71 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Cover Letters / Resume (CVs), One Stop For ALL

yoecr7
post Aug 12 2012, 11:30 PM

18 posts

hi guys. i have a question here. i have just graduated (finished my internship and done all my subjects) but not yet convo. its scheduled at the end of this year. is it possible if i start sending resumes to future employees using my latest CGPA? because i dont wanna wait until convo, too long. if it is possible, how do i tell them that i havent convo yet and my final result is still not out yet? thank you. smile.gif
whatevvv
post Aug 13 2012, 10:17 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(yoecr7 @ Aug 12 2012, 11:30 PM)
hi guys. i have a question here. i have just graduated (finished my internship and done all my subjects) but not yet convo. its scheduled at the end of this year. is it possible if i start sending resumes to future employees using my latest CGPA? because i dont wanna wait until convo, too long. if it is possible, how do i tell them that i havent convo yet and my final result is still not out yet? thank you. smile.gif
use ur latest cgpa result up to ur second last semester to be included in ur resume and state in the cover letter ur doing so because the full result has not come out yet
4-photo
post Sep 11 2012, 09:03 AM

33 posts

Was wondering, either I should write summary about my current company in my resume?

and

should I write my job scope detail at my current company?
x-crusader
post Oct 1 2012, 10:12 PM

472 posts

hi guys,
i've graduated on a diploma and dropped my degree after finished the 2nd year of it, should i include it in my resume or just leave it as a diploma graduate?

if yes how should i write it?

thanks for the help

siew14
post Oct 5 2012, 10:35 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(4-photo @ Sep 11 2012, 09:03 AM)
Was wondering, either I should write summary about my current company in my resume?

and

should I write my job scope detail  at my current company?
i think employer will probably more interested in what is your job scope/responsibilities instead of summary of ur company business,etc-etc..

Riddhy
post Oct 11 2012, 11:48 PM

1,956 posts

hi guys can you please suggest me a format for my Resume/CV i am applying for internship. I have no work experience beofre:( please help me out
Soulsareworthless
post Oct 17 2012, 05:42 PM

Madridista
3,413 posts

QUOTE(4-photo @ Sep 11 2012, 09:03 AM)

and

should I write my job scope detail  at my current company?
Write about your responsibilities, job scope, projects you have handled, projects that you have successfully implemented.
gonzalo20
post Oct 19 2012, 05:06 PM

Cuckoo Agent
927 posts

if im graduating soon, it is necessary for me to put my cgpa n expected salary in my resume?
fletcherwind
post Oct 20 2012, 05:15 PM

273 posts

To grads and to-be grads:

You should start applying for jobs before you graduate. Just put down your latest results if you don't have the final results out yet. Many companies will give you a conditional/unconditional offer that start after you've completed your degree. I'd advise against the idea of putting in expected salary as a fresh graduate. Usually, companies have a standard pay for fresh graduates. If you're not happy with it and you have a good reason on why you should deserve more, you should negotiate verbally after you've obtained an initial offer.

When you write you CV or cover letter, other than the usual advice that you should make sure it's error free and neat, you should make sure that it's presented in a why-should-you-hire-me tone. Listing accomplishments, skills learnt and responsibilities given that are above peers would help. Don't waste space with information that will not help to highlight your strength. It is also not true that fresh graduates have nothing to write in their CV. It will be a strong added advantage if you have something more than just CGPA to show, like internships, work experience during Uni will play a major role when it comes to assessing candidates. For cover letter, customize as much as possible to make yourself sound relevant to the company/industry.

You have to take a third party view to assess yourself and extract the best bits to present them. You're the sales person for yourself. Don't be discouraged if you have something less than impressive like a lower CGPA. You just have to make sure that you have some other skills to compensate it. If you don't have any, then try to aim for a less demanding job for now and hopefully you will gain enough experience to move to a better job in the future. Most people get their jobs based on merit, few are lucky. Don't count on luck, how often can you have it on your side.
brightjoey
post Nov 1 2012, 10:39 PM

231 posts

I like to know if there is a list of engineering companies in Penang? Instead of searching through jobstreet and applying through there,
I like to try my luck and apply to companies who have not advertise vacancies in jobstreets.

Plus applying in Jobstreet doesn't have a need of submitting a cover letter, which I feel is a disadvantage.
gonzalo20
post Nov 3 2012, 07:32 PM

Cuckoo Agent
927 posts

between cover letter and resume which one is more details? cover letter need to elaborate the resume contain? thnks
Betty lim
post Nov 20 2012, 03:10 PM

24 posts

For my own opinion, I dun think tat a lengthy resume is a wise thing to do. Everybody like things in a simple but stick-to-the-point format. The main section in the resume would be the self-description and working experience parts. These are the side where you can present yourself well.
faceless
post Nov 22 2012, 09:03 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Nov 3 2012, 07:32 PM)
between cover letter and resume which one is more details? cover letter need to elaborate the resume contain? thnks
cover letter should be brief.
gonzalo20
post Nov 22 2012, 09:40 AM

Cuckoo Agent
927 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Nov 22 2012, 09:03 AM)
cover letter should be brief.
can u check my cover letter n resume? if u wont mind.
faceless
post Nov 22 2012, 09:46 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Nov 22 2012, 09:40 AM)
can u check my cover letter n resume? if u wont mind.
wow, why you need my stamp of assurance? There are plenty of samples online.
If it make you comfortable pm it to me.
gonzalo20
post Nov 22 2012, 09:49 AM

Cuckoo Agent
927 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Nov 22 2012, 09:46 AM)
wow, why you need my stamp of assurance? There are plenty of samples online.
If it make you comfortable pm it to me.
oh okey. PM can upload file eh? how?
faceless
post Nov 22 2012, 09:52 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Nov 22 2012, 09:49 AM)
oh okey. PM can upload file eh? how?
Cut and paste will do. I am not too high tech with lyn features.
gonzalo20
post Nov 22 2012, 09:56 AM

Cuckoo Agent
927 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Nov 22 2012, 09:52 AM)
Cut and paste will do. I am not too high tech with lyn features.
sent. please check my english also please rclxms.gif
H2O3
post Nov 25 2012, 12:32 PM

48 posts

should a resume include the professional logo in the heading if someone has attained the designation? will this get more attention from potential employer?

faceless
post Nov 26 2012, 09:37 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(H2O3 @ Nov 25 2012, 12:32 PM)
should a resume include the professional logo in the heading if someone has attained the designation? will this get more attention from potential employer?
Provided your are entitled to use a professional logo, you can use it to your advantage.
As I know it, you can use the professional initials after your name but not necessary the log because you don't represent the professional body as a president or committee for official purpose.

71 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0300sec    1.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:17 AM