1,393 posts

QUOTE(erni3 @ May 8 2010, 12:01 AM)
Ok got my beta key. Updating the game hope tomorrow morning i could play
Gratz dude ... remember to let us know ur IGN and Race biggrin.gif
chiam_ace
post May 8 2010, 01:41 AM

215 posts

Good news guys! DuskBin E-sports are giving out 3 beta keys to the Malaysian community.

DuskBin Starcraft 2 Beta Key Contest

Good luck smile.gif

SmileyJeff
post May 8 2010, 01:50 AM

QUOTE(melvintcs @ May 7 2010, 05:58 PM)
wao~ looks like awesome!!
do it needs any programming language?
It uses galaxy scripting. Its pretty straight forward and easy if you have basic programming background..

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ May 8 2010, 12:28 AM)
wow!
i just tried it out.
i open it with map editor.
then test document.

awesome yo!
how long u spend on this oh?
Took me a week to do it [: Glad you like it!
vis.vls
post May 8 2010, 02:00 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(chiam_ace @ May 8 2010, 01:41 AM)
Good news guys! DuskBin E-sports are giving out 3 beta keys to the Malaysian community.

DuskBin Starcraft 2 Beta Key Contest

Good luck  smile.gif
only three? o.0
XenoFr3ak
post May 8 2010, 02:57 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Starcraft 2 offering subscription plans in Latin America, Asia and Russia

http://www.joystiq.com/2010/05/07/starcraf...america-asia-a/

This is true ?
talexeh
post May 8 2010, 03:00 AM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,094 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 8 2010, 02:57 AM)

This is true ?
It has been announced before for Russia but the inclusion of Asia & South America is pretty new.
xeonsam
post May 8 2010, 03:25 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 8 2010, 02:57 AM)

This is true ?
wow that suck, if they include this subscription plans, i'm not going to buy the game just like wow.
talexeh
post May 8 2010, 03:30 AM

3,094 posts

QUOTE(xeonsam @ May 8 2010, 03:25 AM)
wow that suck, if they include this subscription plans, i'm not going to buy the game just like wow.
If you read the article, you should realize by now that it's an optional purchase type. doh.gif In a way, it's a good way to let those that are new to the StarCraft world to have a trial run before they decide if they're gonna get themselves a copy.
xeonsam
post May 8 2010, 03:47 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ May 8 2010, 03:30 AM)
If you read the article, you should realize by now that it's an optional purchase type. doh.gif In a way, it's a good way to let those that are new to the StarCraft world to have a trial run before they decide if they're gonna get themselves a copy.
i did read it correctly.
A press release detailing plans for localization in Latin American Spanish for Mexico, Argentina, Brazil and Chile covers the subscription model. By picking up the title for $299 MXN / $119 ARS / $13,900 CLP -- about $30 USD -- gamers will be given access to the single-player and multiplayer portions of the game for 60 days. Once that period ends, they can re-up their subscription for a fee (which hasn't been disclosed yet). The other option is to download the game directly from Blizzard for a one-time fee of $59.99 USD, granting permanent access to the title.

I'm from Malaysia, so i'm think it include in Asia as well, although the game is cheaper ($30 USD) but for 60 days only. Another option is US version which location on half way around the planet, i'm pretty sure the latency will be high compare to Asia server. Correct me if i'm wrong. cry.gif Also from BlizzChat Developer Chat on Twitter: http://forums.battle.net/thread.html?topic...7618&sid=3000#2
Q. Will we be able to play with our friends on other continents like we could in StarCraft's Battle.net?

A. Currently we do not have plans to integrate friends between regions for launch. In the long run that's definitely something we'll be looking at.

This post has been edited by xeonsam: May 8 2010, 04:16 AM
talexeh
post May 8 2010, 05:00 AM

3,094 posts

QUOTE(xeonsam @ May 8 2010, 03:47 AM)
i did read it correctly.

I'm from Malaysia, so i'm think it include in Asia as well, although the game is cheaper ($30 USD) but for 60 days only. Another option is US version which location on half way around the planet, i'm pretty sure the latency will be high compare to Asia server. Correct me if i'm wrong.  cry.gif Also from BlizzChat Developer Chat on Twitter: http://forums.battle.net/thread.html?topic...7618&sid=3000#2
The article didn't specifically mention that the full version is a US version. While I may not be 100% accurate, the current understanding is that Blizz will implement a new server in the SEA region & if they're going to force the subscription method to the whole of Asia, it will include Korea as well, which I sincerely believe will be a stupid decision if Blizz were to come to that point.

There're too many ambiguity at the moment, such as region lock issue (whether they lock you via IP or CD key) & it's not very wise to make our conclusion as of now. Just enjoy the beta as much as you can & while you can. smile.gif

This post has been edited by talexeh: May 8 2010, 05:00 AM
Cheesenium
post May 8 2010, 10:10 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ May 8 2010, 03:30 AM)
Optional purchase my ass, the full unlimited version only available on online,not in the stores.

30USD for 60 days isnt cheap at all. No matter how much the extension will cost, in the end the game will still cost more than the unlimited retail version in the long run. Looks like they want to milk them instead. Put a much lower price at release to make them addicted to the game, then, add a "subscription" fess for them to keep playing.

