4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

RTS Starcraft 2 V3.0, Anticipated Launching Date July 27, 2010

kianweic
post May 4 2010, 03:34 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Blizzard isn't in the habit of handing out game release dates until they're good and ready, so when they say StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty will be hitting store shelves worldwide in late July, they damn well mean it.

StarCraft II is possibly the most eagerly anticipated real-time strategy game in the history of the genre, and now that anticipation has a white-hot target - July 27, 2010. That's when the game will start hitting retail stores around the world, including the United States, Canada, Europe, South Korea, Australia, New Zealand, Russia, Mexico, Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, the Philippines, and the regions of Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macau.

Is that a wide enough release for you?

"We've been looking forward to revisiting the StarCraft universe for many years, and we're excited that the time for that is almost here," said Mike Morhaime, CEO and cofounder of Blizzard Entertainment. "Thanks to our beta testers, we're making great progress on the final stages of development, and we'll be ready to welcome players all over the world to StarCraft II and the new Battle.net in just a few months."

You might want to start lining up outside your nearest retailer now.

Source: Kotaku

Worldwide launch at the same time, that probably means some areas are gonna get the game earlier.
kianweic
post May 4 2010, 03:45 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Is there a map pack where I can download all the maps at once?

I really don't wanna download the map one by one.
kianweic
post May 4 2010, 04:00 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 4 2010, 03:54 PM)
Now beta only maahhh biggrin.gif
If Valve can do it with Steamworks and Stardocks with Impulse, so can Blizzard with Battlenet.

This post has been edited by kianweic: May 4 2010, 04:00 PM
kianweic
post May 4 2010, 04:09 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 4 2010, 04:02 PM)
After 4-5 years of development, things like this are unforgivable.

I hope i dont have to go through another "shit game at first few months,then, awesome game later" situation again.

No doubt it looks great now,but some of the fundamental stuff isnt there.
I agree with you, 4-5 years is a long time for development and things like these should have been fixed early.
kianweic
post May 4 2010, 09:41 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

I give up, turning down the details doesn't help the jerkiness.

Changing resolution doesn't help.

Check in game FPS shows around 78-80 fps.

Using new Nvidia doesn't help.

Damn, I am not gonna redownload the whole shit. f*** it.
kianweic
post May 5 2010, 11:17 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ May 5 2010, 11:08 AM)
For these who played WoW before, is it using the same Blizzard Downloader tool for getting patches and co?

I never managed to get a "green" connection with that thing, even when able to run other torrent stuff perfectly fine on the side.

Sucks if they use this for the full game, that thing is good for US/EU but pretty crap for the rest of us  blink.gif
My experience as follows:

1. Warcraft 3 and Frozen Throne

Download for Warcraft 3 and Frozen Throne is ok. Around 600 to 700mb each.

In game patching is quite fast.

2. Starcraft 2 Beta

Download for Starcraft 2 Beta (didn't do that for the entire thing so not sure)

Patching is horrible. Takes forever to download (and you can't tell how much is done save for that blue bar that sometimes looks like it's moving because there's no indication of ??MB downloaded nor how big is the patch, even Games For Windows Client has that)

And after each patch, you gotta restart the game and download the next patch. So you gotta keep tabs when each patch is actually done downloading and done applying to the game.

kianweic
post May 5 2010, 11:59 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 5 2010, 11:51 AM)
there was some connection issues due to another earthquake so that affected the patching a lot...
actually u dun have to restart the game for each patch...
i patched up from a clean install up to patch 10 at 1 go (no doubt it'll install 1 by 1)...
and the patching is cached so u dun really have to patch all 1 shot...
I probably give that a go on my previous gaming PC.

Should be able to play it at 1280x1024 using 8800gt and AMDx2 4400.
kianweic
post May 5 2010, 01:41 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Just get someone you know from Singapore to buy it and mail it over.
kianweic
post May 5 2010, 01:55 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ May 5 2010, 01:53 PM)
it would be a lot more hassle to get it else where.
if buy online on battle.net it would probably be cheaper (usd59.99) but it will probably take ages to download.
collectors edition buyers must buy physical copy and cannot resort to this option.

anyways, i wonder how will the 100+ collectors edition buyer in my pre-order list react if the local pricing for collectors edition is outrageously high.
with SMM, it is possible that they may jack the price up to RM400 - RM500 sweat.gif
Keep me posted on the pricing.

Might be better of just getting the regular version if needed be.
kianweic
post May 5 2010, 02:43 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Because have high expectations from Blizzard based on their previous track records.
kianweic
post May 5 2010, 03:09 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

It's not the size but the speed of the download.

I gonna let the installer run again in an older PC and see what happens.

Then I gotta test it, hopefully the experience won't be as bad as on my new PC.
kianweic
post May 5 2010, 05:46 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ May 5 2010, 05:37 PM)
eh, it only took me 2+ hours to patch version 9 and 10 with a 2meg connection, how could it take so long?  blink.gif
I gonna try it again tonight using old PC since I can't get it to work on new PC (200+ games no issues and this is giving me the most problems even BSOD during patches).

