150 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

University Multimedia University Thread V2, For any problems and discussions

Karpanan
post Mar 3 2011, 12:07 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Mar 2 2011, 11:20 PM)
Advance from foundation? u need to pass all subjects with 2.0
so conclusion is even if i failed one subject in sem 1 and i haven't resit, i cant advance right
TSsweet-potato
post Mar 3 2011, 12:08 AM

I get what I want!
907 posts

correct. But you can see the manager and ask if they can offer the subject. Then you need not to repeat one subject in one long sem.
dineshmike
post Mar 3 2011, 02:50 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(Carl Johnson @ Mar 2 2011, 05:01 PM)
do we need MUET result for the application???
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 2 2011, 05:28 PM)
nope
For degree, it is a must to have MUET result for the application.
Source
Carl Johnson
post Mar 3 2011, 04:24 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(dineshmike @ Mar 3 2011, 02:50 PM)
For degree, it is a must to have MUET result for the application.
Source
so mmu foundation got MUET subject??
dineshmike
post Mar 3 2011, 05:18 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(Carl Johnson @ Mar 3 2011, 04:24 PM)
so mmu foundation got MUET subject??
MUET is only taught as a subject in STPM.
During foundation, you have to register for MUET exam and achieve at least Band 3
to apply for MMU's degree.

CODE
26.  Pertaining to MUET, what is the requirement of MMU? How to apply?
Minimum of band 3. The Exam Unit will be in charge of students’ application for MUET in MMU. Usually, students will be informed through the bulletin board regarding registration. They need to pay a sum of RM50 for registration. Student has an option to register MUET with Jabatan Pendidikan Negeri.

27.  What are students going to be tested on? How to apply? What is the requirement of MMU?

a) WHAT ARE THE EXAMS?
There are 4 papers that you need to sit for.
1. Paper 1 - Listening
2. Paper 2 - Speaking
3. Paper 3 - Reading Comprehension
4. Paper 4 - Writing MUET is conducted twice a year.

NOTE: Students can choose either to sit the test in the middle or at the end of the year. MMU will be one of the centres for the test in December.

b) VENUES OF EXAM:
If students register with MMU, they have to sit for the test here. The Exam Unit will give instructions. However, if some candidates would have registered with their secondary schools in their hometown. Then they have to sit for the test at their previous schools. Strict instructions have been given to students about the inability to change exam venues when they fill up the exam application form.

c) HOW TO APPLY?
The Exam Unit will be in charge of students' application for MUET in MMU. Usually, students will be informed through the bulletin board regarding registration. They need to pay a sum of RM50 for registration.

Source
zettye
post Mar 5 2011, 07:50 PM

hi, im new here, however i have a question to ask. my lil bro r taking dip in IT, and for his first sem, he is required to complete 2 subject, equivalent to 8 credit hours with each subject of 4 credit hrs. my question is, usually how many hours he'll attend to class for a 4 credit hrs?
Andyzz
post Mar 6 2011, 11:02 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(zettye @ Mar 5 2011, 07:50 PM)
hi, im new here, however i have a question to ask. my lil bro r taking dip in IT, and for his first sem, he is required to complete 2 subject, equivalent to 8 credit hours with each subject of 4 credit hrs. my question is, usually how many hours he'll attend to class for a 4 credit hrs?
theres no specific time, it depends on the lecturer and the subject itself. but for normal cases, be prepare to attend at least 6 hrs of lectures
reaching2star
post Mar 8 2011, 12:26 AM

69 posts

arghhhh..... time for choosing what major in degree..... whether AI or Networking ar??? rclxub.gif cry.gif pening lo....
Asking
post Mar 8 2011, 02:24 PM

33 posts

how about financial engineering course in MMU??
Izit the lecturer good??

AMiRU
post Mar 11 2011, 12:17 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Asking @ Mar 8 2011, 02:24 PM)
how about financial engineering course in MMU??
Izit the lecturer good??
A good student never have to be worry about the lecturer. wink.gif
IisTHEmoron
post Mar 11 2011, 01:11 PM

44 posts

wht exactly is financial engineer?
Andyzz
post Mar 11 2011, 01:15 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(IisTHEmoron @ Mar 11 2011, 01:11 PM)
wht exactly is financial engineer?
Financial engineering is a multidisciplinary field relating to the creation of new financial instruments and strategies, typically exotic options and specialized interest rate derivatives. The field applies engineering methodologies to problems in finance, and employs financial theory and applied mathematics, as well as computation and the practice of programming; see computational finance.

Despite its name, financial engineering does not belong to any of the fields in traditional engineering. In the United States, the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) does not accredit financial engineering degrees.

