Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

Ramjade
post Jun 12 2021, 12:11 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(whycanot323 @ Jun 11 2021, 03:30 PM)
hello guys, SWIFTCODE for CIMB SG is  CIBBSGSGXXX and Maybank SG is MBBESGS2XXX.
is it correct ? need to fill in during sending money in Sunway Money form ~~~
Suggest you drop he Bank customer service an email to get the right SWIFT code.
Ramjade
post Jun 14 2021, 10:44 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Jun 13 2021, 04:34 PM)
Any high yield interest rate savings/current accounts for SG banks?

Like Ocbc 360, how much is their interest now?
thanks.
You can forget about it as you need to spend with their cards and pay bills with it unless you are in Singapore.

Go open stashaway simple or equivalent.
Ramjade
post Jun 24 2021, 06:22 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(gunpla student @ Jun 24 2021, 02:45 PM)
Why Singapore REITs? I know Singaporean likes it because of tax free.
You like income stocks?  rclxm9.gif
Because they offer 8% return in investment in form of dividends. Higher quality reits offer only about 3-4%p.a Last time higher quality reits can go for 6-7%p.a

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Jun 24 2021, 03:49 PM)
U linked via CIMB SG or MY?

CIMB MY was fast, 1 working day

but CIMB SG seems slower

for SG REITs, which platform do you use? Syfe ?
Don't bother with syfe. Learn how to buy your own reits. It's not that hard and not the expensive to buy your own reits Vs using syfe. Using syfe is just asking middleman to do something which is very simple at a higher cost.

Ramjade
post Jun 24 2021, 08:08 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jun 24 2021, 07:13 PM)
Bro, but buy sing reits oso got minimum amount invest, right? Use IBKR oso for sing reits?
All sg stocks need you to buy min 100 shares and in multiple of 100s. Prior to Ibkr, recommended buy for s-reits is Min SGD4k per transaction. I think with IBKR you can get away with say SGD2k. You can buy say 100 shares at $2.00 which cost you $200+$3.75 (commision) which is equal to about 1%+ cost just for commision.

This is to lower your cost %.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 27 2021, 10:27 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 27 2021, 10:26 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 27 2021, 07:19 AM)
Shouldn't it be 3.75/200=1.875%, why 10%?
Typo and corrected.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 27 2021, 10:27 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 27 2021, 01:29 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(chrisderick88 @ Jun 27 2021, 11:03 AM)
Applied for CIMB SG account... However, from website they require "SG Resident, PR or EPass holder".
A little confused - can Malaysian open an acc in CIMB SG?
Yes can. Just follow this guide. Step by step.
https://ringgitfreedom.com/2020/10/31/openi...for-malaysians/
Ramjade
post Jun 28 2021, 11:51 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(vtkp @ Jun 28 2021, 11:35 AM)
I was following the guide and transferred the initial $1000 through BigPay but it seems like that way is no longer accepted.

Damn, gotta wait for the refund then.

You are supposed to transfer SGD1.00 from CIMB MY not SGD1k from Bigpay. Then proceed to transfer SGD1k using Bigpay.
Ramjade
post Jun 30 2021, 10:55 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(wei6722 @ Jun 29 2021, 07:18 PM)
Purpose of payment, which one I need to choose?
Just be honest.
Ramjade
post Jul 11 2021, 02:07 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(xiaobaiwm @ Jul 11 2021, 01:50 AM)
anyone tried sunway money before? how fast isit and the shift code should be CIBBSGSG?
It have always been my default choice. The cheapest rate among others. Speed is usually few hours during working hours.
Ramjade
post Jul 13 2021, 10:58 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 13 2021, 10:53 AM)
Sifu 'action a lot' only here and there  biggrin.gif ,... he's going to get burnt one of these days playing options.

Yes,.. all you mentioned abt OCBC is absolutely correct. You are also watching the dividend cap lifting,...  :thumbsup: ... what do you do, huh ? At yr age, I would be working hard at my job rather than being so updated with all these news. Looks to me like you read news every minute.
Not if you know what you are doing. Don't be greedy. Pocket small change (USD10-20/week x4-5) and never underestimate small change. Overtime small change build up. I am still conservative in investing.

