686 posts

welcome v2!
r47z
post May 28 2010, 11:18 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(epool86 @ May 28 2010, 10:57 AM)
Which one is good, nexus or desire? Coz im planning to get myself nexus this saturday.
i feel that sense ui is much better looking than stock android ui, altho you can make it look about the same with additional apps/widgets/etc or you can download alternative home screens gui via the market (e.g launcherpro = mixture of both stock android ui + htc sense)

This post has been edited by r47z: May 28 2010, 11:20 AM
r47z
post May 29 2010, 11:29 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(hiroka88 @ May 29 2010, 03:12 AM)
i 1st time using android.. so still blur+ing
when u open the phone it will automatic showing "weather effect" right?
how u cancel it? ><
thanks!
if u using what gmhafiz saying Handcent
i think this is solution
http://www.handcent.com/Faq.php
remove the clock+weather widget (long tap on the widget and drag it to the bottom bar). then add it again ('+' on the lower right) choose the weather + clock widget then choose the location and disable the animation on the next screen)

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ May 29 2010, 03:40 AM)
I wish I own an android phone right now. I didn't remember exactly how I did it but try this.

Download a music app like meridian or something else. When choosing a ringtone in Settings, it will ask you to open using the installed music app.
you can use the build-in ring tone trimmer by going to the music app of the song you want to make it to your ringing tone. At the music player, press on menu and you'll see something like "use as ringing tone" then a prompt will ask you if you want to use as notification or to a contact or trim the ringing tone or something like that. I can't remember exactly but it's somewhere along this instructions cause i dun have my phone now (chargin on bed side)

Added on May 29, 2010, 11:31 am
QUOTE(Narako @ May 29 2010, 10:30 AM)
hey guys froyo have been ported to desire !!

http://androidcommunity.com/7804-20100528/
QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 29 2010, 10:32 AM)
i have posted this few pages back..u need to root the device first and without sense UI...
yeh that's right u need root. but this guys are crazy! they are getting benchmark higher than nexus 2.2 maybe due to the oc kernel mods.

This post has been edited by r47z: May 29 2010, 11:31 AM
r47z
post May 30 2010, 10:11 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(rad @ May 30 2010, 06:12 AM)
Guys, is there any way I can remove/uninstall the CN Thai keyboard & Chinese input? Really annoys me when typing sms  rclxub.gif
you can try to install an additional keyboard over the existing ones, this is a keyboard mod my jonasl @ xda forum. I've been using this since I got my Desire. Works very well.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=624416

goes out to all new Desire owners as well.

r47z
post May 30 2010, 10:47 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(silverND @ May 30 2010, 10:37 AM)
guys,
is it normal your HTC desire becomes very hot when using 3G internet and any messanging applications?

i know it's normal for my nokia phone..but not sure about the HTC..

yes, normal. this is the same for the legend as well
r47z
post May 30 2010, 11:07 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 30 2010, 10:58 AM)
Very normal for Desire and Legend.
Its not very hot lol.
Try plugging in the power supply and see how warm it gets~
Most probably the 3G usage cause the increase in temp~
No turn by turn yet in M'sia dude~
UK and US got though~
search for nav launcher in the market. It'll force navigation for world wide usage. but there are some delay in voice..
r47z
post May 31 2010, 11:14 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(rad @ May 30 2010, 06:33 PM)
I know. But for me, I dont need it & I have to remove it. Kinda annoying.
Thanks for the help bro! If can remove the CN Thai keyboard & Chinese input would be better  icon_rolleyes.gif  Thanks again.
Sorry you can't remove it as this is build into the rom. Unless you change rom (subject to voiding your warranty) you are able to get rid of it, but the HTC_IME mod should work well for you as you will not see the CN Thai Kb anymore unless you activate it (long tap on input field - Input Method)
r47z
post May 31 2010, 10:39 PM

686 posts

Social Media!
r47z
post May 31 2010, 11:19 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(johnsontys @ May 31 2010, 11:11 PM)
Hi Guys

I asked a question earlier but did not get any reply - need your help here
Under the Setting - Mobile data - there are couple of APN
- Maxis 2G Internet (net)
- Maxis 3G Internet (unet)

By default, my Desire is set for 2G Internet. Does that mean that I can't get the 3G speed. My home has very poor 3G coverage but in the office, it is very strong.
Should I change it to 3G internet?
just use the Maxis 3G settings, then set the network mode to GSM/WCDMA auto (not sure if this affects this but change this just to make sure) . The phone will switch from 3g to 2g(E on your bar) whenever you have a bad 3g connection, and switches back to 3g(3g or H on your bar) whenever you have a better connection. This might eat bit more battery cause of switching of different type of mode, and if you're on a call it might get cut off when the phone switches mode.

r47z
post May 31 2010, 11:33 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ May 31 2010, 11:27 PM)

does not exist for our keyboard as far as i'm aware of. I'm on desire AP so this is available since it's under uk unlocked. i used the legend and this does not exist. my best bet is to install the moded version of the keyboard.
r47z
post Jun 1 2010, 02:12 AM

686 posts

pls install the keyboard mod by jonasl @ xda if you want the phone keypad/qwerty/compact qwerty. asia rom does not include this.....

