4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Lyn Djing, Turntablism & Production Thread v4, A place for dj cum producers to hang out

darthbii
post Jan 13 2014, 11:05 PM

:C // C: // ;( // (;
791 posts

QUOTE(PeacefulDiscord @ Jan 10 2014, 11:45 AM)
Haha, I never mentioned anything about being Malaysian macha tongue.gif But yea, I think I might give it a shot if I get more interest. I don't want to limit the videos to a particular DAW because everyone has their own way of doing things so it won't be like "Here's how you can make a bassline in FL" or something like that.

I think the first video I make is like a basic introduction to some of the simple things in a DAW. Teach you guys about the basics of synthesis, chord progressions and automation.
Woah, its bee long since I've visted this thread. Sorry, can't really get some words out cause I dont really understand a lot of terms. Well, I think I would want some tuts on creating good melodys, and yeah synthesis, automation might be useful and what is sidechain? unsure.gif Plus baseline, arrangement after that I dont know other terms.

I'm not sure where to start so I grabbed some courses off Udemy nod.gif .

This post has been edited by darthbii: Jan 13 2014, 11:06 PM
darthbii
post Feb 13 2014, 11:01 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(procontavia @ Feb 12 2014, 06:32 PM)
Hey guys! Its great to see some of us being in the production side of stuff now, with the advent of availability in DAW and pluggins to stimulate rack components.
Yep. As you can read from my previous posts, I'm still a budding DJ and a pure newbie producer, well I'm not really concerned about DJing cause I've well mastered the basics except manual beatmatching and phrase matching, plus I dont have a controller or deck at the moment so I'll just let that thought rest somewhere else first laugh.gif .

Now on production, I dont really know where to start. Its like I aimlessly watch videos on YouTube randomly seeing what people do but dont understand much tongue.gif . My emphasis now is to master my composition and music theory part first before diving into the sound design and engineering side of producing. But as I've said, not sure where to start hmm.gif .
darthbii
post Feb 15 2014, 10:17 AM

791 posts

QUOTE(elitekev @ Feb 14 2014, 08:03 PM)
Anyone has cracked versions of dj software. Not being cheap, just trying to test out the softwares before buying it. Intro softwares aren't equipped enough.
u probably can search around torrent sites like TPB or KickassTorrents. I'm also running cracked at the moment just for learning purposes.
darthbii
post Mar 14 2014, 08:16 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(hanleon @ Mar 13 2014, 02:33 PM)
Aha, not to say sifu la. You want to play you can start by downloading whatever DJ program you prefer (easy ones like Virtual DJ or Serato as the interface is less cluttered) and watch videos online on how to work it.

DJing is a lot of hard work and dedication, there's no two-ways about it! Try going for a course (Excessive Records, Mile High Sounds, Goldsounds DJ) to give it a try. If you like it and can handle the work, then continue!
hanleon I'm a bit out of the beginner part, about beginner-intermediate but still not amatuer level yet rolleyes.gif . My problem now is how can I find where to cut in the currently playing song with another song (not sure the term but I think its phrase matching). eg. like how can DJs find out where to drop the breakdown of the song just right after the first drop of the song or beat-cutting at the drop/some other section eg. Skrillex http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W6yDzcqSKlk. This seems like really a great skill man, idk how. Do they figure it out in their head a transition or is there some method to do it? Right now, I'm relying on my instinct and can suddenly make a short two-song transition in my head, and then later trying to get it mixing. cool.gif
darthbii
post Mar 19 2014, 07:34 PM

791 posts

Thanks for writing this down guys wink.gif thumbup.gif , I really appreciate such knowledge. Will read through more detailed soon.

Lel, ever since last year, the most recent songs in my playlist already consist of alot of Progressive and Electro House icon_rolleyes.gif trying to vary up genres and not sticking to just one cool.gif
darthbii
post Mar 21 2014, 04:45 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(takalimc @ Mar 20 2014, 08:39 AM)
U should be able to play across all genres but have your main genre as your image. No use just tying your self down to one and limit your gigs biggrin.gif Pay me 5k to play a retro set for you and I'll have a 2 hour set waiting for you in 1 day  brows.gif
Insanely fast prep, u must know your songs well.
Btw, do you have any tips on where to place cue points? I'm a little clueless on where to put them except the part I want to place and have plenty more cue point spots to fill hmm.gif .

