20 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

SUSTOS
post Dec 4 2020, 11:05 PM

8,667 posts

Digital banks coming to SG in 2022. 4 winners announced today.

https://blog.seedly.sg/singapore-digital-bank-licenses/

And Ramjade, there is no evidence that the interest rate for digital banks will be similar to Big 3 in Singapore.

In fact the seedly article suggests higher deposit rate for digital banks.

(I remember you told me you once saw MAS require interest rate for digital banks to be no higher than the Big 3? Forgive me if I read it wrongly, but the message was something like that, I think.)

A similar article in ST: https://www.straitstimes.com/business/banki...ou-need-to-know

This post has been edited by TOS: Dec 4 2020, 11:14 PM
SUSTOS
post Dec 5 2020, 08:34 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 5 2020, 02:19 PM)
I have started investing into digital-like banks in Canada many years ago. They were credit unions. Their interest rate was indeed higher back then compared to TD Bank, etc,... this really caught my attention. Will this be the same for the start of digital banks in SG today ? They will need to attract depositors.

I will open an acct asap.
You got SG address? Or at least a PR status?

Looking at HK virtual banks, you need HKID plus HK address, so I guess SG banks should be the same.
SUSTOS
post Dec 8 2020, 12:28 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Dec 8 2020, 12:17 PM)
anyone managed to open a Foreign Currency Account with Maybank SG , without going into branch ?
Do you mean opening an SGD account in Maybank SG, opened from Malaysia, without entering SG? Not sure about which "foreign currency account" you are referring to.
SUSTOS
post Dec 8 2020, 05:12 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Dec 8 2020, 03:53 PM)
no, I already have a Maybank SG account.

Foreign currency account meaning I'm able to deposit say USD and keep it as USD without converting into SGD.
This is advanced stuff for me. Let me ping Ramjade polarzbearz. You can also ask others here.

But one thing is certain, opening USD account in Singapore by a foreigner certainly involve tonnes of due diligence by the bank.

SUSTOS
post Dec 9 2020, 11:44 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 9 2020, 11:32 PM)
Maybank SG is a bit outdated. So just wait until borders are open.
Wrong. I use DBS My Account. Keep only SGD10 inside and can received multicurrency. New and improved multicurrency account. Issue is I don't know how to move USD without incurring charges in SG. I know you can use cheques but digitally don't know.
Suddenly something new come out. laugh.gif

Never heard of DBS My account. Can Malaysian open for investment purposes? Better than CIMB SG and Maybank SG?

I see from the requirement for foreigners only for work, study and some visas/permits. And it seems like there is $10 charges for inward remittance like Maybank SG.

https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/deposits/sa...unts/my-account

SUSTOS
post Feb 1 2021, 04:17 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Feb 1 2021, 03:26 PM)
those who have maybank isavvy, are u all able to register for e-statement? like proper statement header with address and name etc. mine says no debit card facility or so and therefore can't
Do you have a debit card? I have a debit card that was sent to me when I opened isavvy. You can use that debit card to activate your "debit card facility", I think.
SUSTOS
post Feb 1 2021, 04:36 PM

8,667 posts

Oh, I am getting this message when I click on "View Statement".

You do not have any Debit / Prepaid Cards or have not signed up for online statement facility.

Find out more about Maybank Cards.

Looks like my statement is not available too. For my case, it should be the online statement facility since I already rest my password once using my Maybank debit card, which the SG customer service rep. have used to reset the account.
SUSTOS
post Feb 1 2021, 04:42 PM

8,667 posts

Suggest you to email them to ask for this. I couldn't find any way to access the eStatament.

Click on the eStatament registration page leads me back to the same page that displays the above, i.e. either no card or didn't register for online statement facility. Sounds funny. Maybe a bug.
SUSTOS
post Feb 1 2021, 05:01 PM

8,667 posts

I already activated it, but still can't access it either. So it may be a bug, no harm dropping the CS rep a line. They are quite efficient, will reply you within 1-3 days, not like our government servants...
SUSTOS
post Feb 1 2021, 05:21 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Feb 1 2021, 05:13 PM)
So, you called Maybank Singapore Customer Service, to reset the password of your Maybank Singapore Internet Banking Account, right?