Financial engineering is also the process of creating new securities or processes, and designing new financial instruments, especially derivative securities. More importantly financial engineering is the process of employing mathematical, finance and computer modeling skills to make pricing, hedging, trading and portfolio management decisions. Utilizing various derivative securities and other methods, financial engineering aims to precisely control the financial risk that an entity takes on. Methods can be employed to take on unlimited risks under certain events,or completely eliminate other risks by utilizing combinations of derivative and other securities.

Financial engineering can be applied to many different types of currencies and pricing options. These include equity, fixed income such as bonds, commodities such as oil or gold, as well as derivatives, swaps, futures, forwards, options, and embedded options. With financial engineering comes many risks. Risks are divided into market risk and credit risk. Market risks can be managed using risk identification, risk measurements, and risk management. Credit risks can be managed using credit modeling and credit pricing.

To become a financial engineer, one must have a strong understanding of financial economics, mathematical tools such as probability and statistics and differential equations, as well as have engineering principles such as software engineering.

Notable financial engineers include F. Black and M Scholes for the pricing of options and corporate liabilities, Robert C. Merton for his theory of rational option pricing and the introduction of stochastic calculus in the study of finance. Robert F. Engle is also notable for the work in analyzing economic time-series with time-varying volatility. Clive W. J. Granger analyzed the economic time series with common trend.

Financial engineering is normally employed in the securities and banking industries. It is also used by quantitative analysts in consulting firms or in general manufacturing and service firms, in corporate treasury, corporate finance and risk management roles. Financial engineers will often hold doctorates in computer science or mathematics, although, increasingly, have instead completed a specialized (terminal) masters degree - usually the Master of Financial Engineering, or the more general Master of Quantitative Finance.

source : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Financial_engineering

Google please before you ask
Carl Johnson
post Mar 11 2011, 10:16 PM

232 posts

do we need extra-curriculum certificates to enroll into mmu?? must??
dineshmike
post Mar 12 2011, 03:35 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(Carl Johnson @ Mar 11 2011, 10:16 PM)
It is not a must. But according to the registration website, you need to include them together if you have them.

This post has been edited by dineshmike: Mar 12 2011, 03:37 AM
Andyzz
post Mar 12 2011, 11:20 AM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(reaching2star @ Mar 8 2011, 12:26 AM)
arghhhh..... time for choosing what major in degree..... whether AI or Networking ar??? rclxub.gif  cry.gif pening lo....
any one will do smile.gif as it is just a degree..might choose what you are interested in

QUOTE(Carl Johnson @ Mar 11 2011, 10:16 PM)
it is not necessary..they will take u as long as u fullfill their requirements.. 5 credits
Crazyday723
post Mar 13 2011, 04:58 AM

51 posts

hey anyone know this short sem fee is how much we need to pay??? i only take 1 subject....izit need to pay fix payment for this sem?? i m CDP student june 2010 intake....and another ques is my gpa 2nd sem dint reach 2.0 above if this sem i cover back my cgpa to 2.0 am i able to take back the loan fron ptptn? or ptptn is base on long sem result??? waiting the reply...thanks...=)
10411?????
post Mar 13 2011, 10:01 AM

13 posts

hi there
i have a question:

for fist student, what is the minimum credit hour needed to earn dean list?
just want to know
Andyzz
post Mar 13 2011, 11:22 AM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(Crazyday723 @ Mar 13 2011, 04:58 AM)
hey anyone know this short sem fee is how much we need to pay??? i only take 1 subject....izit need to pay fix payment for this sem?? i m CDP student june 2010 intake....and another ques is my gpa 2nd sem dint reach 2.0 above if this sem i cover back my cgpa to 2.0 am i able to take back the loan fron ptptn? or ptptn is base on long sem result??? waiting the reply...thanks...=)
if following the new policy, you should have to pay Short trimester 20% RM 2,600... no matter how many subjects u took.
PTPTN is based on CGPA...as long as your CPGA didnt fall below 2.0, PTPTN will grant you loan.

QUOTE(10411????? @ Mar 13 2011, 10:01 AM)
hi there
i have a question:

for fist student, what is the minimum credit hour needed to earn dean list?
just want to know
minimum 12 credit hours for long semester..for short semester, im not sure..
bleble
post Mar 14 2011, 05:30 PM

50 posts

is the registrstion fees pay on every new semester ?
Andyzz
post Mar 14 2011, 10:26 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(bleble @ Mar 14 2011, 05:30 PM)
is the registrstion fees pay on every new semester ?
nope...once only

150 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:00 PM