Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V41!, The Orange Legion

lwliam
post May 31 2010, 11:20 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

mike, thats why u dont see the demand for the BBC unlike the BC, which its value comes into play in the form of constant aperture, weight and IQ

This post has been edited by lwliam: May 31 2010, 11:20 AM
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 11:24 AM

6,075 posts

BBC = big beercan
BC = beercan

no i was comparing BC and BCC on why they one still retains value better than the other... its OT from the 75-300 a bit tongue.gif

OT= off-topic

This post has been edited by lwliam: May 31 2010, 11:41 AM
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 05:15 PM

6,075 posts

clive, olympus is using the four thirds sensor, which is a 2x crop sensor. so effectively, the 50mm on apsc sensor you're looking for, would be about approx. 38mm on four third lenses.
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 05:54 PM

6,075 posts

Mo0, u tried on E3 of coz stim la.... hahhahaa... *zip zip zip*... damn fast one!
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 06:07 PM

6,075 posts

what can they produce?
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 07:08 PM

6,075 posts

mike, correct
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 07:22 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ May 31 2010, 07:09 PM)
Hm.. okey.. wan give another example. correct me if im wrong.

28-70mm(the zuiko lens) on Olympus E3/ Ep-1 =same as= 28-70mm on A700... or similar
put it this way, all those numbers (eg.50mm) written on the lens, those are referring to the angle of view on a full frame.

then whichever sensor size you put that lens on (assuming all lenses can be attached to any body at all), multiply that mm with the crop factor (eg. 1.5x, 2.0x etc.) then you will get the equivalent view angle which you can get on a full frame sensor/film.

so in your example above, putting a lens which is written 28-70mm on the respective cameras, u will get equivalent of:

A900 = 28-70mm
A700 = 42-105mm (equivalent of a FF)
four thirds = 56-140mm (equivalent of a FF)

This post has been edited by lwliam: May 31 2010, 07:25 PM
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 07:30 PM

6,075 posts

yes, meaning if u use 50mm on A700, you will actually need to use a 75mm on an A900 to get the same angle of view. (note: NOT picture outcome)

and due to the change in focal length, the DoF will be different. this is one of the difference between APS-C and FF, which will cause a shallower DoF.

This post has been edited by lwliam: May 31 2010, 07:31 PM
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 07:39 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ May 31 2010, 07:30 PM)
i was thinking the opposite.
that is a very common misconception. due to the fact that most of us use APS-C sensors, we're used to saying which focal length corresponds to which field of view. this is because many ppl will disregard the word "35mm equivalent". those numbers are based on fullframe field of views, the 35mm standard reference is because the original fullframe is film, which is 35mm wide (36mm x 24mm to be precise).

what we are seeing in APS-C are actually a cropped out portion from the full frame. and hence the image that you shared earlier on.

This post has been edited by lwliam: May 31 2010, 07:49 PM
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 08:07 PM

6,075 posts

u took the long way around it, but techically, yes, its correct.. LOLOL laugh.gif
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 10:33 PM

6,075 posts

here, hope this will make you understand more..

Added on May 31, 2010, 10:37 pmor this one, its less technical. but the narrator is more 'unprofessional'

This post has been edited by lwliam: May 31 2010, 10:43 PM
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 11:15 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ May 31 2010, 08:02 PM)
Wow. good explaination.. but my head still spinning... trying to make sense of the the figures. cause i was using A700 as a comparison.. so now i hv to think like this ... A700----> fullframe----> final image in 4/3 olympus...

Take example 50mm Lens on A700 (i wan this Angle of view in end photos), in A900 i will need a 50mmx 1.5 = 75mm lens to produce that kind of angle. And for Olympus system to have a photo of angle like 50mm on A700 = 75mm/2 = 37.5mm Olympus lens on olympus body.

Sorry im making it more complicated.....i hope this round im right...

To Summarize... what ever focal length shown in the olympus website,when use with olympus system, will be exactly the same angle of view of a Non-olympus lens on any fullframe body.
http://asia.olympus-imaging.com/products/dslr/lenses/
    *    ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 50mm F2.0 Macro on E-3, will have same ANGLE OF VIEW with a Sony 50mmF1.4 on A900? (CORRECT or WRONG?)
you got it correct the 1st round edi ma, why u add the asterisk pulak? now its wrong d... hahahha... it is Olympus' flagship model, but the E3 is not a full frame camera.
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 11:28 PM

6,075 posts

lol mike, if you are not familiar with that conversion, then i make it the other way around...

u put a 90mm lens on A900 (imagine the SP90).. then to get the (keyword:)same field of view as that, you would need a 60mm on an A700... another words, you will see MORE of the view on a fullframe as compared to an APS-C.

red is FF, green is APS-C

i have no idea how to make this any more simpler.

This post has been edited by lwliam: May 31 2010, 11:36 PM
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 11:50 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(fansoption @ May 31 2010, 11:47 PM)
Why no ppl comment my pic geh?

oh, i love the car! hard to find those cars nowadays... but better pray hard that it doesnt rain.. if not hancur la

This post has been edited by lwliam: May 31 2010, 11:51 PM
lwliam
post May 31 2010, 11:55 PM

6,075 posts

sad.gif but i komen also wadddd sad.gif whistling.gif
lwliam
post Jun 1 2010, 12:08 AM

6,075 posts

okla, i give proper one la...

your intention of the shots are more on detail shots.. hence the tight angles, and they are pretty well executed. just that for the bride's gown and heels are a bit off target, there is no detail shown in either of the pic, be it the fancy arrangements on the gown flowers, or the laces on the heels.

the shot on the car is good, i like that one.

no.3, i love the side lights on the bride, but it could use some fill light from the front, a small amount will do, nothing which cant be done with some proper photoshopping.

no.6, skin tone's a bit dull, can be PP-ed as well.

again, i love the reflection of the groom on the side mirror. but could be better if its shot a bit wider to show a bit of the surroundings, it would show a nice out of focused background either.

#8, could use a better angle and add a bit more of the background by shooting a bit more wider

#9 is ok...
lwliam
post Jun 1 2010, 12:10 AM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Jun 1 2010, 12:05 AM)

er.. okey final observation.. make it simple, if i get this wrong again i think i will give up tongue.gif:

This lens:
    *    ZUIKO DIGITAL 25mm F2.8
          50mm
          (35mm camera equivalent)
This Zuiko lens mount on E-3 has the same ANGLE of view/Zoom as when a Sony 50mm lens mount on A900. Tell me this is Absolutely correct! sweat.gif
hahhaha, yes NOW it is correct. someone correct me, but as far as i know, all lens focal length are determined by 35mm standards, no such thing as olympus' own focal length standard etc etc
lwliam
post Jun 1 2010, 12:55 AM

6,075 posts

Clive, some teaser shots for you wink.gif brows.gif

lwliam
post Jun 1 2010, 12:59 AM

6,075 posts

hazril, nope...
lwliam
post Jun 1 2010, 01:08 AM

6,075 posts

hahha, i have a camel vest, when i don that, it automatically tells ppl you mean business and ppl WILL give way to you... BUTTTT... looks damn ah beng laaa... T.T so i havent worn that for weddings for a long time d...

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0487sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:09 AM