BMW modded with Toyota engine

TSsafetylance
post May 17 2010, 10:36 AM, updated 16y ago

491 posts

Yesterday visited a workshop specialized in transplant toyota engine into BMW cars...

Saw at least 8 BMWs in the workshop....

Quite impress & may thinking of getting one BMW for this purpose....

Basically they only touch on the engine itself leaving others in its original conditions.

Anyone driving of this BMW now?

Maybe u can share ur experience here...

P/S: saw one failed modded BMW there. Just arrived from Penang after the workshop there unable to continue the process.

Oh yes, rough estimation cost for the cost is around RM12k to Rm 14K depending on the engine model & CC....
amduser
post May 17 2010, 10:39 AM

5,542 posts

one question, mod to toyota engine for what?
aarex
post May 17 2010, 10:44 AM

** DyNaMic **
1,153 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 17 2010, 10:39 AM)
one question, mod to toyota engine for what?
For cheap maintenance cost? spare parts easy to get? better FC? more powerful? laugh.gif
santeria
post May 17 2010, 10:45 AM

86 posts

yeah.. same here.. why change to TOYOTA engine since u got BMW? downgrade? hahahahaahha OMG!!
omnimech
post May 17 2010, 10:48 AM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

I think they are talking about old bmw.

Who in the right mind would buy a new one to rape like that ? smile.gif

Plus the comment about better fc and more powerful is pure bs.

try driving the new 5 series with its dual turbo >_< .

No toyota engine can compare to it. No way in hell.
TSsafetylance
post May 17 2010, 11:00 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(omnimech @ May 17 2010, 10:48 AM)
I think they are talking about old bmw.

Who in the right mind would buy a new one to rape like that ? smile.gif

Plus the comment about better fc and more powerful is pure bs.

try driving the new 5 series with its dual turbo >_< .

No toyota engine can compare to it. No way in hell.
yupe...definitely for old BMW....

cheaper maintenance cost, ez to get spare part, more powerful & better FC...
shinjite
post May 17 2010, 11:01 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Mostly transplant with 1JZ
Azuma-kun
post May 17 2010, 11:03 AM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

1JZ eh...old bmw folks always go for that engine
aarex
post May 17 2010, 11:12 AM

** DyNaMic **
1,153 posts

Sure la for those Old BMW... doh.gif If u can manage to buy New BMW, y still change the engine?
alcatrez
post May 17 2010, 11:23 AM

543 posts

Yup.

It is always the E28s, E30s or E34s.

Either with RB20s, SR20s or 1jz.
xemoboyx
post May 17 2010, 11:24 AM

109 posts

1jz ftw! more power, less maintenance
chong237
post May 17 2010, 12:00 PM

30 posts

Not necessary an old bimmer. Some new models like the E36, E39 and E46 also been converted to 1JZ or 2JZ. Especially the IJZ VVTI model. Those craving for torque and Horse power will do that. the JZ families is a monster.
geisha
post May 17 2010, 12:18 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(safetylance @ May 17 2010, 10:36 AM)

Yesterday visited a workshop specialized in transplant toyota engine into BMW cars...

Basically they only touch on the engine itself leaving others in its original conditions.

P/S: saw one failed modded BMW there. Just arrived from Penang after the workshop there unable to continue the process.

Oh yes, rough estimation cost for the cost is around RM12k to Rm 14K depending on the engine model & CC....
hi bro, mind telling where is this workshop? any link? i have e46, deciding to plunk other engine. still searching for good workshop than can do the job..
TSsafetylance
post May 17 2010, 12:38 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(geisha @ May 17 2010, 12:18 PM)
hi bro, mind telling where is this workshop? any link? i have e46, deciding to plunk other engine. still searching for good workshop than can do the job..
the workshop located at Seremban. It's near to Bukit Galena.

If you interested, i can bring you to workshop there provided u in Seremban...

You can checkout the modded BMW there & may test drive too as the owner & his fren owns few modded BMWs..
theanswer
post May 17 2010, 01:15 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(santeria @ May 17 2010, 10:45 AM)
yeah.. same here.. why change to TOYOTA engine since u got BMW? downgrade? hahahahaahha OMG!!
so u must be new to the mod world.. i agree with u but lots of ppl did this.. especially old bmw with toyota or nissan rb engine. smile.gif
the_catacombs
post May 17 2010, 01:39 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

toyota what engine??... 3sge from altezza??..
flamestudio
post May 17 2010, 01:46 PM

1,758 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 17 2010, 01:39 PM)
toyota what engine??... 3sge from altezza??..
For BMW most likely is Toyota 1JZ-GTE from the Soarer, Crown etc or 2JZ-GTE from the Supra.

