85 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

karwaidotnet
post May 25 2010, 09:47 AM

come near me and i'll bam bam U...
1,353 posts

after two days of feeding her wif addiction salmon bleu...her poops have only gone to worse. (it was serve on a proportion amount of around 70/30, 60/40 wif orijen being the larger amount).

and what breaks my heart is when she has to wake up in the middle of the night several times just to poops watery stools...

and it dawns upon me that her stomach most probably can only accept chicken. coz that's the main ingredients of previous kibbles that gave her firm stool. (though the oven-baked makes her vomit and the initial one is a low-quality kibbles - nutri-edge)

orijen makes her stool a disastrous may be bcoz it has fish ingredients in it.

question: should i continue to monitor her or should i just go now and get a kibble wif chicken as the main ingredient. and if im going to get a new kibbles, any recommended brand? the only good quality brand that comes to my mind now is natural balance but i can only recall seeing it labelled as Lamb and Rice.
^4ever_Fan+a5y^
post May 25 2010, 10:44 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ May 25 2010, 09:47 AM)
after two days of feeding her wif addiction salmon bleu...her poops have only gone to worse. (it was serve on a proportion amount of around 70/30, 60/40 wif orijen being the larger amount).

and what breaks my heart is when she has to wake up in the middle of the night several times just to poops watery stools...

and it dawns upon me that her stomach most probably can only accept chicken. coz that's the main ingredients of previous kibbles that gave her firm stool. (though the oven-baked makes her vomit and the initial one is a low-quality kibbles - nutri-edge)

orijen makes her stool a disastrous may be bcoz it has fish ingredients in it.

question: should i continue to monitor her or should i just go now and get a kibble wif chicken as the main ingredient. and if im going to get a new kibbles, any recommended brand? the only good quality brand that comes to my mind now is natural balance but i can only recall seeing it  labelled as Lamb and Rice.
Erm....my schnauzer eating addiction salmon and she doing quite fine with it...if ur pup cant do well wif fish, mayb u can try GO! Duck formula that mentioned by eric138 at second page of tis thread, its main ingredients are duck and oat, oat could help in digestion...

This post has been edited by ^4ever_Fan+a5y^: May 25 2010, 10:45 AM
karwaidotnet
post May 25 2010, 12:14 PM

1,353 posts

hmm...hey if i'm ever going to get a new kibbles packet today...anyone want to buy my addiction salmon? i only scoop out max 1 cup from it. tongue.gif

else...i'm thinking of feeding it to all the stray dogs near my area...and i'm imagining the next day it will be a havoc when smelly watery poops are found everywhere....gahhh...LOL
Divas
post May 25 2010, 02:24 PM

131 posts

When was the last time you dewormed your dogkarwaidot net? is it possible that worms are causing her poop to be soft instead of the food.

I would really suggest trying to stick with the addiction for a little while longer, just to see if it will clear up. Dog's digestive systems find it very hard to deal with change in the diet. If you do really feel you definitly want to change right away then i would agree with you on your choice of going with something simple (give her something without any wierd, interesting ingredients for a while to see how she goes). I would suggest either Canidae, Health foods or go!/now!...
You can try the Natural Balance if you want, but keep in mind despite having good ingredients in the first ingredient is not a meat (for the dry kibble at least), but that could be for a specific reason that i don't know of (haven't read the advertising speel to see what they are marketing the food as).
God luck, hope you find a food that gives you nice solid poop soon smile.gif
karwaidotnet
post May 25 2010, 03:13 PM

1,353 posts

thanx divas. i would try to look for those if i c it. but problem is i dun think petsmore have it and for my convenience, petsmore has almost as much branches around as 7-11.

i've been to other shop but they don't look as clean and bright as petsmore which gives me sense of trustworthy.

Added on May 25, 2010, 3:26 pmabout the worm thing - on her 3rd vaccination, i was introduced by the vet to use this new product called Revolution that suppose to kills fleas,ear mites, worms and even prevent heartworm. i bought it and use it on her. no tick/flea is found till today. (previously we did found few). so i'm assuming it works.

Added on May 25, 2010, 9:35 pmok i confirm the petsmore branch i went to doesnt have Canidae nor Go!

i browse around and noticed Arcana has Chicken as the main ingredients...but wif whitefish meal as the 5th ingredient...thinking of getting this IF she doesnt improve by this weekend...

and about the Natural Balance...the Chicken package has salmon meal as the 6th ingredient. there's an organic package wif chicken as the only meat...but the rest is all organic stuff...which kinda put me on a unsure.gif situation

Added on May 25, 2010, 9:51 pmjudging by this website for Canidae Canidae Chicken Meal and Rice Formula it seems like a perfect food for my dear poodle...problem is i'm not sure where i can get it.

divas, where u get urs from?

