315 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Bottom

Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

Hansel
post May 3 2018, 03:37 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ May 3 2018, 12:36 PM)
Wah, top 10 holdings can request for a seat in the board already. Or the company shareholding is very concentrated ? What is the entitlement for PLC ? 5% shareholding ?

IF holding 5% and above, must announce actions already,... and our names will appear all over the net,... don't really like that for myself.

Like your special preference to attend AGMs, your PB is also very rare among the retail investors.
Now, with your case being "uncommon", would you agree that to a common typical investor, a CDP vs Nominee account should be indifferent to them ?

Haha,... perhaps so,...yeah,...

Hansel
post May 3 2018, 03:47 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 3 2018, 01:14 PM)
I have to chip in as an ordinary investor. CDP holders get diluted as they don't get access to rights,  prefferial shares,  bonus. See as an outsider with no SG address, CDP is seriously a big disadvantage. That's why I said so much for SG being international financial market. If serious about being international financial market,  remove those limitations.

For nominee account,  you get everything minus annual report,  Egm invitation, agm invitation.
Actually, the term 'dilution' here has been coined by investors in terms of the accounting principles. If there has been a placement and i DON'T PARTICIPATE, I continue to enjoy the same amount of dividend and capital gains per share or per unit, provided :-
1) the dpu does not fall in amt, and
2) investors still have confidence in the counter in the long run.

IF,... say, the dpu falls in amount, then,... I won't subscribe regardless if it's a Rights Issue (RI) or a Preferential Offering (PO),... I'd rather continue to hold at the current average price and see what happens later-on, and contemplate if I should sell-away...

If the RI or the PO is estimated to bring about a final price that is lower than my current average price, yes, I will feel disappointed if I don't participate. Then again, why participate and throw more money in when the counter is not good ?

There is an event coming-up ahead whereby this decision will need to be made already. And this event is with the Manulife US REIT. An RI is coming up soon,... and calculations will need to be made IF I should participate or not to participate,....

What dilution, bros ???
aspartame
post May 3 2018, 05:42 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 3 2018, 03:47 PM)
Actually, the term 'dilution' here has been coined by investors in terms of the accounting principles. If there has been a placement and i DON'T PARTICIPATE, I continue to enjoy the same amount of dividend and capital gains per share or per unit, provided :-
1) the dpu does not fall in amt, and
2) investors still have confidence in the counter in the long run.

IF,... say, the dpu falls in amount, then,... I won't subscribe regardless if it's a Rights Issue (RI) or a Preferential Offering (PO),... I'd rather continue to hold at the current average price and see what happens later-on, and contemplate if I should sell-away...

If the RI or the PO is estimated to bring about a final price that is lower than my current average price, yes, I will feel disappointed if I don't participate. Then again, why participate and throw more money in when the counter is not good ?

There is an event coming-up ahead whereby this decision will need to be made already. And this event is with the Manulife US REIT. An RI is coming up soon,... and calculations will need to be made IF I should participate or not to participate,....

What dilution, bros ???
Normally, "dilution" is the term used when you do not participate in the rights because your % ownership in the company is diluted. No impact on your actual holdings... just you hold less % of the enlarged share capital after rights.

aspartame
post May 3 2018, 05:48 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 3 2018, 02:35 PM)
If I am not mistaken, bonus issue need SG address or else you won't get bonus shares.
Same with Preference shares. You can't subscribe for it if you don't have SG address.
Bro Ramjade, if they dun give you bonus issue without Sg address, that is not a bonus issue already. It is then a "daylight robbery" issue.... If you don't participate in rights, u can sell your rights away... but if they dun give you your bonus shares, where do the shares go to? To the chairman's CDP? Or treasury shares? Impossible!
Ramjade
post May 3 2018, 06:11 PM

24,388 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ May 3 2018, 05:48 PM)
Bro Ramjade, if they dun give you bonus issue without Sg address, that is not a bonus issue already. It is then a "daylight robbery" issue....  If you don't participate in rights, u can sell your rights away... but if they dun give you your bonus shares, where do the shares go to? To the chairman's CDP? Or treasury shares? Impossible!
Don't know. Look at last ums bonus issue. They clearly state there must have SG address or not eligible for bonus issue. doh.gif doh.gif
aspartame
post May 3 2018, 06:12 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 3 2018, 06:11 PM)
Don't know.  Look at last ums bonus issue. They clearly state there must have SG address or not eligible for bonus issue. doh.gif doh.gif
Can u point me to where they state that?
Hansel
post May 3 2018, 10:30 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ May 3 2018, 05:42 PM)
Normally, "dilution" is the term used when you do not participate in the rights because your % ownership in the company is diluted. No impact on your actual holdings... just you hold less % of the enlarged share capital after rights.
Tq aspartame for clearing up this puzzle.