CooShyRee
post May 17 2010, 01:51 PM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

i used 2 think that its crap!! but then again, i started 2 think again recently, n thought that it isnt such a bad idea.. less maintenance, better fc n improved power.. n if u go 4 the jz or rb series engines, u still get the straight 6 gudness!!

always contemplatin of gettin an e34 (my fav bmw shape) in the future, n puttin in a 1jz in it, the newer version wit single turbo n vvti..
TSsafetylance
post May 17 2010, 02:46 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ May 17 2010, 01:51 PM)
i used 2 think that its crap!! but then again, i started 2 think again recently, n thought that it isnt such a bad idea.. less maintenance, better fc n improved power.. n if u go 4 the jz or rb series engines, u still get the straight 6 gudness!!

always contemplatin of gettin an e34 (my fav bmw shape) in the future, n puttin in a 1jz in it, the newer version wit single turbo n vvti..
yupe, saw one at workshop...

according to the mechanic, gear change is smooth with single turbo n vvti compare with twin turbo..
xshiro
post May 17 2010, 03:10 PM

133 posts

ya..one of my frend has old merc with toyota crown engine
travis_ckf
post May 17 2010, 03:16 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Toyota's old school engine always worked charm. Since getting used parts or half cut engines from BMW may cost a bomb or rare, sourcing an engine from toyota is a good idea.

This post has been edited by travis_ckf: May 17 2010, 03:17 PM
mADmAN
post May 17 2010, 03:21 PM

10,530 posts

haiyah...old story la....theres even been stories of jaguars and other exotics transplanting SR20s, RB20s etc etc..

basically coz of...

good power, better FC, easier to find parts, cheap maintenance and the most important reason of all....cheap road tax
junl00ng
post May 17 2010, 03:56 PM

803 posts

It brings old car new life smile.gif
CooShyRee
post May 17 2010, 04:43 PM

3,806 posts

wow!! that e39 wit the 1jz looks so neat!! it looks as though bmw n toyota did a collaboration n produced a special edition e39 wit a 1jz engine..
TSsafetylance
post May 17 2010, 04:55 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ May 17 2010, 04:43 PM)
wow!! that e39 wit the 1jz looks so neat!! it looks as though bmw n toyota did a collaboration n produced a special edition e39 wit a 1jz engine..
This is E36 with twin turbo....

shinjite
post May 17 2010, 05:05 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(junl00ng @ May 17 2010, 03:56 PM)
It brings old car new life  smile.gif
Nice 2JZ mod!!
CooShyRee
post May 17 2010, 05:10 PM

3,806 posts

oh yeah, its a 2jz.. didnt realize the '3000' writin on the engine cover..
maelzx
post May 17 2010, 05:14 PM

isha.my
860 posts

i also almost going to upgrade my e28 last time to 1jz ... got racun by my mech.

not enough money .. but i must say e28 with 1jz is good enough already. powerrrrr!
imperialrealcs
post May 17 2010, 05:38 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

how about the electronics? all working?
CooShyRee
post May 17 2010, 05:42 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 17 2010, 05:38 PM)
how about the electronics? all working?
thats y this type of moddin is suitable 4 older bimmers, where theres not that much electronics.. becoz obviously, it'll stop workin.. ive seen an e34 modded wit a 1jz, even the fuel consumption readin gauge under the rev counter doesnt work anymore..
chong237
post May 17 2010, 05:49 PM

30 posts

Not much issues on the eletronic part. only one of the dials and few warning symbols, and the semi-auto system will not work. For example the fuel pressure gauge that u use to see how much fuel you are using per 100 km on the BMW E36 will not move. Overall, is perfect. But have to bare with top speed of 160+km/h without chipping the ecu.
detomaso
post May 17 2010, 05:49 PM

1,896 posts

wait until u see old merc or bimmer with TOYOTA 1UZ engine... hahaha
the_catacombs
post May 17 2010, 06:01 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

chong237
post May 17 2010, 06:06 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(detomaso @ May 17 2010, 05:49 PM)
wait until u see old merc or bimmer with TOYOTA 1UZ engine... hahaha
In standard form, the JZ has more HP then the 1U. thumbup.gif

Added on May 17, 2010, 6:08 pm
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 17 2010, 06:01 PM)
Still prefer the JZ over the RB. The RB looks very weird. Unless is the RB26. drool.gif

This post has been edited by chong237: May 17 2010, 06:08 PM
imperialrealcs
post May 17 2010, 07:54 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(chong237 @ May 17 2010, 05:49 PM)
Not much issues on the eletronic part. only one of the dials and few warning symbols, and the semi-auto system will not work. For example the fuel pressure gauge that u use to see how much fuel you are using per 100 km on the BMW E36 will not move. Overall, is perfect. But have to bare with top speed of 160+km/h without chipping the ecu.
that is not called perfect edi lor doh.gif
anyway, top speed for jdm model was restricted to 180km/h

