Engine Oil Reviews, What engine oil have u used so far

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 23 2012, 07:43 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 23 2012, 07:37 PM)
Given our temperatures in Malaysia, going to 0W-30 or 0W-40 or anything else is probably a waste. The larger the range of a given lubricant, the more polymer VIIs required to maintain that range, thus an oil change becomes more expensive. Plus going any thicker with a BorgWarner turbo of that size will lead to oil starvation of the turbo.
May be i did not make myself clear. Proton say you MUST NOT/SHOULD NOT/CAN'T use 5W30, 5W40, 5W50 oil in Malaysia regardless whether it is Synthetic or whatever. Nothing to do with price or waste or VII (because Synthetic use less of those anyway). That is a mystery to me.

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 23 2012, 08:26 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 23 2012, 08:02 PM)
I'd definitely stay away from 5W40 and 5W50 for the Campro CFE. It's just the nature of the turbo charger and the oil channels. Anyone who's dumb enough to use those can pay out of their nose for a new journal bearing for all I care.
May I ask the reason why? Assuming that 5W40 & 5W50 are Synthetic oils, I would have thought Synthetic oil would be better for the hot turbo bearing. Anything to do with HTHS?

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 23 2012, 09:09 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 23 2012, 09:05 PM)
Because it can't get into the bearings. Try sucking up cement with a straw. It's not a question of synthetic or not, it's a question of raw centipoise. Essentially you can't get the oil between the Journal and the sleeve to the function of viscosity increasing surface tension and cohesion to level where it can't squeeze into the journals.

That and BECAUSE MAGIC!
But wouldn't the thinner 5W30 be more able to get into tight space than 10W30?

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 23 2012, 09:37 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 23 2012, 09:23 PM)
I think I already mentioned that the gerotor (PDP) oil pump due to its manufacturing tolerances may prefer a thickness of oil over others. But this generally depends on the design and many other considerations. A cheaper Gerotor with 4 teeth may need a significantly higher start up thickness to prevent premature wear than say a Nismo or Nitto oil pump with 12 teeth machined to 0.001" tolerance. I run a Tomei, so no issues biggrin.gif

Plus during start up there is very little flow of oil into the turbo. At cold cranking temperature even at 0W, oil is far too thick to get into the journals, that's why all journals have an internal reservoir that keeps oil from the last start up in the journal. This holds the turbo enough till the oil is heated up enough to get in.

That's why turbos have a mechanism (either water based cooling or turbo timers) to ensure the oil doesn't "cake" due to heat so that the next start up will be smooth.
This is new to me. Any recommended link where I can read more on this issue?

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 24 2012, 03:28 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(wunpeng @ Aug 24 2012, 03:14 PM)
Brother, he is not staying in Malaysia, he might not know how's our environment and how's our financial.....
Malaysian car owner generally very rich. They want the top spec cars with air conditioning, GPS and coffee making machine built in. They will buy expensive Fully Synthetic oil even though we do not have Arctic nor Sahara desert type of ambient temperature for their Protons etc.

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 24 2012, 03:36 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(joshuaa85 @ Aug 24 2012, 03:33 PM)
thus nowdays FS become a trend. not so rely on ambient temp. 300V or Royal Purple that's far beyond malaysian budget. can go higher mileage since nowdays ppl getting more busier
People buying BMW etc I can understand because they are rich. But poor owner who can only afford Kancil?

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 24 2012, 10:10 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(pumpman @ Aug 24 2012, 05:40 PM)
]i know part of the story ..and was all happened during the engine R&D stage
To cut short the story. So it's correct to assume Proton/Lotus actually wanted 10w30 and not 5w30?

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 26 2012, 05:02 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(wunpeng @ Aug 26 2012, 04:40 PM)
Gearbox is using Gear Oil, not using Engine oil, normally Manual Gearbox using Grade 85W90. And change every 40000KM mileage.
Not really. Some car uses engine oil in their gear. So best to check your car manual to confirm what oil to use.

