QUOTE(gark @ Jan 17 2017, 10:43 AM)
Ya. I just saw on their pdf file. Any banks don't charge this? (CIMB SG waived it) Also, if transfer via money changer will get black listed by MAS?This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 17 2017, 10:48 AM
Opening a Bank Account in Singapore
Jan 17 2017, 10:46 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,369 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Jan 17 2017, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(gark @ Jan 17 2017, 10:48 AM) Not by MAS, but risk BNM.. because if you transfer >RM 10K you need to declare. Cause some people told me that money from money changer may be dubious so MAS will flagged it then become problematic for you in SG.But still many people do that.. mostly to escape reporting to BNM. Nowadays money changer let one person transfer max RM50k only. |
Jan 17 2017, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(gark @ Jan 17 2017, 10:55 AM) Still depend on your amount you transfer. IF really MAS has flagged your account, it will be frozen until you can explain. Because it's way cheaper than bank rates.Yes money changer transfer is always suspicious by both MAS and BNM, otherwise why transfer through this method. BNM has already removed several money changer license recently due to reporting violations. And the illegal money transfer case by 1MDB does not help the situation at all. |
Jan 17 2017, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(walkman660 @ Jan 17 2017, 12:28 PM) latest update here , i just open a maybank.sg account in the main branch in my area, and the super friendly staff told me that 1 month is needed for sg branch to mail everything to me, So, if anyone interested to open a maybank.sg account, do the following: Which was your branch? I went to shah alam and after 1 month no news. Email maybank sg. They told me it never reached them(1) go to main branch (save time) (2) bring IC (3) make sure u have maybank.my bank account with you (4) no need bring any cash as the bank will directly debit from your account (500 SGD) P/S: rate is 3.17xx : 1SGD , for 500 SGD (as of 17/1/2017) , you'll need to pay around RM1600 |
Jan 17 2017, 12:51 PM
Jan 17 2017, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 17 2017, 04:23 PM) Should be no problem. Heck even Malaysian account also they will accept (see how to pay - they accept TT). They are not fussy like Philips. But you pay platform fees every year. Regardless you buy or not. If you buy, kena charge 2x. current fund still with them + new fund which masuk.https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/faq/faq.svdo?id=6210#3 QUOTE For Cash investments, you can do wire/Telegraphic Transfer as well. The details of the account that the telegraphic transfer can be found on the payment instructions you will see on the web page during the buy process. Do take note that for TT payment to us, the clients will need to bear all TT bank charges. If you want further details, please email us at clienthelp@fundsupermart.com This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 17 2017, 04:36 PM |
Jan 17 2017, 06:24 PM
Jan 23 2017, 04:47 PM
Jan 23 2017, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jan 23 2017, 04:48 PM) Trick is get a Singapore account first. Without a SG bank account, this won't work. Then apply online for cimb fast saver. One does not need to keep any amount inside there (there's no min amount/min level for fall below fees) So eg got bank A, transfer to CIMB FS then transfer back to bank A via FAST. FAST is like our IBFT expect it's free. |
Jan 23 2017, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jan 23 2017, 05:00 PM) That's the min to open. After opening can remove the money. |
Jan 23 2017, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 23 2017, 06:11 PM) Hmm,... guys, forummers,... if you care abt others,.. pls practise what that is ethically and legally correct. Stay away from certain discussions. It's perfectly legal by cimb sg. Go read their fees pdf file. Amount to maintain: no min amount Fall below fees: nil It's stated in their document in black and white. Even with maybank, just transfer the SGD500 to and fro from their account and back within the same day to "make it active" DBS/ocbc/scb have cheap account you know which requires just SGD0/1000 to maintain. One just need to read their fees. |
Jan 24 2017, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(ryan18 @ Jan 23 2017, 10:38 PM) No local SG account in your own name (cannot borrow friend's/family account), you cannot open. QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 24 2017, 05:14 PM) You need to do a "FAST" transfer from another Singaporean Bank account. Failling to do so within 30 days, CIMB will cancel the account. There is only one way, which is to tranfer money from another Singaporean Bank account. So actually this doesn't help for those that dont have a Singapore Bank account in the first day. Precisely. This account is helpful for those with local SG bank account to make the accounts "active" as banks over there see account activity as debit and not credit of money. If account become inactive susah lo. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 24 2017, 06:26 PM |