This post has been edited by imperialrealcs: May 17 2010, 07:54 PM
faizpsp89
post May 17 2010, 08:02 PM

///M
1,169 posts

QUOTE(maelzx @ May 17 2010, 05:14 PM)
i also almost going to upgrade my e28 last time to 1jz ... got racun by my mech.

not enough money .. but i must say e28 with 1jz is good enough already. powerrrrr!
how much?
xxboxx
post May 18 2010, 12:14 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

haha, old bimmer mods still ok what, the car looks nice.
i once saw a old volvo box type which normally only unker will willing to drive, but modded with toyota 2.5 turbo (dunno what engine)
phas3r
post May 18 2010, 12:23 AM

1,206 posts

yes, they are many older bmw's transplanted with toyota and nissan engines, i think it's the rb20 being one of them.
reason for it? smaller displacement(cc)=cheaper road tax, easier maintenance, but yet more powerful.

i don't like it. no more bmw feel!
some merc w140 and w126 also converted to these jap engines

This post has been edited by phas3r: May 18 2010, 12:25 AM
b48753
post May 18 2010, 05:22 AM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

My contractor last time doing this kinda mod. He put in 1JZ into E34, and mated it with ORIGINAL gearbox. And look at the reliability so far last time (not sure now coz already lost contact) no problem.Not sure how his mechanic 'kawin' the gb with the 1JZ, but so far that the cool BMW mod I've ever see on my own eyes. (the other one is at Japan, an E36 with Honda F30C).

This post has been edited by b48753: May 18 2010, 05:24 AM
chong237
post May 18 2010, 09:04 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 17 2010, 07:54 PM)
that is not called perfect edi lor doh.gif
anyway, top speed for jdm model was restricted to 180km/h
Consider perfect lo. rclxms.gif . about the fuel consumption gauge, who cares. To hell with fuel economy, doesn't matter already when you have 2.5 litre twin-turbo 6 potter with 280 HP underneath you right foot. thumbup.gif Add in a RSM to free the speed limiter. Then it will happilly take you to 250 km/h. rclxm9.gif
the_catacombs
post May 18 2010, 01:55 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ May 18 2010, 05:22 AM)
My contractor last time doing this kinda mod. He put in 1JZ into E34, and mated it with ORIGINAL gearbox. And look at the reliability so far last time (not sure now coz already lost contact) no problem.Not sure how his mechanic 'kawin' the gb with the 1JZ, but so far that the cool BMW mod I've ever see on my own eyes. (the other one is at Japan, an E36 with Honda F30C).

u mean f20c ahh??... honda got f30c one meh??
scorgio
post May 18 2010, 10:35 PM

4,694 posts

I've seen Benz W123 with a RB26.

But less old Benz opt for Japan heart cos Benz engine itself is quite durable.

Can't say the same about BMW old engine.

mirzan007
post May 18 2010, 10:43 PM

502 posts

Went to my workshop and saw a classic jag with nissan engine. Cost about 20K... really nice
porkchop
post May 18 2010, 10:46 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

hmmm..... will the swap adjust the roadtax cost too???
scorgio
post May 18 2010, 11:44 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ May 18 2010, 10:46 PM)
hmmm..... will the swap adjust the roadtax cost too???
Yes. If the swap is endorse by JPJ.
The new engine no. & displacement will be amended on the car registration card.
Road tax rate would also be adjusted accordingly.
the_catacombs
post May 19 2010, 12:12 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

my friend bought an old nissan Z and downgrade it from 3.5L to 2.5L
phas3r
post May 19 2010, 01:06 AM

1,206 posts

old nissan z? 300zx?
nice vid on the bmw e36 with F20C, that chick is nice too..
but the bimmer needs a new tachometer. f20c from s2000 rev till 9k rpm, that tacho only got 7k rpm
cheewin88
post May 19 2010, 02:01 AM

146 posts

bmw with japanese engine owner here.
my family own 2 bmw.
1.e28 with rb20DET auto, mom's transport.
2.e34 with 2jz manual.

but not better get a japanese car to mod in those jz or rb...dun take bmw. u need alot of $$$$ to convert and mod the brake system. if u use back original bmw brake...then u're done...anytime will crash.
chong237
post May 19 2010, 08:41 AM

30 posts

The brake's on the E36 works perfectly. Enough to lock the wheels on dry surface. Unless you like to go track days Then you need a better brakes. Normal brakes will fade if the discs ishot.
detomaso
post Jul 7 2010, 05:58 AM

1,896 posts

QUOTE(chong237 @ May 17 2010, 06:06 PM)
In standard form, the JZ has more HP then the 1U. thumbup.gif

no replacement for displacement. eehehe.. eventho 3.0 turbo came with 280 hp.. and 4.0 n/a came with 260 hp.. but the early rpm lag of low compression engine of JZ make the 260hp 1uz looks fast... hehehe
yehlai
post Jul 7 2010, 06:36 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

