First Inaugural LYN iPad Gathering, Concluded@ Starbucks The Gardens | Pics!

TSstringfellow
post May 31 2010, 11:11 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ May 31 2010, 11:08 PM)
need itunes isnt to activate the ipad rite... tongue.gif
Worry not! More than one of the attendees are there with their Macbook Pros. wink.gif

Otherwise, the next best solution? Head upstairs to Machines, borrow their iMac and activate there. Easy peasy! biggrin.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 10:17 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(fumjusta @ Jun 1 2010, 12:58 AM)
I'm joining! I wanna surround myself with iPads as I don't have one yet  drool.gif
Added. rclxms.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 05:03 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(catsper @ Jun 1 2010, 12:31 PM)
Add me. I was there with some folks here during the iPhone gathering in Sunway Pyramid last time. Good to meet you all again.

P/S: I don't have iPad though tongue.gif
I still remember you! Good to meet you again too. biggrin.gif Added!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 1 2010, 05:05 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 06:00 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Jun 1 2010, 05:58 PM)
got free gift tomolo...prepaid 017
Excellent! I'll add that in to the stuff you can get at the Gathering. Cheers bro for the sponsorship! biggrin.gif

Question: how many? tongue.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 06:11 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Jun 1 2010, 06:07 PM)
limited...got 4 only. free 500mb per month..expired already just reload and can continue use..
Awesome! We can make it as the prizes for the multiplayer matches we can have later. You be the judge and jury, can present to the winner too! Have Beavis68 snap pics! biggrin.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 06:15 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Jun 1 2010, 06:14 PM)
hehehe siapa mao jb
i'm offering my services as well as usual free biggrin.gif
Another great opportunity here, from our resident sifu, Hanxz! His services are paid most of the time, but only at the Gathering, he's providing it free! Cheers Hanxz! rclxms.gif

TSstringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 06:47 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Jun 1 2010, 06:41 PM)
one drink free would be better..???

Added on June 1, 2010, 6:44 pm

what multiplayer games bro...????plz dont disappoint for ipad only...keep the option for iphone too..hehehe rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Dunno yet. Depends on the crowd. Can always purchase on the spot using WiFi and download from there. biggrin.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 07:35 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(ksc_3688 @ Jun 1 2010, 07:27 PM)
I can sponsor an item for the gaming session as well. Maybe as the first prize? Lol.
It's a suprise. Showed it to String yesterday. Lol.
Wait......you don't mean the...... shocking.gif That's mighty generous of you! notworthy.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 1 2010, 08:58 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I am just organizing this meetup, guys. As for the giveaways, we all have to think of some way to actually let it go as, a prize, a freebie, what-have-yous. tongue.gif

I think someone else have to step in and think up of the tournaments/multiplayer matches/ contest part of this Gathering. sweat.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 2 2010, 10:19 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(irwan6179 @ Jun 2 2010, 01:10 AM)
Wow this is exciting. Count me in. Ill be there after office hour which is sadly 8pm. I hope you guys will still be there.
Added! biggrin.gif As for your request, I'll try and see if I can find the AT&T sim card. That card is from my old iPhone 2G purchase, so I'll have to dig around. tongue.gif

Added on June 2, 2010, 10:34 am
Applications/games for demo so far..

1. iBooks
2. Atomic Web
3. Desktop
4. Epicurious for iPad
5. FlipTime XL
6. GoodReader
7. Kindle for iPad
8. Paperdesk
9. Penultimate
10. Barnes & Nobles eReader for iPad
11. Various comic-reading apps like Comixology, Marvel and IDW's offerings
12. Various news readers like BBCNews, NYT Editor's Choice, Yahoo!, Guardian Eyewitness, Reuters, AP, USA Today, NPR and WSJ
13. Zinio with subscriptions to digital magazines
14. Pulse News Reader
15. Various Weather apps like Weather HD, WEatherbug and Accuweather Elite
16. Adobe Ideas
17. The two most poular IM apps: BeejiveIM and IM+ for iPad
18. Dragon Dictation
19. Various Astronomy apps like Distant Suns, Star Walk and GoSkyWatch Planetarium
20. TweetDeck for iPad
21. Various Reference like IMDB, Wikipanion and World Atlas for National Geographics HD
22. GAMES! Angry Birds HD, Broken Swords: Shadow of the Templars HD, Civilization Revolution HD, Flight Control HD, Geometry Wars Touch, NFS Shift HD, N.O.V.A HD, Pinball HD, The Mystery of The Crystal Portal HD, Pool Pro Online 3, Plants VS Zombies HD, Real Racing HD, Modern Combat Sandstorm HD, Scrabble for iPad, We Rule for iPad, Words with Friends HD!

