Streamyx The Official Streamyx 4Mbps Users Club V3, Streamyx 4 Mbps Discussion Thread Q&A

redforest
post Jun 29 2010, 10:53 AM

59 posts

Applied for upgrade on 24th, line tested on 28th (thanks to the hardworking technician who decided to come over to my place after 5:30pm, the original appointment was the next morning), and activated this morning (29th).

Tried reconnecting few times, keeps getting 175.*, ping reply from overseas server is as bad as it was before (usually over 300ms), will try to reconnect again this afternoon to see will I get any other IP

redforest
post Aug 6 2010, 07:29 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(chooncc @ Aug 5 2010, 02:06 AM)
all my 218 ip gone, no more, just 175, how to get back 218? rclxub.gif
same here, after I woke up yesterday morning I figured that my ip was changed to 175.145.*, disconnecting and reconnecting all day trying to get 218 again but in vain, very slow to surf website based in China, as well as some based in Japan sad.gif

Added on August 6, 2010, 7:31 am
QUOTE(MX510 @ Aug 5 2010, 07:38 AM)
218 are fakap use 175 better lah bro
218.111's speed was fine for me, i still could download with around 500KB/s

This post has been edited by redforest: Aug 6 2010, 07:31 AM
redforest
post Aug 6 2010, 11:37 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(bai1101 @ Aug 6 2010, 09:39 AM)
218 is good for china routing, i can watch comic at there. But my wife need 175 to go US website which don't block by US web ==

Really no  understand why only 218 have good routing to China
yeah, why don't they use the same routing sad.gif

in my case, 218 also works well for north american and european websites, which particular US sites are blocked/slow when your wife's on 218?

edit:
I just noticed i can't watch youtube smoothly on 175.145.* cry.gif

This post has been edited by redforest: Aug 6 2010, 12:05 PM
redforest
post Aug 7 2010, 05:11 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Aug 7 2010, 01:30 PM)
Operator never really help .. I don't wanna call 'em up.. All they know is follow script and write report..

After testing so many things .. I guess those host are limiting my download speed especially RS.. send, pause, send, pause, etc.. That's why my speed fluctuate a lot ..

I'll try to use more on MU or HF as I can reach 300+kB/sec with them ..

I'm a free user anyway.. Wonder if there's any trick to get faster download..

Downloading with IDM, Jdownloader and Flashget all seem same..
I tried downloading from MU without using premium account before, the speed was unstable and it's always lower than 400KB/s, while using premium it's always around 500KB/s.
redforest
post Aug 8 2010, 06:40 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Aug 8 2010, 06:27 PM)
Maybe it's my fault tge 218 is gone sorry guys
is it gone forever? =.=
redforest
post Aug 9 2010, 08:29 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(barry80 @ Aug 9 2010, 01:42 AM)
lost mine too  icon_question.gif called ATS to request back the 218, he will try to revert it back but he not sure he can help me or not... rclxub.gif

he ask me to give him a morning call for "online setting", really doubt they can do the right job... doh.gif
whois ATS blink.gif if this works please let me know, 175 is really crappy mad.gif

Added on August 9, 2010, 8:32 am
QUOTE(chooncc @ Aug 8 2010, 11:37 PM)
streamyx really suck, celcom more faster even using 3g for routing to china... rclxub.gif
wtf streamyx 4mb doing...
almost all 100% packet loss rclxub.gif
it's funny, early in the morning everyday, like right now, routing to china/hk/japan are ok (speed is slow, but acceptable for web surfing), but later of the day it starts to get worse and worse, i even have hard time just to get connected on QQ (the chinese IM) client at night. doh.gif

This post has been edited by redforest: Aug 9 2010, 09:12 AM
redforest
post Aug 9 2010, 06:59 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 9 2010, 06:34 PM)
Does streamyx 4MB throttle ftp speeds?

My 4MB got activated today and speedtests are ok:

user posted image user posted image

But when I dl using ftp (with IDM), speed is only 140-150 KBps:

[attachmentid=1717498]

What's wrong? BTW I'm on 175 ip range.
they don't throttle ftp download speed. no idea what's wrong. other than bad connection to servers in china with 175.145.*.*, since last friday morning i don't get consistent max speed while downloading from any overseas server, including american and european servers (yeah i know, speedtest done with tm's speedtest server shows max speed). when I called the local technician regarding the speed drop last friday afternoon, after checking my pot and checking with KL headquarter, he said there's some breakdown and it's KL's problem.

anyway, just an update for my issue with 175.145.*.*, talked to their 2nd level troubleshooting, sent some pingplotter screenshots to them, waiting for their response, it's said to take 2-3 days >.< I was told that my account is set to get 218.111.*.* by default, only if 218.111.*.* is not available, i will get 175.145.*.*. So according to the technician who called me, all of the 218.111.*.* are already in used and that's why I get the 175.145.*.*.

