Reasons to get a PhD?

cheahcw2003
post Dec 6 2011, 05:52 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Jun 14 2010, 08:38 PM)
PhDs for me i think its more like an achievement in life. Its something you can feel very proud off when you retire and start to look back on what you have done with your life.

Tom, d*** and Harry has Degrees on the street, you can't say the same for PhDs.
rclxms.gif Good
cheahcw2003
post Dec 21 2012, 11:14 AM

5,379 posts

UPM offers a Dual Phd/ Joint Phd Degree with foreign univesities as follows:
1) UPM-Uni of Nottingham
2) UPM-Uni of Sheffield
3) UPM - Newcastle Uni Australia
4) UPM - Uni of South Queensland.

One thesis 2 supervisors, and 2 Phd Degree at the end of the study, not bad.

http;//sgs.upm.edu.my
cheahcw2003
post Jan 13 2013, 12:56 PM

5,379 posts

For me the reason to get a Phd is self achievement, accomplishment. And has the rights to use Dr. XXX in my grave stone when i die.
Keke...
cheahcw2003
post Feb 20 2013, 05:41 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(lopo90 @ Feb 20 2013, 02:08 AM)
wow, people take up phd for the love of knowledge but you do it for the title. Wow, just wow.
title and love of knowledge can come together.
otherwise, one can just pay 10K to get a Phd certificate,
if solely love of knowledge, one not neccessary to go thru the Phd path, can just finish reading all the books in the library.

This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Feb 20 2013, 05:58 PM
cheahcw2003
post Feb 20 2013, 08:29 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(lopo90 @ Feb 20 2013, 07:45 PM)
Title is just a bonus. Something optional, that's all. Pay 10k to get a PhD cert? I guess it makes sense why these days so many rubbish thesis full of plagiarism is common.
the 10K cert one is no need to do thesis one. just pay then can attend the convocation in US already.
With the Turn it in software, no way to plagiarise...
cheahcw2003
post Mar 11 2013, 11:49 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(eyeshield @ Mar 11 2013, 03:57 PM)
I just start my Phd. I am doing it because of my supervisor request. He keep asking me after i finished my master because short of phd student . So i took it. Feel regret but it already to late.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
So u ended up doing your own research topic that u interested in, or u r helping your Supervisor to do his/her research?
It is a cheaper way for your supervisor to get a research assistant by just ask u to study PhD.
cheahcw2003
post Mar 12 2013, 02:22 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(eyeshield @ Mar 12 2013, 12:44 AM)
Im doing his reseach, become GRA for 4 month and then got mybrain. So right now im doing all his research for free  sweat.gif
That is why i said free RA.
But it's ok, u got what u want ( Dr. Title in 3 years perhaps), and your supervisor got a free and cheap RA,
cheahcw2003
post Sep 25 2014, 08:58 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(aleluya @ Sep 23 2014, 04:37 PM)
Just got my MBA as well. The thought of going into DBA is strong, but the class fees are high and a lot of DBA graduates aren't getting any better pays also so decided to drop the thought of taking DBA.

But getting a Dr. in front of your name sounds cool. lol
Depending on the course structure, i would say majority of the DBA course structure is the repeat of MBA, if you have already got MBA, u may want to avoid DBA.

Just do PhD or Phd Industry.
cheahcw2003
post Sep 25 2014, 09:03 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Sep 2 2014, 09:20 AM)
phd useless here. dun waste your time. No point become a broke phd guy when even the spm guy who start working early is even richer than u and worst they could be your boss lol
Each individuals pursue PhD for various reasons, not all chasing for money.
I know one 60 years old guy just completed his PhD study
cheahcw2003
post Sep 26 2014, 04:29 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(aleluya @ Sep 26 2014, 04:08 PM)
Thanks for the info. For PHD, is it same as DBA where you need to submit your proposal first then see if they want to accept you?
I did apply for a DBA program later I got an offer for PHD.
Both require research proposal
cheahcw2003
post Dec 29 2014, 07:01 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Dec 28 2014, 11:40 AM)
can i skip master and straight study phd after getting my degree?
Some Australian uni allowed their Hons degree students to pursue PhD degree with sholarship
Most Local U allow it provided ur 1st degree is first class.

But then u need research skill to start your PhD.
cheahcw2003
post Dec 29 2014, 07:05 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Oct 23 2014, 02:14 PM)
Just out of curiosity, what is the olderst age of members here that started their PhD (or even DBA) and are there anyone from Corporate sector (ie not Academia from Uni) doing their PhD (or DBA) here?
who wanna declare their age here???? LOL

I know there is a 58 years old graduate in UM. graduated this year
cheahcw2003
post Dec 30 2014, 09:38 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Dec 29 2014, 09:33 PM)
for the thesis , normally  how long did the students take to finish it?
it is entirely based on the individuals.
for phd, i have seen some completed in 2 years time, work very very hard.
i also have seen some take 10 years also cannot complete
cheahcw2003
post Jan 1 2015, 11:58 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Jan 1 2015, 10:26 PM)
I would like to add that it also depends on the candidate's supervisor. Very much so.
+1, strongly agree
cheahcw2003
post Jan 19 2015, 11:02 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(juniortok @ Jan 19 2015, 04:01 PM)
But Cheah, if the uni allows their students to complete within 2 years, they will be breaching the rules set by the 3 accreditation bodies... I understand that the minimum is 3 years..

(But I am talking about DBA)
there is no hard and fast rules, as long as u can show result.
Most uni impose min 2 years and max 4 years,
cheahcw2003
post Jan 20 2015, 10:12 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(juniortok @ Jan 20 2015, 11:25 AM)
If that is the case, I suspect the school is not accredited (by all 3 agencies but maybe 1-2) because I have experience with 3 friends of mine who could not get their PHD because they did it full time and the school refused to let him pass because it will affect their accreditation by the 3 accreditation agencies. 

Starbucki, I dont understand your question....
what do u meant by accredited? By which body?

For my current university for example. some already get their theoretical framework ready, up to Methodology chapter, once they get the admission, they will start collecting data, so no surprise can do it within 2 or 2.5 years.

I also notice some PhD student register as part time student (so that they pay 50% fee), but work full time on his/her research so can get it done in short time, even enrolled as part time study mode, in order to save cost.

This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Jan 20 2015, 10:20 PM
cheahcw2003
post Feb 2 2015, 07:31 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(joshuawhlam @ Feb 2 2015, 09:39 AM)
The best reason for PhD is your curiosity to know something in deep.You create new KNOWLEDGE through the PhD process, which these knowledge is unique in the world. Not big knowledge as Newton and Einstein. It is normally small such as a better equation to calculate the velocity of flow in engineering or discover the pattern of currency change with low oil price in economic.

PhD developed two skills, which are SCIENTIFIC SKILL and TECHNICAL SKILL. Both skills are essential in the modern world. Once you put 'Dr' in front of your name, people will expect you are good in both skills. PhD bring you benefit in long term to carry 'Dr' as international title for life. You need times to digest the benefit of 'Dr'.

PhD will be very dissapinted to those aiming fpr instant benefit in term of money or fame. PhD is a long term investment as property. If you can flip in 2 or 3 years, it is good. Most peoples invest PhD for life.
Well said

0.0264sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:00 PM