Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

labtec
post Feb 2 2022, 11:28 PM

1,556 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 24 2022, 09:07 PM)
Just curious. Since Wise offers "virtual" bank accounts with multiple currencies, why the hassle of having to open a foreign currency account with CIMB SG?

Not to mention a foreigner opening a foreign currency account in a foreign country adds to multiple layers of complexity.
I try to figure out how to transfer money from Wise into my AmeritradeSG account but it looks like only accept saving or current account.

So I have to use wise to transfer into my CIMB SG account then wire transfer to my AmeritradeSG account?

And I also think I cannot wire transfer USD from my CIMB SG Foreign Currency Savings Account in USD to AmeritradeSG account. So in the end have to wire transfer money from my CIMB SG FastSaver Account in SGD to AmeritradeSG account.

This post has been edited by labtec: Feb 2 2022, 11:48 PM
SUSTOS
post Feb 3 2022, 12:03 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Feb 2 2022, 11:28 PM)
I try to figure out how to transfer money from Wise into my AmeritradeSG account but it looks like only accept saving or current account.

So I have to use wise to transfer into my CIMB SG account then wire transfer to my AmeritradeSG  account?

And I also think I cannot wire transfer USD from my CIMB SG Foreign Currency Savings Account in USD to AmeritradeSG account. So in the end have to wire transfer money from my CIMB SG FastSaver Account in SGD to AmeritradeSG account.

I don't know about TD Ameritrade SG. https://www.tdameritrade.com.sg/why-td-amer...nd-funding.html

But I am aware it has harsh funding conditions than other brokers like IBKR. I don't see any options for FAST transfer listed in the link above. So maybe you need to pay by cheque or wire. Let me ping dwRK and Ramjade for help.
Ramjade
post Feb 3 2022, 01:03 AM

24,346 posts

So I have to use wise to transfer into my CIMB SG account then wire transfer to my AmeritradeSG   account?

TD doesn't let you transfer USD from wise. They mentioned only accept DBS bank.
You can try with ACH or Giro transfer. But most likely money will be returned to you. Give it a try and let us know the result.

Last time I used wised to transfer money to IBKR, I use ACH transfer.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 3 2022, 01:03 AM
labtec
post Feb 4 2022, 10:22 AM

1,556 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 3 2022, 12:03 AM)
I don't know about TD Ameritrade SG. https://www.tdameritrade.com.sg/why-td-amer...nd-funding.html

But I am aware it has harsh funding conditions than other brokers like IBKR. I don't see any options for FAST transfer listed in the link above. So maybe you need to pay by cheque or wire. Let me ping dwRK and Ramjade for help.
dwRK and Ramjade working in banking is it? seems like expert tongue.gif Even cheque have to be in SGD or USD from own account, cannot be bank draft.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 3 2022, 01:03 AM)
TD doesn't let you transfer USD from wise. They mentioned only accept DBS bank.
You can try with ACH or Giro transfer. But most likely money will be returned to you. Give it a try and let us know the result.

Last time I used wised to transfer money to IBKR, I use ACH transfer.
ya lor, I read that also... Maybe I have to travel to SG to open a DBS account in US currency, which I can directly transfer money to AmeritradeSG account without going through currency conversion.

This post has been edited by labtec: Feb 4 2022, 10:26 AM
SUSTOS
post Feb 4 2022, 10:43 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Feb 4 2022, 10:22 AM)
dwRK and Ramjade working in banking is it? seems like expert  tongue.gif Even cheque have to be in SGD or USD from own account, cannot be bank draft.
ya lor, I read that also... Maybe I have to travel to SG to open a DBS account in US currency, which I can directly transfer money to AmeritradeSG account without going through currency conversion.
You ask them loh I am also interested to know. tongue.gif

Just curious why didn't you consider IBKR? Is/are there anything about TDA that looks attractive to you?
Toku
post Feb 4 2022, 12:20 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 4 2022, 10:43 AM)
You ask them loh I am also interested to know. tongue.gif

Just curious why didn't you consider IBKR? Is/are there anything about TDA that looks attractive to you?
TDA - Best for US stock trade - zero commission charge, USD Cash in account earn interest, better option trade tools than IBKR.

Other the US stock, IBKR is more competitive. For those in SWX, LSE, HKSE, TSE, TSEJ, ASX, etc.
esyap
post Feb 4 2022, 09:40 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ Feb 4 2022, 12:20 PM)
TDA - Best for US stock trade - zero commission charge, USD Cash in account earn interest, better option trade tools than IBKR.

Other the US stock, IBKR is more competitive. For those in SWX, LSE, HKSE, TSE, TSEJ, ASX, etc.
Yes TD has better platform and chart. Was planning to open TD Acc at one stage but was put off by the Deposit and withdrawal costs and the high margin acc interest. Got to stick with IB at the end sad.gif which requires a rocket scientist to maneuver the platform biggrin.gif
SUSTOS
post Feb 4 2022, 10:15 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(esyap @ Feb 4 2022, 09:40 PM)
Yes TD has better platform and chart. Was planning to open TD Acc at one stage but was put off by the Deposit and withdrawal costs and the high margin acc interest. Got to stick with IB at the end  sad.gif  which requires a rocket scientist to maneuver the platform  biggrin.gif
IB is geared towards professionals in first place. But day to day routines likely involve monitoring and initiating limit buy/sell orders, not too difficult for me. But I agree the interface is a bit scary for newcomers, though after using it for 2 years, I am used to it.
tradingGo
post Feb 5 2022, 01:36 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Jan 3 2022, 01:26 PM)
Paid in USD -> Deposit into DBS Multiplier/My account -> Hold USD at no interest -> 1) Expense (USD) 2) transfer back to Malaysia as shown above.

