CLOSED

everling
post May 13 2010, 03:38 AM

3,591 posts

For widescreens there are two aspect ratios. 16:10 (eg: 1920x1200) and 16:9 (eg: 1920x1080).

For non-widescreen LCDs, 5:4 was also common (eg: 1280x1024).

This post has been edited by everling: May 13 2010, 03:38 AM
everling
post May 13 2010, 09:56 AM

3,591 posts

One more thing about the U2410 that I had forgotten. It uses 10-bit (1.07 billion) colours and not the usual 8-bit (16.7 million) colours that the U2211H and U2311H uses. Requires special hardware to push it through however as gaming cards don't bother with more than 8-bits.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ May 13 2010, 12:31 AM)
Forget the return strategy... Dell reviewed their return policy up to 14 days only tongue.gif laugh.gif doh.gif
Try it anyway. You might get lucky.

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ May 13 2010, 07:01 AM)
the only downside is the 8ms response time.. but lets hope that it doesnt cause a major problem when gaming and movie
One thing about 8ms. 1000ms / 8ms = 125 changes (frames?) per second?

everling
post May 15 2010, 12:53 AM

3,591 posts

Please take note that this forum has an anti-referral filter, it replaces the keyword 'r e f i d' without the spaces with 'LYN'. The problem here is that some of Dell's URLs happens to require that keyword, so the filter accidentally breaks these URLs.

A workaround suggested by wKkaY is to use a URL service like tinyURL.

Main Site/Forum Feedback and Helpdesk > Dell URL problem

This post has been edited by everling: May 15 2010, 12:56 AM
everling
post May 16 2010, 04:03 PM

3,591 posts

The quality Dell U2711 27" (2560 x 1440) is expensive at RM 2,899. You can get a Dell U2311H 23" (1920 x 1080) IPS for RM 749, but nobody has said if it is okay or good for gaming. Or a cheaper Dell ST2410 24" (1920 x 1080) TN for RM 679.
everling
post May 17 2010, 11:26 PM

3,591 posts

A lot of people would normally prefer bigger and better, and 16:10 is bigger and better. 1920x1080 is rather squashed short, uncomfortable for work.
everling
post May 22 2010, 03:33 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(objectifyme @ May 22 2010, 01:49 PM)
Anyone here own the UltraSharp U2410? I have a question to ask you.
You should just ask. There are quite a number of U2410 owners around here.

Added on May 22, 2010, 3:42 pmGuys, the U2410 has an additional RM 300 cash redemption coupon, valid 20-27 May, but I can't seem to apply it. It says
The following coupons entered does not meet eligibility requirements.

Has it expired already?

This post has been edited by everling: May 22 2010, 03:42 PM
everling
post May 23 2010, 01:55 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(cactuscch @ May 22 2010, 05:57 PM)
dell tipu orang?
If you mean by the broken link to the coupon descriptions, no. It was the forum itself naively replacing all 'r e f i d' tokens, without the spaces, with 'LYN'. Just manually undo that and the link will work.

QUOTE(Top-Gun @ May 23 2010, 02:16 AM)
Ok, boils down to the price now.

Decided to sell both my 2007WFPs.

Is it wiser to get 1x U2410 or 2x U2311H?

I know that I am not a very serious gamer (input lag and slight ghosting is OKAY for me) but picture quality must be excellent for like webpage viewing, document (sharpness of text) and day-to-day activities.

Have been out of the IPS scene for quite some time so I would like to hear some thoughts from you guys. Whether this eIPS panel is worth the investment or is just crap anyway.
If you didn't had an issue in regards to screen area, 1920x1080 vs 1920x1200, you probably should go for dual U2311H. No idea on eIPS.

A friend linked this to me: Response Times: How Fast Is Fast Enough?

But when people discuss motion artifacts, they are generally talking about LCD response time. And not surprisingly, the manufacturers’ published specs for response time have become one of the major deciding issues for many consumers. As a result, in the last five years or so, manufacturers have somehow pushed response time numbers from 25ms (milliseconds) to an essentially untenable 1ms.

So what, if anything, do these specs really mean?

[...]

As you can see from my screenshots—each a brief snapshot in time with a shutter speed of 1/160 of a second, which is less than the refresh rate—it’s possible to make out at least eight individual screen refresh cycles on this 120Hz display. Indeed, in the screenshots, each square is shifted from the other by 1/120 of a second, which is 8ms, and those ghosted squares indicate that the older images haven’t yet dissipated. The upshot is that you’re looking at a true response time of about 65ms. In fact, a response time of much less than the 8ms refresh rate would be needed for there to be no visible blur. Obviously, 65ms blur in the screen shots doesn’t jibe with the manufacturer’s single-transition response time spec of 4ms.

The DisplayMate tests clearly demonstrate that the Sony’s real LCD response time is considerably longer than its published spec would indicate. And by no means are we picking on Sony, as it actually had the best performance of all of the LCDs in our tests.

[...]

The conclusions from all participants were consistent across the board, and will likely surprise most consumers: There was essentially no visually detectable motion blur on any of the LCD HDTVs in any of the video content we assembled.

When people thought they saw motion blur, with only a handful of minor exceptions, the blur was either in the source video or a temporary visual illusion that disappeared when the segments in question were reviewed. Unlike what we empirically identified in moving test patterns and moving photographs, the eye is unable to detect the blur in live video because the images are much more dynamic and complex—and undoubtedly because of the way the brain processes and extracts essential information from visual images.