RX7 FD3S also can mod to 1JZ, damn sexy. But no more 1.3L road tax
1JZ is lighter than rotory rite? if too heavy then FD3S not balance anymore.
chong237
post Jul 7 2010, 03:08 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(detomaso @ Jul 7 2010, 05:58 AM)
no replacement for displacement. eehehe.. eventho 3.0 turbo came with 280 hp.. and 4.0 n/a came with 260 hp.. but the early rpm lag of low compression engine of JZ make the 260hp 1uz looks fast... hehehe
There is where the Yamaha head, VVTI and the small twin siput comes in handy. Especially the 2J. Its siputs runs in sequential configuration. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by chong237: Jul 7 2010, 03:09 PM
Joseph Hahn
post Jul 7 2010, 04:40 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Hachi Roku using F20C, Subaru Legacy using RB25, S13 using a Toyota V12. Anything is possible.
ideoteque
post Jul 7 2010, 10:45 PM

164 posts

anyone know how much it cost to transplant 1jz in KL?
ahsam1212
post Jul 7 2010, 11:27 PM

178 posts

Around 15k can kao tim.
aimank_88
post Jul 12 2010, 11:05 PM

383 posts

Hey there, anyone knows any 1JZ specialist in KL? Seremban is a bit too far. Huhu. A friend of mine have a 1jz fitted to his merc w126. Engine a bit sluggish so wanna send for servicing/repair/etc.
chong237
post Jul 19 2010, 12:17 PM

30 posts

There is one in Pandan Indah. Wah Tai. Note, this person is quite expensive. But is worth it.
GEFORCEXTREME
post Jul 19 2010, 08:35 PM

60 posts

What engine is Toyota Supra turbo on? Someone is attempting the engine on a E39 here in Malaysia. He said it was his first, he even said he worried cannot fit.
yngwie
post Jul 19 2010, 09:03 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

if am not mistaken, it was the 2jz-gte series. inline 6 with twin turbo configuration. bad a** engine indeed.
ahsam1212
post Jul 19 2010, 09:09 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(GEFORCEXTREME @ Jul 19 2010, 08:35 PM)
What engine is Toyota Supra turbo on? Someone is attempting the engine on a E39 here in Malaysia. He said it was his first, he even said he worried cannot fit.
Already plenty of 1jz n 2jz in BMW. Unless someone attempting to hv kancil engine in bmw, then he would be first in m'sia.
SUSgrinders
post Jul 19 2010, 09:54 PM

93 posts

why someone want to convert good car into crap car engine
stereokumonomu
post Jul 19 2010, 09:59 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(grinders @ Jul 19 2010, 09:54 PM)
u dont read the thread arent u?

i giv u why,
-cheaper maintenance
-better fc

SUSgrinders
post Jul 19 2010, 10:01 PM

93 posts

just put proton engine more cheaper and better fc also very cheap spare part thumbup.gif

Waste chassis only put crap engine into bmw

the part of better fc i dont think so cos you know la japan engine ketahanan are not suitable with european car body and i think the japan engine will use more fc when put inside bmw

This post has been edited by grinders: Jul 19 2010, 10:04 PM
angelic-x
post Jul 19 2010, 10:09 PM

Not a member
644 posts

craps? rb/sr engine is classics.
Vervain
post Jul 19 2010, 10:19 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Most users are claiming that the original old engine is giving off more trouble than the Jap engine. Plus parts are expensive. Also, 1jz and 2jz engines can churn out reasonably amount of power & fun.

Proton engine would be a strain as compared to a 318. Even the 318 is an underpowered car.
gtoforce
post Jul 19 2010, 10:24 PM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jul 19 2010, 10:19 PM)
Most users are claiming that the original old engine is giving off more trouble than the Jap engine. Plus parts are expensive. Also, 1jz and 2jz engines can churn out reasonably amount of power & fun.

