University Multimedia University Thread V2, For any problems and discussions

Andyzz
post Sep 18 2010, 04:18 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(besaid @ Sep 18 2010, 04:13 PM)
ok,the issue is old.so,is the issue solved?
i dont think so..i think MMU gona abolish the major soon..
Andyzz
post Sep 20 2010, 12:42 AM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(james66 @ Sep 19 2010, 11:57 PM)
anyone got management tips?
its better you study rather than asking tips that might not be true...
to get tips bribe the lecturer... easy job
Andyzz
post Sep 20 2010, 10:52 AM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(james66 @ Sep 20 2010, 10:51 AM)
guys,after cimb auto debit,do we have to do anything...my financial kiosk still state my bal 3k+
then pay mmu lor...you got full loan or partial?
Andyzz
post Sep 20 2010, 10:57 AM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(james66 @ Sep 20 2010, 10:56 AM)
full,they deduct from my cimb acc but dint update my financial kiosk?!
in that case, if they have deducted then dont worry. they are slow in process usually take 2 weeks to update..
Andyzz
post Sep 20 2010, 01:01 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(Gii @ Sep 20 2010, 12:36 PM)
Is that true to say that a computer scientist can do what a  software engineer does?
yeah... why not but they are not so into programming.. every it major can code.. its just that SE is much more into coding while CS is a bit of everything...network, programming, multimedia, ai , ise
Andyzz
post Sep 20 2010, 01:51 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(Gii @ Sep 20 2010, 01:12 PM)
But normally for a degree of CS, it is a three year program but for SE it is four.

Does that mean a CS candidate will lose out many parts regarding programming? Or he can gain it back after getting a job?
its standard for MMU IT major.. it is all 3 years. no more 4 years so the duration of all majors in IT are the same..you can learn anything you want if you have to passion and will smile.gif

one in non-network field could take cisco cert .if you go for CS major, you could take Sun professional cert smile.gif

frankly speaking, when we start working only about 20% of what we learn would be utilized as working is not the same as those in text book.its real time and challenging smile.gif failure means goreng goreng(fired) not retake by paying money ..ha ha
Andyzz
post Sep 20 2010, 02:49 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(Gii @ Sep 20 2010, 02:13 PM)
Those certs are additional and optional right?

Will MMU offer classes in order to get the cert?

That means we need to pay a certain amount of money for those classes?

Are those certs recognized worldwide by the way?

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
its additional and optional smile.gif
mmu offers classes for it but you have to pay and not all courses are available.so far as i know, CISCO cert is available, others im not sure but you could jz take it outside smile.gif

its recognized worldwide.no worries
Andyzz
post Sep 20 2010, 05:47 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(Gii @ Sep 20 2010, 03:01 PM)
So far I am comparing MMU to Monash but I still couldn't have my mind clear about which institution I would go to.

MMU seems like having a pile of collaborative corporations and offers extra certs while Monash don't.

Don't know where I should go to.... rclxub.gif
it depends smile.gif monash cert is certainly more nice as its an international uni if you are planning to go overseas
but mmu is also not bad smile.gif its the top it uni in msia
its true that mmu have a lo of alliances corporation so you dont really have to worry bout jobs if you are an average or higher scorer.

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 20 2010, 03:31 PM)
try to think about the networking and the type of friends that you can get.
its not bout the type of friends you should consider. its your future you should take in as a factor. which uni would benefit you more?
friends ,you could get anywhere smile.gif

QUOTE(iampokemon @ Sep 20 2010, 04:48 PM)
MMU barred, unbarred and barred me again with no reason. =(
pay fees dy? lols.... print your exam slip then forget bout it as the most important now is your exam slip
Andyzz
post Sep 20 2010, 07:28 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(Gii @ Sep 20 2010, 07:11 PM)
Andyzz, how is MMU's hostel?

Can I stay in a single room?  mellow.gif but it seems impossible right?

How about staying off-campus? Is there any room available for this OCT intake?
MMU hostel sucks ..thats my personal opinion.. not trying to offend anyone .lols
its imossible to stay in 1 room .its 3 in a room

staying off campus is cyberia.. you can look out for empty room here
http://www.mymmu.net/v2/
Andyzz
post Sep 20 2010, 07:51 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(Gii @ Sep 20 2010, 07:49 PM)
Will it be far from the campus? I have no transportation =(
not far from campus... its only 5-10 min walks smile.gif
Andyzz
post Sep 20 2010, 07:54 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(Gii @ Sep 20 2010, 07:53 PM)
Thank you so much  smile.gif
no problem smile.gif so make up your mind dy? gona go for which degree?
Andyzz
post Sep 20 2010, 08:59 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(Gii @ Sep 20 2010, 07:58 PM)
Software engineering. Might go to the campus and have a look. Will the U be opened on Saturday and Sunday?
wow...majority took that course in MMU smile.gif its just so popular

QUOTE(iampokemon @ Sep 20 2010, 08:09 PM)
Yeah at 1st I paid 30% while waiting my loan. After paying full amount they still barred me as the financial statement is not updated yet until 4 days later they unbarred me.

