16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

How many ppl here are actually doing phd?, Many topics here arent PhD stuff..

exsaga
post Jun 12 2010, 02:58 AM

128 posts

@spikyz, are u using SVM for classification as well?
TSspikyz
post Jun 12 2010, 12:50 PM

1,341 posts

QUOTE(besoul_58 @ Jun 11 2010, 06:43 PM)
Ho3...I did watch autobiography movie if my morale are down, just for inspiration. Preferably, 'beautiful mind' as one of my choice!!  nod.gif
yup beautiful mind is a good movie. Scary one as well since i think he telling d truth n gov makes him look like crazy to deny the facts ;p

QUOTE(exsaga @ Jun 12 2010, 02:58 AM)
@spikyz, are u using SVM for classification as well?
yup. Kernel, svm lines and such. However currently im using kalman filter. Perhaps by next month or two i will use svm. wink.gif
James_Joyce
post Jun 20 2010, 09:03 PM

QUOTE(VMSmith @ Jun 6 2010, 07:02 PM)
Streeling University.
Hari Seldon? Is that you? smile.gif
VMSmith
post Jun 21 2010, 01:08 AM

142 posts

blacktortoise
post Jul 1 2010, 09:57 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(spikyz @ Jun 7 2010, 04:36 PM)
VMSmith may i know much about your field of study?
Depends lolz, overqualified staff sometimes is super cool =) btw i think PhD is cool, coz u can build your own consultant company, where u can be d boss and do what u want, what u like in stuff u really good at =)
I don't agree. You would need other skills as well eg: business/ management skills then you can survive. after all it is a business. So even if you hold a phd degree, its also good to have other skills.
VMSmith
post Jul 1 2010, 10:37 AM

142 posts

Not to mention that you don't even need a Masters to start a consulting company. My ex-boss graduated with a regular Comp. Sci. degree.
ComposMentis
post Jul 5 2010, 09:01 PM

420 posts

CleverDick
post Jul 5 2010, 09:05 PM

648 posts

not yet, but probably in the future... smile.gif
zstan
post Jul 6 2010, 02:10 AM

15,856 posts

i feel so stupid now after reading this thread.haha.
TSspikyz
post Jul 6 2010, 12:28 PM

1,341 posts

QUOTE(blacktortoise @ Jul 1 2010, 09:57 AM)
I don't agree. You would need other skills as well eg: business/ management skills then you can survive. after all it is a business. So even if you hold a phd degree, its also good to have other skills.
Hopefully a partnership with someone who good at business? haha, yup im agree we need to have other skills. But what im trying to say, many of prof i know, have a consultancy firm, either their own or a partnership with a businessman. So that is the answer for d most common question ppl ask to a phd holder "do u want to become a lecturer?", actually there is alot of option other than being a lecturer. =)

btw @zstan, i feel stupid everyday, haha reading new topic or new journals, sometimes make me feel very noobbb..
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 6 2010, 02:27 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(spikyz @ Jun 6 2010, 04:49 PM)
owh, so its just a catchy name. Well my bad then.
@highwind85, architecture? cool, yeah now i do remember he mentions about archie stuff. Well for me, im just recently doing my PhD in Nottingham Malaysia, my focus is on Artificial Intelligence. Gonna use Artificial Neural Network (ANN), Support Vector Machine (SVM) or Kalman Filtering, basically i will use these methods to predict disaster before it happens. My focus more on landslides and concrete structures (deformations on concrete structures like what happened in MRR2). Basically will use those method to monitor and predict when the disaster will struck so we could warn the community.

Well that a brief about my topic. Hopefully if anyone have related topics, we could discuss about it.

and yes, i would like to know about other ppl research interest as well, what they doing, how they gonna do it and such. =)

btw does anyone have motivational movie suggestion? sometimes its really easy to get de-motivated when doing phd. haha
Are you in Faculty of Science, School of CS?
Sargeant Pepper
post Jul 8 2010, 11:14 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(spikyz @ Jul 6 2010, 12:28 PM)
Hopefully a partnership with someone who good at business? haha, yup im agree we need to have other skills. But what im trying to say, many of prof i know, have a consultancy firm, either their own or a partnership with a businessman. So that is the answer for d most common question ppl ask to a phd holder "do u want to become a lecturer?", actually there is alot of option other than being a lecturer. =)
btw @zstan, i feel stupid everyday, haha reading new topic or new journals, sometimes make me feel very noobbb..
gosh, i know how you feel. when I first started labwork, I feel like going crazy for the first four month, I can even do the normal routine protocol right...most of the time is because of simple silly reason. after one puzzle down, another one puzzle come to break you motivation down. It's not that bad. I love the working hours. postgrad (i'm doing MSc tho) is nice, feels liike being payed for studying.
zstan
post Jul 8 2010, 11:24 AM

