Discussion LYN Football Jersey Talk, Please read first page 1 for basic infos

TSschmeichel7
post Jun 2 2010, 04:03 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Another one of jerseyman's useful DIY guide.. taken from My-FJC forum to share with you lots:

How To Remove Your Nameset/Patches Using Dylan Stain Remover

Sometimes it is necessary to remove the wrong namesets or patches on the jersey that you've purchased. Many instance like for example, a wrong patch applied onto a jersey, you want to replace a replica sized patches with a player issue size one... In the past, the method was quite hard to do.. now thanks to the existence of some stain removers like Dylan's, we are able to do it.

That's the fun of DIY football jersey.

OK, there are a lot of stain removers that we can use to remove any nameset or patches. But for jerseyman's guide here, we will use Dylan Stain Remover that can be purchased locally at stores such as Tesco, Giant or other hypermarkets. You can see below that I found the stuff being sold at Tesco for RM10.70:

Dylon Stain Remover being sold at Tesco for RM10.70

We will use the one which is 'for dry clean fabrics' as shown below:

Now, for today's experiment.. our guinea pig will be the Hull City 2009-2010 home jersey that I bought from Hull City's Online Store:

When I bought the jersey and found out that the BPL patches were replica sized (smaller compared to the normal player issue ones), I've decided to remove it and later apply a player issue one that is bigger onto the sleeves. Bare in mind that the disadvantages from this method is that there will be glue stains left from your jersey and unless your jersey is dark colour (black colour), the glue stains are obvious and can be seen.. So the best reason to do this, is to replace a wrong patches or nameset with a correct one.. but then again you have to know the consequences.. example the glue stains might still be seen... This is a probability though.. if the nameset has glue that is not strong enough (as strong as PU or lextra typed namesets/patches ) then there is a chance that we can remove it using this technique without leaving any glue stains...

So before you do this.. bare in mind this risk (of glue stains being left on the surface of the jersey after the patches/nameset has been removed).

Here are the steps:

1. Flip your jersey inside out (terbalikkan) and find the area where the patches/nameset originally sits:

2. One thing when using Dylon Stain Remover.. at the end of the tip of the bottle, there is a sponge and button that needs you to press the surface of the jersey so that the liquid comes out.. This is a good mechanism to avoid the solution from spilling out accidentally.. so remember, press the tip of the bottle to the jersey's surface so that the liquid comes out:

Once you understand how it works, press and damp the area where the patches/nameset sits with the solution from Dylon Stain Remover:

Start dampening the area where the patches/nameset sits using Dylon Stain Remover

The patches that is fully damped with the liquid from the Dylon Stain Remover

3. Once done, you need to flip back your jersey and put the Dylon Stain remover solution on the other surface of the patches/nameset (which is outside):

This is to ensure that the patches is 100% dampened and smeared with the liquid from both sides.

4. Leave the patches for 5-10 minutes.. so that the solution starts to play it's role (removing the glue)

- to be continued -

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: Jun 2 2010, 04:11 PM
TSschmeichel7
post Jun 2 2010, 04:04 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

continued..

5. Then start trying to peel off the patches.. I would advise you guys to start from a sharp pointing area (such as the edges) to be your starting point:

Slowly peel off the patches/nameset from the starting point:

Slowly peel off the patches from the starting point

6. From one starting point, move to the next other.. look for areas where you can start.. ensuring that almost all corners are covered:

Peel off other edges around the corner of the patches..

7. During the peeling off process.. if you notice that the patches are stuck and hard to peel off.. don't worry, re-apply the Dylan Stain Remover solution back onto the patches/nameset:

If the peeling off process becomes stuck or hard to do, re-apply the solution

8. Then continue to peel off.. once all corners are covered.. then the peeling off process becomes easier:

Top area of the patch being removed

Side area of the patch being removed

More areas of the patch being peeled off

The patch is almost peeled off

- to be continued -

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: Jun 2 2010, 04:05 PM
TSschmeichel7
post Jun 2 2010, 04:05 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

continued..

9. Peel off the patches patiently.. once done here are the results:

The BPL patch that was successfully peeled off using Dylon Stain Remover

The remains from the sleeves.. can see that the BPL patch has been removed

If you do the peeling off properly and carefully (with a lot of patience), you might have the patches that were removed in still good condition (except that the shpae looks a bit awkward like 'bergulung' or rolled):

If done properly and carefully, the removed patches will still be intact and good shape.

10. One thing that I have reminded earlier, there is a risk that the glue stain will still remain on the jersey's surface:

Glue stains still remain after removing the patches.. this is a risk from this procedure

Good luck!

sixseven
post Jun 2 2010, 04:38 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(jenglots @ Jun 2 2010, 03:58 PM)
Thx bro.. but dun have my size >.<
chcher
post Jun 2 2010, 04:58 PM

557 posts

re sixseven, it is not easy to look for old jerseys BNWT or BNWOT. classic football shirts as shared by jenglots is your best bet (just be careful with their description, always go for Mint if possible) other than that its on Ebay.

Need to be patient in this hobby smile.gif

parang1983
post Jun 2 2010, 05:14 PM

wow.....
good tips from jerseyman on how to remove the NNs or patches...
thanks for sharing.
alsyaz
post Jun 2 2010, 06:22 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Jun 2 2010, 08:49 AM)
30gbp + shipping is how much?
shhipping is 7GBP for 2 england jerseys for adults + 1 england jersey for kids
yong_sen
post Jun 2 2010, 08:01 PM

37 posts

Anyone noe how much does al ikhsan charge for world cup printing??

