Cover Letters / Resume (CVs), One Stop For ALL
Mavik
Jun 8 2007, 06:21 PM
Patience is a virtue
QUOTE(hackwire @ Jun 7 2007, 11:02 AM) Why did most employer still request a candidate to fill in the form when resume is produced? Its painstaking to re-write the whole thing again when they have yet to confirm you yet. It is simpler to stick to a single format within the company and it is easier for them to file them properly in the event an audit takes place. Also most of the data is going to be transferred into their database so it is easier for the data entry clerk to just look at forms he/she is familiar with and then capture it rather than scan through 1000 different format resumes and looking for the right details/data. You can try being that data entry clerk
DarReNz
Jul 7 2007, 04:21 PM
we should put a vote here and see whether most msians have cover letters a not when going for interview ....
yewkhuay
Jul 7 2007, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jul 7 2007, 04:21 PM) we should put a vote here and see whether most msians have cover letters a not when going for interview .... i will put a cover letter if i m applying a job. if it is head hunter tht call up, i will only give resume.
hans.excel
Jul 9 2007, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jul 7 2007, 04:21 PM) we should put a vote here and see whether most msians have cover letters a not when going for interview .... Cover letter is a tailor-made document for any job openings. Different openings, require different cover letters. The purpose of the cover letter is to write how you can match the opening requirements with the your abilities. Therefore, it is important to bring it over when going for the interview as it could provide you as a mind-refresher document for matching your skills with the requirements.
loco_mK
Jul 10 2007, 01:29 AM
hi, just wondering... how do you guys write an email to the company that you're interested in? an informal email at 1st with a cover letter and resume attached? or the email in a form of a letter with just a resume attached?
DarReNz
Jul 10 2007, 01:42 AM
i put my email as cover letter and resume attached .... but i also got print the hardcopy if i have to send the resume by mail .....
cheong987
Jul 14 2007, 12:01 AM

what format of resume should i attach when i send using email. PDF or DOC better?
goliath
Jul 14 2007, 02:36 AM
QUOTE(cheong987 @ Jul 14 2007, 12:01 AM) what format of resume should i attach when i send using email. PDF or DOC better? DOC is the most recommended, I would say
Hean
Jul 16 2007, 08:41 PM
how bout cutting my resume from the word and send it out as an email?
goliath
Jul 16 2007, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(Hean @ Jul 16 2007, 08:41 PM) how bout cutting my resume from the word and send it out as an email? I would be a bad idea.. The context of your e-mail should be your cover letter..
hans.excel
Jul 17 2007, 05:34 PM
yeah, agree with Goliath.
A resume should have an attractive layout and margins that only a word processing program like MS Words can provide. By cutting pasting onto an email, the document will lost its lustre, attractiveness as well as the effectiveness.
Lone46
Aug 15 2007, 09:36 PM
i just finish my exam, now going to get a job...but i never type a resume or cover letter before...so anyone can show me some sample? Thanks for your help~
hans.excel
Aug 16 2007, 09:03 AM
there are many many many resume writing website in the world. Just type "resume" on google and you can find many types of templates of resume and cover letters.
here are a few sites that you can start your search in:
- www.resume-resource.com - www.myresumeonline.org - www.write-a-resume.org - www.10minuteresume.com
This post has been edited by hans.excel: Aug 16 2007, 09:14 AM
yewkhuay
Aug 17 2007, 07:32 AM
QUOTE(hans.excel @ Aug 16 2007, 09:03 AM) there are many many many resume writing website in the world. Just type "resume" on google and you can find many types of templates of resume and cover letters. here are a few sites that you can start your search in: - www.resume-resource.com - www.myresumeonline.org - www.write-a-resume.org - www.10minuteresume.com nice sharing.....
Corn24
Aug 29 2007, 02:08 AM

i need to send my recent passport photo together with my resume in email. what should i do with the photo? should i edit my name in the photo or something?
hans.excel
Aug 29 2007, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(Corn24 @ Aug 29 2007, 02:08 AM) i need to send my recent passport photo together with my resume in email. what should i do with the photo? should i edit my name in the photo or something? you can scan your picture and paste it into and excel file. You can rename the file as your picture.
Mavik
Sep 15 2007, 01:45 AM
Patience is a virtue
QUOTE(Hean @ Jul 16 2007, 08:41 PM) how bout cutting my resume from the word and send it out as an email? That may sound logical to you especially if you are using Micrsoft Outlook as your email client as Microsoft Outlook provide you with HTML and Rich Text features allowing you not to lose any formatting when pasting into an email. But remember that the potential interviewer or HR staff may be on a different email client/server which might just mess up all of your formatting as well. This goes the same for MS Word documents especially if your table formatting is precise and once it goes through an older version of MS Office (I know of few MNCs who use MS Office 2000), you might lose some formatting. Best is with PDF in my honest opinion as Adobe Reader is a standard application used in business nowadays and you won't lose your formatting no matter which PC/Mac the company uses.
Mavik
Sep 15 2007, 01:46 AM
Patience is a virtue
QUOTE(Corn24 @ Aug 29 2007, 02:08 AM) i need to send my recent passport photo together with my resume in email. what should i do with the photo? should i edit my name in the photo or something? Did you insert the image into your MS Office document?
animorphs
Oct 4 2007, 11:16 PM

Best CV of the Year Attached File(s)
CV_of_the_Year2.pdf ( 903.92k )
Number of downloads: 675
cryil
Oct 18 2007, 08:46 AM

QUOTE(animorphs @ Oct 4 2007, 11:16 PM) Best CV of the Year  wahlao..... like tis oso can write in CV arrr....