

erm our telcos can be better if they are more professional in providing the best service to their customers.
StratOS
post Sep 21 2010, 12:51 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

Using rebelsim also not bad la.. haha.. its exactly same as an unlocked phone d..
irenic
post Sep 21 2010, 01:29 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

exactly~

i just hope there will be more Dell Streak users in this forum..

now iPhone 4 is about to release in Malaysia, i believe most will go for iPhone.. while it's definitely a great device, but after 1 year with 3G and 3GS, i felt damn bored with the iPhone 4. especially after experiencing Android..

no offence, but i wonder how people can stick to one technology n still treat it like god-created-device for years.

This post has been edited by irenic: Sep 21 2010, 01:32 PM

105 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:07 PM