Proton engine would be a strain as compared to a 318. Even the 318 is an underpowered car.
agreed
banyak je those old 5 series and old 3 series especially the e30's have been changed to nissan sr/rb/ca or toyota's 1jz/2jz or 3sgte engine due to low maintenance and higher bhp to fc value

yamato
post Jul 19 2010, 10:52 PM

stop calling me yameteh =.=|||
760 posts

its not about german made or jap made, a 20yo machine is a 20yo machine.

bwm or datsun, after 20yrs, time for a change.
ae101rulez
post Jul 20 2010, 05:22 PM

289 posts

hehe...i got a macha pal..old e28 wiv 1jz..speed cut added de...on highway, new e60 530 smell his asap only...hehehehe..the pull really powerful..really a sheep in wolf clothing...
1st
post Jul 20 2010, 05:37 PM

184 posts

a combination of continental and japanese and we get continese brows.gif
Intrigue
post Jul 20 2010, 06:48 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(santeria @ May 17 2010, 10:45 AM)
wait till you own a BMW then u know
stormlcc
post Jul 20 2010, 07:00 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

QUOTE(grinders @ Jul 19 2010, 10:01 PM)
just put proton engine more cheaper and better fc also very cheap spare part thumbup.gif

Waste chassis only put crap engine into bmw

the part of better fc i dont think so cos you know la japan engine ketahanan are not suitable with european car body and i think the japan engine will use more fc when put inside bmw
i only recognize the engines from the M division, and also the current twin turbo straight six from the 335i as good engines, any other engines from bmw to me is considered crap, so yeah, to ask your first question again is why use a standard crap engine in a good car?
chong237
post Jul 23 2010, 03:47 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Jul 20 2010, 07:00 PM)
i only recognize the engines from the M division, and also the current twin turbo straight six from the 335i as good engines, any other engines from bmw to me is considered crap, so yeah, to ask your first question again is why use a standard crap engine in a good car?
How we wish we can play with those M division engines. But unfortunately, we are living in a real world. cry.gif

hKz
post Dec 19 2010, 12:59 PM

81 posts

don't look down japanese engine. 1jz can smoke any bmw anytime if tune properly. even fairlady 350 swap 1jzvvti in youtube.
JonSpark
post Dec 19 2010, 01:09 PM

ai shiteru
4,894 posts

ppl want to play with original engine or convert......bia je lah
detomaso
post Dec 19 2010, 01:28 PM

1,896 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Dec 19 2010, 01:09 PM)
ppl want to play with original engine or convert......bia je lah
+1 bro

owner got money to spent.. why not...
ReidenLing
post Dec 19 2010, 02:20 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(detomaso @ Dec 19 2010, 01:28 PM)
+1 bro

owner got money to spent.. why not...
money ...??No big deal laugh.gif
alcatrez
post Dec 19 2010, 02:38 PM

543 posts

Check youtube.com

BMW with 1jz for drifting by a Japanese....

Is that crap?

Lotus using toyota engine.....

Is that crap?

BMW e36 with 1.8 engine....

Is that crap?

In Holland (if i'm not mistaken. Read the thread MANY years back), Mitsubishi Evo using BMW engine.....

Is that crap?

If it is something that no man has ever done before, it is art, innovation, creative. And if all these are crap, why are they still doing it? I'm a business man, if the thing is crap but people are still doing it, you have to adjust to the latest trend / requirement. There is a market for it. A market niche that we haven't though of.

ReidenLing
post Dec 19 2010, 05:42 PM

207 posts

and there are lot kind of market that we even doesn't know how and what
SUSvault.dweller
post Dec 20 2010, 12:35 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(hKz @ Dec 19 2010, 12:59 PM)
don't look down japanese engine. 1jz can smoke any bmw anytime if tune properly. even fairlady 350 swap 1jzvvti in youtube.

lol. always has this kind of stock vs modded.

stock vs stock la.

conti body with japanese soul. i'd pass.
GUESS
post Dec 20 2010, 12:50 PM

193 posts

budget wise go for toyota engine..if got extra $ the M3/M5 engine definately
SUSlomz
post Dec 20 2010, 01:16 PM

35 posts

me n my fren own a 5 series e28....his car has been put on 1JZ engine...the car is superb...better FC and a lot of power compared to my e28 2.0 original engine...1JZ pawned me cry.gif .....haha
kongze1991
post Jan 19 2011, 03:48 PM

QUOTE(vault.dweller @ Dec 20 2010, 12:35 PM)
lol. always has this kind of stock vs modded.

stock vs stock la.

conti body with japanese soul. i'd pass.
what he mean is ANY bmw. tat's mean can even smoke 6series bmw, or any higher cc bmw. if stock vs stock, 1jz leading

1jz is not a crap engine. do homework 1st!

