8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V7, Guide and price at page 1

TSkae7
post May 31 2010, 11:15 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(hctang @ May 31 2010, 11:07 PM)
is lenovo y460 screen HD wif led backlit?
not HD.. only WXGA.. blink.gif LED backlit[depends on the model too.. ohmy.gif ]

QUOTE(Fantasia @ May 31 2010, 11:12 PM)
C2Q QX9300 is the legendĀ  drool.gif highest clockspeed for mobile quad core processor

Added on May 31, 2010, 11:13 pm
according to lenovo website, ther state this, 14.1" WXGA LED. not sure izzit led backlit
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kae7: May 31 2010, 11:16 PM
TSkae7
post May 31 2010, 11:21 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ May 31 2010, 11:18 PM)
14r got 2 version ler, i3 and i5. which should i go for? Price diffirence rm300 shocking.gif
go for i5 430M for better performance...
i3 is consider okay too.. smile.gif but slower than i5
TSkae7
post May 31 2010, 11:54 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(chaoskeeper @ May 31 2010, 11:44 PM)
is tat T9550 in dell SXPS 16 = i7 like wat u say in previous post?
oh yes.. it actually similar with i7 620M... but i7 620M has Turbo Boost technology and HTT too

T9550 is also great choice too thumbup.gif
TSkae7
post Jun 1 2010, 12:21 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(ah_fui @ Jun 1 2010, 11:55 AM)
sifu here,

wanna ask how to compare and which is good.

dell 13r
dell 13z
dell m301z

which 1 good ??

more on internet, dvd, fb, word, movie, msn, fb game

thx
good in term of what..?

Dell 13R in term of performance..

while Dell Inspiron 13z is better in term of battery life..

while Dell m301z is just cheaper...,

what is your budget...?
TSkae7
post Jun 2 2010, 05:43 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(tgmape @ Jun 2 2010, 04:26 PM)
1. Brand = any reliable brand
2. Budget = rm2500 to rm3000
3. Specs = ddr3, for engineering software, dota
4. Size = bigger than 13 "
what ddr3..? RAM or VRAM ..?

anyway..

i suggest you to go for Dell 14R / Dell Vostro 3700 / Acer 4745G / Acer 4820TG

TSkae7
post Jun 2 2010, 09:38 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(JackLiu @ Jun 2 2010, 09:30 PM)
my personal experience, AMD not suitable to use in laptop ... better chose Intel..

vostro need see price to see the spec different...
why do you think AMD not suitable to use in laptop sweat.gif ???

i believe , new generation AMD will be better
TSkae7
post Jun 3 2010, 10:18 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 3 2010, 10:02 AM)
thinking to buy Vostro 3300.. RM2199-30 = 2169

worth to buy on current spec?
what is your usage...and requirement..?

the spec seems okay.. although you can find better.. but it is based on your needs and requirements..
TSkae7
post Jun 3 2010, 11:13 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 3 2010, 10:59 AM)
normal surfing, word, excel processing, and office and admin tasks...
yes.. vostro 3300 seems okay biggrin.gif
TSkae7
post Jun 3 2010, 11:41 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 3 2010, 11:16 AM)
how abt the same value can get better specs or with that specs, can get better value for money or cheaper?
if u dont mind 14" .. i suggest you to go for ->
Asus K40Ie , T6570 + Nvidia 310M -> RM 2100 [better graphic]
Lenovo G460 , i3 350M + Nvidia 310M -> RM 2100 [freedos , better processor , graphic]
Acer 4740 , i5 430M + GMA HD -> RM 1990 [ better processor ]
BenQ S42 , P8700 + 9600m GT/ GMA HD -> RM 2000 [ this is EOL .. lucky if u still can get , better processor and graphic]
TSkae7
post Jun 3 2010, 05:04 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(soul_smasher @ Jun 3 2010, 02:12 PM)
Hello Everyone,
1. Brand. = Any brand (that is not Compaq/HP/Acer) with AMD processor
2. Budget = below than RM5000
3. Specs. = Slightly above average gamer
4. Size. = 14" or above

Need your advise to buy a new laptop! I love to play games for a quite ammount of time and when I'm not playing, I like to download movies. So, I would need a good laptop with a good cooling system. Currently, I'm using Compaq Presario CQ40 and it can't endure a long term gaming. Can only play games for 30 minutes or so before it automatically shutdown because of the graphic card heating up like crazy! sad.gif

The processor must be AMD because my father work in AMD himself. Would be hard to ask for a loan if it's from Intel. So, please recommend a laptop that is suitable with it's price! icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

