5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V7, Guide and price at page 1

astria
post Jun 14 2010, 11:29 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(aserap @ Jun 14 2010, 11:25 AM)
wow,, thanks for add da reply.. so the SXPS16 is the best recomendation ryte nw? it looks beautiful also huhu
for ur budget, yes...

honestly i am using a smilarly spec laptop (C2D T9550 + HD4650), and it can still handle new games pretty nicely...
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 11:45 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(aserap @ Jun 14 2010, 11:42 AM)
my bro just buying cmpct presario cq42 if im nt mistaken, with i5 and ati g.c, with the silver skin, SXPS16 can pawn this laptop?
yes it can... nod.gif
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 11:50 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(aserap @ Jun 14 2010, 11:48 AM)
haha thanks man..  i thought the i5 can pawn the c2d,
so noob haha. now, when can i get this xps 16? online or store? which one is better?
if store, which one? thanks again
i5 is better only when HTT is utilized, and games hate HTT...

clcok for clock, the 2 are pretty similar in raw performance...

for Dell, it's always best to buy from their website directly, since u can still customize it...
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 11:58 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(aserap @ Jun 14 2010, 11:57 AM)
should i get p8700 or t9550? and ram(3gb or 4gb)? and the wifi link (5100 or 5300)?
P8700 is good enuf...

RAM preferably 4GB... since Windows x64 can utilize all of them, and 3GB is not max efficiency as well...

wifi adapter 5100 is good enuf...
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 01:39 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(aserap @ Jun 14 2010, 12:07 PM)
thanks for all da reply bro, plus the 4 gb the price will be RM 3,095.00, huhu,  will grab it soon

Added on June 14, 2010, 12:20 pmabout the buying method, i dun hv crdt card, can i use maybank debit card?
by rit yes... else Dell accept bank drafts as well...
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 02:39 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(xwsmx @ Jun 14 2010, 02:38 PM)
i've read the first page. and i dont understand the IT and graphic cards languange. i've stop updating myself about laptop long ago, so i really dont know which is best and which is not.
kindly help me recommend some nice laptops. biggrin.gif

1. Brand, prefer dell. but anything else better also can.
2. Budget, less than 3k. but can recommend higher price.
3. Specs, for gaming, not that hardcore. at least able to play, fifa 10, prototype, etc.
4. Size, suits the above needs.
Dell SXPS16 rm2999 deal... nod.gif
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 03:30 PM

22,158 posts

yes, that's the one that we re referring to... nod.gif

http://configure.ap.dell.com/dellstore/con...s=dhs&cs=mydhs1

This post has been edited by astria: Jun 14 2010, 03:35 PM
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 03:42 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(aserap @ Jun 14 2010, 03:39 PM)
i already made my mind 2 buy dell sxps 16 till i see Alienware M11x..... if i wait for a couple of month maybe i can get it.....  if this Alienware M11x worth it the money?
m11x is target at the ultra mobile gamers who wants to play games even in toilets (so to speak)... laugh.gif

if u need a laptop that is small to carry around (i didn't say light though) and play games, yes, m11x is the one to go...

but the catch is that the CPU of m11x is weak compared to even a rm2k laptop... so it wouldn't cut in CPU intensive games like GTA4, Shattered Horizon and Strategy games...
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 06:10 PM

22,158 posts

Dell says 2 weeks, but if got parts, within 1 week...
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 06:23 PM

22,158 posts

that sounds more like a case of too much dust in the laptop...

used to own a S41... besides the GPU problem, nothing else to complain...
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 07:19 PM

22,158 posts

or S57...

anyway, SXPS16 rm2999 deal still can kick the ass of many similarly price laptop with the latest hardware...
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 07:25 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(imahappyklown @ Jun 14 2010, 07:23 PM)
Ah,the s57,exactly.