This post has been edited by kongze1991: Jan 19 2011, 03:57 PM
CooShyRee
post Jan 19 2011, 03:59 PM

3,806 posts

thats wat ive always heard from people who have done it.. better fc, better reliability, n much much better performance..

i used 2 think that y would anybody wanna do it?? 2 me, its like messin wit perfection, ruining the bimmer's purity.. but then now, it makes so much sense.. always been toying wit the idea of an e34 (my fav bmw shape ever) + 1jz vvti (not the twin turbo one, the later version)..
kongze1991
post Jan 19 2011, 04:06 PM

@CooShyRee

i agree with u. i hv the same thought like u b4. just go 4 it. vvti is much more better and less kacau than non vvti. non vvti twin turbo, the rear turbo always spoil. and vvti is beter fc and pickup. my land cruiser still in workshop, swap 1jz vvti. it looks really great. i'll upload pic in few weeks time. =D

CooShyRee
post Jan 19 2011, 04:11 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(kongze1991 @ Jan 19 2011, 04:06 PM)
@CooShyRee

i agree with u. i hv the same thought like u b4. just go 4 it. vvti is much more better and less kacau than non vvti. non vvti twin turbo, the rear turbo always spoil. and vvti is beter fc and pickup. my land cruiser still in workshop, swap 1jz vvti. it looks really great. i'll upload pic in few weeks time. =D
ok.. do upload the pics asap rclxm9.gif thnx dude..

really?? the twin turbo is more problematic?? well, i heard differently.. reliability's bout the same, but they say that more people prefer the twin turbo becoz its cheaper 2 buy n spares r more easily available than the vvti.. well, thats wat i heard.. i dont know which is true..

This post has been edited by CooShyRee: Jan 19 2011, 04:11 PM
sinister_sid
post Jan 19 2011, 04:18 PM

sori ah ts notworthy.gif
tumpang here tongue.gif
whats the cost of 1jz halfcut
how about toyota 1g 2.0 litre engine good ah ???
poke around got super charge and turbo oh

kongze1991
post Jan 19 2011, 04:27 PM

@CooShyRee

erm. well i also heard ppl said so far they use twin turbo, turbo gt no prob, mayb v shud search more info abt tis. i think spare parts is just almost same price. now geting more and more ppl playing with 1jz vvti. go ahead, dun worry. for me i would prefer vvti, cz non vvti is kinda old engine d compare to vvti.

@sinister_sid

1jz vvti shud b 6k and abv (soarer head), i heard soarer head is much more expensive, dono wat's it the reason.

1jz non vvti shud b arnd 4k and abv

1g is quite old engine... performance is much more lower than 1jz for sure

sinister_sid
post Jan 19 2011, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(kongze1991 @ Jan 19 2011, 04:27 PM)
@CooShyRee

erm. well i also heard ppl said so far they use twin turbo, turbo gt no prob, mayb v shud search more info abt tis. i think spare parts is just almost same price. now geting more and more ppl playing with 1jz vvti. go ahead, dun worry. for me i would prefer vvti, cz non vvti is kinda old engine d compare to vvti.

@sinister_sid

1jz vvti shud b 6k and abv (soarer head), i heard soarer head is much more expensive, dono wat's it the reason.

oh
any natural aspiration version for 1g or 1jz rather than force induction
i think of 1g purely of 2.0 rather then 2.5 of the 2jz
ahsam1212
post Jan 19 2011, 08:07 PM

178 posts

1jz vvti less mod option.
1g engine is old.
1jz = 2.5
2jz = 3.0
netmatrix
post Jan 19 2011, 08:14 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

QUOTE(kongze1991 @ Jan 19 2011, 04:06 PM)
@CooShyRee

I think u mean 7M or 1G non VVT compared to 1J with VVT. Most uses 1J because it is cheap. 2J is more expensive. And the most expensive part in any 1J or 2J is the manual gearbox. The most expensive is 6 speed manual gearbox for 2J which can cost up to RM1xxxx. 1J is also very very popular with 4x4 groups.
victor87
post Jan 19 2011, 08:27 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(kongze1991 @ Jan 19 2011, 04:27 PM)
@CooShyRee

@sinister_sid

soarer head is expensive coz of vvti, drive shaft and alot of stuff that fitted into your bmw when doing conversion.

iirc la, i could be wrong.
hKz
post Jan 19 2011, 08:34 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jan 19 2011, 08:14 PM)
I think u mean 7M or 1G non VVT compared to 1J with VVT. Most uses 1J because it is cheap. 2J is more expensive. And the most expensive part in any 1J or 2J is the manual gearbox. The most expensive is 6 speed manual gearbox for 2J which can cost up to RM1xxxx. 1J is also very very popular with 4x4 groups.
u r right. manual gearbox very expensive. unless u jz put auto.

@victor87

i dun think soarer is expensive cz vvti. cz casher, cressida also equiq with 1jz vvti. i think soarer is expensive cz it's sport type, coupe. supra is much more expensive.
victor87
post Jan 19 2011, 08:41 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(hKz @ Jan 19 2011, 08:34 PM)
u r right. manual gearbox very expensive. unless u jz put auto.

@victor87

i dun think soarer is expensive cz vvti. cz casher, cressida also equiq with 1jz vvti. i think soarer is expensive cz it's sport type, coupe. supra is much more expensive.
Not sure eh.