Thanks for your help in advance!
wow.. your dad works at AMD company...? smile.gif
ask him if there are newer /better AMD processor for laptop that will be available in Malaysia..

because i can find any better with your high budget and requirement..

if u dont mind intel.. you can go for
Sony Vaio EA16 [i5 520M + HD5650] - RM 3999 pretty cheap for you
Lenovo Y460 [i5 540M + HD5650] - RM 3599 even cheaper
Asus N82Jv [i5 520M + GT335/GMA HD] - RM 3999 USB 3.0 is tempting
Asus N61Ja [i5 520M + HD5730] - RM 4799 slightly better graphic
Dell Studio XPS 16 [i5 520M + HD5650] - RM 4779 FullHD resolution thumbup.gif

since you are gamer.. i suggest go for high clocked dual core processor

well. hope you can asked your father about the laptop that has AMD processor wink.gif

Added on June 3, 2010, 5:29 pm
QUOTE(denon91 @ Jun 3 2010, 05:02 PM)
hello sifus,once again i need some recommendation from u all,but tis time is for my sister and antie.

the specs for my sister notebook is as below:

1.Brand = Any brand
2. Budget =  plus minus 2000
3. Specs. = to be used as a student in university (presentation,do assignment ...), play facebook games,watch pps,easy to carry (light)
4. Size. = 14"
the specs for my auntie notebook (netbook better?)

1.Brand = Any brand
2. Budget =  around 1000
3. Specs. = do some accounting works for her shop ,easy to carry,not heavy
4. i want small in size

thx. rclxms.gif
recommended notebook for your sister..[is she further study to oversea..?]
Acer 4810TZ , Acer 4740G , Toshiba L645-1004U

for your auntie.. maybe netbook as you suggest small in size

HP Mini 210 thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kae7: Jun 3 2010, 05:29 PM
TSkae7
post Jun 3 2010, 06:37 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Jun 3 2010, 06:26 PM)
May i know i3 and i5 got what different?
depend.. i3 and i5 is different in term of processor clock speed

i3 doesnt have turbo boost technology .. i5 have it.. turbo boost technology can boost the clock speed[depend on the max clock speed]

TSkae7
post Jun 4 2010, 10:50 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Gembala Kambing @ Jun 4 2010, 12:11 AM)
Guys,
I need a help!! urgent!!
I surveyed Acer Aspire 4745g 14" notebook somewhere at Sg Buloh. They offered to me starting price RM2799 which includes printer hp d2660. since I already have a printer, I ask them to lower the price but they insist on change the printer with cooling pad. Ok then, I asked them to add extra 2G RAM and sum up the price details. They gave me best price RM3138 after add another RM100 for zero installment charge.

So here are the details:
-Acer Aspire 4745g 14" notebook
-plus cooling pad
-extra 2G RAM ddr3
-plus RM100 for zero installment charge
-plus hidden charge for them installing laptops with windows, drivers etc 

Is it worth it for me to buy it with price around RM3138?
So expensive.. upgrade 2GB ram is below than RM 200 only..
well.......
i suggest you to go Lowyat Plaza .. even cheaper RM 2699 + RM 200 = RM 2899 .. if u pay by installment.. there are shop that provide this such as cycom/all it / thundermstch

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jun 4 2010, 05:45 AM)
Please recommend me some laptop

1. Brand - Any
2. Budget - Max 6k
3. Specs - Can play game, must have at least BD-rom or BD combo
4. Size - 14"
QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jun 4 2010, 09:53 AM)
yeah, my 1st choice for now..
just wan to know if there are any other choices..
or upcoming new model b4 i buy this model...
alittle not satisfy with the screen color..
Sony Vaio EA17 is the best.. currently 14' is limited...
with your budget..? why not go for 15' instead..?
TSkae7
post Jun 4 2010, 11:11 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jun 4 2010, 10:55 AM)
15' too big for me...
and heavy also..2.7kg and above...

if can find 13.3 i more happy
waa.. freaking hard to find 13.3 with BD laugh.gif with your budget and requirements[as you need gaming..]

well EA17 is the best choice..[WoW.. first time Sony Vaio win in this laugh.gif ]

TSkae7
post Jun 4 2010, 06:41 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jun 4 2010, 11:22 AM)
well..i know really uncommon in here...
i bet in US easily see on the street with the spec i wan...
if can get 13.3 with BD, i can sacrfice gaming abit tongue.gif
you also can import the lappy from US/UK/etc..[if u want]
TSkae7
post Jun 6 2010, 10:56 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Sjiki @ Jun 5 2010, 10:54 PM)
Hi all,

