Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V2, Everything about iPad
stringfellow
Jul 12 2010, 02:04 AM
It was accidently shown on their Dodocase reveal video, on that Youtube clip on top of the building where they did the reveal. I thought they'd find that but looks like they didn't. Pretty dangerous, since over time, the tightness will reduce and you never know when you're passing your iPad to a friend or showing him something, and the iPad drops out of the case!
shadowblack
Jul 12 2010, 07:28 AM
My dad going to buy ipad in aussie.Anybody know about the warranty? Is it international or australia apple warranty only? Btw,if anybody want order,im doing pre order until this wednesday
benny888
Jul 12 2010, 11:17 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(shadowblack @ Jul 12 2010, 07:28 AM) My dad going to buy ipad in aussie.Anybody know about the warranty? Is it international or australia apple warranty only? Btw,if anybody want order,im doing pre order until this wednesday Your question has been ask so many times in this forum. Anyway the answer is NO for now. However when the iPAD is officially launch in Malaysia - Apple authorized resellers can process your application for any warranty claims but you need to pay a service fee. Last time I paid RM60 as service fee for my iPod. They cannot process any warranty claims now as the product is yet to be register in their system and there is no info yet about the iPad. Whether you will be charge for any replacement parts if required is up to their discretion
Arcanum
Jul 12 2010, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(shadowblack @ Jul 12 2010, 07:28 AM) My dad going to buy ipad in aussie.Anybody know about the warranty? Is it international or australia apple warranty only? Btw,if anybody want order,im doing pre order until this wednesday Just came back from Melbourne ... took me 5 shops before I finally found ONE shop that had one 32GB WiFi left only, had to rush all the way there quickly because they don't do holds on the phone. AUD$759 and can claim GST some more which is around RM200, loving it
rx330
Jul 12 2010, 11:47 AM
hmm, i think once its secure, better dun remove it too often
but for my frens usage shud be ok, cos the ipad has another layer of film on the edges, so shud make it quite tight i guess
anyway, will be collecting my SGP vintage later, hopefully they ship out the correct one
andyz
Jul 12 2010, 12:33 PM
nope .. in fact its a very very tight fit now... don't know about the future... and like rx330 said once put in don't take out ... QUOTE(friends @ Jul 11 2010, 10:37 PM) Not to spoil your mood... can you test this out if it is true ? Thanks. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
blacktrix
Jul 12 2010, 05:36 PM
Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
Hi, just wanted to find out if I can get a microSIM from Maxis, while still retaining the use/number for my current 3GS?
I read from that there is the ability to use up to 5 sim card using one number. Is this possible?
Since I'm getting my iPad with 3G, was wondering if I could use my existing data plan (Rm50 a month extra for 500MB of Data) for the iPad and the iPhone at the same time........
saw2001
Jul 12 2010, 05:53 PM
Can anyone recommend me which seller can be trusted and selling in good price for ipad 16gb wifi.
ytchoong
Jul 12 2010, 06:04 PM
QUOTE(saw2001 @ Jul 12 2010, 05:53 PM) Can anyone recommend me which seller can be trusted and selling in good price for ipad 16gb wifi. i have 32gb 3G (new & sealed) and 32gb wifi (used) for sale end of the month ........ This post has been edited by ytchoong: Jul 12 2010, 06:05 PM
kkxman
Jul 12 2010, 09:42 PM

QUOTE(Arcanum @ Jul 12 2010, 11:23 AM) Just came back from Melbourne ... took me 5 shops before I finally found ONE shop that had one 32GB WiFi left only, had to rush all the way there quickly because they don't do holds on the phone. AUD$759 and can claim GST some more which is around RM200, loving it  Hi My cousin help me to buy an iPad also from Melbourne. I m just curious how u claimed the GST. Can I still claimed it since the item is with me now, but my cousin is going back to melbourne after the holidays. Thanks in advance
KVReninem
Jul 12 2010, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(kkxman @ Jul 12 2010, 10:42 PM) Hi My cousin help me to buy an iPad also from Melbourne. I m just curious how u claimed the GST. Can I still claimed it since the item is with me now, but my cousin is going back to melbourne after the holidays. Thanks in advance You can claim your GST as you depart from Australia via TRS. But you need to see custom that on single receipt the items are more than A300.
