12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

Nokia N900 Thread V3, Where Tablet meets Mobile Phones

super_evil_alien
post Jun 30 2010, 01:26 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(fedoracore @ Jun 30 2010, 01:10 PM)
am i the only one who thinks durianz getting a bit slower after oc?
Mine is uber fast after OC.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 30 2010, 10:21 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Jun 30 2010, 10:10 PM)
if nokia comes out with a battery that is 1500mah, with exactly same dimensions as the bl-5j but without accurate battery readings, i would be the first to buy it.
I had this idea before.Thought of buying N97's battery to fit in N900 but it just isn't possible.Even I modify the batteries physical look,it's still impossible.
Only thing we can hope now is Nokia release 1500mA for N900.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 30 2010, 10:44 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

If only some scientist reduced the size of fuel cell battery...
super_evil_alien
post Jul 1 2010, 12:01 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(lee0125 @ Jul 1 2010, 10:04 AM)
who dare to be the first to install Meego Day 1? smile.gif
I know 100++ members in maemo talk just waiting for the proper compiled version.

QUOTE(jananan @ Jul 1 2010, 11:19 AM)
http://www.eweek.com/c/a/Mobile-and-Wirele...h-iOS-4-118940/

why you should NEVER trust internet reviewers..

Added on July 1, 2010, 11:33 amand he forgot to add one more... IBM's Watson supercomputer runs smoothly with iOS4...
Droid X with iOS4?
Please don't compare chocolate with sh*t.
Android with Droid/Milestone is better.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 1 2010, 11:45 AM)
Already said when I first saw the MeeGo UI way back. It felt Androd-ish. No more Maemo feel.

It's not Maemo + Moblin.
It's Symbian + Android, LoL!

It's no longer a Internet Tablet OS like Maemo, this is a "normal" and "common" smartphone OS, which has nothing special or unique. It's just like every other smartphones OS out there.
In this case, I feel Android OS looks better than MeeGo OS somehow, especially the one on Motorola Milestone.
Windows Phone 7 OS might be "unqiue" too, but have to see the actual preview first.

If there're coming out this MeeGo, might as well stick back to Maemo. It looks so much better and "unique", "different". Those who don't like Maemo, can opt for other "common" smartphone OS like Android, Symbian, etc.
We need something different, NOT ANOTHER Android-Symbian-Apple-etc alike OS.
Trouble is that's what the "normal" customers are asking.
You know as well as I do that while Maemo gets very well reception among geeks,it's just don't suit normal end users.
Nokia have to listen to majority of people if they want to reclaim top stop in smartphone category.

All said it's just the 1st version of MeeGo.We can just sit back & relax till beta in August.
Who know by then we'll have PR 1.3 for Maemo? brows.gif
super_evil_alien
post Jul 1 2010, 02:02 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

I thought latest version of fMMS can download the setting automatically?
super_evil_alien
post Jul 1 2010, 04:18 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 1 2010, 02:21 PM)
Hmm... this sounds familiar.... wahaha  tongue.gif
Very similar indeed...

QUOTE(jananan @ Jul 1 2010, 03:10 PM)
check out new app, FAPMAN.

in extras-devel i think.

dont let your imagination run wild, it stands for Fast App Manager

promises to be much faster than the default appman in PR 1.2
I lolled hard when I saw the app name this morning laugh.gif
super_evil_alien
post Jul 2 2010, 11:09 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

So how is the FAPman app?
super_evil_alien
post Jul 2 2010, 08:11 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

http://www.engadget.com/2010/07/02/nokia-t...s-device-later/

Seems like Nokia coming to "fight" with all gun blazing
super_evil_alien
post Jul 2 2010, 09:25 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(wcshin @ Jul 2 2010, 08:46 PM)
guys, need some help here...
cant connect 2 wifi...
home or public oso cant
but 3g ok...
anyone experience tis b4?
any idea?
Have you updated to PR 1.2?
Maybe you'll need to reinstall the wifi driver.

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 2 2010, 08:56 PM)
To restore back to original speed

Step 1 In your nokia n900 Menu go to More... > X Terminal
Step 2 Type Root > Enter
Step 3 Type apt-get --reinstall install kernel kernel-flasher > Enter
Step 4 That is all
Source http://maemocentral.com/2010/04/04/how-to-...the-nokia-n900/

i try to underclock back my phone to 600 speed
after i done d step above n restart phone, it still show 900mhz..LOL any solution?
After you did the 3rd step,did you get any message?

This is why I prefer custom OC.Much more flexible OC & easy to undo.

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 2 2010, 09:12 PM)
hi guy, i need to buy N900, unfortunately the place i live is doh.gif
i ask most of the phone shop but not available, i PM few forumers selling ORI Nokia phone, also not available!!!! what wrong with it?

any one can tell me where can i find N900 at ipoh area??
doesn't matter AP or ORI, as long the warranty cover at ipoh area.
really need some help here
PM Clareen or x132755
They will give you the best deal for AP.
For Ori set you'll need to visit Nokia Centre.

You can ask normal phone shop for this phone but most probably they won't even know this model.
Like the last time I went to a major phone shop in my hometown,the lady promoter was looking at my phone curiously & asked me whether it's a China phone.
super_evil_alien
post Jul 2 2010, 10:21 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Yes,Maemo do have less apps compared to Android & iPhone but we do have all the neccesary apps like spreadsheet,pdf etc
super_evil_alien
post Jul 2 2010, 10:52 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 2 2010, 10:43 PM)
Just get ori, peace of mind if anything happen as Ipoh asso got Nokia Care.