But Supra is least expensive compare to others, people thought Supra = hi performance sports car, hence more expensive price tag? It has problematic ecu though (from what i heard la)

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/car...p-in-1jz-4.html
hKz
post Jan 20 2011, 01:28 AM

81 posts

i guess what they mention is 1jz non vvti twin turbo. i hv been heard abt ecu prob for tat. well 1jz vvti so far no tat issue i guess.
seram
post Jul 10 2011, 01:09 PM

139 posts

hye guys
i own a e46 now my engine give me alot of problem now alrady spend rm 5.6k on engine and counting.. looking for 1jz transplant with vvti auto trans.. can anyone give me the best workshop name and phone num thank you tongue.gif

p/s : bmw e46 m3 hlafcut rm 30k lol
ethan99
post Jul 10 2011, 02:04 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(seram @ Jul 10 2011, 01:09 PM)
hye guys
i own a e46 now my engine give me alot of problem now alrady spend rm 5.6k on engine and counting.. looking for 1jz transplant with vvti auto trans.. can anyone give me the best workshop name and phone num thank you tongue.gif

p/s : bmw e46 m3 hlafcut rm 30k lol
I know Seremban got workshop done many 1jz in Bimmer. Maybe you can find in bmw forum
etigge
post Jul 10 2011, 06:19 PM

295 posts

Transplanting Japanese engines into BMWs or Mercedeses are actually quite normal since the 80s. During those days if a Mercedes carburettor, a solex I think, costs about 2Ks plus. It can't be serviced and needs to be changed so the foreman will recommend transplanting an Isuzu JJ engine. It will save cost in the long run but not perfect. The performance will never be smooth. Likewise, when I driving a BMW 320 (80s model) I have the same problems. Maintainence starts to get problematic and expensive after the car is over 7 or 8 years old. The foremen did recommended the same thing but as a die hard BMW fan, I resisted.

If you ask any Cameronians, Japanese engines are more hardy than continental makes. Almost all Land Rovers there are transplanted with Toyota's diesel engines. They say it is more reliable than the original Land Rover's engines which leaks a lot. They even modified power steering system into the old 109s Land Rovers. Ultimately the main factor is cost and the abundance of spare parts. even in today's time, any continental parts from half cuts are still more expensive than Japanese.

Thinking of it, if you transplant just the engine only as TS said, you only maintain the engine itself cheaply. With proper and strict maintainence schedule ( which is very important for conti cars), the engine rarely gives problems. It is the non-compliance to these schedule maintainence that makes them running smoothly hard. Back to the subject, other than the engine parts, you still have to maintain the bodyworks, the electrics, the brake assembly, the steering assembly, the gearbox, the seatings, the air conditioning systems, the bearing systems on the wheels etc. which also contributes to the high cost of the maintainence. Think about it, what do you really maintain in an engine block. Regularly the lubricant, oil filter, air filter and plugs. Other than that, the distributor system, throttle and fuel injection system which rarely gives problem. The most headache part of old continental cars is the cooling system but with proper regular flushing of the radiators and hoses and scheduled water pump change, the problems could be reduced.

In my opinion, I wouldn't go for Japanese engines as I don't see much difference in maintainence cost savings. Just think back about your track record of going to the mechanics. what did you repaired the last time. Was it the throttle? The fuel injection system? The crankshaft? The head assembly? Or the brakes, the exhaust, the air cond, the air cond. If maintainence is really getting too expensive for you, might as well sell the car and get a Japanese model afterall the mechanics will treat repairing your car as a Bimmer rather than a Toyota.

I had a friend who transplanted a Cefiro engine into a Mercedes 123 but problems still persists and finally he sold off the Merc but at 10K less than the actual value because of the engine transplant.

Just my thoughts. icon_rolleyes.gif
seram
post Jul 10 2011, 08:49 PM

139 posts

changing my bmw gearbox (2nd hand) cost new 1jzgte vvti halfcut (automatic) lol tongue.gif
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 22 2016, 08:05 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

reviving old thread

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Mar 22 2016, 08:17 PM
Time Walker
post Mar 24 2016, 12:00 AM

490 posts

like this also can?? if engine swap need register with JPJ?
sonic31s
post Apr 7 2017, 10:44 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(safetylance @ May 17 2010, 10:36 AM)