The conclusion is that response times are actually far higher than what is published in the specs. And blur is not detectable in video but is in more artificial settings like scrolling web pages and gaming.

This post has been edited by everling: May 23 2010, 02:01 PM
everling
post May 23 2010, 05:28 PM

3,591 posts

The U2410 is fine in portrait mode. The lettering is the same. It's just that its width feels rather narrow after transforming from a widescreen to a 'tallscreen'.

I have no idea why Dell is ignoring the professional market, but I also wish they'd stop it.

This post has been edited by everling: May 23 2010, 05:34 PM
everling
post May 29 2010, 07:31 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(AzureOfSky @ May 27 2010, 11:00 PM)
anyone got any comments regarding dell new 24 inch monitor?The G series if i'm not mistaken.Is it any good or bad?thinking of buying it for my third monitor.however From what i read/know, it doesnt have HDMI port.which might upset me a bit since i'm planning on connecting a ps3 to it later on compare to putting it on my dell st2410.
Dell G2410H Review: A Green 24" LCD

I haven't seen the U2311H myself, but I think it might be a better buy and it is cheaper than the G2410H.

Between the 2209WA and the U2311H, it's a no contest. I'd pick the U2311H anytime, larger screen resolution is king. Even if my graphic card can't do games on it as well; I'll just upgrade the graphic card at a later date.
everling
post May 31 2010, 07:34 PM

3,591 posts

You're not likely to notice the refresh and input rate. But the screen resolution will always be very noticeable. I'd take the U2211H.
everling
post Jun 4 2010, 12:47 PM

3,591 posts

I don't like Samsung's 27" specs. It's only a 1920x1080 and a TN panel at that. 1920x1080 or 1920x1200 is suitable at 24", unless you prefer larger size for easier reading/viewing.
everling
post Jun 6 2010, 02:03 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(jeffseaw @ Jun 6 2010, 09:44 AM)
can recommend me a 24inch LCD with budget less than 850/900? for gaming, movie and online. I have some in my minds Dell G2410H,Samsung BX2450 or maybe others?
A Dell U2311H perhaps? Although a 23", it is cheaper than your budget, an IPS monitor, and can warranty on a single bad pixel.
everling
post Jun 8 2010, 03:13 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Jun 8 2010, 01:20 AM)
from what my fren say U2311H is better than st2410
i oredi decided to buy u2311h ..now just waiting for a additional coupon code discount..
You might have to wait until the 25th of June to see if Dell offers anything new. The expiry date on the coupons is usually a good indicator.

QUOTE(alfsl @ Jun 8 2010, 03:03 AM)
wondering how much it cost?
Dell 21" - 23" monitors. The U2311H is on the right.
everling
post Jun 10 2010, 11:13 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Jun 10 2010, 10:31 AM)
is there any suitable ips panel monitor to be used for graphic design like photoshop? I need to see the accurate colour applied in my artwork. hmm.gif
The U2311H. Seems to be even better than the U2410 and is much cheaper.

http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/reviews/content/dell_u2311h.htm
everling
post Jun 11 2010, 05:22 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jun 11 2010, 02:06 PM)
walao,U2311H for office use blink.gif

your boss too rich isit? hmm.gif
That isn't a sign of being rich as the U2311H isn't overly expensive like the U2410 is, but perhaps a sign of a boss who's willing to pay a little extra for some nice hardware.

Also, keep in mind that the biggest expenses for most companies are manpower. A guy making only RM 1,000 a month is costing a company RM 12,000 a year, or two rather expensive gaming machines. What more with people making RM 2K, 3K, 5K, 10K a month? Hardware is cheap.
everling
post Jun 12 2010, 12:32 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Jun 11 2010, 08:31 PM)
any further discount code for u2311h like last mth RM100 off?
still looking for the additional instant rebate voucher for u2311h cry.gif
Normally you'd have to wait for the existing promotion offer to expire, which is 24/06/2010 in this case. Hopefully the new price after that will drop. I don't know what is the probability that it will go up instead. sweat.gif
everling
post Jun 13 2010, 11:30 AM

3,591 posts

It would be nice if somebody would come up with a bezelless mod for these monitors for triple monitor setups. biggrin.gif
everling
post Jun 13 2010, 09:17 PM

3,591 posts

Woah! The U2711 could be gotten for RM 2,399! blink.gif

I want! I want! drool.gif

But my budget for monitors already exhausted. sad.gif

Thanks for the link! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by everling: Jun 13 2010, 09:19 PM
everling
post Jun 15 2010, 05:54 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Jun 14 2010, 10:46 PM)
But isnt this unfair i got my new monitor just from factory less than 7 days and they are giving me a refurbish unit?
It is unfair. You should complain loudly and clearly that their handling of your case is unacceptable. 1.6K is not a small amount of money.
everling
post Jun 16 2010, 12:21 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Jun 16 2010, 12:02 PM)
your case makes me have to double consider to get a Dell LCD... unsure.gif
I bought two LCDs from Dell. No issues. Although I got a small bonus for the second one, by mistake they delivered the hardware just three days after I made the purchase. brows.gif

This post has been edited by everling: Jun 16 2010, 12:22 PM

0.0191sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:27 AM