QUOTE(Ayer @ Mar 20 2014, 10:44 PM)
I see a software eh, is it hard to learn the ropes? btw cool mixtape bro, but i wanna try something that strays from the big room edm here hehe  tongue.gif
nice tips, but actually i don't have any real dj equipments currently. kinda short on the money side  sweat.gif but im totally gonna take this seriously once i have the cash and excess time!
Lol, same. Money is the stumbling block. sweat.gif
Closest I can get a feel is on an iPad, but limited in functionality.
darthbii
post Jun 2 2014, 02:06 PM

791 posts

anyone here into producing? i just want to ask, what sounds make up electronic music? hmm.gif
what i mean sounds is like drums, white noise, pads, leads, bass that kind of thing (i still dont know what some are and how they sound tongue.gif ). tried googling on sounds use in electronic dance music but as always i cant find a good resource, thats why im here nod.gif .
darthbii
post Jun 3 2014, 05:25 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(hanleon @ Jun 3 2014, 09:46 AM)
@darthbii Most likely consists of a kick drum, snare, noises of all kinds. There are hundreds of sample packs available online (free and paid) that people take and use to create electronic music. The variety is infinite when you take into account the many ways you can add FX to a simple kick drum, making it into something completely different sounding.
hmm...well then. I asked that question because I'm keen on learning to create my own sounds but without a starting reference to know what kind of sounds to create, I don't know how to apply all that knowledge. maybe I should look into tuts where they build an entire track from scratch and see what sounds they use then (but it will be a tough job keeping me occupied for hours lol)
darthbii
post Jun 4 2014, 03:15 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(hanleon @ Jun 4 2014, 01:21 PM)
@darthbii I'd suggest starting by using a sample pack as a good foundation of production skills. I'm sure you can warp the samples enough that it can form the basis of your 'sound'. At least then you can get the hang of production without having too much information overload.

Producing a song can take many months of effort, especially if you're a newbie. Really, take advantage of sample packs and try building a song using just samples. That can teach you song structure and composing. After that you can add in effects on each sample and see how the song changes.

of course these are just my two cents, you can try doing everything from scratch if you so choose.
most probably I might start with a few sample pack synths and throw in some original sounds then. yeah, but as they said, once you've got a song produce the next so won't be that stressful lol. actually i tried thinking that i should make my own sounds because considering i see newbies getting flamed for sticking too much samples, loops and premade synths, but i think mixing and matching might do the trick, thanks for the suggestion. nod.gif

hope to learn some sound design ASAP.

This post has been edited by darthbii: Jun 4 2014, 03:15 PM
darthbii
post Jun 10 2014, 04:24 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(takalimc @ Jun 9 2014, 10:58 AM)
start with samples and learn to tweek them. Use layering and adjust with your creativity the eq/efx/mastering. If you are worried about being flamed then this probably isnt the best industry for you because people are getting flamed over everything left right and center (even for big producers like nicky romero, avicii, porter robinson, etc). If you're planning to come with your own bassline using the operator, you should go for some classes or watch loads of tuts on how to layer the kick or the bass, if not you'd probably end up with a track that doesnt give you the "Uumph" that you want, hence overloading yourself and giving up quickly because of the time and effort invested with a not very nice outcome.

Recommendation is to stick to samples first and learn how to do basic arrangements to get used to it. From there you'll be able to know what you're looking for.
Ok noted with that.
Well, what are your recommendations for sample packs? Also, I don't get what you mean at the bassline part unsure.gif .

Hmm... classes? Idk, but I see most classes for production are real expensive sad.gif .
darthbii
post Jun 10 2014, 07:39 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(takalimc @ Jun 10 2014, 04:36 PM)
I used ableton before to try a go at production from scratch. So I used this plugin called an operator to make my kick drum and bass line.

http://www.musictech.net/2013/07/ableton-l...orial-operator/

Sample packs you can look for VEC has some decent sounds in there or FL studio comes with some pretty decent build ins. These should be easy to start exploring and finding a sound you like. You could buy some from practically anywhere online. Google and beatport are ur best friend.

Classes is something you get what you paid for. It's a short cut and you'll have someone to refer to when you're unsure of anything. If you're really into it, I'm sure a little investment will be worth while smile.gif
Oh now it makes sense. I don't really like Ableton, much prefer FL.
Thanks for the sample pack suggestion.
Hmm..maybe I should see how far my interest goes in this lol, if it does then might go for some classes.
darthbii
post Jul 3 2014, 11:17 PM

791 posts

welp. i still don't get when i should drop my next track over the next track playing. it always ends up messy. btw, i would like to ask, what do djs normally do when they have one track successfully phrase matched? do they immediately play the next track? or do they wait for a mix point? just curious though because when i have one out, i don't know what to do next haha.
darthbii
post Jul 4 2014, 02:02 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(takalimc @ Jul 4 2014, 10:08 AM)
Sorry it's too early in the morning and I'm not understanding your question... can put it in early morning (lazy Friday) language?  rclxub.gif
hmmm k then. like when DJs have a track played right, what do DJs normally do next? wait there for a mix point to come in and then start the next song? or something else? hmm.gif
darthbii
post Jul 9 2014, 08:10 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(hanleon @ Jul 8 2014, 01:24 PM)
@darthbii there are lots of ways/points to mix a song in. I'm not sure if you meant phrase matching or beatmatching, because if you've phrase matched the songs together then the mix in point for Song B is naturally whenever a phrase ends on Song A, or some combination of that.

