*For shortform indications, please refer to the last page of Simple FAQ

This post has been edited by dhui: Aug 2 2012, 02:57 AM
TSdhui
post Jun 17 2010, 11:26 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(sweett22 @ Jun 17 2010, 11:02 PM)
i got ukm dentistry....i wanna know  whether we can choose not to stay in the hostel  during our fist year o not?  if cant, i may i know how many ppl in one room ?thnks
Hello, first of all congratz to you and welcome!

You live nearby UKM?

You can choose whether you want to live in hostel or not during first year. But you will also need to pay for the hostel fees as you need to stay in the hostel during the orientation weeks, the timetable is pack and I can guarantee you have no free time to get back home for the first orientation week.

But after second year, it is up to your choice whether you want to apply for hostel or not.

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 17 2010, 11:28 PM
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 01:38 AM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(IXionI @ Jun 18 2010, 01:04 AM)
uhh...hi all
another UKM newbie here :3

just asking...
are the classes conducted wholly in BM...?
Not really, it's depends on courses.

What course are you taking?

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 01:49 AM
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 01:44 AM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(camoflush @ Jun 18 2010, 01:39 AM)
Unofficially I got ukm law.
I hope this result will be the officially one.
Hi guys nice to meet you.
If that is the case, you will be my first unofficially junior rclxms.gif

Nice to meet you, I am also from Law Faculty.

Any enquiries feel free to ask me.

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 01:46 AM
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 02:26 AM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(IXionI @ Jun 18 2010, 01:58 AM)
forensics >.<
Sorry I can't really tell you since I am from UKM main campus Bangi. Forensic is being taught in the other campus and there are not many students in forensic. It can be considered as a rare course.

For Engineering - It's English.

For Law - English or Malay. Depends on ourself since in the final we are going to write with 2 different languages.

But of course for those supplementary subjects like Hubungan etnik, TITAS is in BM.

But mostly for professional course, I supposed it is in BI.

But 1 special thing in UKM, some faculties they required students to read english textbooks, but answer in BM. As you know, Universiti "Kebangsaan" Malaysia. That's the reason.

Btw, you are STPM or Matrix student? Your first choice? brows.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 2:26 am
QUOTE(camoflush @ Jun 18 2010, 02:07 AM)
Oh hi senior.
I will ask you when I get the official result.
Thx btw.
No problem. Good luck to you nod.gif

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 02:28 AM
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 01:32 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(Hitman91 @ Jun 18 2010, 08:05 AM)
i got ukm trapi carakrja..my question,if i want to apply ptptn,can we start make a bImB account??or they will do it for us?
No, it is better if you register BIMB account now. Otherwise it is quite inconvenience if you make it at UKM since you are new there and have no transport.

The application of PTPTN will be assisted by Student Service Department. Make sure you went there to apply for PTPTN because if you do it by yourself, you might fail since there are many detailed thing need to be filled and quite troublesome. The experienced staffs will teach you how to fill.

All you need to do is prepare the required documents and bank account for easier application in UKM later.

QUOTE(camoflush @ Jun 18 2010, 12:55 PM)
I just check the official result.
And the result is still the same.
Now I can relax.
Congratz, finally you are now my first official junior laugh.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 1:36 pm
QUOTE(highwind85 @ Jun 18 2010, 10:28 AM)
Didn't know such thread exists...I'm Biochemistry grad from UKM..feel free to ask questions about PBsBt here..
Hi senior smile.gif Nice to meet you. You have just grad?

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 01:36 PM
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 03:24 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(camoflush @ Jun 18 2010, 02:28 PM)
Btw senior I want to know how good law course in Ukm?
such as the ranking in Malaysia.
And I want to ask senior should I bring a lot of formal cloth?
I heard law student need to wear formal cloth during orientation.
UKM ranked 2nd among all IPTA in Malaysia.

No good or bad course. In fact, there is only good or bad student. I truly believe if one is capable and smart, Uni makes no difference.

All students have to wear formal during orientation week everyday. So be prepared at least >2 , since you have no time to wash it and you will have to wear that 2 formal shirts for whole weeks. Sounds dirty, but it is true. laugh.gif

It is not compulsory to wear formal shirts for law students except when you are doing presentation. Semi-formal is suffice and it is advised not to wear jeans at the first few months.

Added on June 18, 2010, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(unpronunceable @ Jun 18 2010, 02:51 PM)
First manufacturing eng student post!:D
Welcome to UKM ! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 03:29 PM
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 10:29 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(Hitman91 @ Jun 18 2010, 09:45 PM)
so,waht abt the online application for ptptn?do we need
to apply it before entring ukm or aftr?

bcause at ptptn site said that the closing date on 30 june
Sorry I can't tell you whether you can apply before getting in or not. Since I applied it during my 2nd year. All I did was apply through online, then it will be approved and we will need to download the form via online and fill it afterwards and finally post it to PTPTN office.

Since it is stated 30 June, I think you should register online before the date. Then the approval might be after you get into UKM. By that time, you will find out that you have been aproved via online and you have to download the forms and seek for Student Service Department's help to fill the form. They will also help you to post it.

