QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Aug 6 2010, 02:36 AM)
Now we are talking abt one of the differences. This promo suits me well, as I like to pump different fuel
Credit Card v10
Aug 6 2010, 02:54 AM
3,065 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: N.Sembilan |
Aug 6 2010, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 6 2010, 07:31 AM) Actually the SCB VI is the best credit card in M'sia for now, especially for a frequent traveller based on the following : It's not matter of best or not best, it's the matter of suitability.1) Unlimited free priority pass visits 2) 5X reward points for overseas charges 3) Unlimited choice of rewards ie. you can tell them what you want instead of just choosing from a catalogue 4) No expiry of reward points 5) Free annual fee 6) Free RM50 tax rebate 7) Best overseas insurance coverage & car assist You recommend a card which requires 250k in balance, how can a fresh grad afford this? Who will likely travel frequently? At least a Regional Manager I think. Added on August 6, 2010, 2:57 pm QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 6 2010, 02:05 PM) Yes. Publicly it is only their Maybank Islamic credit cards and Petronas VISA are free for life. Not exactly sure why my aunt was offered the generic VISA Platinum card free for life though. Bank's credit department is kinda unpredictable, sometimes double standard.Citibank via phone call offered my sister a Shell Gold card free for life, which was not available for "walk in & apply". This post has been edited by chemistry: Aug 6 2010, 02:57 PM |
Aug 6 2010, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 6 2010, 03:26 PM) I believe the question was which card offered the best rewards/rebates for all type of spending. Further suitability varies from individual. You mentioned SCB VI because you think it's the card that offer best rewards. Yeah, its benefit is very tempting indeed.As to how much a fresh grad has to his name, that I am unable to comment on. But fyi whence I was a fresh grad, my job already took me travelling the world with more than 9 months a year spent out of the country But my recommendation was based on gorengnazi's input. Yeah, u were so great because you got the chance to fly across the globe. Not all fresh grad got that chance, u get wat i mean? |
Aug 6 2010, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 6 2010, 03:56 PM) Erh, nothing great lah .... more like lucky as that was my first job as well. Finally quit as couldn't cope with the hectic cum irregular schedule after a few years. Further was only a junior exec then and expected to do A to Z, which really takes its toll. Anyway, you are probably right, they don't make them like they used to Perhaps I am a frequent traveller now, if I took my employer's offer. I chose another post instead, which just need to stay in air-cond room, sometimes go out service customers.But seriously, nowadays got many fresh grads already got more than RM250K to their name, so though salary only can get classic card, already using SBC VI as income is not a factor |
Aug 6 2010, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(themattock @ Aug 6 2010, 04:39 PM) so if petrol rebate is the issue here, what card are more preferable? CIMB Petronas confirm rebate all the time but for petronas only. DA rebate to all petrol station, but only until the end of the month? is there any indicators that DA will make it all time promotion? DA petrol rebate is until end of the year,as published in DA official website.Added on August 6, 2010, 4:45 pm still dun understand. previously i ask bout the mbf easypay plan. does it mean that the plan have high interest? im sure the plan offer 0% interest with some percentage of handling fee.. For other rebates program (GIANT/TESCO/GUARDIAN/COLD STORAGE/KFC), it is very likely DA will extend the promo period once expired. On 3/7/2010, I knew that I no longer enjoy 10% rebate at KFC, therefore I didn't have appetite to dine there But then, a few weeks later when i surfed DA's website, then only found that the rebate has been extended from 1/7 to 30/9. Cheh! DA should have advertised this good news in paper mah! Why don't just keep it ON for the whole year? This post has been edited by chemistry: Aug 6 2010, 05:25 PM |
Aug 6 2010, 10:44 PM
Aug 7 2010, 12:15 AM
Aug 7 2010, 02:46 PM
Aug 8 2010, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(TeraPox @ Aug 8 2010, 03:40 AM) Guys, today I went to pcfair. The scb card seller told me that if I sign up, I will get 150 "free cash". 50 for najib and 100 for me to use. Anyone know anything about this ? Read the fine print very carefully. And tell the card agent don't ever send two cards to you (VISA & MASTER), that way you'll be charged two times RM50 for credit card tax even though you're not interested in it. You can of course dispute the matter but it's always better to prevent than cure. |
