Engine Oil Reviews, What engine oil have u used so far

sarjantulang
post Jan 8 2013, 09:29 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 7 2013, 04:45 PM)
not true.
if you're only +/- xw10 from manufacturer specifications, it should be ok and there should be no risk of engine harm/engine oil consumption (unless you got turbo/high rev or long distance for very long periods very frequently but that's a different story already)

also LM semi syn MOS2 is 10w, unless you're on the full synthetic?

also, regardless of good grade engine oil, one should service accordingly to car manufacturer/original specifications. eg: proton iswara is every 5k km, you put in rm300+ of full synthetic also, ideally you should oci at 5k km, not 10k or 20k km.

as the amount of engine oil capacity/oil sump plays a role in OCI period as well.
think of engine oil as water (filtered/longkang water as good/bad engine oil), and your engine/oil sump as a bucket. how much dirt (carbon/contaminants) your bucket can hold also depends on its size, while secondary factor would be the quality of your engine oil, obviously longkang water can hold shit worth of dirt because it is already dirty to begin with.
OCI is also depend on what is your engine oil base oil come from....which group and which group is the additive is coming from...also are the base oil are pure or not...

nowadays, manufacturer of engine oil are tend to make their engine oil last longer...why??to protect the environment...the frequent you change, the more DIRT you give to earth...because engine oil is not like garbage that you can burn or simply bury it to the land...

that's why some of the manufacturer is give the best for their engine oil and the result is, the engine oil that can last longer than normal...

nowadays, there are so many engine oil that can last longer without harming the engine...

i'm just change the oil filter every 5000km or 10000km...then a bit top-up...been doing that for more than a year now....the engine oil can last long, but the oil filter is not especially the cheap or OEM(not europe or america OEM OF)...

i know this is kind contradict with others opinion, but guess what...let's save the environment...

sarjantulang
kennywee92
post Jan 8 2013, 09:48 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Jan 7 2013, 08:57 PM)
ya,. last time i bought from him. Price not same, the purple 1, if not mistaken rm220 or 240... this golden 1 is rm198.

bought from sunway zerone. So i think its ori la.. since they are LM distributor oso.
Can buy from me next time, cheaper tongue.gif
zaxxshoxx
post Feb 18 2013, 11:25 AM

put up or shut up
1,331 posts

any review on JTX1000? Kancil 660 user here
sarjantulang
post Feb 19 2013, 02:12 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(zaxxshoxx @ Feb 18 2013, 12:25 PM)
any review on JTX1000? Kancil 660 user here
assalam,

kancil 660 but still want to use 15w50??better use any 10w30 or 5w30...more light and better FC...

my friend, even Nissan Teana using 5w30 or 0w30 for service...2.5 somemore..not to mention Camry, Saga....even the new Subaru BRZ and Toyota AE86(new version) using 0w20....

sarjantulang
zaxxshoxx
post Feb 19 2013, 02:15 PM

put up or shut up
1,331 posts

QUOTE(sarjantulang @ Feb 19 2013, 02:12 PM)
assalam,

kancil 660 but still want to use 15w50??better use any 10w30 or 5w30...more light and better FC...

my friend, even Nissan Teana using 5w30 or 0w30 for service...2.5 somemore..not to mention Camry, Saga....even the new Subaru BRZ and Toyota AE86(new version) using 0w20....
sarjantulang
actually i'm a noob when it comes to engine oil sleep.gif so any suggestion of brand since i've normally use the one Perodua gave.

This post has been edited by zaxxshoxx: Feb 19 2013, 02:15 PM
sarjantulang
post Feb 19 2013, 05:52 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(zaxxshoxx @ Feb 19 2013, 03:15 PM)
actually i'm a noob when it comes to engine oil sleep.gif so any suggestion of brand since i've normally use the one Perodua gave.
they are many reputable brand out there like Liqui Moly, Torco, Shell, Petro-Canada, Bardhal, Castrol, Amsoil and many more....

get the Semi Synthetic is enough...price is around RM90-130 depend on the brand...for Kancil 660, 0w30 or 5w30 is enough...

sarjantulang
Quazacolt
post Feb 19 2013, 06:13 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sarjantulang @ Feb 19 2013, 05:52 PM)
they are many reputable brand out there like Liqui Moly, Torco, Shell, Petro-Canada, Bardhal, Castrol, Amsoil and many more....

