CLOSED

mark
post Jun 25 2010, 10:36 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(dasoulz @ Jun 25 2010, 10:23 AM)
ermm guys, quick one. how do you get that extra RM50 redemption?
By default the current promo is RM131 + RM50 off. The coupon will change the RM50 to RM70 coupon.

Go to dell.com.my front page, click on "For Small and Medium Business" --> "Electronics, Software & Accessories", then look for the monitor. You won't get this discount if you clicked on "For Home".

So once you customise, add to cart, then you'll be able to enter the coupon number. Use this:

2T?3?JM9SDB5WR

Now you'll get that additional RM20 discount smile.gif
mark
post Jun 25 2010, 10:41 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(sexualpower @ Jun 25 2010, 10:39 AM)
can home users order from the "For Small and Medium Business" section?~
Can, no problem at all smile.gif
mark
post Jun 25 2010, 10:25 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(dasoulz @ Jun 25 2010, 12:21 PM)
Thanks Mark. Btw, is the lack of HDMI input a concern?
You can use HDMI -> DVI converter (cheap) or you can also use HDMI -> DisplayPort converter (expensive). For computer usage, you can always use DVI, there's no difference in quality. Also, I noticed that the newer high-end ATI that support Eyefinity require DisplayPort.

It's hard to say if DisplayPort is the future and if it is ever going to become mainstream though.

QUOTE(shahriranuar @ Jun 25 2010, 06:01 PM)
is there a difference in d picture quality if i use hdmi - dvi converter?

are there any bad effects on it?
By theory it should not have any bad effects. This is because a DVI and HDMI both are digital signals; there is no loss in quality - it either works or does not work, that's all.
mark
post Jun 27 2010, 05:56 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(dasoulz @ Jun 26 2010, 09:32 PM)
i called them today after seeing the "call dell" on their web. they say they cant advise why cant order cause the marketing department not working. have to wait till Monday -.-

p/s: i went to 1u today and they have a small AMD exhibition and they are using the u2311H. looks smaller. like a 22 or 21 inch monitor only
Probably looks smaller because it is 16:9 (1920x1080) compared to a typical 22/21 inch monitor (16:10, 1680x1050). Therefore the height of both monitors are almost the same, but the width of the 23" is larger than the 22/21".

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jun 26 2010, 10:12 PM)
what?!!

you got a look at the real U231H? shocking.gif

i is so jealous sad.gif

Added on June 27, 2010, 2:34 pmHow to i check my order status guys? hmm.gif
You can check your status here: http://cs.ap.dell.com/support/orderstatus/....aspx?c=my&l=en

However I can't seem to check my status today... keeps giving me an error saying I've given wrong information, even though it worked fine the past week.
mark
post Jun 27 2010, 08:38 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jun 27 2010, 08:00 PM)
but how?i juz can't get it done rclxub.gif

use my refrence no and my email right?
Yes, use your IRN and email. I think their system is currently having problems though... maybe you should check tomorrow instead.
mark
post Jun 28 2010, 04:19 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(dasoulz @ Jun 28 2010, 04:15 PM)
guys, i have just checked with Dell. the U2311H is out of stock; which explains why we cannot order it at the moment T_T
Seems like this is a global thing -- I've seen users in Hardocp forum also complaining that it's out of stock...

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jun 28 2010, 04:16 PM)
yes!!finally today i can check my status liao

it stated there will reach my house at 5th July rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

how about you mark? hmm.gif
Lol, nice... mine stated it will reach on 30th June... but I received a call from Dell today saying they'll deliver tomorrow rclxms.gif
mark
post Jun 28 2010, 06:56 PM

866 posts

Out of stock = Dell won't have to promote it by giving it discounts anymore
mark
post Jun 29 2010, 10:06 AM

866 posts

New toys just arrived today smile.gif

Gonna have to clean up my desk first before setting up!