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: May 25 2010, 09:51 PM
Divas
post May 25 2010, 10:53 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ May 25 2010, 03:13 PM)

Added on May 25, 2010, 3:26 pmabout the worm thing - on her 3rd vaccination, i was introduced by the vet to use this new product called Revolution that suppose to kills fleas,ear mites, worms and even prevent heartworm. i bought it and use it on her. no tick/flea is found till today. (previously we did found few). so i'm assuming it works.

Added on May 25, 2010, 9:51 pmjudging by this website for Canidae Canidae Chicken Meal and Rice Formula it seems like a perfect food for my dear poodle...problem is i'm not sure where i can get it.

divas, where u get urs from?
Ok i had a look at some websites for Revolution, and it looks awesome. Do you need a prescription for it (a few sites say you do) and which vet did you get it from? I'm thinking about giving it a trial.
However i found THIS site which if you scroll down has a list of what Revolution works against and it says it doesn't prevent roundworms and hookworms (which are the intestinal worms i was talking about) in dogs, so it might be worth picking up a deworming pill just in case.

As for Canidae, it is hard to find as it is a small company that imports it (along with the Chris Christensen grooming products). I have my own Grooming salon where we stock Canidae so that is where i get it from. As far as i know you can get it in House of Groomers (both branches) and not sure where else. Pretty sure Grooming Ranch has as well, apart from that not sure. I have seen it in Pets Wonderland before (but the bag i saw was expired already :S). Quite a few shops opened by HOG students will have Canidae in, but i really can't remember where everyone is these days, lol sorry not much help.
(I have left my own shop out of the list, don't want to be advertising and all that).
Sadly this is the issue with Canidae, the availability is not there. You can also get go! or now!, the only place i know for sure who stocks them is Pet Shack (forgot if that is the name, quite sure, the one who does a lot of sugar glider stuff, all the Bugsy products anyway).
karwaidotnet
post May 26 2010, 01:18 AM

1,353 posts

i got it from the Segar Veterinary Hospital @ Tmn Segar, Cheras. the frenly vet recommended it to me for its convenience as a all-in-one product. it's not display at their shelf...so maybe it does need a prescription. not sure.

i read thru the instructions guide pamplet again and i can confirm that it did mentioned about preventing roundworms for dogs but nothing about hookworm for dogs.i guess i should confirm this wif the vet and get a hookworm prevention for her, if this Revolution really doesnt prevent it.

and about canidae...maybe i try search at this petslover (?) or other pet shops...else...i think i might go for Arcana. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: May 26 2010, 01:20 AM
Divas
post May 26 2010, 09:12 AM

131 posts

If they don't have Caidae, see if they have Health foods (if they have Avoderm then they have the supplier for Health foods). It is almost the same as Canidae ingredients wise, sold more widely and quite a lot cheaper as well. biggrin.gif

I think you might find you have the same problems with Arcana if your dog didn't do well on addiction or orijen.

Also definitly check with your vet as all the websites i saw specificaly said the Revolution works in dogs for Heartworm, Dog ticks, fleas, mites and mange mites. It works in cats for intestinal worms as well but apparently not dogs.
jtl
post May 26 2010, 10:10 AM

788 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ May 23 2010, 08:54 PM)
Dear Divas,

thanks again for your advice. i think this is the best that i can do ... i mean, i will go and copy the brands available. but i remember that there are only very few names up in the shelf.

thanks very much to your effort.
You can get go! and now! at Pretty Pets in Ipoh. Hope this helps smile.gif
blasturanus
post May 26 2010, 08:56 PM

458 posts

any one here heard of Makin-Trax, kibble from U.S?
Divas
post May 26 2010, 11:53 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(blasturanus @ May 26 2010, 08:56 PM)
any one here heard of Makin-Trax, kibble from U.S?
Never heard of it, but did a quick search in google and found....

Ground Corn, Poultry Meal, Oat Groats, Beet Pulp, Poultry Fat

....enough said.
karwaidotnet
post May 27 2010, 01:18 AM

1,353 posts

finally her stool has become solid....and i dun think it smell....need more observation. but for tonight i'm glad for that biggrin.gif
Divas
post May 27 2010, 10:09 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ May 27 2010, 01:18 AM)
finally her stool has become solid....and i dun think it smell....need more observation. but for tonight i'm glad for that  biggrin.gif
Yey that is great news!! using the Arcana or something else?
mikehwy
post May 27 2010, 10:27 AM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ May 26 2010, 10:10 AM)
You can get go! and now! at Pretty Pets in Ipoh. Hope this helps smile.gif
jtl >>

Oh BIG thanks this is exactly what i need. i will go to pretty shop and use my camera to scan the guaranteed Analysis, and post here. hope you, divas and Chan can chip in to help. pls help me as one of my American Pitbull Terrier once had a bit of mainge (already solved by my vet).