Outside > Luxurious BMW logo

Inside > poorfag toyo engine
kirakun
post Apr 7 2017, 10:48 AM

699 posts

QUOTE(sonic31s @ Apr 7 2017, 10:44 AM)
Outside > Luxurious BMW logo

Inside > poorfag toyo engine
Doesn't matter if look and performance are the owner's priority. U get to smoke any other bmw of the same model plus the luxurious exterior look of a BMW. Win win scenario haha.
sonic31s
post Apr 7 2017, 12:06 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Apr 7 2017, 10:48 AM)
Doesn't matter if look and performance are the owner's priority. U get to smoke any other bmw of the same model plus the luxurious exterior look of a BMW. Win win scenario haha.
Fully understand, seem now that I can get myself a BMW modded...
lsm1991
post Apr 7 2017, 01:13 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(sonic31s @ Apr 7 2017, 12:06 PM)
Fully understand, seem now that I can get myself a BMW modded...
i wish you gud luck and all the best~
sonic31s
post Apr 7 2017, 01:16 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Apr 7 2017, 01:13 PM)
i wish you gud luck and all the best~
Same to u too, all the best.
Actchan
post Apr 7 2017, 02:29 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(gt4turbo @ Apr 7 2017, 10:41 AM)
i just wonder~ got any one trying to buy a 350z then swap to 2jz twin turbo???? any one comment??? coz i love the 350z model ~ then the problem is the 3.5 ltr engine which cost roadtax 5k per yr~

350z now selling 50k roughly then  + 16k 2jz engine = 66k

would it be possible ??? save fuel, save money for maintenance, roadtax, less problems, then how about the power compared between original 350z v6 engine and 2jz twin turbo??? any one pls comment??? i would appreciated much~
Thats a mechanic shop name Shuang Long Auto Service , located at usj 19 .

They do provide a to z for this kind transplant service . Just chitchat there while i replace my LCP just now .

Being told , is hard to get good shape supra engine 1jz na or turbo version now , he did success on 3 unit before but 2 unit bmw and 1 toyota track car .

He need sometimes to check the nissan 350z back bone/chassis , for giving more detail . You can drop by here to discuss , boss name leong .

2jz-ge or gte easier to get 😉

This post has been edited by Actchan: Apr 7 2017, 02:31 PM
pakdamek
post Apr 7 2017, 02:32 PM

646 posts

1JZ, SR20, rb26
rcracer
post Apr 7 2017, 02:40 PM

?????
3,772 posts

Seems like insult

So many here hold BMW like some holy must have car , in the end lose to Japanese heart also
ayamxxx
post Apr 7 2017, 04:11 PM

4,061 posts

Last time famous for kia carnival convert engine to nissan 2.5 engine. Quite an upgrade for performance vs stock engine
boonwuilow
post Apr 7 2017, 07:21 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Apr 7 2017, 02:40 PM)
Seems like insult

So many here hold BMW like some holy must have car , in the end lose to Japanese heart also
For me i either go swap with BMW turbo diesel tune it to the max and let it roal coal, or swap in a all american push-rod V8. A Jap engine on a German car... well... that more like having a sausage with sushi inside as filling.
SonnyCooL
post Apr 7 2017, 08:34 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

Hahaha ... U dont kena yet ...
empire
post Aug 17 2017, 02:07 AM

2,549 posts

Pls understand this:

1Jz VVTI is a 6 cylinder engine. 6 cylinders means butter smooth acceleration... excellent fuel economy under docile driving and very strong linear acceleration.

It is way better than BMW engine of course...cos of the turbo and 280bhp.The spare parts that are so much lower in price than BMW.
fizyy P
post Sep 11 2019, 01:29 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ethan99 @ Jul 10 2011, 02:04 PM)
I know Seremban got workshop done many 1jz in Bimmer. Maybe you can find in bmw forum
can you pass me the number and name of workshop in seremban ?

lyc1982
post Sep 11 2019, 01:31 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

most common is 1jz transplant into e46
melvyn
post Sep 24 2019, 03:19 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Sep 11 2019, 01:31 PM)
most common is 1jz transplant into e46
Not only e46, e28, e30, e34 n etc
Oldskolboyz
post Sep 24 2019, 11:55 AM

1,422 posts

This combo for owner looking to..
1) Brand - BMW
2) Handling - BMW
3) Comfort - BMW
4) Reliability - Toyota
5) Fuel Economy - Toyota
6) Low Maint - Toyota
Cryptonoob
post Sep 24 2019, 01:18 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Oldskolboyz @ Sep 24 2019, 11:55 AM)
This combo for owner looking to..
1) Brand - BMW
2) Handling - BMW
3) Comfort - BMW
4) Reliability - Toyota
5) Fuel Economy - Toyota
6) Low Maint - Toyota
LEXUS 😎
linkin182
post Sep 24 2019, 02:15 PM

283 posts

There's a cult following. Not just to BMW cars. Jump onto FB and you can find many shop that offers this transplant.
SleeplessEyes
post Sep 24 2019, 02:26 PM

2,429 posts

now it's the other way round, with the Toyota Supra.

Toyota badge, BMW engine. But handling they say it maybe tuned differently and together with BMW as one reviewer pointed out that the handling is not the same as the Z4.

But that's a different car segment altogether. Rich's man weekend toy.

0.0495sec    1.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:30 PM