mark
post Jun 29 2010, 12:32 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Top-Gun @ Jun 29 2010, 12:29 PM)
Mmm.. dual portrait or dual landscape or?
I bought 2 but 1 still lying brand new in box, havent even open.
Have to clean up my table first. biggrin.gif
Haha same here, need to clean up table first biggrin.gif

Planning to go dual landscape, and maybe pivot one to portrait when I read e-books. Dual portrait too narrow la... need at least triple portrait ohmy.gif
mark
post Jun 29 2010, 01:09 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Top-Gun @ Jun 29 2010, 12:42 PM)
Planning for a tri-protrait setup too...  tongue.gif
I'm still waiting on Dell to give me a quote on one of those Ergotron dual monitor arms.. (so I can do dual landscape up/down, portrait left/right)

Still no reply though.
PS: Plan to get monitor arms together?! rclxms.gif
Do they sell those Ergotron arms? I tried getting some from US/Singapore but the shipping is reaaaaaaaaaaally expensive. Let me know what Dell quote you yah! I don't mind getting if can buy it at a cheap price la...

rsangel's monitor mounts quite nice and cheap, but too bad cannot pivot sad.gif

This post has been edited by mark: Jun 29 2010, 01:09 PM
mark
post Jun 29 2010, 02:42 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Jun 29 2010, 02:36 PM)
Keep me in the loop too for the Ergotron mount.

Mark : Did u check how much they are selling in Sg?
around $380 SGD for a single Ergotron LX-Arm ohmy.gif
mark
post Jul 1 2010, 08:52 PM

866 posts

Finally had some time to set-up my monitors!

Before:

Dell U2311H vs Samsung 226BW. As you can see, 23" 16:9 vs 22" 16:10 does not have much difference in height. The difference lies mostly in the width. At this point I'm still displaying a 1680x1050 wallpaper on my 1920x1080 screen:

After (Dell U2311H x 2, now the monitors cover my left speaker) :

Now with a nice 3840x1080 wallpaper smile.gif :

Still haven't fully tidied up the cables yet...

The viewing angle is great! I can now watch dark movies while leaning back and I won't lose any contrast/details.

After colour calibration, the colours look great and natural. You can get the .ICC file and calibration settings at http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/reviews/dell_u2311h.htm

So far so good biggrin.gif
mark
post Jul 3 2010, 01:04 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jul 3 2010, 12:52 PM)
I iz at rage liao!! mad.gif  vmad.gif

i check my order status today and the delivery date

change to 21th July,wtf?!!! shakehead.gif

it take a whole month?? doh.gif
Call them, tell them you ordered much earlier and supposed to receive it on the 5th. Tell them your business needs it urgently, since you ordered it from small business. I did that for my order and managed to push my order from 12th july to 29th june. Good luck!
mark
post Jul 3 2010, 09:19 PM

866 posts

Yeah... well actually I do business from home and dell didn't ask me anything also. If they can't do anything maybe you can ask for some free gifts or something...
mark
post Jul 11 2010, 02:14 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Top-Gun @ Jul 11 2010, 12:18 PM)
Let me post some pics on one of my (soon to be gone) U2311H.

Black background, this is slightly exaggerated due to the camera's settings.
Taken @ F2.0 at 1/2s @ ISO80.

White background
F2.0 @ 1/8s @ ISO80

And some Ratatouille!

Reason for edit: Add Ratatouille pic
Wow, the first pic is very exaggerated... it hardly looks like that!

Btw why are you planning to sell your monitors away?
mark
post Jul 14 2010, 06:28 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jul 14 2010, 05:35 PM)
thank you for the USB talking,

although i read 3 time to understand it sweat.gif

gonna try the ICC profiles tonite

also,there is a packing slip that comes with it

something about invoice or etc...

what is that for?? rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
congrats on your new monitor!

yeah, you'll need to connect the USB upstream/downstream cable (provided in the box) to your monitor.

try the ICC profile + monitor settings of Custom (RGB), Red 87, Green 100, Blue 93. Brightness 31, Contrast 75

the packing slip is just the "receipt" of what you received, i think. no need to worry about that.

0.0474sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:36 AM