Opening a Bank Account in Singapore
nicemamak
Jun 26 2021, 06:00 PM

QUOTE(gunpla student @ Jun 24 2021, 02:45 PM) Why Singapore REITs? I know Singaporean likes it because of tax free. You like income stocks?  Some REIT in SG has assets across the region. I feel REIT is stable with relatively high dividend. I like income stock generally. Main purpose is to maintain the value of my money(MYR does not seem to have hope la) and generate income. I am looking into US and China ETF too. Waiting for the right time to enter. Now is just look see look see and learning from sifus here
MGM
Jun 27 2021, 07:19 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 24 2021, 08:08 PM) All sg stocks need you to buy min 100 shares and in multiple of 100s. Prior to Ibkr, recommended buy for s-reits is Min SGD4k per transaction. I think with IBKR you can get away with say SGD2k. You can buy say 100 shares at $2.00 which cost you $200+ $3.75 (commision) which is equal to about 10% cost just for commision.
This is to lower your cost %. Shouldn't it be 3.75/200=1.875%, why 10%?
Ramjade
Jun 27 2021, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 27 2021, 07:19 AM) Shouldn't it be 3.75/200=1.875%, why 10%? Typo and corrected. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 27 2021, 10:27 AM
chrisderick88
Jun 27 2021, 11:03 AM

Applied for CIMB SG account... However, from website they require "SG Resident, PR or EPass holder". A little confused - can Malaysian open an acc in CIMB SG?
Ramjade
Jun 27 2021, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(chrisderick88 @ Jun 27 2021, 11:03 AM) Applied for CIMB SG account... However, from website they require "SG Resident, PR or EPass holder". A little confused - can Malaysian open an acc in CIMB SG? Yes can. Just follow this guide. Step by step. https://ringgitfreedom.com/2020/10/31/openi...for-malaysians/
chrisderick88
Jun 27 2021, 02:41 PM

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 27 2021, 01:29 PM) got it, thanks!
vtkp
Jun 28 2021, 11:35 AM
I was following the guide and transferred the initial $1000 through BigPay but it seems like that way is no longer accepted. Anyone else transferred through BigPay//Wise recently? Did you get a refund or did they accept the payment? This post has been edited by vtkp: Jun 28 2021, 11:51 AM
Ramjade
Jun 28 2021, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(vtkp @ Jun 28 2021, 11:35 AM) I was following the guide and transferred the initial $1000 through BigPay but it seems like that way is no longer accepted. Damn, gotta wait for the refund then.  You are supposed to transfer SGD1.00 from CIMB MY not SGD1k from Bigpay. Then proceed to transfer SGD1k using Bigpay.
chrisderick88
Jun 28 2021, 09:54 PM

QUOTE(vtkp @ Jun 28 2021, 11:35 AM) I was following the guide and transferred the initial $1000 through BigPay but it seems like that way is no longer accepted. Anyone else transferred through BigPay//Wise recently? Did you get a refund or did they accept the payment?  Hi bro, any luck using third party methods? It seems it must be from your name or something...
vtkp
Jun 29 2021, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(chrisderick88 @ Jun 28 2021, 09:54 PM) Hi bro, any luck using third party methods? It seems it must be from your name or something... If your BigPay account is under your name, then it will be fine. I just received a call from CIMB SG for verification this afternoon. Now I'm waiting for the activation code.
Msxxyy
Jun 29 2021, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(chrisderick88 @ Jun 28 2021, 09:54 PM) Hi bro, any luck using third party methods? It seems it must be from your name or something... Yeap i can verify this aso. Bigpay under ur mame shud be fine. Only 1 sgd to link both accounts.
wei6722
Jun 29 2021, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(juzstrike @ May 12 2021, 03:38 PM)  Dear sifus, what purpose of payment should I choose for e-KYC? Purpose of payment, which one I need to choose?
juzstrike
Jun 30 2021, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(wei6722 @ Jun 29 2021, 07:18 PM) Purpose of payment, which one I need to choose? Been awhile dude, I also forgot already, sorry that I can't help.
Ramjade
Jun 30 2021, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(wei6722 @ Jun 29 2021, 07:18 PM) Purpose of payment, which one I need to choose? Just be honest.
chrisderick88
Jul 1 2021, 06:24 PM

hey guys - just FYI, I've transferred $3 from my CIMB malaysia to CIMB SG. One day later a lady from CIMB SG called up and confirmed that my account just need to fund $1000, and it can be from third party (e.g. transferwise).
Jdite
Jul 1 2021, 08:14 PM
Hi, for Maybank Singapore, do we need to apply to use the FAST transfer?
crizz
Jul 2 2021, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(Jdite @ Jul 1 2021, 08:14 PM) Hi, for Maybank Singapore, do we need to apply to use the FAST transfer? My account already had this feature. I did not apply for it. If I am not mistaken this FAST transfer feature is only among SG banks.
tadashi987
Jul 2 2021, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(Jdite @ Jul 1 2021, 08:14 PM) Hi, for Maybank Singapore, do we need to apply to use the FAST transfer? if not mistaken it is just like our instant transfer, no need apply for it
chaxiupao
Jul 10 2021, 04:48 PM
close
This post has been edited by chaxiupao: Oct 24 2025, 11:50 PM
thecurious
Jul 10 2021, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(xiaobaiwm @ Jul 10 2021, 04:48 PM) Can transfer $1 only for verification? Remaining $999 can use big pay? I thought the website said mim $1000 must use cimb clicks? Btw, Bigpay takes how long to process and reach cimb sg? $1000 is correct. but some people want to bypass. Bigpay to SG bank instant. This post has been edited by thecurious: Jul 10 2021, 05:08 PM