Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V2, Everything about iPad

stringfellow
post May 18 2010, 05:40 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(ksc_3688 @ May 18 2010, 05:31 PM)
Maybe they are shy to answer to people who as them how they get it and how much and bla bla...

I am using it everywhere. Even in machines and epicenter
That's good to hear. The iPad is portable, so having it stay home defeats all its intended purposes.

Don't have to be shy lah. I got asked many times already, and provided those querying with options. You have the opportunity to make friends this way.
stringfellow
post May 18 2010, 05:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(keyven @ May 18 2010, 05:42 PM)
You are right... I have taken it out few times in the city to malls, LY Plaza., got a lot of onlookers ... fear of being snatched was high... Hence not safe to show off unless the item gets famous  and every Tom, d*** & Harry carry it in Malaysia.... blink.gif
Pretty understandable. But I couldn't be bothered by that and/or restrained by the fact that I'm at the mercy of what the general public thinks is suitable or allowable to be seen or done in public. Pretty sad that we're restrained by the fact that iPad in public = thievery. That almost sounds like "conform to using crappy cheap laptops like us, or risk being mugged", and conformation = communism. tongue.gif

QUOTE(mAxPC @ May 18 2010, 05:47 PM)
Use it in the office, when I meet clients and also when at Starbucks/Coffeebean. Only time not using it is when the wife is around tongue.gif attention should be given to her hehe
LOL, I get rubberneckers as well. The thing is, the fairer sex are starting to notice as well, and somehow I get this impression/feeling that their noticability factor is under jeopardy because the guys are noticing the sexier iPads than themselves. laugh.gif They probably need to bump up their "noticeability factor" more....... strip naked perhaps? laugh.gif

QUOTE(zaakath @ May 18 2010, 05:51 PM)
I use it everywhere and anywhere I can. In meetings to do notes, check a website or just hang around by the cafe reading
That's good to hear. smile.gif What do others say about you doing so in their presence?
stringfellow
post May 18 2010, 06:18 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

This is from the word of the Apple Genius in the Apple Stores I've visited. Once the iPads are available worldwide, the clause "warranty available from the country of purchase" will be amended to "worldwide". We'll just have to wait to see if all of this pans out as expected.
stringfellow
post May 18 2010, 07:17 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Question: Why "malu" use iPad in public?

Don't let other people dictate what you can and cannot do, especially for the devices you've purchased with your hard-earned money.
stringfellow
post May 18 2010, 07:54 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

If that is your answer, then you shouldn't be owning an iPad, or any highly-perceived/ high end stuff in the first place. Everybody then just buy brand X from Walmart or Tesco.

Changing public perception doesn't happen in a blink of an eye. But you can help towards that goal by making it seems normal or commonplace so that it'll be perceived as commonplace item, this devaluing its desirability, and reducing the possibility of theft. The more rare the item is, the more it is perceived as valuable thus more desirable to rob. Just look at the iPhone. At one time, very few are using it and thus often being perceived as "ripe" for the picking of thieves. Fast forward to today. It's commonplace appearance because everyone kept using it in public makes it no longer a theft-focused item like it used to be.

In any case, I don't really care what others perceive me or the things I do in public. Conformity only reduces one's ability to be creative and free. Following what others do just to escape being singled out isn't what I'd call liberating.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 19 2010, 09:03 AM
stringfellow
post May 18 2010, 08:01 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

By the way, this message was typed on an iPad while in line at a fast food joint. The more commonplace the general public see the iPad the faster I can use it to my advantage instead of having to type on the iPhone's dinky little screen. Suffering on behalf of what others perceive you as? The general public isn't worth that much to sacrifice for.

To each his own. One day when it's common to see the iPad out in the wild, that'll be the day I'll be glad I'm part of the folks who made it so that you don't gave to feel or be awkward using it "as intended".
stringfellow
post May 19 2010, 04:22 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Okay, just woke up, my meds drowsiness effect had just wore off I guess. My bro left the microsim card he had promised me, will take pics of it later and install it into my 3G iPad and see how it goes.
stringfellow
post May 19 2010, 11:57 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Meeting today for those folks getting the Cam Kits and Apple Case. Shahir, I'll pay for the Case on your behalf, since you're in Amsterdam. The rest, UGPM.
stringfellow
post May 19 2010, 12:00 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 19 2010, 11:58 AM)
string, any feedback on the microsim?
i kenot tahan already
OK, I'll put it in now. Pics as well. Dun kancheong! tongue.gif
stringfellow
post May 19 2010, 12:19 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Okay, just slotted in the microsim, it says "No Service". Bro says staff-alloted sim activations will take the least priority compared to customer sim activations, projected to be done by 6pm today.

Which is why I wasn't in a hurry, rx330. tongue.gif

I can still go under "SIM Applications" and get the normal Maxis services like getting outstanding bills, etc. Just that it is not activated yet.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 19 2010, 12:22 PM
stringfellow
post May 19 2010, 12:46 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Here it is, in all its glory, the MicroSIM!

Here's where that tiny SIM is going into. tongue.gif

Here's how it looks like.