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 26 2012, 09:51 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(wunpeng @ Aug 26 2012, 08:02 PM)
Engine oil really can be use in Gear Box? I think the Viscosity is too thin for a gear box, and the additive which use to protect the gear box is not include in the engine oil... since those additive will make a lot of carbon while meet hot environment.... Better ask foremen regarding this.. Of course if the car manual book written that engine allow to be use, should be not a problem then.
For some car, it is not about whether it can be used or not but rather, it MUST be used if you want best performance. Like I say, use what the manual says. Isuzu manual transmission is a good example.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Aug 26 2012, 10:26 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 28 2012, 12:34 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(thermox686 @ Aug 28 2012, 11:43 AM)
after reading a few page..

either the EO is mineral or semi syn or fully syn. the different come from the base oil that were used.
The additive used to claims of API/ACEA n etc and also the SAE grade
Yes, they use different Base Oil. As for the type of additives, they are more or less the same just that some better brand may have better or more than lousy brand.

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 28 2012, 05:00 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(wunpeng @ Aug 28 2012, 01:40 PM)
I think most of them are follow the API grade to produce the EO, just some of the brand you will feel better is because of their attitude and skill to produce the EO..... And advertisement also will make you feel better in some times.... Of course QC on the quality of the oil is also very important.. Still the last point, no matter what brand you use, if the content is the original of the brand, it will not harm your engine... of course you have to choose the right spec for your car.
Some oil fulfill the minimum API requirement whereas some far exceed the the API requirement. Best bet is buy from a reputable company

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 2 2012, 09:21 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 2 2012, 06:54 PM)
not sure will use 15w50 or not. Depends on situation.
If engine feels OK, I shall remain use 10w40.
If it becomes noisier and noisier, I'll change to 15w50 at once.
This better be Fully Synthetic

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 3 2012, 07:14 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 2 2012, 10:57 PM)
I don't get you.
Do you mean that 15w50 must be a fully syn oil ? or are you telling me better get fully syn instead of semi syn ?
15W50 has too wide a viscosity range and if based on Mineral, there is a huge chance the oil will break down leaving you with no protection, hence the need for Synthetic.

20W50 is not too wide so good Mineral will be fine.

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 11 2012, 12:38 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(sarjantulang @ Sep 11 2012, 12:25 PM)
AFAIK,

the oil i'm using meant to Extended Drain Interval....
by using good TBN number of EO + good additive package, it will clean your engine and runs your engine smoother...and plus with pure base oil, the oil freshness will last longer..

and also find a good oil filter that can last longer...

my last UOA with synthetic blend engine oil(after more than 15000km), it's still has around 40% of freshness oil and still can be use...so again, depend on what brand of oil you're using...

just my 34.5sen..

sarjantulang
AFAIK, those going for extended drain interval often are accompanied by:

1. Larger oil sump.

2. Extra filtration device like By-Pass filter.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 8 2012, 06:39 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Oct 7 2012, 07:56 PM)
hmm...so full syn is better than semi. one more thing. is it all true that Full syn can last longer (standard being 10k KM that people say) or is it just rumours?
Synthetic is better. But strictly talking only about OCI.

Let;'s say. Mineral can go up to 50,000-km. Synthetic can go up to 100,000-km. You change at 5K or 10K, what's the difference which oil you use?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Oct 8 2012, 06:40 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 8 2012, 03:54 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(enhanced vehicle @ Oct 8 2012, 12:57 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

Synthetic base oil makers and synthetic lubricants makers will be very sad reading your opinion.... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

Actually, there are differences....

1) Temperature resistance (low VI): Regardless of how new/fresh the mineral oil in your engine, due to its nature of lower temperature resistance, it will provide less protection to engine moving parts...

2) Low saturation: Mineral base oil has higher content of volatile substances which are detrimental to the performance of the engine oil in terms of wear protection, oxidation resistance, corrosion control, shear stability and etc.....

In my opinion, shortening OCI for mineral oil might improve engine protection, but it would not be able to totally replicate engine protection at par with synthetic oil...
Saw an advertisement the other day Delo 400 15w40 was being advertised for up to 50,000-km and that's a Mineral.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 9 2012, 10:52 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(enhanced vehicle @ Oct 9 2012, 10:46 AM)
Caltex Delo 400 is formulated with ISOSYN base oil....

http://www.caltex.com/my/products-and-serv...ubricants/delo/

What is ISOSYN?