get the Semi Synthetic is enough...price is around RM90-130 depend on the brand...for Kancil 660, 0w30 or 5w30 is enough...

sarjantulang
this.
zaxxshoxx
post Feb 20 2013, 05:16 PM

put up or shut up
1,331 posts

QUOTE(sarjantulang @ Feb 19 2013, 05:52 PM)

sarjantulang
thank you sir
Hiha90
post Feb 24 2013, 04:42 PM

24 posts

Hi everyone,

I'm wondering the interval for servicing when i'm using semi-syn. All the while i service every 7000km. The other shop was advising me to service every 5000km. Advice would be appreciated. I'm using LiquiMoly 10W-40 with MOS2. Thanks
Quazacolt
post Feb 24 2013, 06:06 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Hiha90 @ Feb 24 2013, 04:42 PM)
Hi everyone,

I'm wondering the interval for servicing when i'm using semi-syn. All the while i service every 7000km. The other shop was advising me to service every 5000km. Advice would be appreciated. I'm using LiquiMoly 10W-40 with MOS2. Thanks
depends on your manufacturer's recommendation first and foremost
Hiha90
post Feb 24 2013, 07:17 PM

24 posts

I'm driving Persona. Forgot to mention that.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 24 2013, 07:06 PM)
depends on your manufacturer's recommendation first and foremost
Quazacolt
post Feb 24 2013, 08:17 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Hiha90 @ Feb 24 2013, 07:17 PM)
I'm driving Persona. Forgot to mention that.
you should stick with 5k, or at least change the oil filter and the next oci a full drain. maybe 7k there is no noticeable loss of power and you've been doing that all the while anyways, can stick with that.
Hiha90
post Feb 24 2013, 10:36 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 24 2013, 09:17 PM)
you should stick with 5k, or at least change the oil filter and the next oci a full drain. maybe 7k there is no noticeable loss of power and you've been doing that all the while anyways, can stick with that.
So far never feel much differences. Ever tried Petro-Canada engine oil? How was it as compared to LiquiMoly?
Quazacolt
post Feb 24 2013, 11:42 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Hiha90 @ Feb 24 2013, 10:36 PM)
So far never feel much differences. Ever tried Petro-Canada engine oil? How was it as compared to LiquiMoly?
never tried petro canada personally.
kenso77
post Mar 10 2013, 11:57 AM

179 posts

Hi guys .... just thought of sharing a contest where Shell Helix Ultra is being given away free by Shell Helix in conjunction with the Discovery Channel Driven to Extremes adventure series (so it's all genuine and authentic)

http://www.kensomuse.com/contest-win-shell...rth-rm218-free/

All the best
li_5997
post Mar 28 2013, 01:40 AM

117 posts

heard of Rev-1 engine oil?
sarjantulang
post Apr 1 2013, 05:30 PM

44 posts

assalam,

already reach 10000km with Petro-Canada Duron 0W-30 on my 137xxxkm Saga BLM...so far so good..engine still smooth...no sluggish or feel heavy after 5000km....

still can reach 140-150kmj easily...so far satisfy....also using it in my kapcai...

sarjantulang
hitz
post Apr 1 2013, 05:54 PM

225 posts

Been using Petro Canada E 15w-40 last time for my car. Can reach 10k easily without engine feeling heavy.
arayz
post Apr 2 2013, 02:24 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(sarjantulang @ Apr 1 2013, 06:30 PM)
assalam,

already reach 10000km with Petro-Canada Duron 0W-30 on my 137xxxkm Saga BLM...so far so good..engine still smooth...no sluggish or feel heavy after 5000km....

still can reach 140-150kmj easily...so far satisfy....also using it in my kapcai...

sarjantulang
0-30 can be use at persona? got stock? or u got any recommendation? last time i wanna but but no stock
cm04
post Apr 6 2013, 07:58 AM

93 posts

brand: Mobil 1
model: Super 2000 X2 10-40w Semi-Synthetic.
price: RM98 / 4L

Long-distance, stop and go, pedal to metal.
Still smooth after 15,000km. Been using for the past few years. No complaint. Using it on Toyota Ipsum SXM10G.

126 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:10 PM