Jan 24 2017, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(gark @ Jan 24 2017, 07:26 PM) One time I left my DBS acct for about 2-3 years no activity (no debit or credit), even the debit/ATM card is expired > 1 year. Just walk into branch, and change a new debit/ATM card, no problem took me just 5 mins. Acct was not blocked for the period as I check online and can access, and no fees levied prior going to change the debit card. Well according to DBS (emailed them this year), inactivity is one year of no activity. Need to go to counter and perform a transaction to "reactivate it". Maybe account inactivity is not such big a problem. Maybe your time was few years back |
Jan 24 2017, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(ryan18 @ Jan 24 2017, 09:18 PM) yes I know that and I do have a DBS account It's not 3x. It's 1x + any capital appreciation (should RM drop I have a DBS account but since that DBS account is not earning any interest might as well open another SG bank account to throw some excess RM and earn some interest (X3 in RM terms lol) Btw, you can try to look into converting the DBS account into one of those cheap DBS/POSB account (need to hold min SGD500/1000). I will do that to save cost. No point holding DBS MCA now. |
Jan 24 2017, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(ryan18 @ Jan 24 2017, 09:36 PM) hmm i thought DBS doesnt allow non resident to open those cheaper (eSaver) accounts. (or the RM is trying to trick me when I open my account lol) There's some account that allows foreigner to open. Not sure if applies to us (without working pass).I do have a stock with a yield of 8.75% (at my purchase price at that time), so the main purpose of my DBS is just for dividend crediting for this stock QUOTE(gark @ Jan 24 2017, 09:43 PM) Yep it was about 2 years back. Anyway you will need to renew your ATM card when expired, so matter of time you need to go back to sg. I am planning min one trip/year to topup my account. |
Jan 28 2017, 01:24 PM
QUOTE(kart @ Jan 28 2017, 11:45 AM) You are lucky Just curious what no did you call them? How frequently do you call them to check on your application status?I never received any call at all from Maybank Singapore regarding my application status, and approximate date I would receive my Security Token and debit card. I had to continuously call them, to follow up with my application status, and to ensure that I get the complete set of items (such as Access ID, PIN Mailer, Security Token and debit card). Anyway, minor conveniences asides, I am now happy that I have a Maybank Singapore saving account. Regarding the debit card activation, I think that we cannot activate our debit card by sending the activation SMS, since we do not have our own Singapore mobile phone number. So, we have to personally call Maybank Singapore Customer Service Line, to activate our debit card. It is not cheap to dial a Singapore landline number, but it is far better than travelling all the way to Singapore, just to activate the debit card over the counter in Maybank Singapore. |
Jan 28 2017, 06:00 PM
drbone if you want to have priority banking with SG banks, make sure you have SGD200k.
Of course DBS needs SGD350k This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 28 2017, 06:03 PM |
Jan 28 2017, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(drbone @ Jan 28 2017, 10:32 PM) I don't know. Not a priority customer and never want it (even if I am qualified) I think you get access to more tools for analysis, free travel insurance (maybank SG), RM, a separate platform for tracking everything (DBS), cheaper multicurrency notes transaction (DBS), no brokerage fees (SCB - this is really good as you are able trade like crazy and don't pay anything. You only need to pay the clearing fees, stamp fees which are practically negligible) Email the banks to find our the perks then share it here. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 28 2017, 10:46 PM |
Jan 29 2017, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 29 2017, 10:46 AM) Well you get preferential services when it comes to banking... Ie a different queue number when you go to their banks. You need not wait like crazy like the rest and others who came earlier will be jealous when you sit on the RM's table and she attends to your needs. How's the service compare to malaysian priority banking?Actually, the above is just part of it. Other perks would be you would get a totally different banking hall to separate you from the masses with coffee, snacks and reading materials (depending on branch) while waiting for services. You would get a personal RM to attend to all your needs. You will get access to personalized services not available to the masses eg: Personal concierge with their bank branches worldwide etc, special offers for deposits etc. That is just to name a few, you have to be a priority customer to know what benefits you would get. |
Jan 29 2017, 01:13 PM
| Change to: | 0.1697sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:46 AM |