The iso-syn method you referred to is the patented refining process that is used by Chevron (Caltex) to produce its base oils. This process is a hydrocracking process that consists of the following steps

The first step in this process is atmospheric and
vacuum distillation.

The second step in the process is severe
Hydrocracking to remove the majority of
sulfur, nitrogen and polar compounds and
saturate most of the aromatic and naphthenic
compounds that may be present.

The next step is Hydroisomerization which
is also known as Isodewaxing.

The Isodewaxing process which is patented by
Chevron takes n-paraffins and other molecules
with waxy side chains and converts them
into isomerized branched paraffinic
molecules (isoparaffins).

The Isodewaxing process can also use wax produced
by solvent dewaxing as one of its feedstocks.

The third step is severe hydrofinishing which is
used to remove any remaining sulfur,
nitrogen, polar compounds and unsaturated
molecules.

The final step is atmospheric and vacuum distillation to produce the desired viscosity grades.

This process produces Group III UCBO base oils
that have viscosity indexes ranging from 120 to
over 140.

API Group III base oil is generally marketed as Synthetic....

Caltex Delo 400 might not be blended with 100% ISOSYN base oil but it is definitely not full Group I mineral oil, I would say it should be categorized as at least Semi -Synthetic....
It's still technically Group II, not Group III. Dirt cheap at RM200 for 18 liter packing.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Oct 9 2012, 10:52 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 25 2012, 12:29 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(enhanced vehicle @ Oct 23 2012, 09:22 PM)
It is known as oil consumption / evaporation, it is quite normal..... but a good quality engine oil will evaporate less than a lower quality one...
It also depends on how you drive your car. For sustained highway driving, you 'use' less oil. For town driving, you 'use' more oil.

You appear to 'use' more oil on highway because most of the water from combustion of petrol are being burnt off so level dropped.

You appear to 'use' less oil in town driving because most of the water are being maintained in the engine oil so level dropped less.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 29 2012, 09:30 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(victim_of_malware @ Oct 29 2012, 12:14 AM)
I am using fully synthetic multigrade gear oil (75W-140) for my Kancil gear box.
The seller said it can be use on any type of cars. So far after 3 months, everything is fine and smooth.

The front number 75 - means the oil has viscosity similar to a SAE70 single grade oil at room temperature.
and the back number 140 means - viscosity of SAE140 single grade oil at high temperature (100 degree Celsius)
even with the number SAE140, the oil's viscosity at high temperature is still lower than SAE70 at room temperature.
That's why it is the front number that determine the highest viscosity.
And the bigger the different between the 1st number and the 2nd number the better the quality of the gear oil.

So, gear oil with 75W-140 is a lot better than gear oil 80W-90
This is the fully synthetic gear oil I am using: (cost about RM120 per 2 liter )

Below is an example of a 80W-90 mineral gear oil:
(cost about RM25 per liter)

Not to my understanding.

1. 75W140. At OPERATING temperature, it theoretically will have same viscosity of 140W oil. In practice, may be a bit lower but shouldn't differ too much.

2. 75W140. The wider the number may not be better. While a multi-grade like this is very good, the general advise is to use as NARROW a range oil as possible. Reason being, if everything is the same regarding base oil etc, the wider the number, the more viscosity improver that has to be used or the more stress on VI. The more the stress, the greater the chance of VI breaking down and that is not good.

SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 3 2012, 06:58 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 31 2012, 01:38 AM)
mainly because:
- less engine cranking
- more time for the alternator to charge the battery to reduce car battery load
- ideal engine operating temperature means better spark plug "automated" cleaning (too cold and it would have bad carbon fouling from your fuel/combustion wastes)

and if you're really that obsessed in engine protection, you'd probably already looked up enough relevant info yourself, and probably already using full synthetic boutique/performance branded engine oil that cost over rm250-300+ per 4 liters.
I simply could not understand how could anyone pay so much for engine oil. Not unless I am driving a Porsche etc.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0537sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:36 AM