6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

BMW modded with Toyota engine

SUSlomz
post Dec 20 2010, 01:16 PM

35 posts

me n my fren own a 5 series e28....his car has been put on 1JZ engine...the car is superb...better FC and a lot of power compared to my e28 2.0 original engine...1JZ pawned me cry.gif .....haha
kongze1991
post Jan 19 2011, 03:48 PM

QUOTE(vault.dweller @ Dec 20 2010, 12:35 PM)
lol. always has this kind of stock vs modded.

stock vs stock la.

conti body with japanese soul. i'd pass.
what he mean is ANY bmw. tat's mean can even smoke 6series bmw, or any higher cc bmw. if stock vs stock, 1jz leading

1jz is not a crap engine. do homework 1st!

This post has been edited by kongze1991: Jan 19 2011, 03:57 PM
CooShyRee
post Jan 19 2011, 03:59 PM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

thats wat ive always heard from people who have done it.. better fc, better reliability, n much much better performance..

i used 2 think that y would anybody wanna do it?? 2 me, its like messin wit perfection, ruining the bimmer's purity.. but then now, it makes so much sense.. always been toying wit the idea of an e34 (my fav bmw shape ever) + 1jz vvti (not the twin turbo one, the later version)..
kongze1991
post Jan 19 2011, 04:06 PM

@CooShyRee

i agree with u. i hv the same thought like u b4. just go 4 it. vvti is much more better and less kacau than non vvti. non vvti twin turbo, the rear turbo always spoil. and vvti is beter fc and pickup. my land cruiser still in workshop, swap 1jz vvti. it looks really great. i'll upload pic in few weeks time. =D

CooShyRee
post Jan 19 2011, 04:11 PM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

QUOTE(kongze1991 @ Jan 19 2011, 04:06 PM)
@CooShyRee

i agree with u. i hv the same thought like u b4. just go 4 it. vvti is much more better and less kacau than non vvti. non vvti twin turbo, the rear turbo always spoil. and vvti is beter fc and pickup. my land cruiser still in workshop, swap 1jz vvti. it looks really great. i'll upload pic in few weeks time. =D
ok.. do upload the pics asap rclxm9.gif thnx dude..

really?? the twin turbo is more problematic?? well, i heard differently.. reliability's bout the same, but they say that more people prefer the twin turbo becoz its cheaper 2 buy n spares r more easily available than the vvti.. well, thats wat i heard.. i dont know which is true..

This post has been edited by CooShyRee: Jan 19 2011, 04:11 PM
sinister_sid
post Jan 19 2011, 04:18 PM

sori ah ts notworthy.gif
tumpang here tongue.gif
whats the cost of 1jz halfcut
how about toyota 1g 2.0 litre engine good ah ???
poke around got super charge and turbo oh

kongze1991
post Jan 19 2011, 04:27 PM

@CooShyRee

erm. well i also heard ppl said so far they use twin turbo, turbo gt no prob, mayb v shud search more info abt tis. i think spare parts is just almost same price. now geting more and more ppl playing with 1jz vvti. go ahead, dun worry. for me i would prefer vvti, cz non vvti is kinda old engine d compare to vvti.

@sinister_sid

1jz vvti shud b 6k and abv (soarer head), i heard soarer head is much more expensive, dono wat's it the reason.

1jz non vvti shud b arnd 4k and abv

1g is quite old engine... performance is much more lower than 1jz for sure

sinister_sid
post Jan 19 2011, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(kongze1991 @ Jan 19 2011, 04:27 PM)
@CooShyRee

erm. well i also heard ppl said so far they use twin turbo, turbo gt no prob, mayb v shud search more info abt tis. i think spare parts is just almost same price. now geting more and more ppl playing with 1jz vvti. go ahead, dun worry. for me i would prefer vvti, cz non vvti is kinda old engine d compare to vvti.

@sinister_sid

1jz vvti shud b 6k and abv (soarer head), i heard soarer head is much more expensive, dono wat's it the reason.

oh
any natural aspiration version for 1g or 1jz rather than force induction
i think of 1g purely of 2.0 rather then 2.5 of the 2jz
ahsam1212
post Jan 19 2011, 08:07 PM

178 posts

1jz vvti less mod option.
1g engine is old.
1jz = 2.5
2jz = 3.0
netmatrix
post Jan 19 2011, 08:14 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

QUOTE(kongze1991 @ Jan 19 2011, 04:06 PM)
@CooShyRee

I think u mean 7M or 1G non VVT compared to 1J with VVT. Most uses 1J because it is cheap. 2J is more expensive. And the most expensive part in any 1J or 2J is the manual gearbox. The most expensive is 6 speed manual gearbox for 2J which can cost up to RM1xxxx. 1J is also very very popular with 4x4 groups.
victor87
post Jan 19 2011, 08:27 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(kongze1991 @ Jan 19 2011, 04:27 PM)
@CooShyRee

@sinister_sid

soarer head is expensive coz of vvti, drive shaft and alot of stuff that fitted into your bmw when doing conversion.

iirc la, i could be wrong.
hKz
post Jan 19 2011, 08:34 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jan 19 2011, 08:14 PM)
I think u mean 7M or 1G non VVT compared to 1J with VVT. Most uses 1J because it is cheap. 2J is more expensive. And the most expensive part in any 1J or 2J is the manual gearbox. The most expensive is 6 speed manual gearbox for 2J which can cost up to RM1xxxx. 1J is also very very popular with 4x4 groups.
u r right. manual gearbox very expensive. unless u jz put auto.