Easier. Mine's AP, but I wasn't the one who bought it lol. Would've gotten ori if it was my call.
I bought AP simply because I could not afford ori set laugh.gif
So far mine working fine even with my abusive usage.
Hope it'll keep on rocking for in coming years....
super_evil_alien
post Jul 3 2010, 12:08 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Jul 2 2010, 11:23 PM)
if really cannot use the flasher tool to reflash kernel only from computer.

anyway, stock speed so slow la. why wanna go back ori ?
600MHz is still ok.Sometimes when I reboot my phone I'll forgot to OC back to 850MHz.Won't notice the lag till I open Angry Bird laugh.gif

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 2 2010, 11:36 PM)
just to test out something

remember i mention my phone prob on this?

it happen everynite (everynite without fail from 9pm~?? but then d next morning ok back adi like usual until nite) now that d phone lag, unable to scroll smoothly, when click apps from d desktop, it turn to d mode where v can arrange our apps. I need open and scroll my Contact and Call Log there few time n press press then only it return to normal.

so i wan try underclock it back c ok onot..but seem still d same prob T_T
Why not just do a full flash(rootfs + eMMC) & start from scratch again?
super_evil_alien
post Jul 3 2010, 09:50 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 3 2010, 09:43 AM)
Yea i tried dawn of the dead. Using bad to kill zombie haha. Very addictive too..

So many bloody game. Furthermore the games size are all so big. Now i installing until 3rd page already
Easy to find ahem version too...
High percentage of games of running in iPhones nowdays are pirated version.

http://www.nokian900applications.com/spin-for-nokia-n900/

I present to you,SPiN from Secret Exit(Zen Bound)
Finding trial version now.
super_evil_alien
post Jul 3 2010, 05:33 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

@hbau

I think it's better if you remove the download link.
I encourage people to buy this game if you guys want it.The developer of this game already said that future of maemo games release depends on sales amount of Zen Bound & SPiN.
The project leader said as long as they break even with this games sales they'll countinue porting games for maemo.

All you guys have pay for this game is only RM8.Equivalent of 1 McD lunch only laugh.gif
super_evil_alien
post Jul 3 2010, 06:15 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(tabletennis @ Jul 3 2010, 05:36 PM)
erm,through cc only rite??
Debit card also can
super_evil_alien
post Jul 3 2010, 07:08 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

@Eiraku

Trouble is 99% of the users want OS like Android like OS from Nokia.These people claim that maemo 5 interface is very to use & the OS isn't interesting.
Of course this is bullsh*t to me & I do like Maemo OS general usage.But too bad only people with good bit of it knowledge seems to like this phone & the OS.

Since symbian turning out to be oain in the ass for Nokia they turned to the only sacrificial goat they have,Maemo.
From what I see from MeeGo 1.1,it does look like MeeGo development team did ditch some "cool parts" of Maemo in MeeGo.One of the very visible thing is the multitasking view as you said.I was very2 disappointed to see the crappy symbian like multitasking view instead of maemo's uber cool version.

I'm also hoping that Nokia will eventually release the full source code but it looks highly unlikely.If I got a choice between full maemo 5 source code & PR 1.3,I'll take on the source code anytime.

Added on July 3, 2010, 7:09 pm
QUOTE(tabletennis @ Jul 3 2010, 06:51 PM)
agree with you,and just if nokia promote n900 through creative advertisements like iphone does,this phone is surely gonna be as popular as iphone
Actually Nokia did the opposite.They DIDN'T promote this at all.Al least in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jul 3 2010, 07:09 PM
super_evil_alien
post Jul 3 2010, 08:16 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(tabletennis @ Jul 3 2010, 08:07 PM)
just wondering if aircrack-ng is compatible with n900 right now...saw the application in app manager but i think there is something missing...
The packet injection need some more work.
Currently aircrack don't work for every device.
super_evil_alien
post Jul 5 2010, 09:25 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 5 2010, 09:01 AM)
That's the main problem with Andy to begin with. EACH FREAKING RELEASE IS LIKE A FULL ON OS UPDATE RATHER THAN A FIRMWARE UPDATE.

I mean, come on. Fagmentation much?

NITDroid devs are also to blame for being all "oh the new code is shiny" rather then just get 1.6 working. But, heck, they're geeks lol.
I'm under the impression that if they know the words "backtrack" and they know it runs on the N900, they'll be less stupid then you'd think.

But the Internet has always exceeded my expectations in that respect. Without fail.

Anyway, toyed around with Navit yesterday, and while the latest SVN + QT painter is phast, it does not have libgarmin. Which is sad.

Oh well.
hmm.gif But seems like dj steve is currently back on his eclair project.He did said he made some important progress with eclair.

But most of the member don't care about the phone functions.They only want to be able to run Android apps laugh.gif

About garmin,I managed get garmin maps to work once some time ago.But after that everytime I open Navit from terminal it'll crash spectacularly.
Piss me off so much that I unistalled it.

Since my amount of apps keep on increasing,I finally decided to create folders in menu to make it bit easier for me to open my apps.
Trouble is before this I created additional 3 phone shortcuts so that I'll have phone shortcuts in my all desktop.Now I'm unable to move my extra shortcuts from my menu.
Anyone know how to move it?I'm using ApMeFo btw.
super_evil_alien
post Jul 5 2010, 10:32 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Man...you should have waited for me...
I was planning to get otterbox too since the resin case is nowhere in sight...
super_evil_alien
post Jul 6 2010, 10:13 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

I haven't try MeeGo yet.
Because those who want to try MeeGo need to compile the file with Linux OS (Ubuntu or Fedora works) & currently I'm using Win7 PC only.
Might try it next week when I go back to my home.

Hakulinen did said MeeGo develpment team have yet to release full image for N900 cause they have trouble compiling the files.

12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0557sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:44 PM