QUOTE(talexeh @ May 8 2010, 05:00 AM)
The article didn't specifically mention that the full version is a US version. While I may not be 100% accurate, the current understanding is that Blizz will implement a new server in the SEA region & if they're going to force the subscription method to the whole of Asia, it will include Korea as well, which I sincerely believe will be a stupid decision if Blizz were to come to that point.
They are only considering,even the high ping problem has been experienced by gamers in this region for years.

These people are damn efficient.

Yea, facebook integration is much more important than region free for servers.
kianweic
post May 8 2010, 10:29 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Sent an email to Blizzard Support Thursday, have yet to hear from them.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post May 8 2010, 11:11 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

publishers, developers are greedy.

they want passive income, not active income.

one time off retail box sales = active income
monthly subscription = passive income
XenoFr3ak
post May 8 2010, 11:28 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Wow .. cant play online with other regions/continent is a bad idea lo.

I dun mind paying 30USD for 60 days, as long i have a good time playing it.
Cheesenium
post May 8 2010, 11:39 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ May 8 2010, 11:11 AM)
publishers, developers are greedy.

they want passive income, not active income.
one time off retail box sales = active income
monthly subscription = passive income
No doubt that they should be greedy, as gaming isnt charity, but it's a multimillion dollar industry. The question is, how much greedy that they want to be?

I just have a bad feeling that SC2 will never be as popular as SC1, considering how Blizzard treating the game now.
TSfujkenasai
post May 8 2010, 11:50 AM

1,137 posts

For those who like to whine and complain and have HATE Talks about Starcraft 2 there is a thread over here.
HOW MUCH I F**KIN HATE BASTURD STARCRAF 2 THREAD

and please leave this thread for game, maps, patches, purchase disscussion.

Added on Identifier Update List

talexeh
post May 8 2010, 12:15 PM

3,094 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 8 2010, 10:10 AM)
Optional purchase my ass, the full unlimited version only available on online,not in the stores.

30USD for 60 days isnt cheap at all. No matter how much the extension will cost, in the end the game will still cost more than the unlimited retail version in the long run. Looks like they want to milk them instead. Put a much lower price at release to make them addicted to the game, then, add a "subscription" fess for them to keep playing.
They are only considering,even the high ping problem has been experienced by gamers in this region for years.

These people are damn efficient.

Yea, facebook integration is much more important than region free for servers.
LOL, you must have mistaken me as another Blizz fanboy. I love games, but not the companies who made them. Anyway, the difference between you & me are just our perspectives & where we're standing. You look at the current initiatives as a milking scheme while I see it as an alternatives to allow casual gamers try the game without having to pay the full price.

While Blizz has yet to go official on this new plan of theirs, I don't see anything weird since people have been willing to fork out $$$ for the WoW subscriptions for the past years. They're just applying an optional purchase method that mimics how gamers pay for their WoW.

Yes, 30USD is not cheap but if they can make the monthly subscription fees low enough, I really do see it as an advantage, especially to a guy who earns too little to pay for the full 60USD at one go. Now, don't tell me if you're poor, you shouldn't be playing SC2. sad.gif
Cheesenium
post May 8 2010, 12:56 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 8 2010, 11:50 AM)
For those who like to whine and complain and have HATE Talks about Starcraft 2 there is a thread over here.
HOW MUCH I F**KIN HATE BASTURD STARCRAF 2 THREAD

and please leave this thread for game, maps, patches, purchase disscussion.
This is the SC2 thread.

Dont be a blind Blizzard elitist. With the SC2 beta, Blizzard isnt any better than your assumed to be crap companies.

Besides, you dont own the thread, just because you are the TS.

QUOTE(talexeh @ May 8 2010, 12:15 PM)
LOL, you must have mistaken me as another Blizz fanboy. I love games, but not the companies who made them. Anyway, the difference between you & me are just our perspectives & where we're standing. You look at the current initiatives as a milking scheme while I see it as an alternatives to allow casual gamers try the game without having to pay the full price.

While Blizz has yet to go official on this new plan of theirs, I don't see anything weird since people have been willing to fork out $$$ for the WoW subscriptions for the past years. They're just applying an optional purchase method that mimics how gamers pay for their WoW.

Yes, 30USD is not cheap but if they can make the monthly subscription fees low enough, I really do see it as an advantage, especially to a guy who earns too little to pay for the full 60USD at one go. Now, don't tell me if you're poor, you shouldn't be playing SC2. sad.gif
Im not saying you are Blizzard fanboy.

There are other alternatives like other companies have done where they release localised version of the game so that the price of the game is cheaper for the local people. This has been done for years, and i know Indian region locked Valve games are cheap as chips. Also, by doing so, people in that region can still get the game on lower price which makes a "subscription" looks more like a milking scheme. Besides, most RTS gamers dont really bother with MMOs in general, as they are more used to retail boxes. This seem to be more out of the norm with the subcription system for a RTS that is not labelled as a MMO, IMO.

30USD for 60 days isnt cheap,IMO, especially considering the countries they are aiming for. While the alternative to get the no subscription system is buying via Blizzard store, it's a bit unfair. Even here, there are a lot of people dont have CC to buy games online from Steam.

On the other hand, the 30 USD version with 60 days limitation is great for those who dont bother about MP at all, but only want to play SP campaign, though. Seriously,how many of us here only want SC2 for SP only?

The problem here is Activision is trying to milk everything. There could be a chance that SC2 might be bastardised like CoD again which i dont want to see it happen.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: May 8 2010, 12:57 PM

124 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:14 AM