39 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

University Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) Thread, Guardian of The Nation

Hitman91
post Jun 18 2010, 09:45 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Jun 18 2010, 01:32 PM)
No, it is better if you register BIMB account now. Otherwise it is quite inconvenience if you make it at UKM since you are new there and have no transport.

The application of PTPTN will be assisted by Student Service Department. Make sure you went there to apply for PTPTN because if you do it by yourself, you might fail since there are many detailed thing need to be filled and quite troublesome. The experienced staffs will teach you how to fill.

All you need to do is prepare the required documents and bank account for easier application in UKM later.
Congratz, finally you are now my first official junior laugh.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 1:36 pm
Hi senior  smile.gif  Nice to meet you. You have just grad?
so,waht abt the online application for ptptn?do we need
to apply it before entring ukm or aftr?

bcause at ptptn site said that the closing date on 30 june
tyj91
post Jun 18 2010, 09:58 PM

40 posts

Hi there, i'm offered UKM dentistry. Allow me to ask few Qs:
1. If nt living in hostel, whr r da convenient places to live in?
2. Wat r da facilities in hostel?
3. If living in hostel, cn i bring in a car?
Thx for ur advice n replies. smile.gif
IXionI
post Jun 18 2010, 10:10 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Jun 18 2010, 02:26 AM)
Sorry I can't really tell you since I am from UKM main campus Bangi. Forensic is being taught in the other campus and there are not many students in forensic. It can be considered as a rare course.

For Engineering - It's English.

For Law - English or Malay. Depends on ourself since in the final we are going to write with 2 different languages.

But of course for those supplementary subjects like Hubungan etnik, TITAS is in BM.

But mostly for professional course,  I supposed it is in BI.

But 1 special thing in UKM, some faculties they required students to read english textbooks, but answer in BM. As you know, Universiti "Kebangsaan" Malaysia. That's the reason.

Btw, you are STPM or Matrix student? Your first choice? brows.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 2:26 am
No problem. Good luck to you  nod.gif
O o i see....
nvm then tongue.gif
i'm from matrics
1st choice ----> pharmacy
Hitman91
post Jun 18 2010, 10:14 PM

27 posts

one mor qustion,if on 2nd year,we canot stay at ostel?whre to live?is it we will do ourself to find any house?or thy will provide ?
hiansitt
post Jun 18 2010, 10:28 PM

~nobody~
1,358 posts

@tyj91
dentistry is health care, where at branch campus near KL, i not sure much things about there. but anyway, the orientation week is conducted at main campus, which is Bangi

@hitman91
either you can choose to stay at higher rate hostel (which is KKM/Zaaba) if they still have vacant
and most of the time, you can stay at housing area around main campus (fasa 3 / near hentian kajang there) and mostly is find yourself. smile.gif

welcome to ukm
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 10:29 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(Hitman91 @ Jun 18 2010, 09:45 PM)
so,waht abt the online application for ptptn?do we need
to apply it before entring ukm or aftr?

bcause at ptptn site said that the closing date on 30 june
Sorry I can't tell you whether you can apply before getting in or not. Since I applied it during my 2nd year. All I did was apply through online, then it will be approved and we will need to download the form via online and fill it afterwards and finally post it to PTPTN office.

Since it is stated 30 June, I think you should register online before the date. Then the approval might be after you get into UKM. By that time, you will find out that you have been aproved via online and you have to download the forms and seek for Student Service Department's help to fill the form. They will also help you to post it.

If you want to confirm and make no mistake, call PTPTN and ask. smile.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 10:35 pm
QUOTE(tyj91 @ Jun 18 2010, 09:58 PM)
Hi there, i'm offered UKM dentistry. Allow me to ask few Qs:
1. If nt living in hostel, whr r da convenient places to live in?
2. Wat r da facilities in hostel?
3. If living in hostel, cn i bring in a car?
Thx for ur advice n replies. smile.gif
1. Yes, you can live anywhere you want, if you have rented or house nearby, but I not sure the hostel's fee can be waived or not. Means, if you do no stay, you will still need to pay for first year.