nice! thanks for the sharing
so basically, to get an acc with DBS, we need to open (1) DBS Vickers (2) DBS multiplier and (3) DBS My account?
dwRK
post Feb 5 2022, 12:23 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(esyap @ Feb 4 2022, 09:40 PM)
Yes TD has better platform and chart. Was planning to open TD Acc at one stage but was put off by the Deposit and withdrawal costs and the high margin acc interest. Got to stick with IB at the end  sad.gif  which requires a rocket scientist to maneuver the platform  biggrin.gif
deposit once... withdraw $100k every 3-5 yrs... $25 withdrawal fee becomes inconsequential wink.gif

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 4 2022, 10:15 PM)
IB is geared towards professionals in first place. But day to day routines likely involve monitoring and initiating limit buy/sell orders, not too difficult for me. But I agree the interface is a bit scary for newcomers, though after using it for 2 years, I am used to it.
pro probably don't use IB's or TDA's app... just the api connections...

fyi you can customize IB's interface to your liking also

tda good because free real time data... also can get tick data giving more accurate charting than time data... also can diy your own indicators... and your diy indicators can be used in the mobile app... also better education service...

Ramjade
post Feb 6 2022, 06:25 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Feb 4 2022, 10:22 AM)
dwRK and Ramjade working in banking is it? seems like expert  tongue.gif Even cheque have to be in SGD or USD from own account, cannot be bank draft.
There has been reports of people successfully use wise borderless account to fund TD. Not direct transfer using wise. Need the borderless account.

You can ask here.
https://t.me/joinchat/PmAf8xrBEOcrZchIOUTNtQ

I don't work in banks but hang out in those places. Hence I know.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 6 2022, 06:26 PM
tradingGo
post Feb 6 2022, 07:16 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 6 2022, 06:25 PM)
There has been reports of people successfully use wise borderless account to fund TD. Not direct transfer using wise. Need the borderless account.

You can ask here.
https://t.me/joinchat/PmAf8xrBEOcrZchIOUTNtQ

I don't work in banks but hang out in those places. Hence I know.
I've the borderless account but when I tried to fund TDA in SGD and USD, it didn't work.
Let me know if you found a way to do it.
tankteam
post Feb 19 2022, 04:59 PM

43 posts

Is there any updated info regarding opening multi currency / USD account in Singapore for Malaysian not working or studying in Singapore?

Before Covid, several banks told me they need SGD300k for account opening. I think that is for priority banking, not the normal account.

Looks like they do not offer basic account for Malaysian who are not working or studying in Singapore since few years ago. Anyone has latest info?
tradingGo
post Feb 20 2022, 08:16 AM

122 posts

So I have to use wise to transfer into my CIMB SG account then wire transfer to my AmeritradeSG  account?

So in the end have to wire transfer money from my CIMB SG FastSaver Account in SGD to AmeritradeSG account.
Did it work?
Ramjade
post Feb 20 2022, 10:13 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(tankteam @ Feb 19 2022, 04:59 PM)
Is there any updated info regarding opening multi currency / USD account in Singapore for Malaysian not working or studying in Singapore?

Before Covid, several banks told me they need SGD300k for account opening. I think that is for priority banking, not the normal account.

Looks like they do not offer basic account for Malaysian who are not working or studying in Singapore since few years ago. Anyone has latest info?
You didnt go your homework enough. Come I spoon-feed you
There's only one bank in sg which accept Malaysian without sg address or if you are not working/studying sg.

Cost to maintain account varies from SGD3000-SGD0.00

But you need to be physically there to open account. No online opening account.

That's bank is DBS. But you need to open their DBS Vickers account. After that see what account they opened for you.

If it's a DBS multiplier you need to maintain sgd3k for 6 months.
If it's a DBS My account it cost sgd0.00 to maintain account.

If you get a DBS multiplier account, you can switch to DBS My account after 6 months via online.

Hope that helps.
GalaxyV
post Feb 20 2022, 10:18 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 20 2022, 10:13 AM)
There's only one bank in sg which accept Malaysian without sg address or if you are not working/studying sg.

That's bank is DBS. But you need to open their DBS Vickers account. After that see what account they opened for you.

If you get a DBS multiplier account, you can switch to DBS My account after 6 months via online.

Hope that helps.
I wanted to reply as what you replied. notworthy.gif
labtec
post Feb 20 2022, 12:49 PM

1,556 posts

QUOTE(tradingGo @ Feb 20 2022, 08:16 AM)
Did it work?
i haven't try yet... have to go through 2 currency conversion, so the cost is higher... waiting to save for bigger amount before i try it.
esyap
post Feb 20 2022, 01:12 PM

83 posts

Hope that helps.
Bro. Can go to any DBS branch to open DBS Vickers? Planning to open one wen able to go Singapore so tat easier to fund TD acc.

Ramjade
post Feb 20 2022, 03:20 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(esyap @ Feb 20 2022, 01:12 PM)
Bro. Can go to any DBS branch to open DBS Vickers? Planning to open one wen able to go Singapore so tat easier to fund TD acc.
Cannot. Can only be applied at their hq. Marina bay financial center.
tankteam
post Feb 20 2022, 06:08 PM

43 posts

Hope that helps.
@Ramjade @GalaxyV

Hi Ramjade,

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=103009039

You have told me from previous post above that this method was 5 years ago. That's why I am asking if anyone have updated news / methods.

Not sure if your method still valid today. Have anyone tried recently?

315 Pages « < 197 198 199 200 201 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:18 AM