@victor87

i dun think soarer is expensive cz vvti. cz casher, cressida also equiq with 1jz vvti. i think soarer is expensive cz it's sport type, coupe. supra is much more expensive.
victor87
post Jan 19 2011, 08:41 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(hKz @ Jan 19 2011, 08:34 PM)
u r right. manual gearbox very expensive. unless u jz put auto.

@victor87

i dun think soarer is expensive cz vvti. cz casher, cressida also equiq with 1jz vvti. i think soarer is expensive cz it's sport type, coupe. supra is much more expensive.
Not sure eh.

But Supra is least expensive compare to others, people thought Supra = hi performance sports car, hence more expensive price tag? It has problematic ecu though (from what i heard la)

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/car...p-in-1jz-4.html
hKz
post Jan 20 2011, 01:28 AM

81 posts

i guess what they mention is 1jz non vvti twin turbo. i hv been heard abt ecu prob for tat. well 1jz vvti so far no tat issue i guess.
seram
post Jul 10 2011, 01:09 PM

139 posts

hye guys
i own a e46 now my engine give me alot of problem now alrady spend rm 5.6k on engine and counting.. looking for 1jz transplant with vvti auto trans.. can anyone give me the best workshop name and phone num thank you tongue.gif

p/s : bmw e46 m3 hlafcut rm 30k lol
ethan99
post Jul 10 2011, 02:04 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(seram @ Jul 10 2011, 01:09 PM)
hye guys
i own a e46 now my engine give me alot of problem now alrady spend rm 5.6k on engine and counting.. looking for 1jz transplant with vvti auto trans.. can anyone give me the best workshop name and phone num thank you tongue.gif

p/s : bmw e46 m3 hlafcut rm 30k lol
I know Seremban got workshop done many 1jz in Bimmer. Maybe you can find in bmw forum
etigge
post Jul 10 2011, 06:19 PM

295 posts

Transplanting Japanese engines into BMWs or Mercedeses are actually quite normal since the 80s. During those days if a Mercedes carburettor, a solex I think, costs about 2Ks plus. It can't be serviced and needs to be changed so the foreman will recommend transplanting an Isuzu JJ engine. It will save cost in the long run but not perfect. The performance will never be smooth. Likewise, when I driving a BMW 320 (80s model) I have the same problems. Maintainence starts to get problematic and expensive after the car is over 7 or 8 years old. The foremen did recommended the same thing but as a die hard BMW fan, I resisted.

If you ask any Cameronians, Japanese engines are more hardy than continental makes. Almost all Land Rovers there are transplanted with Toyota's diesel engines. They say it is more reliable than the original Land Rover's engines which leaks a lot. They even modified power steering system into the old 109s Land Rovers. Ultimately the main factor is cost and the abundance of spare parts. even in today's time, any continental parts from half cuts are still more expensive than Japanese.

Thinking of it, if you transplant just the engine only as TS said, you only maintain the engine itself cheaply. With proper and strict maintainence schedule ( which is very important for conti cars), the engine rarely gives problems. It is the non-compliance to these schedule maintainence that makes them running smoothly hard. Back to the subject, other than the engine parts, you still have to maintain the bodyworks, the electrics, the brake assembly, the steering assembly, the gearbox, the seatings, the air conditioning systems, the bearing systems on the wheels etc. which also contributes to the high cost of the maintainence. Think about it, what do you really maintain in an engine block. Regularly the lubricant, oil filter, air filter and plugs. Other than that, the distributor system, throttle and fuel injection system which rarely gives problem. The most headache part of old continental cars is the cooling system but with proper regular flushing of the radiators and hoses and scheduled water pump change, the problems could be reduced.

In my opinion, I wouldn't go for Japanese engines as I don't see much difference in maintainence cost savings. Just think back about your track record of going to the mechanics. what did you repaired the last time. Was it the throttle? The fuel injection system? The crankshaft? The head assembly? Or the brakes, the exhaust, the air cond, the air cond. If maintainence is really getting too expensive for you, might as well sell the car and get a Japanese model afterall the mechanics will treat repairing your car as a Bimmer rather than a Toyota.

I had a friend who transplanted a Cefiro engine into a Mercedes 123 but problems still persists and finally he sold off the Merc but at 10K less than the actual value because of the engine transplant.

Just my thoughts. icon_rolleyes.gif
seram
post Jul 10 2011, 08:49 PM

139 posts

changing my bmw gearbox (2nd hand) cost new 1jzgte vvti halfcut (automatic) lol tongue.gif
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 22 2016, 08:05 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

reviving old thread

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Mar 22 2016, 08:17 PM
Time Walker
post Mar 24 2016, 12:00 AM

490 posts

like this also can?? if engine swap need register with JPJ?

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0255sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:00 PM