2. It is different from hostel to hostel, we have >10 hostels in UKM. What hostel do you get?

3. For first year, rules do not allow car. However, you can bring it illegally, but you won't be able to apply for UKM car sticker which allows you to go out at night. Without sticker, you can't get in UKM at night, but if at daylight no problem. Easy to say, you can bring but you cannot go out at night without sticker. But if you can find the sticker, then no problem brows.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 10:38 pm
QUOTE(Hitman91 @ Jun 18 2010, 10:14 PM)
one mor qustion,if on 2nd year,we canot stay at ostel?whre to live?is it we will do ourself  to find any house?or thy will provide ?
There are actually 2 hostels in UKM are semi-government. It is a bit more expensive but there are lots of rooms which you not need to worry about no place to live. Anyway, you can stay active to remain in your hostel. Like me, I have lived 2 years in the same hostel.

If you want to stay outside also can, many students did that. But all these will be dealt by your own. No service provided by school.

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 10:38 PM
Hitman91
post Jun 18 2010, 10:38 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(hiansitt @ Jun 18 2010, 10:28 PM)
@tyj91
dentistry is health care, where at branch campus near KL, i not sure much things about there. but anyway, the orientation week is conducted at main campus, which is Bangi

@hitman91
either you can choose to stay at higher rate hostel (which is KKM/Zaaba) if they still have vacant
and most of the time, you can stay at housing area around main campus (fasa 3 / near hentian kajang there) and mostly is find yourself. smile.gif

welcome to ukm
thnx..i just worry that i cant find any house thre..
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 10:39 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(IXionI @ Jun 18 2010, 10:10 PM)
O o i see....
nvm then tongue.gif
i'm from matrics
1st choice ----> pharmacy
Ic.. Haha.. Have you prepared to do the post-mortem on dead bodies? laugh.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 10:40 pm
QUOTE(hiansitt @ Jun 18 2010, 10:28 PM)
@tyj91

@hitman91

welcome to ukm
Why no intoduce yourself here? brows.gif

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 10:40 PM
Hitman91
post Jun 18 2010, 10:41 PM

27 posts

@dhui
can you suggst ,what r the activity tht will make us to rmain active and scure hostel place on the next year?/
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 10:42 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(Hitman91 @ Jun 18 2010, 10:38 PM)
thnx..i just worry that i cant find any house thre..
Lol.. no problem.. Many houses for rent nearby. You might know final year students later who live outside, then you can stay there when they grad.

Added on June 18, 2010, 10:49 pm
QUOTE(Hitman91 @ Jun 18 2010, 10:41 PM)
@dhui
can you suggst ,what r the activity  tht will make us to rmain active and scure hostel place on the next year?/
There are lots of activites you can join. It can be categorized into 2, Pusat and Kolej.

You can join Pusat activities (UKM activities):
Etc : Pesta Angpow, Pesta Tanglung, Pesta Convo and a lots more.

Kolej activities: You also can find Pesta Angpow, Pesta Tanglung( Peringkat hostel) and many activities. There are always activities organized and you not need to worry there is no activity, I believe you will avoid from too much activities later laugh.gif

Normally, if you want to stay hostel, doing Kolej activities are suffice. If you want to learn more, and get to know more people, join Pusat activities then.

You will need to apply through UKM online system for continue to live in hostel in second year. You need to fill up the form with the activities that you ever joined and the marks will be calculated based on it.

Let's say you are so unlucky to get kicked, there are still 2 semi-government hostels for you to live in. I never hear people failed to apply on them, but the fees is higher than the normal one. Not that big different though, extra few hundreds per sem.