Divas and Chan >>

can i snap some pictures and pls comment on the Ingredient analysis for me to make food decisions? thanks in advance.

Divas
post May 27 2010, 12:17 PM

131 posts

I can already tell you that go! and now! are both great foods. You will be safe with any of their formulas. However if you want i can do an analysis of whichever formula you decide to choose, just let me know which one you go for and i can pull the ingredients/nutrition from their website.

Did your Pitbull have Sarcoptic or Demodectic mange? Glad it is all solved now either way.

@ jtl - very helpful smile.gif

This post has been edited by Divas: May 27 2010, 12:18 PM
karwaidotnet
post May 27 2010, 03:00 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(Divas @ May 27 2010, 10:09 AM)
Yey that is great news!! using the Arcana or something else?
nope. still the addiction mixing wif orijen. have increased to 60/40 portion today, wif addiction as 60. if it's remain solid, then i'll be happily using it till she become 1 year older. which is when i need to hunt for adult kibbles... sweat.gif
mikehwy
post May 27 2010, 09:17 PM

17,100 posts

QUOTE(Divas @ May 27 2010, 12:17 PM)
I can already tell you that go! and now! are both great foods. You will be safe with any of their formulas. However if you want i can do an analysis of whichever formula you decide to choose, just let me know which one you go for and i can pull the ingredients/nutrition from their website.

Did your Pitbull have Sarcoptic or Demodectic mange? Glad it is all solved now either way.

@ jtl - very helpful smile.gif
Divas,

thank god we have such as helpful and knowlegeable person here to assist.

ok, i will go to my pet shop, look for the go! and now!. if there isnt any then i will snap photos of the ingredients label. many thanks for your advice. also, my vet only told me of this 'mainge' and i was not too sure of the 'scientific' name of it. it made my pitbull (at the top end of the tummy, near the hind legs) having very tthin hair, and could see the brownish skin a little. does it look bad? i am worried.

Added on May 28, 2010, 4:15 pmhi Divas and pals,

i went to the pet shop just now.
i took some photos of the available foods, i could not take the details as the Pretty Pets Shop was crowded and there was little space for taking out the bags and photo them individually. please help to comment wherever possible.

Oh i forgot, there was Eukanuba also in the shelf.
your recommended Go! and Now! were the 6-star foods and cost rm220 for 8.5kg. i cant afford it as each bag will only lasts 2 weeks or lesser.

Many thanks again.

This post has been edited by mikehwy: May 28 2010, 04:41 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
chienx
post May 28 2010, 10:00 PM

205 posts

hi.
i got a doberman puppy, shed. i got some food form the breeder when he sell me his dob, some proformance adult dog food, lamb and rice. should i change it to proformance puppy?any one know where can i buy this brand? i m Klang and i didn;t found this brand this area so far..
is it suitable to f=give this food or i should change to better food? tqtq
devil86
post May 28 2010, 10:04 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ May 27 2010, 09:17 PM)
Divas,

thank god we have such as helpful and knowlegeable person here to assist.

ok, i will go to my pet shop, look for the go! and now!. if there isnt any then i will snap photos of the ingredients label.  many thanks for your advice. also, my vet only told me of this 'mainge' and i was not too sure of the 'scientific' name of it. it made my pitbull (at the top end of the tummy, near the hind legs) having very tthin hair, and could see the brownish skin a little.  does it look bad? i am worried.

Added on May 28, 2010, 4:15 pmhi Divas and pals,

i took some photos of the available foods, i could not take the details as the Pretty Pets Shop was crowded and there was little space for taking out the bags and photo them individually.  please help to comment wherever possible.

your recommended Go! and Now! were the 6-star foods and cost rm220 for 8.5kg. i cant afford it as each bag will only lasts 2 weeks or lesser. 

Many thanks again.
8.5kg pack oni can last 2 weeks for u? blink.gif
eric138
post May 28 2010, 10:22 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ May 27 2010, 09:17 PM)

i took some photos of the available foods, i could not take the details as the Pretty Pets Shop was crowded and there was little space for taking out the bags and photo them individually.  please help to comment wherever possible.

Many thanks again.
You sure u got the price correct? I checked the selling thread in petstore section for go! chicken,fruits vege / go! salmon is rm262 for 30lbs wo..

85 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:56 AM