If you want to confirm and make no mistake, call PTPTN and ask. smile.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 10:35 pm
QUOTE(tyj91 @ Jun 18 2010, 09:58 PM)
Hi there, i'm offered UKM dentistry. Allow me to ask few Qs:
1. If nt living in hostel, whr r da convenient places to live in?
2. Wat r da facilities in hostel?
3. If living in hostel, cn i bring in a car?
Thx for ur advice n replies. smile.gif
1. Yes, you can live anywhere you want, if you have rented or house nearby, but I not sure the hostel's fee can be waived or not. Means, if you do no stay, you will still need to pay for first year.

2. It is different from hostel to hostel, we have >10 hostels in UKM. What hostel do you get?

3. For first year, rules do not allow car. However, you can bring it illegally, but you won't be able to apply for UKM car sticker which allows you to go out at night. Without sticker, you can't get in UKM at night, but if at daylight no problem. Easy to say, you can bring but you cannot go out at night without sticker. But if you can find the sticker, then no problem brows.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 10:38 pm
QUOTE(Hitman91 @ Jun 18 2010, 10:14 PM)
one mor qustion,if on 2nd year,we canot stay at ostel?whre to live?is it we will do ourself  to find any house?or thy will provide ?
There are actually 2 hostels in UKM are semi-government. It is a bit more expensive but there are lots of rooms which you not need to worry about no place to live. Anyway, you can stay active to remain in your hostel. Like me, I have lived 2 years in the same hostel.

If you want to stay outside also can, many students did that. But all these will be dealt by your own. No service provided by school.

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 10:38 PM
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 10:39 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(IXionI @ Jun 18 2010, 10:10 PM)
O o i see....
nvm then tongue.gif
i'm from matrics
1st choice ----> pharmacy
Ic.. Haha.. Have you prepared to do the post-mortem on dead bodies? laugh.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 10:40 pm
QUOTE(hiansitt @ Jun 18 2010, 10:28 PM)
@tyj91
dentistry is health care, where at branch campus near KL, i not sure much things about there. but anyway, the orientation week is conducted at main campus, which is Bangi

@hitman91
either you can choose to stay at higher rate hostel (which is KKM/Zaaba) if they still have vacant
and most of the time, you can stay at housing area around main campus (fasa 3 / near hentian kajang there) and mostly is find yourself. smile.gif

welcome to ukm
Why no intoduce yourself here? brows.gif

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 10:40 PM
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 10:42 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(Hitman91 @ Jun 18 2010, 10:38 PM)
thnx..i just worry that i cant find any house thre..
Lol.. no problem.. Many houses for rent nearby. You might know final year students later who live outside, then you can stay there when they grad.

Added on June 18, 2010, 10:49 pm
QUOTE(Hitman91 @ Jun 18 2010, 10:41 PM)
@dhui
can you suggst ,what r the activity  tht will make us to rmain active and scure hostel place on the next year?/
There are lots of activites you can join. It can be categorized into 2, Pusat and Kolej.

You can join Pusat activities (UKM activities):
Etc : Pesta Angpow, Pesta Tanglung, Pesta Convo and a lots more.

Kolej activities: You also can find Pesta Angpow, Pesta Tanglung( Peringkat hostel) and many activities. There are always activities organized and you not need to worry there is no activity, I believe you will avoid from too much activities later laugh.gif

Normally, if you want to stay hostel, doing Kolej activities are suffice. If you want to learn more, and get to know more people, join Pusat activities then.

You will need to apply through UKM online system for continue to live in hostel in second year. You need to fill up the form with the activities that you ever joined and the marks will be calculated based on it.

Let's say you are so unlucky to get kicked, there are still 2 semi-government hostels for you to live in. I never hear people failed to apply on them, but the fees is higher than the normal one. Not that big different though, extra few hundreds per sem.

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 10:51 PM
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 10:54 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(hiansitt @ Jun 18 2010, 10:51 PM)
ok la. intro lo. smile.gif 08/09 batch statistics student, coming session will be my last year. smile.gif
anything you all may PM me or just post here (wahaha, never tried being spammed by PM

in before, college = hostel

@hitman91
mostly, if you want to secure your college place, either you join your college activities or campus activities (that give you merit marks)
else, you might end up being stay at higher room rate college (where the activities are optional, since the college quite big)

Added on June 18, 2010, 10:52 pmshould not say semi-government, but they operate by private, just using BOT concept
You and me are the same batch. LOL. I have some friends studied statistics too, might be your coursemates? How many classes do your course have?

Hitman91:
Anyways, if you are good in sports, then you not need to worry so much. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 10:57 PM
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 11:01 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(Hitman91 @ Jun 18 2010, 10:59 PM)
thank very much to seniors..
is it okay that i ask too much question ?
even the small thing?
i worried  that you will feel annoying to answr the qustion..is it okay right?
Lol, you can just ask no problem. I am now having my big 2 months holidays smile.gif Feel free to ask. No problem.