Did you manage to activate your Maybank Platinum Debit Card, by calling Maybank Singapore Customer Service?
When they reset my password they activated the card as well. That's what they told me.
SUSTOS
post Feb 8 2021, 10:42 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Feb 7 2021, 10:03 AM)
Ok, Maybank Singapore Customer Service activated your Maybank Platinum Debit Card.
However, you cannot change the PIN for Maybank Platinum Debit Card, by calling Maybank Singapore Customer Service, right?
If I am not mistaken, we change the PIN (from the default PIN assigned to us) for the Debit Card, only at Maybank Singapore ATMs. It is a pity that we cannot change the PIN (meant to be used at ATMs), at Maybank Malaysia ATMs, since we cannot travel to Singapore for now.
Yes, only activate card, PIN cannot be changed unless physically present in SG's Maybank ATM.
SUSTOS
post Mar 25 2021, 03:09 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/banking-fi...chard-branch-to

Business Times Breaking News
CIMB Singapore lays off staff following restructuring exercise; Orchard branch to close
Vivien Shiao

25 March 2021
Business Times Singapore

© 2021 Singapore Press Holdings Limited

CIMB Singapore will be laying off staff and shutting its branch in Orchard Road as part of a restructuring exercise following a review of its business, according to an internal memo seen by The Business Times (BT).

This comes as the bank revises its strategy to emphasise on sustainable growth, in line with the group's vision to be a "leading focused Asean bank", wrote CIMB Singapore's chief executive officer Victor Lee in the memo sent on Tuesday morning.

"This would entail optimising our functional setup, leveraging our group's strengths through regionalisation, and closing our branch in Orchard to fully focus on our main branch in Raffles Place," he wrote in the memo. "These will make us more resilient, more productive and better positioned for growth going forward."

BT has reached out to the bank to find out the number of those affected and which departments they come from. CIMB had about 1,200 staff in the Singapore office.

Mr Lee noted that the bank's efforts to upskill staff since 2020, particularly in digital, data and design, have allowed it to redeploy over 50 colleagues in new growth areas.

"Regrettably, there will be some in our workforce who will be affected by the restructuring," he wrote in the memo. "We will ensure affected staff are informed at the earliest possible date and all efforts will be made to assist them with the transition."

It is understood that all affected staff have been notified.

Mr Lee added that the bank will do its best to support affected staff with the opportunity to apply for other roles within the organisation, on-site career counselling and outplacement services.

For those who are unable to tap the internal job opportunities, they will be offered a "separation package that is in line with the market", said the memo. One source told BT that the payout is one month's pay for every year of service, capped at 12 months.

The retrenchment list was kept secret, and many department heads on Tuesday morning were also not aware of who would be cut. Several departments are believed to have been hit, but there was no official verification by the bank.

The Orchard branch will be closed by end-June, with operations staff there to be affected, while other segments will be offshored, said the source.

In the memo, Mr Lee wrote that the bank does not "foresee any further organisation-wide changes to CIMB Singapore after this exercise" and expressed his appreciation for the contributions made by the affected staff.

"With the group's recalibrated strategy, CIMB Singapore will be positioned as an Asean banking hub for the group with a doubling down on wealth management, SME banking, regional corporates and Treasury & Markets," said the memo.

BT had earlier reported that there has been talk of restructuring within the CIMB Singapore office since the middle of last year.

The bank has seen a wave of management changes in the past few months, with the layoffs of three long-time business heads last November taking the industry by surprise. They have since been replaced by Merlyn Tsai as head of consumer banking, Singapore; Benjamin Tan Wee Chuan as head of commercial banking, Singapore; and Foo Tsiang Wei, head of corporate and investment banking, Singapore.

The group reported dismal full-year results in February, posting a 73.8 per cent drop in net profit to RM1.19 billion (S$387.3 million). This was partly attributed to a spike in oil and gas impairments in Singapore. The Republic was CIMB's only market which saw losses in all three segments of consumer, commercial and wholesale banking for FY20.

Singapore Press Holdings Limited

SUSTOS
post Apr 20 2021, 09:27 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Apr 19 2021, 01:21 PM)
i wonder which forumer is that. lol.
https://forum.lowyat.net/user/1109382

Ziet has been actively making YT videos. He posted them in the IBKR thread often.
SUSTOS
post Jul 12 2021, 10:41 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dark_elvin @ Jul 12 2021, 10:08 PM)
Can we apply Maybank SG account in Malaysia like CIMB SG ?
Yes, but steps a bit different from CIMB SG's account opening.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=97251606

The link shows my steps, true as of last year.