I wan to find out the price for England jersey with name set and numbering (back and front) will it be expensive?? anyone noe the price??? thanks in advance
jenglots
post Jun 2 2010, 08:17 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(yong_sen @ Jun 2 2010, 08:01 PM)
Anyone noe how much does al ikhsan charge for world cup printing??

I wan to find out the price for England jersey with name set and numbering (back and front) will it be expensive?? anyone noe the price???  thanks in advance
RM99. Only ALI BB provide the service
meGATron77
post Jun 2 2010, 09:55 PM

248 posts

can any1 confirm kaka will use number 10 instead of 8 in world cup? coz i juz saw at previous pages bro aw13 wrote ALI sell NNs kaka 10? hmm.gif TQ

This post has been edited by meGATron77: Jun 2 2010, 09:57 PM
dxjb
post Jun 2 2010, 10:15 PM

807 posts

if anyone can help me please do so..
I might be getting a shirt that has an autograph on it..
i dont plan in framing in as I love the shirt more than the players autograph..
4 ur info, the signature is on the white part of the shirt
im just wondering, if i wear and wash the shirt, will the signature leave a bad stain?
or will it be better if i remove the signature 1st with any stain remover?
any help would really be appreciated..thanks icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Jun 2 2010, 10:16 PM
dasoulz
post Jun 2 2010, 11:54 PM

155 posts

hi guys,

quick question for those who have bought from kitbag before. My order from kitbag never reached here despite asking to resend. So i have now opt for the refund. May i know how long does the refund take? and where they will refund it to? cause they never asked for the bank account.

yong_sen
post Jun 3 2010, 12:33 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(jenglots @ Jun 2 2010, 08:17 PM)
RM99. Only ALI BB provide the service
thanks jeng lot.. yeap im going there smile.gif
chcher
post Jun 3 2010, 02:12 AM

557 posts

i think jenglots misunderstood u. rm99 is for the nameset alone. the shirt retails at rm259.00. add them up and u get the figure.

Added on June 3, 2010, 2:13 amand if nns n shirt purchsed from ALI, no charge for printing, if bought outsie, thet charge rm1o additional for the printing.

This post has been edited by chcher: Jun 3 2010, 02:13 AM
yong_sen
post Jun 3 2010, 02:29 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(chcher @ Jun 3 2010, 02:12 AM)
i think jenglots misunderstood u. rm99 is for the nameset alone. the shirt retails at rm259.00. add them up and u get the figure.

Added on June 3, 2010, 2:13 amand if nns n shirt purchsed from ALI, no charge for printing, if bought outsie, thet charge rm1o additional for the printing.
i actually gt wat he meant as RM 99 juz for name set and printing...isit including front number??

Thanks for ur concern chcher
visioz
post Jun 3 2010, 02:37 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(yong_sen @ Jun 3 2010, 02:29 AM)
i actually gt wat he meant as RM 99 juz for name set and printing...isit including front number??
Thanks for ur concern chcher
of coz with front number
Envoy
post Jun 3 2010, 02:54 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(meGATron77 @ Jun 2 2010, 09:55 PM)
can any1 confirm kaka will use number 10 instead of 8 in  world cup? coz i juz saw at previous pages bro aw13 wrote ALI sell NNs kaka 10? hmm.gif  TQ
I think adriano was supposed to wear number 10 but since he is not in the squad so i guess kaka will wear it
lit_ching
post Jun 3 2010, 04:20 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(meGATron77 @ Jun 2 2010, 09:55 PM)
can any1 confirm kaka will use number 10 instead of 8 in  world cup? coz i juz saw at previous pages bro aw13 wrote ALI sell NNs kaka 10? hmm.gif  TQ
Based on previous qualifying matches and match played yesterday against Zimbabwe, Kaka was wearing #10, so most probably he will wears #10 in the world cup too smile.gif smile.gif

Added on June 3, 2010, 4:24 am
QUOTE(dasoulz @ Jun 2 2010, 11:54 PM)
hi guys,

quick question for those who have bought from kitbag before. My order from kitbag never reached here despite asking to resend. So i have now opt for the refund. May i know how long does the refund take? and where they will refund it to? cause they never asked for the bank account.
Allow few days for them to process. Refund is simple, how you paid, how they refund smile.gif smile.gif

This post has been edited by lit_ching: Jun 3 2010, 04:24 AM
mancy
post Jun 3 2010, 07:04 AM

B A M B A
644 posts

QUOTE(lit_ching @ Jun 3 2010, 04:20 AM)
Based on previous qualifying matches and match played yesterday against Zimbabwe, Kaka was wearing #10, so most probably he will wears #10 in the world cup too smile.gif  smile.gif
AFAIK, since he wore no 10, he never wear no 8 anymore
meGATron77
post Jun 3 2010, 09:00 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(mancy @ Jun 3 2010, 07:04 AM)
AFAIK, since he wore no 10, he never wear no 8 anymore
oic...i guessed kitbag wanna clear old stock that's y they still sellin kaka 8 doh.gif

This post has been edited by meGATron77: Jun 3 2010, 09:01 AM

127 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:36 PM