I can understand as I also being a new enrolled student before laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 11:01 PM
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 11:08 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(hiansitt @ Jun 18 2010, 11:03 PM)
whatever a senior can help, yea, sure...
@dhui
who know it might be you know me? wahaha.. smile.gif all stat 1 class
Might be sweat.gif I am FUU/3 next sesi, KIZ, you??
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 11:35 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(Hitman91 @ Jun 18 2010, 11:08 PM)
okay..what about the course i got.the trapi carakrja will stay at Ktsn right?any idea about ktsn? i mean the environment and facilities there?smile.gif
ktsn is not in our campus, so I am not sure too, never been there also, sorry can't help you blush.gif
TSdhui
post Jun 19 2010, 01:53 AM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(camoflush @ Jun 19 2010, 12:21 AM)
I clicked the surat tawaran link just now
and I got an error page.
I guess I need to wait tomorrow afternoon.

and Senior dhui can you make a list for new students that enrolled into ukm at front page.
Of course but not now, tomorrow laugh.gif

Now is Dota time cool2.gif

Added on June 19, 2010, 1:54 am
QUOTE(octopuss @ Jun 19 2010, 12:50 AM)
engineering juniors!! where are you guyssss..haha... fkab/3 reporting in xD
Hi, nice to meet you. I have met my first junior here already laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 19 2010, 01:54 AM
TSdhui
post Jun 19 2010, 02:04 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

To new students:

Please report yourself so that I can make a list, let's get to know each other before entering orientation week tongue.gif

Course:
Kolej:

Thanks!

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 19 2010, 02:05 PM
TSdhui
post Jun 19 2010, 05:09 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(camoflush @ Jun 19 2010, 04:53 PM)
Kolej ibu zain so far from law faculty.
Is it difficult to go to my faculty via bas?
I am also from Ibu Zain. Will be seeing you then laugh.gif

Don't worry, the bus comes every half an hour.

Unfortunately, you will "enjoy" climbing the hill with 200++ stairsteps, Ibu Zain is located on hill nod.gif

I can't tahan, second year I finally bought a motor to drive.

And 1 thing, Ibu Zain has lots of monkey. Sometime you can see babi hutan at night. laugh.gif thumbup.gif

Added on June 19, 2010, 5:27 pm
QUOTE(oreo_1000 @ Jun 19 2010, 02:39 PM)
wah...receiving new students soon...haha
anyone got medic???
Are you medic seniors? Introduce yourself laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 19 2010, 05:27 PM
TSdhui
post Jun 19 2010, 05:44 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(trapezohedron13 @ Jun 18 2010, 10:47 AM)
They got 'pre-open' for u edi... dun worry, during orientation they help u do and tell u wat u nid to do...
Hi.. You are also UKM student? Mind to intro? brows.gif

Added on June 19, 2010, 5:56 pmThread updated with Timetable, Location map and Student's list ! Have a look laugh.gif

Again, new or old UKMers please report in smile.gif

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 19 2010, 05:56 PM
TSdhui
post Jun 19 2010, 05:59 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(applecyee @ Jun 19 2010, 05:33 PM)
Hi dhui! You are our senior for Law course right? Nice to meet you. smile.gif

How about KOLEJ AMINUDDIN BAKI?

UKM Law are studied in bilingual right?
Nice to meet you too.

Aminuddin Baki also located on Hill laugh.gif

But the location is quite strategy, middle of UKM. You can walk to the library in the opposite and "Pusanika" which some UKM departments such as Student Service Department are there. There are also food courts and shops, can be categorized as shopping mall maybe? sweat.gif

Added on June 19, 2010, 6:02 pm
QUOTE(camoflush @ Jun 19 2010, 05:38 PM)
How's the condition of the kolej
One room share with how many people?
The hygiene of the toilet?
The food?
Wifi?
And other things that I should know?
And how many law students  for the first degree?
Condition is ok, for me. But for you, I not sure.

For first year, you will be living in shared room, 2 people in a room. After second year, if you wish to stay, you can choose to have single room.

The food .... Erm... Malay Food ..

Wifi? Great news to UKMers.. Whole UKM has wifi-connection which only needs you to pay RM50 per sem and enjoy 1Mbps speed thumbup.gif

Numbers of Law students - Average num are 120+- per year in UKM. Chinese - 30 +-

Stadium located near Ibu Zain, if you like to jog, then you are lucky !

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 19 2010, 06:04 PM
TSdhui
post Jun 19 2010, 06:14 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(kitqian @ Jun 19 2010, 06:06 PM)
[COLOR=blue]
hihi...
i get into law....kolej dato onn....
frm kuantan...nice to meet u all...
hope eveything will be ok...

i've few ques here...
#how's kolej dato onn ah??
#gt wifi services in KDA? rclxub.gif
Actualy all hostel are almost same. Maybe you can ask the condition by a more spesific way? biggrin.gif

Wifi is available in whole UKM icon_rolleyes.gif How lucky as it just started when I am first year laugh.gif

An advice to all of you, prepared yourself with a lock, lock all your expensive stuffs in the cupboard.

When you are doing your orientation, you will only get back in room at midnight, maybe 2-3am and you need to wake up again at 5am. You won't be around at most of the time and many thefts happened before. So, beware.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0334sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:39 PM