Yes - the % ownership is affected, which translates into VOTING POWER. This is where it gets hit the most,... hence, if I'm more for the dividend payout, I wouldn't be too concerned about 'dilution' here. I would have my own set of calculations to see what is the best thing to do, when I don't take-up,....
Hansel
post May 3 2018, 10:36 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 3 2018, 06:11 PM)
Don't know.  Look at last ums bonus issue. They clearly state there must have SG address or not eligible for bonus issue. doh.gif doh.gif
It mentioned in a general sense that you need to have a Corporate Action Address. Without the address, your holdings will still be credited with the Bonus Units. No need to refer or argue anymore,..
Ramjade
post May 3 2018, 10:38 PM

24,388 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 3 2018, 10:36 PM)
It mentioned in a general sense that you need to have a Corporate Action Address. Without the address, your holdings will still be credited with the Bonus Units. No need to refer or argue anymore,..
So for bonus issue still need SG address?
Hansel
post May 3 2018, 10:40 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ May 3 2018, 05:48 PM)
Bro Ramjade, if they dun give you bonus issue without Sg address, that is not a bonus issue already. It is then a "daylight robbery" issue....  If you don't participate in rights, u can sell your rights away... but if they dun give you your bonus shares, where do the shares go to? To the chairman's CDP? Or treasury shares? Impossible!
For Rights, can still sell away,... but if Preferential Offerings being done, then for certain, diluted...
Hansel
post May 3 2018, 10:48 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 3 2018, 10:38 PM)
So for bonus issue still need SG address?
No,.. until now,...
Ramjade
post May 3 2018, 10:52 PM

24,388 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 3 2018, 10:48 PM)
No,.. until now,...
Until now means need SG address to receive bonus shares?
Hansel
post May 4 2018, 11:36 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 3 2018, 10:52 PM)
Until now means need SG address to receive bonus shares?
Don't need, bro,.... For bonus units with UMS, don't need, they don't chk,...don't know abt later-lar,...
gark
post May 4 2018, 12:40 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 3 2018, 02:35 PM)
If I am not mistaken, bonus issue need SG address or else you won't get bonus shares.
Same with Preference shares. You can't subscribe for it if you don't have SG address.
Bonus issue/share split is automatic, no need for investor to take any action. No need Sg address.

Subscribing rights and preference shares, yes you need to go to SG ATM to subscribe, or you can download the subscription form fill it, and mail the bank draft over. Not necessary to have SG address.

This post has been edited by gark: May 4 2018, 12:40 PM
Ramjade
post May 5 2018, 08:40 AM

24,388 posts

QUOTE(gark @ May 4 2018, 12:40 PM)
Bonus issue/share split is automatic, no need for investor to take any action. No need Sg address.

Subscribing rights and preference shares, yes you need to go to SG ATM to subscribe, or you can download the subscription form fill it, and mail the bank draft over. Not necessary to have SG address.
But it's easier if use nominee account. Put money in, ask the remiser to settle for you.

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ May 5 2018, 08:28 AM)
Possible for a malaysian open a bank account at singapore through online? Or will be easily if go to singapore personally? Any website i can refer? Thanks.
Yes. Have to opened an account over there. No opening account online. Have to go in person, or mail down application (maybank malaysia). Read this thread for more info.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 5 2018, 09:09 AM
Hansel
post May 5 2018, 10:15 AM

9,361 posts

.... if govt changes, maybe can open easier if MAS feels the new govt is more,...'clean'. Wait till after elections,... I would do this,...
Hansel
post May 5 2018, 10:16 AM

9,361 posts

Ahh,... but the new problem is : maybe you can't send your money out anymore,...hmm,...
veera77
post May 9 2018, 05:45 PM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 1 2018, 11:02 AM)
veera77, Keatsan,  rrad this thread for more info.
After that read
SGX counters
Singapore reits
Thanks bro smile.gif
elea88
post May 9 2018, 09:13 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(veera77 @ May 9 2018, 05:45 PM)
Thanks bro smile.gif
Just came back from SG. i heard from bank staff, by July 2018.. Malaysians cannot open ac in Sg anymore unless got working permit. So if u want open yr ac do it fast...
Ramjade
post May 9 2018, 09:45 PM

24,388 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ May 9 2018, 09:13 PM)
Just came back from SG. i heard from bank staff,  by July 2018.. Malaysians cannot open ac in Sg anymore unless got working permit. So if u want open yr ac do it fast...
This is very bad news.

315 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:33 AM