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=624416
r47z
post Jun 2 2010, 01:12 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(linuss @ Jun 1 2010, 11:46 PM)
So far anyone feel regret to buy this Desire?
Heard a lot of pros and cons about this phone..
Still deciding to buy or not..
there is no perfect phone. But Desire is awesome, best phone I've used.

QUOTE(i_bony @ Jun 2 2010, 12:12 AM)
is there any sound equalizer apps in the android market?

u guys used any?
no equalizer available for Android OS as it does not have this feature build into the os. sound quality is ok what, if you want to tweak the sound then you need external EQ.

r47z
post Jun 2 2010, 04:57 AM

686 posts

The facebook alternative app : http://fbandroid.wordpress.com/ Not sure if you can download the app from there, try and search the net for the ver1.5. works like a charm smile.gif much better than the "official" fb app, but lacks a widget that's all.
r47z
post Jun 2 2010, 01:29 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jun 2 2010, 01:26 PM)
+1
very true..
i wish tap tap revenge is on android..  cry.gif
bubblewrap got alr but 2 fingers only
there's a multitpoint game called heavygunner. quite nice smile.gif
r47z
post Jun 2 2010, 04:19 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(linkz @ Jun 2 2010, 04:05 PM)
speaking of bluetooth, Desire can transfer files to pc via bluetooth o not? hv to root it or hv to wait till froyo oni can ah?
Yes confirm can. I transfer small files from my imac to my desire via Bluetooth. Just pair both of them then you're done!

Added on June 2, 2010, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 2 2010, 03:37 PM)
installment plans are possible with Maybank, Public Bank, HSBC and Citibank.
Yes by Maxis. There will be a roadshow tomorrow in KLCC ground floor for Desire. Looks like they are trying hard to promote the phone.

This post has been edited by r47z: Jun 2 2010, 04:25 PM
r47z
post Jun 3 2010, 06:54 AM

686 posts

Anyone on AP UK Sim unlocked? There's a new firmware update OTA to update your software to 1.21.405.2
r47z
post Jun 3 2010, 09:08 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jun 3 2010, 08:42 AM)
hoping that its the allocated ram fix and the video out of sync fix.. huhu
no FroYo. but lip sync fixed! Ram ? hmm bit more snappier la. A few add ons. Google Earth now available in the Market + other applications.
r47z
post Jun 3 2010, 09:30 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jun 3 2010, 09:18 AM)
yup.. the lip-sync issue with snapdragon processors but i doubt it as this is released together with htc legend too.. legend is not under the same processor.. if the sync fix to be issued, perhaps it would rool closely together with incredible and nexus 1.. The ram issue where the system does not allocate the total amount.. mine only says max 398 with 250max free ram.. it should be allocated max higher as the desire is provided with 576... but some ppl does say that it was allocated on purpose to 400mb max only cuz the rest is dedicated for GPU processing

im cool now with RAM.. 250max free ram is snappy already indeed.. but i really do hope with the fix of the lip sync issue.. but who knows, maybe they would drop in an equalizer too.. haha.. but perhaps thats only a dream
oh there's an update for Legend as well.

http://www.htc.com/europe/support.aspx
r47z
post Jun 3 2010, 09:41 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 3 2010, 09:37 AM)
What is the largest capacity of Micro SD card the Desire can support? With all the nice apps (see here: http://www.android.com/market/#app=com.epocrates), I thought of getting a decently large capacity Micro SD since Froyo is on its way anyway.
Sorry to interrupt your discussion but is this the update for Froyo?
nope, no froyo yet. This is just a normal update (apps, fixes, bugs)
r47z
post Jun 3 2010, 05:16 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jun 3 2010, 05:07 PM)
No wor, I dont own Iphone as well. The reason why I said Iphone OS is better is because its easier to nagivate around the menu etc. Afterall, its a phone ma. Android feel a bit like PC, that if you got the time to play with it and it can be accomodating. The main weakness of Iphone OS is Flash and Android is gonna have Flash support. Nothing is perfect. Just own preference.

The screen is really nice though. Not to mention its thinner than I imagine. I wonder how hard it is to slot into your pocket like some forumer claim to be.
no doubt iphone OS is good or better, besides the lack of multitasking (no pun intended). But the lack of control over the OS makes the it seems weaker.

"If we did not act, we faced a draconian future. Where one man, one company, one carrier was the future"

0.0438sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:39 AM