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 10:51 PM
hiansitt
post Jun 18 2010, 10:51 PM

~nobody~
1,358 posts

ok la. intro lo. smile.gif 08/09 batch statistics student, coming session will be my last year. smile.gif
anything you all may PM me or just post here (wahaha, never tried being spammed by PM

in before, college = hostel

@hitman91
mostly, if you want to secure your college place, either you join your college activities or campus activities (that give you merit marks)
else, you might end up being stay at higher room rate college (where the activities are optional, since the college quite big)

Added on June 18, 2010, 10:52 pmshould not say semi-government, but they operate by private, just using BOT concept

This post has been edited by hiansitt: Jun 18 2010, 10:52 PM
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 10:54 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(hiansitt @ Jun 18 2010, 10:51 PM)
ok la. intro lo. smile.gif 08/09 batch statistics student, coming session will be my last year. smile.gif
anything you all may PM me or just post here (wahaha, never tried being spammed by PM

in before, college = hostel

@hitman91
mostly, if you want to secure your college place, either you join your college activities or campus activities (that give you merit marks)
else, you might end up being stay at higher room rate college (where the activities are optional, since the college quite big)

Added on June 18, 2010, 10:52 pmshould not say semi-government, but they operate by private, just using BOT concept
You and me are the same batch. LOL. I have some friends studied statistics too, might be your coursemates? How many classes do your course have?

Hitman91:
Anyways, if you are good in sports, then you not need to worry so much. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 10:57 PM
Hitman91
post Jun 18 2010, 10:59 PM

27 posts

thank very much to seniors..
is it okay that i ask too much question ?
even the small thing?
i worried that you will feel annoying to answr the qustion..is it okay right?
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 11:01 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(Hitman91 @ Jun 18 2010, 10:59 PM)
thank very much to seniors..
is it okay that i ask too much question ?
even the small thing?
i worried  that you will feel annoying to answr the qustion..is it okay right?
Lol, you can just ask no problem. I am now having my big 2 months holidays smile.gif Feel free to ask. No problem.

I can understand as I also being a new enrolled student before laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dhui: Jun 18 2010, 11:01 PM
hiansitt
post Jun 18 2010, 11:03 PM

~nobody~
1,358 posts

whatever a senior can help, yea, sure...
@dhui
who know it might be you know me? wahaha.. smile.gif all stat 1 class

TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 11:08 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(hiansitt @ Jun 18 2010, 11:03 PM)
whatever a senior can help, yea, sure...
@dhui
who know it might be you know me? wahaha.. smile.gif all stat 1 class
Might be sweat.gif I am FUU/3 next sesi, KIZ, you??
Hitman91
post Jun 18 2010, 11:08 PM

27 posts

okay..what about the course i got.the trapi carakrja will stay at Ktsn right?any idea about ktsn? i mean the environment and facilities there?smile.gif
hiansitt
post Jun 18 2010, 11:22 PM

~nobody~
1,358 posts

@dhui
smile.gif i see i see. ktho tongue.gif

@hitman91
thats i can't help you, out of my field, personally, i never go branch campus..
TSdhui
post Jun 18 2010, 11:35 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(Hitman91 @ Jun 18 2010, 11:08 PM)
okay..what about the course i got.the trapi carakrja will stay at Ktsn right?any idea about ktsn? i mean the environment and facilities there?smile.gif
ktsn is not in our campus, so I am not sure too, never been there also, sorry can't help you blush.gif
Hitman91
post Jun 18 2010, 11:49 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Jun 18 2010, 11:35 PM)
ktsn is not in our campus, so I am not sure too, never been there also, sorry can't help you  blush.gif
nvrmind laugh.gif btw,i have some more to ak.
1.during orientation.how it will conduct?is it diffrnt campus dfrent orientation?
2.i am from sabah,is it any seniors will be wait for us at airport?bcoz we r new thr and dont know ho to reach ukm..
3.got wifi in ukm? laugh.gif

39 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:24 AM