Options definitely pay more than dividends and I am not going back to Dividend investing. I always for making money work more efficiently for me.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 13 2021, 10:59 AM
Ramjade
post Jul 13 2021, 12:14 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 13 2021, 12:07 PM)
.. all said is right,.. I have experienced this personally too,... till the tide turns suddenly and if you happened to be 'inside a contract' at that moment, then everything changes. Dividend investing is safer,... and taking profits is a lot more lucrative if one wishes to profit.

But I will agree with the indicated : play only with small changes. If you lose, it won't be damaging. For me personally,.. too many small changes is a ot of work for too small a return. I like to buy something and leaving it there to continue earning profit, at the same time, collecting regular cash.
I let it expired worthless majority of the time. Buy 100 shares. Sell weekly covered call on it. Collect USD10-20/counter. Let it expired worthless. Rinse and repeat every week. Basically buy and forget about it except for selling covered call options on it weekly. Don't touch the mother share.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 13 2021, 12:15 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 13 2021, 01:35 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 13 2021, 12:18 PM)
If the direction of the mother share reverses suddenly while you're still in the contract ? Whatever premium you have collected upfront would be affected.
Come I give you my real life scenario/story or what happen to me.

I bought lemonade at 110. It went down to usd60+ and now back to usd90+. All this while I continue selling options on it, collecting premiums every week and no issue. Never get assigned. Like I said be patient. Don't be greedy. The trick is slow and steady . My premiums for lemonade was about usd20/week. No issues.

Next, my AMD I bought at USD76, it went up to usd94 when my strike was 91. I just buy back at a loss. Yes this I make a loss and not ashamed to admit it. I could just let it assigned and buy back again or buy back. I choose to buy back but it happen once out of like 20+ week I have been doing it.

So again, so what if price move against you? What premium affected? I continue to collect premiums regardless of price movement up, down, sideways still collecting money every week. Move up or move down not a problem for me as my horizon is long term. Stick to plan of collecting usd10-20/week. Do not do anything. Do not touch mother share. Continue to collect premium. Once premium + savings + dividends reach enough to buy the next 100 shares, rinse and repeat.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 13 2021, 01:37 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 13 2021, 02:33 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(xiaobaiwm @ Jul 13 2021, 02:07 PM)
guys, should I deposit 1k SGD to enable CIMB SG to call me or just transfer SGD3 can already?

I did transfer SGD3 yesterday night but until now no call yet
Use CIMB my and transfer SGD1.00 into it. Then use bigpay to transfer SGD999 into it. That's it. Then wait. I don't believed there will be a call
Ramjade
post Jul 14 2021, 12:44 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(markedestiny @ Jul 13 2021, 10:58 PM)
Wow, it's been sometime since I was last active and now you no longer believed in dividend investing ? Why the sudden change because you are quite set in your ways 😜
I found a more efficient DIY dividend machine rather than old traditional dividend investing. It's still a kind of dividend investing but upgraded version.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 14 2021, 12:49 AM
Ramjade
post Jul 14 2021, 09:15 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jul 14 2021, 09:12 AM)
I found your summary last page insightful, but I don't think I've seen you post about your options strategy anywhere so far? Could you point me to anywhere here in LYN where you talk about your strategy?
There's none. I found out and learned it myself on YouTube. The closes is us stocks thread. But those people inside there are short term and take profits. I never take profit. I let my winner run.
Ramjade
post Jul 14 2021, 10:54 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jul 14 2021, 10:45 AM)
Just google and read on covered call.
I find youube better for learning about options.
Ramjade
post Jul 14 2021, 11:43 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 14 2021, 03:33 PM)
Apologies for late reply,... was busy,...