15,856 posts

all you guys researched are fully funded by the uni..............right?
Sargeant Pepper
post Jul 8 2010, 11:32 AM

122 posts

Mine funded by government grant I believe. yeah, it's government grant. But my living expenses and school fees funded by uni itself. (i'm count? because i only MSc...lol)
gizmoduck
post Jul 8 2010, 11:54 AM

323 posts

Hey guys, starting my PhD soon in English Literature. Going to look at Erikson, Piaget and Fowler. Maybe Kohlberg too. Probably revisit my MA on George Orwell or find a new text.
VMSmith
post Jul 8 2010, 12:50 PM

142 posts

zstan: yeap. Monash Uni. pretty much funded all of my research. Of course, 99% of the costs go to registering for conferences, booking hotel rooms for conferences, and flight tickets for conferences...

Apparently, it might not be as easy over in Monash Clayton, one of my PhD friends over there has actually had to fund his own conference fees. Twice!

This post has been edited by VMSmith: Jul 8 2010, 03:24 PM
Dark Lord
post Jul 8 2010, 01:50 PM

288 posts

I am considering study phd, too.
I had decided to get my master in Japan.

Now, I am AI student in UM, last semester.

Doing my thesis on Stereo Vision on Robot Navigation. Mine is a 3-person project. My part is on mapping. Now very headache. rclxub.gif
Trying to do map merging. My current approach is to use distance between object to merge the map. But, recently found too much unreliability... sad.gif
Now, I trying to use image registration to do the map merging...

I have a question here:
Is it ok if my master thesis is the enhancement of the method during undergrad thesis?

This post has been edited by Dark Lord: Jul 8 2010, 02:53 PM
VMSmith
post Jul 8 2010, 03:24 PM

142 posts

That's okay Dark Lord, if mapping was easy, it would have been solved decades ago. Just keep at it.

And yes, I do believe that if the enhancement is substantial enough, it will be enough for a Masters thesis.
Sargeant Pepper
post Jul 8 2010, 03:36 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(Dark Lord @ Jul 8 2010, 01:50 PM)
I am considering study phd, too.
I had decided to get my master in Japan.

Now, I am AI student in UM, last semester.

Doing my thesis on Stereo Vision on Robot Navigation. Mine is a 3-person project. My part is on mapping. Now very headache.  rclxub.gif
Trying to do map merging. My current approach is to use distance between object to merge the map. But, recently found too much unreliability...  sad.gif
Now, I trying to use image registration to do the map merging...

I have a question here:
Is it ok if my master thesis is the enhancement of the method during undergrad thesis?
Should not be a problem, my master thesis is sort continuation of my undergrad thesis + continuation of previous MSc students + whole lot of new stuffs that makes me feels so small cos i dunno so much.
TSspikyz
post Jul 9 2010, 01:53 AM

1,341 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jul 6 2010, 02:27 PM)
Are you in Faculty of Science, School of CS?
Well, im under Faculty of Engineering actually, under AI department. I cant remember d full name dat my prof used to describe the department, haha

QUOTE(Sargeant Pepper @ Jul 8 2010, 11:14 AM)
gosh, i know how you feel. when I first started labwork, I feel like going crazy for the first four month, I can even do the normal routine protocol right...most of the time is because of simple silly reason. after one puzzle down, another one puzzle come to break you motivation down. It's not that bad. I love the working hours. postgrad (i'm doing MSc tho) is nice, feels liike being payed for studying.
Thats reasearch right? u tot u got something, then another challenge coming in, over n over. Sometimes it is fun , but most of d time its annoying and demotivating, haha but at the end of d day, i like "playing" this game. tongue.gif

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 8 2010, 11:24 AM)
all you guys researched are fully funded by the uni..............right?
Me, my funding is from NSF (MOSTI), well.. i kantoi biasiswa Agong last year, i think d interviewer really hates me. seriously, and she even know my prof, so during the interview she kinda badmouth my prof alil bit and tease here and there, aih screw them la.

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:32 AM