Let's say Song A is playing the Outro (32 bars), and you phrase matched Song B's Intro (32 bars) to it.

The natural mix in point is either halfway through the phrase (16 bars):
1. Kill the bass of B, fade in as much as you want.
2. Slowly trade the bass of A and B as it reaches the end of the phrase
3. Fade-out Song A when Song B's intro ends.

Or you can mix it with a slam at the end of the phrase:
1. Let Song A's outro play
2. When Song A's outro is about to finish (last 4 beats), cue up Song B's breakdown
3. When song A's outro finishes, slam the breakdown in by upfading Song B's breakdown

In between getting everything matched and ready and actually playing the song, DANCE! Interact with the crowd however you want, but most importantly look like you're having fun.
I think I'll actually go for more of the second method, I always get my phrasing not on the time I want and mixes sound unnatural. I know how phrases work, but for some songs, the phrase is entirely different like 1st song 8 bar intro, 2nd song 16 bar intro, can't really get the buildups matched up properly. I always want my set to follow the sequence buildup drop breakdown drop etc. something like that.
darthbii
post Aug 13 2014, 08:19 AM

791 posts

Anyone knows what's the current market price for Pioneer's DDJ T1? Looking like a dream controller for me biggrin.gif.
darthbii
post Aug 15 2014, 10:30 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(hanleon @ Aug 14 2014, 05:31 PM)

An RM2550 DDJ T1 or a cheaper DDJ ERGO K at RM1980 for a first controller? tongue.gif What are your thoughts bro? laugh.gif
darthbii
post Sep 7 2014, 11:23 AM

791 posts

My my... I really overlooked this thread
@hanleon and @takalimc sorry for not giving a reply, wasn't notified. ohmy.gif

anyway I think I'll just actually wander away from DJing from now...more to productions. flex.gif

Goldsounds Music Academy has now come up with a production course and it looks tempting for me but the price is 1.5k for beginner... dk if worth it or not sad.gif I'll post the syllabus they cover for 1.5k later .

This post has been edited by darthbii: Sep 8 2014, 07:06 AM
darthbii
post Sep 8 2014, 07:30 PM

791 posts

I already have a favourite DAW in FL smile.gif

Actually I'm really reluctant to sign up seeing the price Its like quite steep for beginner level.

I find myself good to go with the music theory part producing . I'm currently learning what there is to Harmony and Chords and I can say I'm alright with it through video tutorials (albeit slow progress though). The thing I suffer to try to wrap my head around is the technical and engineering side of production (synthesis, drum programming, mixing, mastering, eq & fx, automation etc.) those type. So far I can't find a good resource online to really get the grasp fully on these the hnical stuff in making music from a beginner perspective. That's why I'm considering paying for classes.

And true, if I join Goldsounds, I might be able to expose myself to some networking and be signed to a label.However, still a bit hmm...idk.

This post has been edited by darthbii: Sep 8 2014, 07:51 PM
darthbii
post Sep 9 2014, 07:06 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(hanleon @ Sep 9 2014, 09:54 AM)
@darthbii Mile High Sounds also has a producer course, costs 3000 because it includes an original copy of Ableton. You can try looking up Reddit for free producer guides, there are plenty of DJ- and producer-related subreddits there. I personally frequent /DJs and /beatmatch.
Also heard of MHS too apparently . Their courses look more higher quality than GMA which is obvious. But I'm still put off by the price a little (I know its quite worth for courses but a bit too high to pay for some hobby). Plus, just can't brain Ableton's interface lol. I'll try and find more tuts meanwhile, also thanks for the reddit source.
darthbii
post Nov 8 2014, 01:19 PM

791 posts

A little bit of topic discussion but I think it should fit here good :
As DJs, a lot of us tend to keep a huge library of songs and they are constantly expanding every week. I've went from a measly 500+ MB last year to I think 9.x GB of songs up to now rolleyes.gif ever since I took a little interest in the hobby. Also, we would like to listen to the freshest tunes and keep up to date at all times to get a listen to all the songs we have in our library, am I right?

Sadly sad.gif , its not easy for me here as storage is starting to be a bit of a hassle to have these songs stored in my phone and also it takes quite some time for me to transfer it from PC to phone. I'm trying to now get on the train of cloud music and I have seen Google Play Music as something of a viable option but then again, it isnt available here in Malaysia which is a huge pity cry.gif.

Anyway, I would like to know how all of you manage to keep up on the latest and freshest tunes on the go without much hassle as I have experienced here. Maybe some of you here have a good idea in which I can also make use of. hmm.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0603sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:28 PM