You put it so easily in the above,... Upon seeing your reply now, I'll just say this very simple thing : What if you bought Lemonade and AMD and the price dived deep down and put you in the red, you'd be having unrealised capital loss. You can't sell because you'd be experiencing real loss then, and you'd continue holding,... causing you opportunity loss in other counters.

One of these days, there could come a time when there is no options offered on Lemonade and AMD,... causing you not being able to earn anymore premiums.

Conceptually,... the above line is something like the DLC game,... for many ctrs, though you are very good in the movement of such ctrs, you can't earn from DLCs because there are just no DLCs offered for such ctrs. Yeah,... we can say,... such ctrs have no liqiduidity, etc,... but the fact remains that nobody offers DLCs for such ctrs, so we can't play and profit from these ctrs.
Believe in your holdings. I believed in AMD and lemonade. That's why I never panic sell. Lemonade price dive to like 50% off from what I bought. Remember that. So I have been down the road.

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 14 2021, 04:29 PM)
Yeah,....you are right abt his risk appetite,... he was very vocal abt it. Now he's suddenly into a high-risk product, also called a specified investment product (SIP) in SG,... he has not been bitten yet by his 'selling options' game,.... biggrin.gif

DLC = Daily Leveraged Certificates. Basically, you put a small amt of money in (vs the ctr price) and bet on the MOVEMENT of the ctr,....Not all ctrs have DLCs attached to it.
It's not high risk if you know what you are doing.

QUOTE(TOS @ Jul 14 2021, 04:43 PM)
I have long warned him options are not "dividends" per se. That extra premium comes with the risk one has to bear. tongue.gif Everyone has different risk appetite. His is somewhat mouthful haha
Trust me, once you tasted options you aren't coming back to dividends. tongue.gif

I am still conservative in case you think anything has changed. My rules for options is very simple. Have high conviction and know why you are buying it in the first place. Do not do options for stocks you don't want to hold.

My rules of investing never change since day one. Be defensive. I see options as a superior way to generate DIY dividends Vs going dividend way.

Ramjade
post Jul 20 2021, 02:09 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Jul 19 2021, 04:39 PM)
Can you please advise what are the ETFs or stocks for your covered call strategy? Pls and thanks
The only etf I will ever buy is arkk and arkw. I won't bother with any etf.
My stocks and your stocks will differ in value cause I buy all the super growth stocks. All not making money but burning money one. Year in year negative profit.

So still want to follow me?

Only do covered call on stocks you want to hold long term. Don't do on stocks which you don't have hodling power as you will panic well. My stock can drop 60% in a month.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 21 2021, 05:27 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 31 2021, 08:52 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(lightonokira @ Jul 30 2021, 11:25 PM)
Can someone entertain me, why would I want to open an SG maybank account?
QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Jul 30 2021, 11:31 PM)
access to more investment opportunities, e.g. SG REITs, Singapore stocks through brokerage e.g. FSM SG
US and foreign stocks and ETF investment opportunities, through brokerage IBKR, Tradestation global, Futu, Tiger etc.
tadashi987You forget to add protection against decreasing RM since you can protect now your buying power over time rather than keeping money in Malaysia. What this means is your hard earned money don't get devalued so fast Vs if one were to keep in Malaysia only.

QUOTE(lightonokira @ Jul 31 2021, 01:13 AM)
Do I get taxed locally or in SG with an SG bank account?
No tax from both sg and Malaysia. Malaydia and sg does not have tax on capital gains or divisneds. But have to declare to lhdn. Sg bank account basically offer you zero interest. It's not a place for you to keep cash or FD. It's just make your life easier and cheaper for invesment.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 31 2021, 09:02 AM
Ramjade
post Aug 1 2021, 12:38 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 1 2021, 12:33 PM)
hmm.gif
i just made this comparison while waiting for breakfast,....

results of keeping money in SGD bank vs MY bank for the past 20 yrs

feel free to correct my perception,....
Have you opened your account yet? biggrin.gif You have to add in SGD will increase agak2 3% every year against ringgit. Then add in the 0.5% interest rate.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 1 2021, 12:41 PM

60 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.1877sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:39 PM