Have to wait until 6pm to get it activated. Until then:-

I'm not worried though, it is going through the activation process since I can access the Maxis SIM application menu. Just have to wait until it's done activating..

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 19 2010, 09:46 PM
stringfellow
post May 19 2010, 01:23 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Please edit your quoted post about mine with the pics if you can. IF you're replying to my post, you can edit out the pics so that you dont include the pictures as well. It'll just eat up the thread space if you do that. Imagine if 10 people quote my post, you'll have nothing by reposted pictures only. rclxub.gif

Answer to your question provided by rx330.

@rx330,
I wub.gif you always, bro. No matter how much you vmad.gif me. tongue.gif
stringfellow
post May 19 2010, 01:42 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(applecrazy @ May 19 2010, 01:34 PM)
This looks perfect

http://www.marware.com/products/iPad/Eco-Vue-for-iPad

Anyone seen any m'sian shop selling? (yeah, I know it's a long shot)
The Eco-Vue looks milky in comparison to the Nude. The reason why the Nude ultra-clear is the most popular color compared to the rest is because you can clearly see the Apple insignia at the back of the iPad. Eco-Vue just makes it like you're looking through a dirty glass. All IMO of course.
stringfellow
post May 19 2010, 03:34 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Image of the microsim is back online, but re-edited in lieu of the sensitive nature of the pic: serial number in the card traceable back to my bro. Will edit it back later once I get back home.

Added on May 19, 2010, 3:45 pmRunning on iPad 3G now using microsim. rclxm9.gif

Gonna test the coverage, heading to The Gardens and around Bangsar before heading to LYP and back here in KLCC.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 19 2010, 09:50 PM
stringfellow
post May 19 2010, 04:13 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 19 2010, 03:59 PM)
I've grown to love Waterfield bags now. Their Muzetto line is phenomenal and sold out till late June.

Confirmed the Maxis microsim works on the iPad. You can shop in SG with that peace of mind now.
stringfellow
post May 19 2010, 06:17 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yup, recommended Capdase or PowerSupport. I'm currently using the Capdase IMAG anti-glare SC, almost as good as the PowerSupport. The PowerSupport I ordered from xavinlyn is coming this Saturday.

A proper SC is crucial. I had the displeasure of using a clear SC before, it is a nightmare to get rid of the fingerprint, constantly wiping it off. Get an anti-glare matte SC. You'll thank me later.

Next would be the way you're gonna be transporting your iPad around, and then after, protection of your iPad, in form of case/sleeve/bag. Your pick.

Added on May 19, 2010, 6:19 pmYour appstore is empty probably because you logged into a region without the AppStore. Check the bottom of your AppStore page to see which region it is.

Nice username by the way. The Devil also using iPad! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 19 2010, 06:19 PM
stringfellow
post May 19 2010, 07:20 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(natiayS @ May 19 2010, 07:10 PM)
How to register us iTunes  lor, Malaysian tune account I got .
You need an American-based email address, then change iTunes region to US, and download a free app. iTunes will initiate registration of a new account, follow the steps and use the US-based email address you've just created before to sign up. Go into that email inbox, then click the link in the email received from iTunes to complete the registration, voila! A free US iTunes account. Make sure you top up your iTunes credit with US iTunes gift cards.

To create a US-based email address, use Gmail. When the registration process ask for locale, pick "US". The US iTunes registration will fail if the locale is not US.
stringfellow
post May 19 2010, 09:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ May 19 2010, 01:56 PM)
Bro String so u have 2 iPad now to play with?
Yes. I plan to multitask with both of them. tongue.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 19 2010, 01:57 PM)
string, ur generosity n love towards me will only make it worst.... u can appease me by sending ur current unit which is still wrap in ori apple plastic, tenkiu bery much

naughtyz, spore maybe abit higher due to GST, its the same ipad, all still purchase from the US, i have my own reasons for purchasing it in spore, tats all
laugh.gif It's like asking me to give away my left kidney. tongue.gif

Image of the microsim is back online, but re-edited in lieu of the sensitive nature of the pic: traceable details on the card.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 19 2010, 09:54 PM
stringfellow
post May 20 2010, 10:46 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Apple today have reversed its policy of "no cash purchase" for the iPad after huge public outcry over an incident in SFO that a customer was denied a purchase and went to ABC to report it. More info on my tweet, and on this link:-

http://abclocal.go.com/kgo/story?section=n...side&id=7451437

You can now buy the iPad using cash,but you need to either set up your account at the Store or supply them with your current Apple ID.

No more stupid "credit card only" policy, but the 2-per-customer rule still applies.

Good news towards the Australian launch coming end of this month. Bear in mind, that this policy is company-wide, therefore affecting all Apple Stores around the world.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 20 2010, 10:53 AM
stringfellow
post May 20 2010, 12:03 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I'm a huge fan of Civ Rev on iPhone. But after reading the review of Civ Rev on iPad being nothing but a blown-up version of the iPhone, I'm hesitant to purchase it. Some of the features in the game on iPad still using the same asset used for the iPhone, meaning they're low-res and not taking advantage of the large, high-res screen of the iPad.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0491sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:52 AM