Aug 8 2010, 07:25 PM
Aug 8 2010, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 8 2010, 11:06 PM) Bloody HSBC increased the rewards points needed for redemption just about two or three weeks ago. I now need 13,000 points just redeem redeem a RM100 Guardian voucher. It used to be only 10,000 points a few weeks back Reward point also face depreciation, haha. Guess other banks will follow suit in short time.Cash rebate is better? I havent seen banks revise their cash rebate % |
Aug 8 2010, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 8 2010, 11:19 PM) I agree with you.I cancelled my Gold Visa in last Dec, but then received a newly issued Visa Platinum. Since the card's anniversary date falls in next December, I decided to keep it first |
Aug 9 2010, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 8 2010, 11:43 PM) Some banks have already done it a while ago. Maybank/AMEX for instance. Even CIMB Bank increased the bonus points needed for redemption early this year. Darn...HSBC amanah! I applied thrice and all were rejected without reason.Cash is definitely better. The HSBC Amanah credit card gives 0.5% cash back on all local transactions but too bad it is an Islamic card. We might sometimes encounter problem using it in non-Halal places. I never have an Islamic card. Will it really be rejected at non-halal places? How do the banks do that? Just checked CIMB website. RM50 voucher is still redeemable with 10,000 pts. But the RM8 courier fee really sux. |
Aug 9 2010, 12:25 AM
Aug 9 2010, 12:46 AM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 9 2010, 12:36 AM) Apparently the card processing terminal from certain banks come with some sort of code indicating the place is halal or otherwise. AmBank's terminals are programmed this way. If i buy tiger beer at Tesco, cannot swipe Islamic card? If so, the card terminal is so smart la But you're in Peninsular right ? Then the courier is FOC. By the way, one needed only 9,500 bonus points to redeem a RM100 Guardian voucher last year. Has been so even before the introduction of the VISA Infinite last year. Oh yes I'm in Peninsular. Really? Last year only 9500 pts? Well that's a depreciation of 500/9500 = 5.26% |
Aug 9 2010, 02:22 AM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 9 2010, 01:11 AM) Not that of course. Just that your card might be declined in certain restaurants or pubs. Anyway, 10k pts redeem RM50 is the norm amongst most banks.Yeah. Was only 9,500 bonus points last year. HSBC is generous in giving out cash rebates (got T&C), but stingy on points redemption. |
Aug 10 2010, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(leongal @ Aug 10 2010, 12:15 PM) just sharing - yday i went to the maybank treats centre, thought of using my points to pay for service tax, my card's anniversary day is in Nov, therefore, I can't even auto instruct it to do so.....and the customer service says i nit to come again in nov or call the customer service in nov.... They are right.therefore, if you want to use your maybank treat points for your service tax, do it on the month of your card's anniversary day Credit card service tax can only be settled either by cash or by points redemption only when the tax is imposed on the card. No EARLY SETTLEMENT |
Aug 10 2010, 10:12 PM
QUOTE Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your email. There will be a 1% admin fee in order to cover the administration costs of handling foreign currency transactions. If the merchant provides you option to charge the amount in Ringgit Malaysia, please note that there will be a 0.8% cross border fee charged by Visa International or MasterCard International or JCB International. Please note that the conversion rate will be based on the posting date not the transaction date. Thank you for banking with us and have a pleasant day! Regards, Vim Email Support Customer Relations This is the reply from a Direct Access Customer Service Officer. Hope this helps. This post has been edited by chemistry: Aug 10 2010, 10:13 PM |
Aug 10 2010, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 10 2010, 10:39 PM) It is already known that CIMB Bank and Direct Access charge 1% admin fee for foreign transaction. What puzzles everyone is why the total amount after conversion for Alliance Bank and Standard Chartered credit cards is significantly higher than all other banks. Maybe we'll need some friends here who are using any of these 3 banks to post their foreign transaction here. By this way we'll know how the banks get the figure. |
Aug 10 2010, 11:30 PM
| Change to: | 0.0327sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:59 PM |