More will be added if other attendees would like to demo their chosen apps at the Gathering. rclxms.gif

Added on June 2, 2010, 10:44 amI would like to thank all sponsors for their generous offerings, anyone is welcomed to bring whatever they'd like to let go or give away at the Gathering. notworthy.gif

Added on June 2, 2010, 10:48 amI believe Beavis68 can demo the iWorks app suite (Keynote, Pages and Numbers) on his iPad, while MaxPC can demo his Documents To Go, fresh from AppStore release today. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 2 2010, 10:48 AM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 2 2010, 04:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I'm already here. A bit crowded so we may have to squeeze among ourselves. iPad plugged in to power point, anticipating a long day/night today. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 2 2010, 04:50 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 2 2010, 04:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Everybody's welcomed. I brought my WiFi only unit, so you can try your hands on that. biggrin.gif And once you're poisoned enough to get one, you can always ask ksc_3688 to get one for you. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 2 2010, 04:57 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 2 2010, 05:10 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Where got racun, I'm just here using my iPad to browse forum only. *prepares the most venomous toxic potion in the background* whistling.gif laugh.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 2 2010, 10:53 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Thank you everyone for coming! I wasn't expecting the huge turnout, I counted 22! Wow! Thanks for the support, guys! notworthy.gif

I hope everyone gets to know everyone else and we can all be more than Judy passing acquaintances. The whole idea of the Gathering is to pool like-minded folks and share resources and help each other when the situation arises.

Hanxz bro, I hope your MBP is alright. I'd kill myself if anything happens to my Mac! Freaking awesome to see familar faces like Corvinux, Frozzbyte, Harmeet, MaxPC and Beavis68. Equally fantastic to see new faces and make new friends, you're all just awesome! I hope the event was informative and fun for you guys! biggrin.gif

Those with cameras please post what pics you have. Appreciate the privacy option of blurring my face out pls. tongue.gif

With that, I can safely say mission accomplished! rclxms.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 2 2010, 10:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(irwan6179 @ Jun 2 2010, 10:54 PM)
great meeting! too bad i have to leave early. String was so good at remembering all the name.. it wasn't a small group of people!
LOL, I'm good at remembering names so that I can remember who I owe favours from and and who I'm in debt with. tongue.gif Thanks again for coming! biggrin.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 2 2010, 11:01 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(stanleylye @ Jun 2 2010, 10:59 PM)
thanks String and Charles for organizing this.... especially got JB on my ipad...
Beavis did all the hard work there, I just get everyone in one place to meet. tongue.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 2 2010, 11:13 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Honky @ Jun 2 2010, 08:44 PM)
Thanks to string for holding this gathering. I had a great time meeting everyone. Also thanks to irwan for letting me try out your ipad, finally get the chance to get my hands on one. Will definitely get one after it's officially launched here
I just get everyone in one place, you guys are the one making it happen. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Jun 2 2010, 08:55 PM)
thanks everyone especially bro STRING for the gathering...really enjoy, got my ipad case and jailbreak oso...
@hanz - thanks JB my ipad...
@string - ur dance speaker really cool ma (really tempted to get one) n oso the case
@beavis68 - some pics plz...
Enjoy your Apple iPad Case, and lol yeah, that "dance speaker" is called the Sony Rolly.

QUOTE(mAxPC @ Jun 2 2010, 09:13 PM)
Thanks to String for taking the time to organize the meet smile.gif Sorry couldn't stay for long, had to entertain guest(s) lol, but enjoy seeing the sight of so many iPads around including a couple of MBP. My heart sank when Hanz's MBP dropped to the ground >.< Didn't get a chance to see the Rolly moving about, but saw the lights and heard the music.
Glad you can come bro, you've been frequent "lepaker" with me since the iPad Tumpang. blush.gif

QUOTE(catsper @ Jun 2 2010, 09:36 PM)
Great time I have there thanks to everyone. Waiting for photo upload. The Real Racing HD session was cool.