Aight,thanks then.Narrowed it to either the Vostro 3700 and sxps16.Maybe the benq s57 <<< any thoughts on this.Haven't heard much about benq's rep
similar to SXPS16 in terms of hardware, but has got a BD Combo drive, numpad, but lack Full HD monitor...

the design may not be ur cup of tea also...
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 08:06 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(mr.hikano @ Jun 14 2010, 08:03 PM)
hye...

i wanna ask common question here tongue.gif
i wanna ask because i didnt find any good answer for my question yet.

my uncle ask me to buy laptop for his son. and put a budget rm2000- rm2300. and didnt tell me what his son need. so what is the best choice for that kind of budget and didnt know whether for gaming or normal usage. just assume normal usage as student. help me sifu ~

to laptop seller, u also can pm me your offer.

thanks in advance.
how old is ur cousin anyway???
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 09:09 PM

22,158 posts

both will do juz fine... but personally i prefer M301z... the Radeon graphic is gonna help as GPGPU gets more common...
astria
post Jun 14 2010, 09:27 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(yedyedyed @ Jun 14 2010, 09:26 PM)
a lady user.doesnt play heavy games xcept minigames.laptop with long battery life i guess.
this get's my vote...

Dell Inspiron 14, DC P6000 + ATi HD530v @RM2199

decent all rounder, with Dell's superb warranty service for those who knows nothing abt computer hardware...
astria
post Jun 15 2010, 07:44 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Jun 15 2010, 06:21 AM)
hi, can i ask for netbook recommendation here?
at this moment, what's the best spec of netbook and the price?
i'm considering a netbook (or maybe a laptop) which has the best spec and weigh less than 2kg, price less than rm2000.

can anyone recommend one?
thanx guys..
netbook??? they all ve around the same spec...

Atom N450/N455/N470/N475, 1GB RAM, 160GB HDD, 10.1" 1024x600, Win7 Starter...

only difference will be design, battery and warranty...

Added on June 15, 2010, 7:54 am
QUOTE(mr.hikano @ Jun 14 2010, 11:33 PM)
18years old. any suggestion sifu astria?
13"
Dell Inspiron 13R, i3 330M + ATi HD5470, Home Basic@RM2299 *no DVD
Dell Inspiron M301z, AMD K625 + ATi HD4225@RM2299 *no DVD, free optical drive

14"
Acer 4551, Athlon II P320 + ATi HD4250, FreeDOS@RM1499
Lenovo G460, i3 350M + Nvidia 310M@RM2349~~FreeDos@RM2199

i myself prefer the 2 Dell Inspiron... decent hardware with Dell's excellent warranty for those who knows nuts abt hardware... 13R has VGA port and has better performance if she play games, while M301z is more stylish and weights a tad lighter than 13R...

This post has been edited by astria: Jun 15 2010, 07:55 AM
astria
post Jun 15 2010, 08:43 AM

22,158 posts

well, 13R is cheaper, but 3300 has even better support (it's a business laptop afterall)...
astria
post Jun 15 2010, 01:11 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(mr_base @ Jun 15 2010, 01:09 PM)
I’m looking for laptop with requirements as below..

Budget: below RM3000
Usage: net-surfing, download, youtube and normal usage, word processing, watching movies & maybe simple games, no heavy games....
Preferred OS: Windows 7
Size: 13ā€ or 12ā€ or 11ā€, (light weight & portable)
Specs : CPU with better cooling/ no heat problem/ good battery life/ energy efficient
Life expectancy : Hope it will last at least 5 years..

Any recommendations? Thanks in advance!
Dell Inspiron 13R, i3 330M + ATi HD5470, Home Basic@RM2299 *no DVD
Dell Inspiron M301z, AMD K625 + ATi HD4225@RM2299 *no DVD, free optical drive
astria
post Jun 15 2010, 05:45 PM

22,158 posts

budget?
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 12:25 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(boris @ Jun 16 2010, 12:23 AM)
Another question from me, do different processors give different performance? Like do the cache size matter?
first part of the qn, yes...

2nd part of the qn, depends on wat CPU u re talking abt... for Core 2/Core i, 3MB/4MB is the sweet spot... for Turion II/Athlon II, doesn't really matter...

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.7453sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:52 PM