Few hours after the call, on second thought, I randomly pinged more than 20 ip addresses under 218.111.*.* and didn't get any ping reply at all, doesn't that mean no computers are using those ips? So how could they be in used already? =.=||

This post has been edited by redforest: Aug 9 2010, 07:00 PM
redforest
post Aug 10 2010, 08:13 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(Zepx @ Aug 9 2010, 11:26 PM)
lol.. obviously you can't do a random ping... 218.111 and 175.145 ips are private IPs. You can't trace from the outside nor could you perform a traceroute from your computer (from commandline/command prompt).
Indeed you can, I got quite a number of successful ping replies by random pinging 175.145.101.* Most if not all modem router will reply to your ping.

Added on August 10, 2010, 8:49 am
QUOTE(bai1101 @ Aug 10 2010, 12:09 AM)
ya i also find that it really a lot packet lost when morning and night. But when reach midnight after 2am it start to show some good sign ==
this 175 is really weird == rclxub.gif
yes it's bugging me, during night time i can't even get stable connection on QQ IM client, which uses very little bandwidth >.<

i don't get the 218-gone-for-me thing, just talked to a 2nd level agent again, she said she just finished consulting a 4MB user who has been connected on 218 since 10pm last night. if ppl could get on, why couldn't i, i actually try to get the 218 ip every one or two hour sweat.gif

This post has been edited by redforest: Aug 10 2010, 08:49 AM
redforest
post Aug 10 2010, 11:08 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(wong_86 @ Aug 10 2010, 09:40 AM)
isit 218 ip is throttle utorrent speed ? usually i get max speed when using utorrent ...usually i get around 420 KBps but this few day i get not over 60 KBps  rclxub.gif

i try 175 ip can get max speed but change to 218 ip  shakehead.gif
only if we could exchange ip... doh.gif
redforest
post Aug 10 2010, 04:15 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(BugFace @ Aug 10 2010, 04:09 PM)
Its not about too technical, its about simply understand English. I told her premium ip to her it means fixed ip then when I corrected her she simply put as DSL Lights. I told her just to write the word premium ip issue. Also can't understand.

3rd time called them today, again can't reach level 2 cs, dunno what is going on with them. Level 1 tried to transfer my call he kept getting line busy. He is been very vague about what is written in report so I don't know if the problem is stated correctly or not.
call early in the morning around 8 it's a lot easier to get through lvl 2.

p.s. when calling for the first time there's always no choice other than patiently let the agent finish their procedures of asking the normal questions though, so that they can file a report for you, after getting a report number it's pretty easy to get them to transfer your call to lvl 2 every time you call 100.
redforest
post Aug 10 2010, 07:49 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(opera33 @ Aug 10 2010, 07:08 PM)
Requested to be capped at 5mb, by emailing Manager of Customer Service KL, it got done within hours smile.gif Currently on 218 ip...good to have top level email, respond is a lot better...no need go through support and technical staff....woohoooo....
what's the email address blink.gif
redforest
post Aug 10 2010, 10:00 PM

59 posts

just did a speed test with tm's server at speedtest.streamyx.com.my, speed is apparently lower than early morning, but still over 3500kbps

i assume you're talking about download speed from overseas, i too have been getting less than 300KB/s since last weekend, sometimes less than 200KB/s or even 150KB/s.

This post has been edited by redforest: Aug 10 2010, 10:12 PM
redforest
post Aug 11 2010, 05:20 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(barry80 @ Aug 11 2010, 12:08 AM)
to those who previously connect to 218 & now switch to 175, u can request CS to get back ur preferred ip range.

i just get it back today  sweat.gif (really need some time & effort)

[attachmentid=1719757]
congrats rclxms.gif err... what did you say to them? the problem is when I asked the agent to switch it for me two days ago he said 218 is still my primary ip range >.< <-- ok that was either a lie or he was just making his assumption...

update: download speed 2506kbps >.< (tested at speedtest.streamyx.com.my)

This post has been edited by redforest: Aug 11 2010, 03:15 PM
redforest
post Aug 11 2010, 03:10 PM

59 posts

situation update:
today another ATS agent talked to the ND (network department) and the ND staff told her my account is not in the 218 range, and it seemed like people in ND don't have much intention to switch it back for me. the agent is still trying to deal with them. what's wrong with the people in the ND =.=

p.s. download speed has gone down to 1400kbps

This post has been edited by redforest: Aug 11 2010, 03:13 PM
redforest
post Aug 11 2010, 03:20 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(vapeace @ Aug 11 2010, 03:15 PM)
218 ip = good ?

i still get between 218 and 175.. both speed are good for me hmm.gif  well i mainly download from europe

BTW 175ip let me access well u know ahem ahem website whistling.gif
to me, it's much better than 175. besides terrible routing to China and some Japanese servers, 175 gives me very unstable speed (to european, american and even malaysian websites, yes it takes a while to fully load this forum page), it seems the longer i'm connected, the slower my speed gets, for me it's just a strange IP pool. And while I was on 218, none of these problems existed.