I would like to buy a gaming laptop.
1. Brand: does not matter, as long as it has good customer service and warranty service
2. Budget: does not matter, as long as it can fulfill my needs
3. Specs: cpu prefer 5i or better
4. Size: >15"
5. Capabilities: gaming (Starcraft 2, Warhammer, etc), movies, internet, etc

Here I mostly read about Y460, VPCEA16 etc, but i haven't seen AS5740G-524G-64MN mentioned which also has ati 5650, is this better or worse compared for gaming purpose?

Thanks in advance for all advice!
for gaming purpose.. better go for Dell Alienware 17x / 15x .. or Asus G51vx[available in Malaysia].. since you doesnt matter about the budget.. laugh.gif
TSkae7
post Jun 6 2010, 11:11 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Jun 6 2010, 11:06 AM)
dnt forget about sager which is cheaper ~
but dunno about warranty services and customer service laugh.gif
TSkae7
post Jun 6 2010, 11:47 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(superb123 @ Jun 6 2010, 09:46 PM)
ok suggest me some laptop that can run autocad n gaming n 3D software (for architecture course)...and that laptop must have long life time of battery....well my budget around 2-3k well if the price abit high still acceptable...

I WANT A DEDICATED GRAPHIC CARD THAT ABOVE 1GB....I DONT WANT INTEL GPU...I WANT Nvidia/ATI....
p.s.
what is the part(graphic card n 64-bit thingy n etc.) that i should look in spec??i mean the part that might be usefull for autoCAD or 3D software...i heard someone says if using autocad or 3D software it must be 64-bit thingy*i dont really understand about 64-bit thingy*
why you need dedicated graphic card above 1GB???[is there any gc that above 1GB VRAM] is it concern you how much the VRAM is..??

64 bit is the OS... Windows 64 Bit can utilise 4GB ram and higher.. which is needed in your work[autocad/gaming/3d software].. the higher the ram.. the faster the speed,more task can be done..[not processor speed]...

if u can raise your budget.. go for Lenovo Y460[ i5 430M + HD5650] .. which is priced RM 3.2k .. well it is very Limited.. better hurry !!

well .. i'm consider you will be more in your working[3d software/autocad]..

so... Acer 5741G is one of the best choice too [ i5 520M + G320] - RM2899 .. it has better processor , but low-mid end graphic

the others is Acer 4745G [i5 430M + HD5470[with GMA HD] - RM 2599

Acer 4820TG [i5 430M + HD5470] - RM 2999 - acer timeline series..which has long battery life , 8 hours
TSkae7
post Jun 7 2010, 08:32 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(superb123 @ Jun 7 2010, 08:29 PM)
4820TG graphic is low than 5741G right??
hmm..well yes sad.gif .but GT 320 not support DirectX11 and Shader 5.0 wink.gif

This post has been edited by kae7: Jun 7 2010, 08:36 PM
TSkae7
post Jun 7 2010, 08:38 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(superb123 @ Jun 7 2010, 08:34 PM)
oo but i scared 4820TG cant run autocad n 3D software smootly...or 4820TG can run autocad n 3D software smoothly??
can .. but how smooth do you want tongue.gif

of course yes.. but not as fast as quad core / tri core processor..

well...it is okay though..
TSkae7
post Jun 10 2010, 04:41 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(mokh @ Jun 10 2010, 04:26 PM)
hi all,
im looking for workstation laptop or equiv for 3D work. simply said, the most powerfull laptop available with acceptable weight (i have tried 3KG and it is heavy).

ive search the web but mostly using quardo (graphic). ATI dont have ah?
price no more than RM6k. if more but powerfull can recommend also.

need it ASAP.
So.. you need quadro graphic..? sweat.gif

ATI doesnt have quadro..

with your budget.. the best is Sager NP8690[i7 720QM / i5 520M + HD5870]

others..

Dell Precision M4500 [ i5 520M + NVIDIA Quadro FX 880M ] , warning for weight
Dell Alienware M15x [i7 720QM + GT240M ] , warning for weight
Dell Vostro 3700 [i7 720QM / i5 540M + GT 330]
Dell Studio XPS 16 [i5 540M + HD5650]

Asus N61Ja [i5 520M + HD5730]
Asus N82Jv [i5 520M + HD5650]

Sony Vaio EA16 [i5 520M + HD5650]