P/S: Thanks to stringfellow, played a while with his iPad.
Not a problem, bro! Nice to see you again! Now, about that promise you made about getting the iPad in 2 months time.......tongue.gif

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Jun 2 2010, 10:00 PM)
thanks bro string for case also..been waiting for this case long time...
Not a problem, bro. Thank you for coming and the prize sponsor offer too! notworthy.gif

QUOTE(kokkk @ Jun 2 2010, 10:01 PM)
nice , so many iPad casing around .
Thanks for coming too! Did you change the screen protector to PowerSupport? tongue.gif

QUOTE(AppleSpecialist @ Jun 2 2010, 10:28 PM)
Thanks to all bro! Really have fun to experience the latest device string bro bring along!!!

Added on June 2, 2010, 10:32 pmWhen Hanx mbp drop? Before I move everything still ok right?
Glad it was fun and informative for you. biggrin.gif You and Hanxz seems to know each other, long acquaintance kah? huh.gif

QUOTE(A4pApEr @ Jun 2 2010, 11:03 PM)
Thanks String bro and everyone who makes this happened. Had some great time and enjoyed myself just now. Nice meeting you guys. smile.gif

Special thanks to Beavis68 for letting me try the iPad camera connection kit. It's awesome! Will definitely get one!!
Thank you for coming, bro. Nice meeting you too! I'm so jealous of your Panny GF-1! cry.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 2 2010, 11:14 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Jun 2 2010, 11:13 PM)
mac is okay tarak apa apa
so now guys its proven that when u drop your mac from >5 feet, its okay tongue.gif
Relieved to hear that. Remember to pass me the details on that shooting range expedition you did in Phnom Penh. Email addy you got, right?
TSstringfellow
post Jun 2 2010, 11:28 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(stanleylye @ Jun 2 2010, 11:20 PM)
where to see the photo ah?
Beavis will be posting them here. He's editing them as we speak.

QUOTE(FunGuy1 @ Jun 2 2010, 11:21 PM)
It's nice meeting all you guys over there. You're all very nice people and helpful too. Keep it up.

I was late showing up but it was better late than never. It been a very informative evening with you guys. Thanks.

Added on June 2, 2010, 11:22 pmIt's nice meeting all you guys over there. You're all very nice people and helpful too. Keep it up.

I was late showing up but it was better late than never. It been a very informative evening with you guys. Thanks.
Thanks for coming bro! I guess after this, all iPad owners will be thinking of switching to the method we're carrying our iPads in, cross-body-man-purse-satchel-sling-style! laugh.gif

QUOTE(fumjusta @ Jun 2 2010, 11:23 PM)
This was my first ever LYN gathering and I had a great time! rclxms.gif Many thanks to stringfellow and everyone there.  thumbup.gif

@=Hanxz=
glad to know that your MBP is fine  smile.gif
Thanks for coming, bro! Confirm my bro knows you. Now I have THREE Maxis insiders! rclxms.gif Oiiii, itu We Rule Kingdom bila mau naik level! laugh.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 2 2010, 11:46 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

@ frozzbyte
Exactly! The whole objective of the Gathering is to network, so that we all can rely on each other's strengths to help one another on getting our Apple-related stuff (of non-related if that so happens) affordably and expeditiously. It also helps others make informed decisions on which accessories to get, which apps to download, and especially to see if the iPad fits into their daily routine or not before the purchase is made.

@Dannygeni
Thank you for coming, and your generosity for the 4x free 500MB data pack. notworthy.gif

@Shahir
No problem boss! You're the perfect example of older generation finding the iPad a perfect fit for your daily usage. Elements Apps dah habis update belum? tongue.gif 1GB ++ rclxub.gif

@ksc_3688
Thank you for sponsoring the prizes as well. Perfect gift for the iPad protection! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 2 2010, 11:58 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0262sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:34 AM