I'll download and install all files via their website and hopefully I can play instead of trying to make it work by Friday, if not I'll just pass my account to a friend.
kianweic
post May 5 2010, 07:02 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 5 2010, 07:00 PM)
did u download ur installer from bnet itself or other sources?
cause i'm downloading directly from bnet and its fine for me...
Installer given by friend, he downloaded from Battlenet previously (also another beta tester but stop playing Starcraft 2 beta many months ago).

Now I gonna download everything for Battlenet just to test it on my old PC.

kianweic
post May 6 2010, 08:20 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 6 2010, 07:58 AM)
I was thinking of buying a mouse for gaming, esspecially for SC2 online play. Was thinking fo getting Logitech MX518. Any suggestions?
Logitech MX518 is durable, have it for more than 5 years and still running.

Others to consider:

Logitech G9x (using this now, not bad but a bit small, nice to hold)
Logitech G500
Roccat Kone
Roccat Kova
Razer Mamba
Steelseries Laser
Steelseries Kinzu
and a lot more. (in no particular order, depends on your comfort zone.

This post has been edited by kianweic: May 6 2010, 08:25 AM
kianweic
post May 8 2010, 10:29 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Sent an email to Blizzard Support Thursday, have yet to hear from them.
kianweic
post May 8 2010, 09:12 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Starcraft 2 Does Shooter too

Blizzard's Galaxy Editor for StarCraft II does more than custom maps and Mario Kart-style mods, it does screen-filling bullet hell shooters too! Want proof? See how hellish this Touhou-style shoot 'em up mod performs. [via GameSetWatch]

Mods to bring back the good old memories.

This post has been edited by kianweic: May 8 2010, 09:13 PM
kianweic
post May 10 2010, 08:13 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

[FIX] StarCraft 2 freeze/lag fix
by sultanaf on Apr.17, 2010, under Windows 7, starcraft 2

The Problem:

I’ve been playing the long-awaited StarCraft 2 (Beta) recently and it doesn’t disappoint. I am running Windows 7 (64 bit) with an ATI Radeon HD 3400 video card. I ran into some complications while playing the game. Specifically, it would freeze in-game for a while and sometimes long enough for me to be dropped from the game.

The Internet?

At first I though it was my internet connection which was causing the lag. After some investigation, it turns out it wasn’t the internet connection (the game was also freezing during replays as well).

The Video Card?

Next I suspected the video card was over heating. I ran a temperature monitor with a CPU monitor while playing the game. It seems that under normal game play, the temperature was around 70 C. Once the game froze, the GPU temperature dropped and the CPU usage spiked to 100%.

The CPU?

After digging around a little bit, I came across a few threads on people having the same problem. They seemed to have fixed this problem by running the game on a single CPU core instead of the default multi-core setup. Specifically CPU 1 seems to be the magic core. I tried that but with no success. It was time to dig a little deeper.

The Solution:

The problem lies with Physx. StarCraft 2 comes with a version of Physx but with certain drivers, the latest version is required to run the game smoothly. Physx basically allows the game physics to be CPU powered rather than being powered by the graphics card. it is also referred by some as Software Physics. Make sure you have the latest version of Physx installed. it is required regardless of whether the you have an ATI or nVidia card. This should do it!

If you are still having this problem, add -skipopenal -nocpubinding to the Target field of the StarCraft 2 shortcut and try again.

Enjoy smile.gif
Source: http://aftabsultan.com/?p=50

The above commands somewhat help my problems, jerky animation is almost gone (still a bit left but less frequent now)

[FIX] Another StarCraft 2 lag fix
by sultanaf on Apr.22, 2010, under starcraft 2

Aside from the previous fix I posted, I have another fix for the in-game lag in StarCraft 2. The lag could be caused by the GPU rendering the frames at max speed which might cause the video card to overheat and slow down the game.

The following will help by telling StarCraft 2 to limit the behavior:

1. Open My Documents\StarCraft II Beta\variables.txt using Notepad (or any other text editor)
  2. Add the following two lines to the file:
      Frameratecapglue=30
      Frameratecap=60
  3. Save the txt file and you’re done.

The frameratecapglue variable controls menu screens framerates. The frameratecap controls the in-game framerate. I have chosen 60 as I am running this game on a laptop (60 is the max refresh rate for my monitor) but you can choose any number that fits your configuration.

Source: http://aftabsultan.com/?p=79

Will try this one later, hopefully the jerkiness and spikes will be all gone after that.

kianweic
post May 10 2010, 02:15 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 10 2010, 02:01 PM)
Ass thee famous quote goes how do you kill some 1 with no life. LoL
Could you please put the fix I have posted earlier on the first page so it would be easier to refer to later? Thanks.

I will be writing another email soon to Blizzard support regarding this.

This post has been edited by kianweic: May 10 2010, 03:16 PM
kianweic
post May 11 2010, 01:25 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Gotten my reply from Blizzard support today.

Basically, they asked me to try to update my video card drivers and DirectX and if I continue to have problems, I should contact the manufacturer.

Hmmm ok............
kianweic
post May 12 2010, 07:39 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Ok finally managed to get Starcraft 2 Beta to run properly on Windows 7 64bit.

Using the following steps:

1. add -skipopenal -nocpubinding
2. Run as administrator
3. Disable desktop composition
4. Disable display scaling on High DPI settings

Now it runs smooth, no more jerky animation.

I still want to punch someone in the face, I need to get myself a sandbag soon.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:49 PM