Please don't use Maybank SG... Withdraw any amount out from your broker, if not using FAST, just direct TT like IBKR/TSG, then you get charged 10 SGD per transaction... CIMB SG waived this amount.
SUSTOS
post Jul 13 2021, 10:43 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 13 2021, 10:37 AM)
Bro,... you trying to takeover Bro Ramjade's job and make him redundant ? VSS ?  thumbup.gif  biggrin.gif
Where got? tongue.gif sifu always on top of me. He already write options on NYSE. I am still collecting dividends from OCBC...

Talk about OCBC, I checked last year my purchase price of 9 SGD, if MAS dividend cap lifted, my dividend yield is a staggering 6% p.a. this year, beating all local ASNB fixed price fund!

Anyway, I think sifu don't have Maybank SG account if memory serves.
SUSTOS
post Jul 13 2021, 11:05 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 13 2021, 10:53 AM)
Sifu 'action a lot' only here and there  biggrin.gif ,... he's going to get burnt one of these days playing options.

Yes,.. all you mentioned abt OCBC is absolutely correct. You are also watching the dividend cap lifting,...  thumbsup.gif ... what do you do, huh ? At yr age, I would be working hard at my job rather than being so updated with all these news. Looks to me like you read news every minute.
Still studying at uni. not yet working. Now all adults WFH, I also LFH (learn from home). It has been like that for almost 2 years. I will be returning to HK in a few months time when new semester starts.

I read news daily, not as frequent as every minute. Current research project requires programming and some reports writing, so rather flexible for me. You must be in court daily, so no time to read news haha
SUSTOS
post Jul 14 2021, 04:43 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 14 2021, 04:29 PM)
Yeah,....you are right abt his risk appetite,... he was very vocal abt it. Now he's suddenly into a high-risk product, also called a specified investment product (SIP) in SG,... he has not been bitten yet by his 'selling options' game,.... biggrin.gif

DLC = Daily Leveraged Certificates. Basically, you put a small amt of money in (vs the ctr price) and bet on the MOVEMENT of the ctr,....Not all ctrs have DLCs attached to it.
I have long warned him options are not "dividends" per se. That extra premium comes with the risk one has to bear. tongue.gif Everyone has different risk appetite. His is somewhat mouthful haha
SUSTOS
post Sep 7 2021, 09:13 PM

8,667 posts

I went to open CIMB MY Basic Saving account today (without annual charge). First branch rejected my application because I am "student" and I mentioned I "do investment in SG". The branch seem wary of my source of fund despite me saying that it is from scholarships and savings/scholarships in the past. I didn't bring any other documents except from student ID and IC as I already applied to open online. The staff even mentioned "computers can't think like humans", so I was expected to bring other supporting documents, despite the email/message saying only Student ID + IC.

Then I moved to another branch after lunch (just in time before the 1.30 p.m. limit) and mentioned I open account to "facilitate transfer of funds from here to Hong Kong" ("cheat" them by saying their FX rates quite good, so can move money back and forth between HK and MY when they asked why open another bank account despite already having Maybank). They approve. I brought more supporting documents from my uni too though this time they were more friendly and didn't ask to look at them. I deposited just 50 MYR inside to kick-start everything.

Now I plan to proceed with CIMB Fastsaver opening, but looking at Gracie's blog https://ringgitfreedom.com/banking/opening-...for-malaysians/ , it seems the request to link CIMB SG and CIMB MY can be rejected (step 5) and in her case she actually need to call up the bank to request for approval.

I believe Gracie is working so she has a valid reason (to invest in SG for example). Since my purpose is to facilitate "funds transfer from HK and MY" as I mentioned to the branch, I can't think of a good reason to explain my need to link CIMB MY and SG if I open one, they reject and I need to call up. Should I wait till my postgrad study to continue with CIMB SG? Not urgent to transfer money back to MY, but it seems like CIMB is very strict in account opening compared to Maybank. Like an octopus with tentacles everywhere... laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Sep 7 2021, 11:35 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 7 2021, 11:00 PM)
Go open Maybank account. Then transfer sgd1k from Maybank into sg. That's the official and old fashion way which won't be stop. That's what I did.
I already have Maybank SG and MY. So you suggest me to create CIMB SG but temporarily don't link with CIMB MY until say in the future I start working?

Meanwhile just fund CIMB SG from Maybank SG should be fine?
SUSTOS
post Sep 8 2021, 02:38 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Sep 8 2021, 02:28 PM)
actually what you want to do?
since you already have SG bank acc.
Open CIMB SG in preparation for remittance from IBKR to SG bank account. There is no inward remittance charge for such transfer for CIMB SG. But for Maybank SG a charge of 10 SGD per transaction is levied.

20 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.2192sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:34 AM