This post has been edited by redforest: Aug 11 2010, 03:33 PM
redforest
post Aug 12 2010, 11:03 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(felixfoo @ Aug 12 2010, 10:16 PM)
how u request cs get back ur preferred ip range ??? the cs keep tell me that ip adress that they cant  set .zzzzzzzzz
i'm still trying that, the network department is taking forever to switch me back to 218. in last call from ATS the agent told me the network department said my dslam isn't in the 218 ip range =.=|| the agent replied back to them saying I had always been on 218 before, and the network department said they have to check... that's all they do, checking, checking, checking and i'm still on 175
redforest
post Aug 13 2010, 08:42 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ Aug 13 2010, 12:48 AM)
Hearing about your IP woes makes me reluctant to reset my router/modem.... I've had a 218 address for the longest time now.... not gonna lose it hopefully....
i think it's safe to reset, my modem was on while i was sleeping and when i woke up i was already on 175, i think i was kicked off from the 218. now they say it's hard to set it back to 218 since my 'dslam is not in the 218 range'.
redforest
post Aug 13 2010, 09:00 AM

59 posts

lol this is funny but sad.

other than the IP issue I'm also having speed problem, where the download speed gets lower and lower from early morning to evening. according to a local technician his happens to the whole city as the local streamyx technician department has received lots of complaints regarding the speed, he believes it's a problem caused at the KL site.

My issue with IP started on August 5th, download speed was still quite normal even though i couldn't browse China based websites smoothly due to 175's bad routing. The speed issue started on August 6th.

Just now I received a call from the local streamyx technician department, asking to come to my house this afternoon to check my streamyx download speed. They are trying to collect as many data as possible from users in my city because when they reflected the problem to the network department in KL, the KL site didn't believe them lol. screw the network department =.=

I wonder if my whole city is capped under a certain amount of bandwidth, maybe 5Gbps or so, which makes the speed slow when lots of users are online.

Added on August 13, 2010, 9:01 am
QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 13 2010, 08:48 AM)
my 5MB using 'Fast' setting

[attachmentid=1723480]
nice downstream snr margin laugh.gif

-----

edit: wth, just noticed this at my modem router's status page. instead of focusing in switching my IP back to 218, the network department recapped me at 4Mbps instead of the original 5Mbps

This post has been edited by redforest: Aug 13 2010, 09:10 AM
redforest
post Aug 13 2010, 09:38 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(BugFace @ Aug 13 2010, 09:19 AM)
Only about 2 days ago manage to get through to lvl 2 about premium ip issue, they claim the database shows I am under the premium ip. I told them I am not so they promise to sent this problem to the networking department.

Until now the issue isn't resolve. Yesterday and today when I call them up, level 2 didn't wish to speak to me directly instead told level 1 they are waiting for networking department's reply.

Previously when I encounter this issue it was fixed within few hours. Now several days they still haven't fix it.
they have time to recap my account while they should be focusing on switching me back to 218. I don't know was it a vengeance thingy or not that they recapped me, I made a complaint against the network department at MCMC yesterday.

This post has been edited by redforest: Aug 13 2010, 09:39 AM
redforest
post Aug 13 2010, 08:21 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Aug 13 2010, 07:42 PM)
anybody experiencing DSL light blinking after 6pm?

anybody got MCMC or cfm's email?
you can use the online form http://aduan.skmm.gov.my/

Added on August 13, 2010, 8:27 pm
QUOTE(xken @ Aug 13 2010, 07:30 PM)
now they are telling me that my IP got randomed from 218 to 175 zzzz i kept telling them i was in the 218 pool and all they said was 'random random random'  doh.gif
i don't think they are ever gonna switch mine back. they probably did something with 175.145.*.*, today web browsing to China seems a lot smoother than the last 7 days after I got switched to 175. bt or emule using xunlei with peers in China has almost no speed though (it could easily go up to 300~500+K when I was on 218).

This post has been edited by redforest: Aug 13 2010, 08:27 PM

0.0396sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:57 AM