One lucky thing I have done is I printed the exam slip be4 they barred me insisting I have to pay for the overdue credit amounting to $0.I wonder what would be their reaction those that print their exam slip during last minute. sweat.gif
haha..its fate lah...but still you have to report this to the finance just in case you marks cant be entered into the system..then you would have trouble with your final's mark
Andyzz
post Sep 20 2010, 09:03 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(Gii @ Sep 20 2010, 09:01 PM)
Will there be anyone processing my application on Sunday or Saturday?
ahhh..i rmb you ask whether the U is open on sat and sun.. its open but the are not working that means you can have a look at the facilities and surroundings and the library but you cant process you application or whatsoever
Andyzz
post Sep 20 2010, 10:05 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(Gii @ Sep 20 2010, 09:23 PM)
This is bad....Anyway, I will find a way to hand in the application form after that. Thank you very much smile.gif
your welcome smile.gif

Added on September 20, 2010, 11:24 pmanyone wana buy FIT text book? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Andyzz: Sep 20 2010, 11:24 PM
Andyzz
post Sep 22 2010, 10:21 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(james66 @ Sep 22 2010, 10:18 PM)
whats the max credit hour for fbl students?subject registration
Academic Load

Full-time students who are not on probation, shall take a maximum of 24 credit hours and a minimum of 1 subject in a 14 lecture-week trimester and a maximum of 14 credit hours and a minimum of 1 subject in an 8 lecture-week trimester. Not withstanding the above, a student who is pursuing a Bachelor of Engineering degree shall only be allowed to register a maximum of 18 credit hours and a minimum of 1 subject in the 14 lecture-week trimester; and a maximum of 9 credit hours and a minimum of 1 subject in the 8 lecture-week trimester

Students on probation shall only be allowed to register for a maximum of 18 credit hours and a minimum of 1 subject in the 14 lecture-week trimester and a maximum of 9 credit hours and a minimum of 1 subject in the 8 lecture-week trimester. Not withstanding the above, while on probation, a student who is pursuing a Bachelor of Engineering degree shall only be allowed to register a maximum of 12 credit hours and a minimum of 1 subject in the 14 lecture-week trimester; and a maximum of 6 credit hours and a minimum of 1 subject in the 8 lecture-week trimester.

quoted from http://fbl.mmu.edu.my/
Andyzz
post Sep 23 2010, 02:30 AM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(reneelee @ Sep 23 2010, 02:16 AM)
erm im taking foundation this year and i heard something about 40 marks is conditional pass? what does this means? Does that mean i have to retake the subject or not if i get 40 mark?

PS-im not aiming to pass, i want to score an A but im asking out of curiosity
haha...i think its 40 in the past, now they raise the passing mark to 50.. must ask gavin to confirm

if you get below the passing mark, you have to resit 1st, if fail again, then you have to retake the subject means go to classes and etc
Andyzz
post Sep 23 2010, 02:39 AM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(reneelee @ Sep 23 2010, 02:36 AM)
yup i know the passing mark is 50 now but there is this thing called conditional pass which i heard from my friend, so i just wanna know more about it  icon_rolleyes.gif
you got 50 then you pass dy smile.gif no special cases ..
melaka or cyberjaya?
Andyzz
post Sep 23 2010, 02:57 AM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

no idea..but foundation is only for you to get use to uni..when you enter degree, your cgpa will start from 0 again...so no matter how bad you score in foundation(not failing laa...) when you enter degree, you will have a fresh start again. haha
Andyzz
post Sep 23 2010, 03:36 AM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Sep 23 2010, 03:35 AM)
er.. just wanna know for those taking virtual reality, what do we learn in that course??
im not sure as VR is for SEGD student
smile.gif if you are mmu student, log into the library and search for the past year, you might get some idea what it is about
Andyzz
post Sep 23 2010, 02:58 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Sep 23 2010, 02:54 PM)
i am not mmu student ><

i dont know wanna take animation or virtual reality.. sob
from ur location i guess you are either from UTAR or KTAR smile.gif

so if you have a choice then skip it, if not then ..haha...
what major ur in that requires you to take this 2 sub? multimedia system?

20 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0535sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:53 PM