friends
Jul 12 2010, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(andyz @ Jul 12 2010, 12:33 PM) nope .. in fact its a very very tight fit now... don't know about the future... and like rx330 said once put in don't take out ...  Good to hear that.... hope it won't drop out like the vid shown.
icebrew
Jul 12 2010, 11:26 PM

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jul 12 2010, 05:36 PM) Hi, just wanted to find out if I can get a microSIM from Maxis, while still retaining the use/number for my current 3GS? I read from that there is the ability to use up to 5 sim card using one number. Is this possible? Since I'm getting my iPad with 3G, was wondering if I could use my existing data plan (Rm50 a month extra for 500MB of Data) for the iPad and the iPhone at the same time........ Unfortunately the new microsim from Maxis has a different number tied to it. If not mistaken is for data only which means no voice calls, I maybe wrong but been to 3 different centers all with different answers. Who to believe? Multisim used to be able to share data access for previous sign ups and only cost RM 15 per sim per month. However is no longer available which is a bummer. Now the probably paying RM 25 for the microsim and choosing a monthly plan is the only way to go for your ipad.
benny888
Jul 13 2010, 01:08 AM
Gadget Freak
Interesting - making phone calls from iPAD : But unlikely will hit Msia http://blogs.wsj.com/digits/2010/07/12/app...-from-the-ipad/
rx330
Jul 13 2010, 10:22 AM
@ blacktrix, currently the microsim is for data only my initial plan was like urs, as in getting a multisim but with a microsim card, but sinces its not available, so if u dun mind paying extra rm 15 per month for the multisim usage, i would advice u to just go for multisim and cut the sim itself gotten my vintage SGP case the ipad fits very tightly , so tight i need to squeeze it in, the only problem i fear is the locking flap, scare opening n closing will loosen the grip paiseh for the lo quality pics  
beavis68
Jul 13 2010, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 13 2010, 10:22 AM) @ blacktrix, currently the microsim is for data only my initial plan was like urs, as in getting a multisim but with a microsim card, but sinces its not available, so if u dun mind paying extra rm 15 per month for the multisim usage, i would advice u to just go for multisim and cut the sim itself gotten my vintage SGP case the ipad fits very tightly , so tight i need to squeeze it in, the only problem i fear is the locking flap, scare opening n closing will loosen the grip paiseh for the lo quality pics    currently only maxis is offering micro-sim data + voice. head up to maxis centre to enquire more on it. u can change your current normal sim to micro-sim at maxis centre with rm25 damage on your wallet.
benny888
Jul 13 2010, 01:09 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(beavis68 @ Jul 13 2010, 12:43 PM) currently only maxis is offering micro-sim data + voice. head up to maxis centre to enquire more on it. u can change your current normal sim to micro-sim at maxis centre with rm25 damage on your wallet. Wow ! looks very classy and expensive. I am still using my cheapo imitation Apple casing. Then it cost me RM120 , bought it at LowYat. 2 weeks later found out can get same casing for only RM40+ !!!! Wanna cry pun tak boleh ! That time I compare it with the original casing which the Mac shop downstairs quoted me Rm220
rx330
Jul 13 2010, 01:12 PM
beavis, means they are ready for the ip4 then?
but my microsim, even though there is a new number attached to it, can only do for data, and smsing, no voice
benny888
Jul 13 2010, 01:19 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 13 2010, 01:12 PM) beavis, means they are ready for the ip4 then? but my microsim, even though there is a new number attached to it, can only do for data, and smsing, no voice I suppose so. In early June I asked at Maxis centre, I was told the same card which is issued for the iPAD can be use for the iPhone4. I need to pay another RM30 monthly minimum for the voice call feature on top of the data package
rx330
Jul 13 2010, 02:15 PM
weird, they gave me a different story though